Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 recite: In claim 20, it is not definite what is meant by “the sorting and removing device picks up tofu determined das a non- defective product in the inspection result and align the tofu on the conveying device”. It appears this recitation should recite: the sorting and removing device picks up tofu determined as a non-defective product in the inspection result and aligns the tofu on the conveying device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
the conveyance device comprises an inversion mechanism configured to invert the tofu being conveyed, and wherein the tofu inspection device inspects the tofu using images captured before and after inversion performed by the inversion mechanism (as recited in claim 9).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation of “tofu production system” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
production device in claims 1, 2, 16 and 20, which is interpreted as a continuous coagulation machine, a continuous molding machine, a continuous cutting machine, a continuous alignment machine, a continuous fryer, a continuous freezer, a continuous sterilizer and equivalents thereof.
conveyance device in claims 1-3, 6, 9, 16 and 20, which is interpreted as a belt conveyor, a net conveyor, a bar conveyor, a slat band chain and equivalents thereof;
tofu inspection device in claims 1, 3, 6, 9-11, 13, 15, 16 and 20, which is interpreted as a displacement sensor or a distance sensor using three-dimensional data, or an image inspection device, an X-ray detector, a metal detector, and a weight inspection device and equivalents thereof;
sorting and removing device in claims 1, 3, 8 and 20, which is interpreted as a high-speed robot comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints and equivalents thereof; and
alignment device in claims 6, 9 and 19, which is interpreted as a high-speed robot comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 9 recites “inversion mechanism” which includes a generic placeholder (“mechanism”) and functional language (“inversion”). However, corresponding structure is not claimed or disclosed such that the recitation of “inversion mechanism” is not enabled.
Claims 9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “inversion mechanism” which includes a generic placeholder (“mechanism”) and functional language (“inversion”). However, corresponding structure is not claimed or disclosed such that the recitation of “inversion mechanism” is not definite.
In claims 16 and 20, there is no antecedent basis for the recitation of “the number of rows or arrangement”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090080706 A1 to TAO et al. (“TAO”) in view of JP H0930638 A to YAMAMOTO et al. (“YAMAMOTO”).
TAO discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
a conveyance device (e.g., conveyor 3) configured to arrange the tofu produced by the production device according to a predetermined rule corresponding to the tofu and convey the tofu (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33);
a tofu inspection device (e.g., computer 2, cameras 6, 6', 7, 7', x-ray line-scan camera 4) configured to inspect the tofu on the conveyance device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33); and
a sorting and removing device (e.g., rejection device 15, actuator 19) configured to sort or remove a defective product in the tofu being conveyed by the conveyance device based on an inspection result of the tofu inspection device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33);
Regarding claim 3: the tofu production system according to claim 2,
wherein the tofu inspection device inspects the tofu on at least one of the first conveyance device and the second conveyance device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33), and
wherein the sorting and removing device sorts or removes the defective product in the tofu being conveyed by the first conveyance device or the second conveyance device based on the inspection result of the tofu inspection device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33);
Regarding claim 10: the tofu production system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display device (e.g., screen of computer 2) configured to display a captured image indicating the tofu determined as the defective product based on the inspection result of the tofu inspection device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33); and
Regarding claim 15: the tofu production system according to claim 1, wherein the tofu inspection device is used in combination with a displacement sensor or a distance sensor using three-dimensional data, or an image inspection device, an X-ray detector, a metal detector, and a weight inspection device (e.g., Fig. 1 and para 33).
TAO disclose a production device configured to continuously produce tofu (as recited in claim 1).
However, YAMAMOTO discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
a production device (e.g., article (container tofu) manufacturing machine A) configured to continuously produce tofu (e.g., the article 5 is the container tofu) (e.g., Fig. 1-19 and para 3-6, 9 and 32-34);
Regarding claim 2: the tofu production system according to claim 1, wherein the conveyance device comprises:
a first conveyance device (e.g., first conveyor 1) configured to arrange the tofu produced by the production device in a plurality of rows and convey the tofu (e.g., Fig. 1-19 and para 3-6, 9 and 32-34); and
a second conveyance device (e.g., second conveyor 2) located downstream of the first conveyance device in a conveyance direction, the second conveyance device being configured to arrange the tofu conveyed from the first conveyance device in a single row and convey the tofu in a direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction of the first conveyance device (e.g., Fig. 1-19 and para 3-6, 9 and 32-34); and
Regarding claim 14: the tofu production system according to claim 1, wherein the tofu is any one of packaged silken tofu, silken tofu, cotton tofu, grilled tofu, dried-frozen tofu, deep-fried tofu, a deep-fried tofu pouch, thin deep-fried tofu, thick deep-fried tofu, a fried cutlet, and a deep-fried tofu burger (e.g., Official notice is taken that silken tofu was well-known at the time of invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to for the tofu of YAMAMOTO to be silken tofu in order provide a popular form of tofu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filing date (post AIA ) to modify TAO as suggested and taught by YAMAMOTO in order for an article transferred on the first conveyor is kept in a normal posture while providing a simple configuration.
Claim(s) 4-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAO in view of YAMAMOTO and further in view of US 20190217342 A1 to PARR et al. (“PARR”).
TAO in view of YAMAMOTO discloses substantially all of the features of the claimed invention as set forth above.
TAO in view of YAMAMOTO does not explicitly disclose a high-speed robot (as recited in claim 4).
However PARR discloses:
Regarding claim 4: the tofu production system according to claim 1,
wherein the sorting and removing device comprises a high-speed robot (e.g., robotic sorters 304) comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints (e.g., joints of the six axis robot disclosed in para 51), configured to adjust a position of a sorting operation or a removing operation (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87);
Regarding claim 5: the tofu production system according to claim 1,
wherein the tofu inspection device comprises a SCARA robot (e.g., robotic sorters 304 may include any form of robotic sorting such as, but not limited to, a six axis robot, Selective Compliance Assembly Robot Arm (SCARA) Robot) comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints (e.g., joints of the six axis robot disclosed in para 51), configured to adjust a position of an inspection operation (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87);
Regarding claim 6: the tofu production system according to claim 1, further comprising:
an alignment device (e.g., robotic sorters 304) configured to align a non-defective product in the objects corresponding to the tofu being conveyed by the conveyance device according to a predetermined rule based on the inspection result of the tofu inspection device (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87);
Regarding claim 7: the tofu production system according to claim 6, wherein the alignment device comprises a high-speed robot (e.g., robotic sorters 304) comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints (e.g., joints of the six axis robot disclosed in para 51), configured to adjust a position of an alignment operation (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87);
Regarding claim 8: the tofu production system according to claim 6, wherein the sorting and removing device also serves as the alignment device (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87);
Regarding claim 9, as best understood: the tofu production system according to claim 1,
wherein the conveyance device comprises an inversion mechanism (e.g., drum 26) configured to invert the objects corresponding to the tofu being conveyed (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 63-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87), and
wherein the tofu inspection device inspects the objects corresponding to the tofu using images captured before and after inversion performed by the inversion mechanism (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87); and
Regarding claim 13: the tofu production system according to claim 1, wherein inspection of the objects corresponding to the tofu by the tofu inspection device is implemented by pattern matching (e.g., Fig. 1-8 and para 28-31, 46, 50-56, 62-69, 75, 80, 84 and 87, wherein para 64 discloses pattern matching).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filing date (post AIA ) to modify TAO in view of YAMAMOTO as suggested and taught by PARR in order provide automated control of sorting with minimal human intervention.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAO in view of YAMAMOTO and further in view of US 20160307072 A1 to Zhou et al. (“Zhou”).
TAO in view of YAMAMOTO discloses substantially all of the features of the claimed invention as set forth above.
TAO in view of YAMAMOTO does not explicitly disclose a learned model (as recited in claim 11).
However Zhou discloses:
Regarding claim 11: the tofu production system according to claim 1,
wherein the tofu inspection device comprises:
an image capturing device (e.g., image capture device) configured to capture an image of the tofu to be inspected (e.g., Fig. 1-6 and col 1, ln 60-67, col 2-3 and col 9, ln 1-40);
a processor (e.g., processing system 100 includes at least one processor (CPU) 104) (e.g., Fig. 1-6 and col 1, ln 60-67, col 2-3 and col 9, ln 1-40); and
a memory (e.g., a cache 106, a Read Only Memory (ROM) 108, a Random Access Memory (RAM) 110) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause a computer to perform operations comprising determining a quality of the tofu indicated by a captured image using an evaluation value as output data obtained by inputting the captured image of the tofu captured by the image capturing device as input data with respect to a learned model for determining a quality of tofu indicated by input data, the learned model being generated by performing machine learning using learning data including a captured image of tofu (e.g., Fig. 1-6 and col 1, ln 60-67, col 2-3 and col 9, ln 1-40); and
Regarding claim 12: the tofu production system according to claim 11, wherein the learned model is generated by deep learning using a neural network (e.g., convolutional neural network (CNN)) (e.g., Fig. 1-6 and col 1, ln 60-67, col 2-3 and col 9, ln 1-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or at the time before the effective filing date (post AIA ) to modify TAO in view of YAMAMOTO as suggested and taught by Zhou in order provide image classification of real-world physical objects.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. The prior art, including TAO, YAMAMOTO, PARR and Zhou, does not disclose or render obvious the subject matter of claims 16 and 20 such as a conveyance device configured to arrange the tofu produced by the production device according to a predetermined rule corresponding to the tofu and convey the tofu; a tofu inspection device configured to inspect the tofu on the conveyance device; and a sorting and removing device configured to align or remove the tofu being conveyed according to the predetermined rule by the conveyance device based on an inspection result of the tofu inspection device, wherein the sorting and removing device comprises a robot comprising a linear motion cylinder or multiple joints, and wherein in the predetermined rule, the number of rows or arrangement are adjusted according to a relationship between a size of the tofu produced by the production device and a width of the conveyance device (as in claim 16) and a conveyance device configured to arrange the tofu produced by the production device according to a predetermined rule corresponding to the tofu and convey the tofu; a tofu inspection device configured to inspect the tofu on the conveyance device; and a sorting and removing device configured to align or remove the tofu being conveyed according to the predetermined rule by the conveyance device based on an inspection result of the tofu inspection device, wherein the conveyance device arranges the tofu produced by the production device such that cakes of the tofu are arranged in a matrix or in a staggered manner or such that the cakes of the tofu are randomly arranged so as not to overlap with one another, and convey the tofu, wherein in the predetermined rule, the number of rows or arrangement are adjusted according to a relationship between a size of the tofu produced by the production device and a width of the conveyance device, and wherein the sorting and removing device picks up tofu determined as a non-defective product in the inspection result and aligns the tofu on the conveying device (as in claim 20).
Conclusion
/ERIC S STAPLETON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 September 28, 2025