DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 05/20/2026, cancelled claims 9, 12-18 and 17, and amended claim 10.
Claims 10, 15-16 and 18 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected
, 2-methyl-2-thiazoline, as the species of the compound, in the reply filed on 06/24/2025.
The elected species is free of the prior art. The examination of the Markush claim has been extended. If a Markush grouping as set forth in a claim is proper and election of species has been required, the examiner must continue to search the species of the claim unless the claim has been found to be unpatentable over prior art. MPEP 803.02.
The search has been extended to
.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 10, 15, and 18 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s deletion of claim 9 and amendment to claim 10 is sufficient to overcome this objection.
35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 over Wagle
Regarding the 102 rejection, Wagle does not explicitly teach a method of administering 2-methyl-2-thiazole to a patient in need of suppressed inflammation. Moreover, while [0003] of Wagle teaches advanced glycosylation end products as inflammatory mediators, it does not specifically teach 2-methyl-2-thiazole as having this property. And while Wagle teaches its compounds for the treatment of intraocular pressure, it does not exemplify or explicitly teach a method of treating intraocular pressure by administering 2-methyl-thiazole, or teach intraocular pressure as causing inflammation.
Regarding the 103 rejection, while Wagle teaches its compounds, generically, as treating “Certain Fibrotic Diseases” ([0037]), it additionally teaches its compounds as treating Arteriosclerosis, Atherosclerosis, Stiff Vessel Disease, Peripheral Vascular Disease, Coronary Heart Disease, Stroke, Myocardial Infarct, Cardiomyopathies, Restenosis, Bladder Elasticity, Macular Degeneration, ALS, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Bone Resorption, Dialysis, Asthma, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, and more disparate diseases, in a laundry list of diseases. As such, there is no motivation to specifically select 2-methyl-2-thiazoline or 2,4,5-trimethylthiazole to treat fibrotic disease, or any of the other generally taught diseases of Wagle.
Moreover, on pg. 9, Remarks, Applicant persuasively argues that “In other words, Meneghin et al. teaches that an anti-inflammatory immune skewing does not necessarily mean an enhancement of host defense,” in reference to fibrotic disease.
For these reasons, the prior art rejections over Wagle are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
In view of the 04/01/2026 claim amendments to Application No. 18/040,569, the Double Patenting rejection is withdrawn. The patient population of the instant claims and that of ‘569 are distinct.
NEW REJECTIONS
The rejections are new.
Improper Markush Grouping
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives.
See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of formula (I),
, is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity.
Formula (I) contains no singular structural similarity aside from being rings with heteroatoms. Ring A comprises:
-5 membered rings, 6 membered rings, bicyclic rings, and tricyclic rings;
-aromatic rings, aliphatic rings, and rings with a single double bond; and
-one or two heteroatoms of different combinations of O, S, N, and N-N.
Thus, formula (I) encompasses a wide variety of chemical species classified in distinct physical classes, wherein these chemical species do not share any single structural similarity.
While the compounds are claimed to have the same use, i.e., enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation, there is no significant structural feature or core from which the utility flows.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within the improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant can amend the claims to the following structure:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the claim 10, the phrase “enhancing immunity” renders the claim indefinite. The term “enhancing” in reference to immunity, is a relative term that is neither defined by the specification nor the prior art. It is not clear what baseline is being referenced to determine “enhancing.” Specifically, it is not clear if “enhancing” is the elevation of a certain biomarker in vivo, or the amelioration of a specific outward symptom, or something else entirely. And it is not clear if the baseline for “enhancing immunity” is being determined by a specific immunity baseline known in the art, or is being determined by a specific measure of a biomarker/symptom of the individual mammal prior to administration of instant formula (I).
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0018400 to Schmidt (published 2014, PTO-892) as evidenced by Viswanath (Understanding Autoimmune Diseases-A Review, published 2013, PTO-892).
Schmidt teaches a method of treating autoimmune disorders by administering compounds of formula,
(pg. 43, claims 1, 8), such as
(pg. 44, claim 47; [0340], [0351]).
meets the limitations of instant formula (I) when A is a thiazole, R1 is H, R2 is a C1alkyl, R3 is an oxo group, and R4 is a C6-aryl group.
While Schmidt teaches a method of treating autoimmune disorders and teaches
, as a preferred compound, it differs from that of instant claim 10 in that it does not explicitly teach a method of treating autoimmune disorders by administering
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select
as the compound administered in the methods of treating an autoimmune disease of Schmidt, to arrive at instant claim 10. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Schmidt teaches autoimmune diseases as a disease preferably treated by its methods, and
-Schmidt teaches
, as one of six preferred compounds with excellent activity for use in its treatment methods (see Compound 5, [0365]-[0367]).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection to predictably arrive at an effective method of treating autoimmune diseases.
Regarding claim 10, while Schmidt does not explicitly teach “ “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation in an animal in need thereof,” it teaches the same step of administering an effective amount of a compound of formula (I), i.e.,
, to a mammal; the instant specification teaches an effective amount as 1pg/kg to 5,000mg/kg ([0058]), and Schmidt teaches an effective amount as 0.01-500mg/kg/day ([0212]). The instant specification does not define a mammal in need of enhanced immunity. Since all mammals benefit from enhanced immunity, i.e., protection from viruses, protection from bacteria, and protection from the growth of cancerous cells, for example, the patient population of Schmidt meets the limitation of “a patient in need of enhanced immunity.” Regarding “suppressing inflammation,” as evidenced by Viswanath, autoimmune disorders cause chronic inflammation, causing pain and permanent changes or damages to the involved tissue. Thus, a mammal with an autoimmune disorder is a mammal in need of suppressed inflammation and enhanced immunity.
Regarding claim 15,
meets the limitations of instant formula (I) when A is a thiazole, R1 is H, R2 is a C1alkyl, R3 is an oxo group, and R4 is a C6-aryl group.
Double Patenting
Claims 10, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,590,141 (PTO-892 of 08/27/2025), as evidenced by Bartels (Hypoxia and inflammation are two sides of the same coin, published 2013, PTO-892).
Claims 10, 15 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,325 (PTO-892 of 08/27/2025), as evidenced by Francisco (Inflammation in Myocardial Ischemia/Reperfusion Injury: Underlying Mechanisms and Therapeutic Potential, published 2023, PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue in each of the patents are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘141 claims a method for treating hypoxic injury in a mammal comprising administering a compound of
(claim 1).
‘141 claims 2-methyl-2-thiazoline and additional species (claims 2, 4-8).
‘325 claims a method for treating ischemia-reperfusion in a mammal comprising administering a compound of
(claim 1).
‘325 claims 2-methyl-2-thiazoline and additional species (claims 2, 4-8).
Regarding claim 10, while ‘141 and ‘325 do not explicitly teach “ “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation in an animal in need thereof,” they teach the same step of administering an effective amount of a compound of formula (I), i.e.,
, to a mammal; the instant specification teaches an effective amount as 1pg/kg to 5,000mg/kg ([0058]), and ‘325 and ‘141 teach an effective amount as 0.1ug-5000mg/kg/day (Col. 13, lines 60-67 and Col. 14, lines 7-32, respectively). The instant specification does not define a mammal in need of enhanced immunity. Since all mammals benefit from enhanced immunity, i.e., protection from viruses, protection from bacteria, and protection from the growth of cancerous cells, for example, the patient population of ‘141 and ‘325 meet the limitation of “a patient in need of enhanced immunity,” as instantly claimed. Regarding “suppressing inflammation,” as evidenced by Bartels, hypoxia causes inflammation, and as evidenced by Francisco ischemia-reperfusion injury causes inflammation
Thus, a mammal with hypoxia is a mammal in need of suppressed inflammation and enhanced immunity.
Claims 10 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 15-16 of copending Application No. 18/785,986 (claim set of 07/26/2024).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
‘986 claims a method for preventing or treating hypoxic injury, ischemia-reperfusion injury or inflammation in a mammal comprising administering a compound of instant formula (I) (claims 1, 15, 16).
Regarding claim 10, while ‘’986 does not explicitly teach “ “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation in an animal in need thereof,” it teaches the same step of administering an effective amount of a compound of formula (I) to a mammal; the instant specification teaches an effective amount as 1pg/kg to 5,000mg/kg ([0058]), and ‘986 teaches an effective amount as 0.1ug-5000mg/kg/day ([0052]). The instant specification does not define a mammal in need of enhanced immunity. Since all mammals benefit from enhanced immunity, i.e., protection from viruses, protection from bacteria, and protection from the growth of cancerous cells, for example, the patient population of ‘986 meets the limitation of “a patient in need of enhanced immunity,” as instantly claimed. Regarding “suppressing inflammation,” ‘986 claims its methods for treating inflammation.
Free of the Prior Art
Claim 18 is free of the prior art.
The closest prior art is US 2002/0183317 to Wagle (published 2002, PTO-892 of 08/27/2025), which teaches 2-methyl-2-thiazoline or 2,4,5-trimethylthiazole and teaches methods of treating fibrotic disease. However, Wagle does not explicitly teach a method of administering 2-methyl-2-thiazoline or 2-methyl-2-thiazole to a patient in need of suppressed inflammation. While Wagle teaches its compounds, generically, as treating “Certain Fibrotic Diseases” ([0037]), it additionally teaches its compounds as treating Arteriosclerosis, Atherosclerosis, Stiff Vessel Disease, Peripheral Vascular Disease, Coronary Heart Disease, Stroke, Myocardial Infarct, Cardiomyopathies, Restenosis, Bladder Elasticity, Macular Degeneration, ALS, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis, Bone Resorption, Dialysis, Asthma, Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, and more disparate diseases, and teaches a plethora of species of its generic compound. As such, there is no motivation to specifically select 2-methyl-2-thiazoline or 2,4,5-trimethylthiazole to treat fibrotic disease, or any of the other diseases taught by Wagle.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622