Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein preferably the water passing through the supply line is filtered by a water filter in the supply line”. The term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, it is understood that the limitation after the term is optionable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 17, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776).
Regarding claim 1, Mulder discloses a flow separation device (Fig. 1) comprising
a first delivery line (21) to drain water from a buffer tank (20),
a branching section (at valve 60) provided downstream the first delivery line, wherein the branching section branches the first delivery line into a second delivery line (24) and a third delivery line (23), each of the second and third delivery line leading to a respective discharge outlet,
a flow rate control device (40) for delivering water through the flow separation device and for adjusting the flow rate of the water,
wherein each of the second delivery line and third delivery line comprises a respective section, wherein said sections are arranged such that
if water is delivered by the flow rate control device at a flow rate below a defined threshold value the water is delivered beyond the section of the second delivery line (24) but not beyond the section of the third delivery line (23), thereby discharging the water via the discharge outlet of the second delivery line (into the tank 20; ¶0008), and
if water is delivered by the flow rate control device at a flow rate at or above the defined threshold value the water is at least partially delivered beyond the section of the third delivery line (along line 23), thereby discharging the water at least partially via the discharge outlet of the third delivery line (into 50, the beverage maker; see ¶¶0008; when the flow rate is increased past a threshold, the valve switches and the pressure blocks off the return line 24 and allows passage of the extracting fluid to move out through 23 to the brew chamber (50), but if the rate is below the switching point, then liquid moves to the tank (20) via 24).
Regarding claim 3, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a flow separation device wherein, compared to the second delivery line (24), the third delivery line (23) reaches further with respect to a direction that is oblique to the horizontal (the third line moves off the horizontal more, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a flow separation device wherein an orifice (opening to 30) is provided between the first delivery line and the branching section (between 22 and 60).
Regarding claim 6, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a flow separation device wherein the flow rate control device (40) is provided in the first delivery line (Mulder, elements 21 & 22).
Regarding claim 7, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a flow separation device wherein the flow rate control device is a pump (pump 40).
Regarding claim 8, Mulder discloses a beverage preparation device (fig. 1) comprising a flow separation device (100) comprising
a first delivery line (21) to drain water from a buffer tank,
a branching section (60) provided downstream the first delivery line, wherein the branching section branches the first delivery line into a second delivery line (24) and a third delivery line (23), each of the second and third delivery line leading to a respective discharge outlet,
a flow rate control device (pump 40) for delivering water through the flow separation device and for adjusting the flow rate of the water,
wherein each of the second delivery line and third delivery line comprises a respective section (fig. 1; each side), wherein said sections are arranged such that
if water is delivered by the flow rate control device at a flow rate below a defined threshold value the water is delivered beyond the section of the second delivery line but not beyond the section of the third delivery line, thereby discharging the water via the discharge outlet of the second delivery line ((into tank 20; see ¶¶0008; when the flow rate is increased past a threshold, the valve switches and the pressure blocks off the return line 24 and allows passage of the extracting fluid to move out through 23 to the brew chamber (50), but if the rate is below the switching point, then liquid moves to the tank (20) via 24), and
if water is delivered by the flow rate control device at a flow rate at or above the defined threshold value the water is at least partially delivered beyond the section of the third delivery line, thereby discharging the water at least partially via the discharge outlet of the third delivery line (into chamber 50, ¶0008).
Regarding claim 17, Mulder discloses a method for separating a flow via a branching section (Mulder, fig. 1, 60), for preparing a beverage via the branching section (Mulder, 60), wherein the branching section branches a first delivery line (21/22) into a second delivery line (24) and a third delivery line (23), the method comprising the steps of:
delivering the water at a first flow rate via the first delivery line, the branching section and the second delivery line (24), thereby discharging the water via a discharge outlet (Mulder, outlet of 24 into reservoir 20) of the second delivery line but not beyond a section of the third delivery line (23), and
increasing the flow rate of the water to a second flow rate at or above a defined threshold value so that the water is forced at the branching section (60) along the third delivery line (23) and beyond said section of the third delivery line (23) to discharge the water at least partially via a discharge outlet (discharging end of 23 into 50) of the third delivery line (Mulder, 23, ¶0008, when the flow rate is increased past a threshold, the valve switches and the pressure blocks off the return line 24 and allows passage of the extracting fluid to move out through 23 to the brew chamber (50), but if the rate is below the switching point, then liquid moves to the tank 20 via 24) .
Claim 18 (currently amended) Method according to claim 17, further comprising
filling water into a buffer tank (¶0037, “Naturally, the water reservoir 20 should be filled”), and
circulating the water at the first flow rate in a closed loop from the buffer tank (20) via the first delivery line (21/22), the branching section (29) and the second delivery line (24) back into the buffer tank (20; ¶0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776).
Regarding claim 2, Mulder discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a flow separation device wherein, compared to the second delivery line (24), the third delivery line (23) with respect to the vertical, reaches higher (as seen in fig. 1) but it does not teach wherein the third delivery line extends longer. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder and even have the third deliver line extend longer than the second deliver line, depending on the needs of the machine and how it is laid out, depending on whether there are other processes to move through before the extraction chamber, such as adding flavors or additives, and this would be an obvious to try configuration, given that the length or dimensions of these lines are not given within the Specification or Drawings of Mulder, given that there are only two possible configurations, that the second deliver line extends longer than the third deliver line, or the third deliver line extends longer than the second deliver line, and the configuration of the beverage machine and the operators preference would help decide which one obviously applies.
Regarding claim 20, Mulder discloses all the limitations of claim 17, as above, but does not further disclose a method wherein the buffer tank is supplied with water automatically or on demand, via a supply line, wherein preferably the water passing through the supply line is filtered by a water filter in the supply line. However, Mulder does teach that the tank should be supplied, but he does not say how (¶0037, “naturally, the water reservoir 20 should be filled”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder, given his teachings, to supply the tank with water, to have a supply line into the tank, in order to ensure that there is enough water in the tank to form a beverage, and having a supply line would allow for continuous or at least easy filling, so that the tank never runs out of water because there is a water supply line connected to the tank.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776), and further in view of Burrows (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/ 0360919).
Regarding claim 4, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further disclose a flow separation device wherein the first delivery line, the second delivery line, are arranged such that, when the flow rate control device does not deliver water, the residual water remaining in the respective delivery line flows by gravity out of the respective delivery line.
However, Mulder does teach that once water is not needed to be delivered to the chamber, it is given less pressure, and it again flows and is redirected to the tank (Mulder, 20, ¶43). However, Burrows teaches that “residual water remaining in the respective delivery line flows by gravity out of the respective delivery line (Burrow, ¶167 “any residual water in the third conduit 118 falls back into the heater tank 16 due to gravity because there is insufficient pressure to open the brew head check valve 122”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder with the teachings of Burrow, to make sure that all the liquid that is not being used for the beverage flows away and back to the reservoir, in order to be used again and that there is an efficient use of energy, and using gravity, saves on energy, to move the water back to the reservoir rather than moving it around with the pump, to just let it slide back, in order to be energy efficient, but to also have the water prepared to be used in a further process, as it is back within the tank.
Claims 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776) in view of Roberson (U.S. Patent 6,118,933).
Regarding claim 9, Mulder teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as above, and further discloses a beverage preparation device comprising
a buffer tank (20) having a tank body for storing an amount of water, wherein the first delivery line (21/22) is arranged to drain water from the buffer tank (20), and wherein the second delivery line (24) leads via its discharge outlet (end of 24 leading back into tank 20) back into the buffer tank (20) thus forming a closed loop, and
wherein the flow rate control device (60) is arranged to deliver water through the beverage preparation device (through 60 and 23).
but does not further disclose
a UV lamp for UV light treatment of water within the closed loop.
However, Roberson, in his beverage making apparatus, teaches a UV light treatment of the water for the tank (Roberson, column 11 lines 10-20, figs. 9- 11, filter device 200, filtering element 220 “The apparatus further comprises means for disinfecting including an ultra-violet (UV) lamp disposed within the reservoir or means for filtering the bacteria from the water within the flow path”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder in view or Roberson, to use a filter or UV light, to sanitize the liquid in the reservoir, to make sure that it is healthy and ready to drink, as perhaps it may be sitting a little bit and gathering infectants, so this method would provide a way of neutralizing contaminants
Regarding claim 10, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, and further teaches a beverage preparation device wherein the UV lamp is arranged to irradiate UV light into the buffer tank and/or into the first delivery line and/or into the second delivery line (Roberson, affects the buffer tank figs. 9- 11, in the combination above).
Regarding claim 11, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, and further teaches a beverage preparation device comprising a cooling unit (heating/cooling means 30, Abstract) for cooling the water within the buffer tank (20).
Regarding claim 13, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, but does not further teach, in the combination so far, a beverage preparation device wherein the supply line comprises a water filter for filtering water passing through the supply line from the water supply to the buffer tank, wherein the water filter comprises at least one element selected from the group consisting of a particle filter, an ultrafiltration device, a nano-filtration device, an active carbon device, and a reverse osmosis device. However, Roberson teaches “wherein the water filter comprises at least one element selected from the group consisting of a particle filter (Roberson, element 200, 220, column 11 lines 10-15 “membrane for filtering small particles”), an ultrafiltration device, a nano-filtration device, an active carbon device, and a reverse osmosis device”. The advantage would be to have the water further filtered so that contaminants are removed so that the water is healthier and more hygienic to create a beverage from. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder in view of Roberson, with a further teachings of Roberson, to have a filter that removes particle contaminants, in order to have the water further filtered so that contaminants are removed so that the water is healthier and more hygienic to create a beverage from.
Regarding claim 14, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, and further teaches a beverage preparation device comprising a beverage additive section (50) for dispensing additives, via the discharge outlet (end of 23) of the third delivery line (23) (allows for the dispensing and adding of coffee, adding flavor, receives coffee pads, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 19, Mulder discloses all the limitations of claim 9, as above, but does not further disclose a method comprising
sanitizing the water flowing in one or more of the first delivery line, the second delivery line and the third delivery line by UV light irradiated by a UV lamp (40), and
after the water has been sanitized, increasing the flow rate of the water to the second flow rate at or above the defined threshold value.
However Roberson, in his beverage making apparatus, teaches sanitizing the water flowing with a filter (Roberson, element 200, column 10 lines 29-30, removes “contaminates”) and a UV lamp (( Roberson, column 11 lines 10-20, figs. 9- 11, filter device 200, filtering element 220 “The apparatus further comprises means for disinfecting including an ultra-violet (UV) lamp disposed within the reservoir or means for filtering the bacteria from the water within the flow path”). The advantage would be to remove contaminants and sanitize the water before a beverage is made from it. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder with the teachings of Roberson, to have a filter and UV lamp in line by the pump, in order to sanitize the liquid before consumption and to make certain it is safe from contaminants, and only then to increase the flow rate to above the threshold, and have the liquid be then delivered to the extraction chamber rather than recycling to the reservoir.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776) in view of Roberson (U.S. Patent 6,118,933) and further in view of Moon (U.S. Patent Application Publication (U.S. 2020/ 0054164)
Regarding claim 12, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, but does not further teach a beverage preparation device comprising a water supply being connected with the buffer tank by a supply line for supplying water into the buffer tank, wherein the water supply is a primary water tank. Mulder does teach that the tank (20), needs to be filled ((¶0037, “Naturally, the water reservoir 20 should be filled”). Such primary and secondary tanks are conventional, such as in Moon, teaching “a supply line (Moon, 22, ¶20) for supplying water into the buffer tank (Moon, 16), wherein the water supply is a primary water tank” (12). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder in view of Roberson with the teachings of Moon, to have the buffer tank supplied by a primary tank, even as Mulder teaches to have the buffer tank filled, in order to have the water on hand in the beverage making machine, and to make the device mobile, to have further water available to fill the buffer tank, as the buffer tank is the water immediately available for use, and this water has to be easily pumpable and movable and heatable as it is being circulated through the device, and the primary tank is only a water source, not being circulated, and this would be using a conventional method to achieve only the expected result of a source for filling a buffer tank.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776) in view of Roberson (U.S. Patent 6,118,933) and further in view of McHugh (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/ 0235242).
Regarding claim 15, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, but does not further teach a beverage preparation device comprising an in-line carbonation device for entering CO2 into the circulating water. However, McHugh teaches that such a device in his beverage making invention (McHugh, ¶0012). Adding such a device would allow for versatility in the beverage maker and allow for carbonation of the end beverage, which may be desirable for a user, and is conventional in the art, using a conventional method to achieve not unexpected results of carbonated beverages out of a beverage maker. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder in view of Roberson with the teachings of McHugh, to have an in-line carbonation device in the beverage maker, in order to allow for versatility in the beverage maker and allow for carbonation of the end beverage, which may be desirable for a user, and is conventional in the art, using a conventional method to achieve the not unexpected result of carbonated beverages out of a beverage maker.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulder (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0298776) in view of Roberson (U.S. Patent 6,118,933) and further in view of Hestekin (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/ 0160153).
Regarding claim 16, Mulder in view of Roberson teaches all the limitations of claim 9, as above, but does not further teach a method for separating flow via a branching section comprising an insulation housing encapsulating the buffer tank, the first delivery line, the second delivery line, the branching section and the UV lamp. However, such an insulation housing is known in the art, such as in Hestekin (¶40, element 60, figs. 2 & 3), for best keeping and not losing the heat within the beverage making machine as the water is in the tank or lines, and also to make the machine quieter and less disturbing to the people around it. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mulder in view of Roberson, with the teachings of Hestekin, to have an insulation housing around the components of the beverage making device, in order to best keep and not lose the heat within the beverage making machine as the water is in the tank or lines, and also to make the machine quieter and less disturbing to the people around it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761