DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 6/22/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/22/26 was filed after the mailing date of the previous Office Action on 12/22/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Lundin et al (US 2017/0016908 A1 hereafter Lundin) in view of Niwa (Biomarker discovery for kidney diseases by mass spectrometry, Review, Science Direct, Journal of Chromatography B, 870, 148-153 , 2008 hereafter Niwa).
Lundin discloses a diagnostic method for chronic kidney disease comprising analyzing a biological sample such as blood and urine [abstract]. The biological sample is analyzed via mass spectrometry [0054-0056]. The biomarkers are analyzed and compared with a ratio of biomarkers indicating the risk of kidney disease and severity of the disease’s progression, meaning these tests would be repeated over time for trials, and treatment procedures [0069-0070, claim 17].
The reference discloses a method for the diagnosis of a chronic kidney disease or glomerulopathy comprising, analyzing urine samples with mass spectroscopy and making calculations of the results in order to provide a diagnosis based on the amounts of biomarkers in the sample. The reference, however, is silent to the specific protein biomarkers of the instant claims. These proteins are well known in the art regarding diagnosing conditions as seen in the Niwa study.
Niwa discloses the discovery of different biomarkers and how they relate to different kidney disorders (abstract). The biomarkers are analyzed by mass spectrometry of a biological samples such as urine (abstract). Biomarkers include albumin, alpha-1beta-glycoprotein, zinc alpha2-glycoprotein, alpha- 2-HS-glycoprotein, and alpha -1-antitrypsin (3.2). Seven proteins were up-regulated, while four proteins were down regulated leading to a diagnosis of urinary biomarkers for diabetic nephropathy. Conditions diagnosed by these methods include lupus nephritis, acute kidney injury and diabetic nephropathy (3.2-3.7). These biomarkers can allow for screening of these conditions (Results). It would have been obvious to apply the analytical methods of Lundin to the biomarkers of Niwa in order to diagnose similar conditions.
Regarding the assigning and determining of probability steps, it is the position of the Examiner that such limitations do not distinguish over the prior art as the prior art accomplishes the same goals. These steps are essentially mental steps that can be accomplished in the mind of the practitioner, and Lundin and Niwa both screen for biomarkers and make assessment of the data, analyzing them against standards and making diagnoses based on these results. Within those diagnostic steps, comparisons to standards are made, and educated inferences are taken by those of ordinary skill in the art. While not specifically enumerated by the prior art, these probability and assignments and determinations would be a normal part of a diagnosis as multiple conditions might fight the same criteria, but for example diabetic nephropathy might be more likely than lupus nephritis, based on the number and type of biomarkers found in the assay.
Regarding the specific intensity of the biomarkers and their determination of the specific conditions, it is the position of the Examiner that such limitations do not distinguish over the prior art. Niwa discloses the use of the same procedures, detecting the same combination of biomarkers, to diagnose the same conditions. The Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing applicant’s product with the product of the prior art in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is upon the applicant to prove that the claimed products are functionally different than those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See Ex parte Phillips, 28 U.S.P.Q.2d 1302, 1303 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), Ex parte Gray, 10 USPQ2d 1922, 1923 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int.) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
With these aspects in mind, It would have been obvious to follow the disclosures of the prior art with an expected result of a method of non-invasive diagnosis. It would have been obvious to apply the assay of Lundin to the biomarkers of Niwa as they both are attempting to diagnosis and monitor similar conditions using the same testing methods. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a method of diagnosing kidney disorders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of the Lundin and Niwa does not render the claims obvious. Applicant argues that the combination does not disclose the determining by mass spectroscopy at least five of the listed proteins biomarkers in step (a). Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the disclosures of Lundin and Niwa.
Regarding these arguments it is the position of the Examiner that the combination continues to render the claims obvious. Lundin discloses a method of diagnosing and treating chronic kidney disease by analyzing biomarkers found in urine samples using mass spectroscopy. The reference discloses that multiple biomarker protein can be used in the determination of the progress of the disease. The determination and measurement would be repeated as the disease’s progress would be continuously monitored. The reference does not specify the same biomarkers as the instant claims. Niwa discloses multiple studies that diagnosis multiple conditions including lupus, and chronic kidney disease using mass spectroscopy to analyze multiple biomarkers. Niwa is a review article so multiple studies are cited for reference. Under the Diabetic nephropathy section, Rao et al discloses the use of 2D-DIGE and LC/ESI-MS/MS to diagnoses the condition. Seven proteins, including at least five markers listed in instant section (a) are disclosed as biomarkers detected by the testing urine samples, meeting the limitations of claims 1, 5, 8-9 and 12. Niwa discloses MS to analyze multiple biomarkers including those of the claims top diagnose lupus, and acute kidney injury. It would have been an obvious to look for the biomarkers of Niwa using the same detection methods of Lundin as they solve the same problem. As disclosed above, the assigning probability, determining probability steps are merely mental steps accomplished by the practitioner. The only active step of the instant claims is the assessment of biomarkers by mass spectroscopy. For these reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618