DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment filed, 11/25/2025, wherein the Amendment amended claims 9-10, cancelled claims 11 and 14, and added claims 17-18.
Claims 9-10, 12-13, and 15-18 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of
, 2-methyl-2-thiazoline, as the species of the compound, in the reply filed on 06/24/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 13 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 9-10, 12, 15, and 17-18 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Specification Objections
Applicant’s amendment to the specification is sufficient to overcome this objection.
35 U.S.C. § 112(d)
Applicant’s amendment to claim 10 is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 9 and 10 that limits ring A to “thiazoline, thiazole. . .or tetrahydrofuran,” and limits the definitions of R1-R5, such that the definitions of compounds of formula (I) and (II) are within the scope of the instant examples, are sufficient to overcome this rejection. Moreover, Applicant persuasively argues on pgs. 8-9, Remarks, that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that increasing specific immune cells would result in enhancing immunity, to overcome this rejection.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 9 and 10 that modifies the patient population is sufficient to overcome the rejections over US Patent No. 11,590,141, US Patent No. 12,076,325, and Application No. 18/785,986 since ‘141,‘325, and ‘986 teach its methods as suppressing the immune response (Col. 5, lines 7-16; Col. 5, lines 22-30; and [0012], respectively).
NEW & MODIFIED REJECTIONS
The amendment to the claims amends the scope of instant compounds (I) and (II), and modifies the patient population to “a mammal in need thereof.” In view of these amendments, the prior art rejections have been modified or are new. Wagle continues to be relied upon as the primary reference.
Claim Objections
(New) Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3, the phrase “kind of” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Modified) Claims 9-10, 12, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2002/0183317 to Wagle (published 2002, PTO-892 of 08/27/2025).
Wagle teaches a method of treating or ameliorating an indication of the invention in an animal, including a human, comprising administering an effective amount of a compound of formula I or IA:
(pg. 16, claim 1).
Wagle exemplifies 2-methyl-2-thiazoline, the instant elected species, as a compound of formula (I) ([0149], [0182]). Wagle teaches 2-methyl-2-thiazoline as decreasing intraocular pressure ([0181]).
Wagle further exemplifies:
, 2, 4, 5-trimethylthiazole ([0140]; pg. 17, claim 6) as a compound of formula (I), which meets the limitations of instant formula (I) when:
A is a thiazole,
R1-R3 are a C1 alkyl group, and
n is 0.
Wagle also teaches thiazole and 2-isobutylthiazole, which are also compounds of instant formula (I) ([0128]; [0148]; pg. 17, claim 6).
Applicant is reminded that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claims 9-10, while Wagle does not explicitly teach “enhancing immunity in an animal in need thereof” or “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation in an animal in need thereof,” it teaches the same step of administering an effective amount of a compound of formula (I), i.e., 2-methyl-2-thiazoline, thiazole and 2-isobutylthiazole, to an animal; the instant specification teaches an effective amount as 1pg/kg to 5,000mg/kg ([0058]), and Wagle teaches an effective amount as 0.1mg/kg-4mg/kg and about 0.7mg/kg to about 280mg/kg ([0052], [0198]). The instant specification does not define a mammal in need of enhanced immunity. Since all mammals benefit from enhanced immunity, i.e., protection from viruses, protection from bacteria, and protection from the growth of cancerous cells, for example, the patient population of Wagle meets the limitation of “a patient in need of enhanced immunity,” as instantly claimed. See also MPEP 2112.02.
Further regarding claim 10, Wagle teaches its compounds as inhibiting the formation of inflammatory mediators to treat diseases/disorders ([0003]). As such, the patient population of Wagle is in need of the suppression of inflammation, and thus in need of enhanced immunity.
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(New) Claims 9-10, 12, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0183317 to Wagle (published 2002, PTO-892 of 08/27/2025) in view of Meneghin (Infectious disease, the innate immune response, and fibrosis, The Jn of Clinical Investigation, published 2007, PTO-892).
Wagle is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 9-10, Wagle differs from that of the instant claims in that it does not explicitly teach a mammal in need of enhanced immunity or a mammal in need of enhanced immunity and suppression of inflammation.
Wagle teaches its compounds for the treatment of, prevention of, reduction of, or amelioration of fibrotic diseases ([0037]-[0045]).
Meneghin teaches that the unrelenting and destructive progression of most fibrotic responses in the pulmonary, cardiovascular, integumentary, and alimentary systems remains a major medical challenge for which therapies are desperately needed (abstract).
Meneghin teaches that persistent infectious stimuli initiate and sustain the fibrotic process. Pathogens such as bacteria, viruses, fungi, and multicellular parasites represent major tissue injurious signals. The resulting fibrotic response facilitates the persistence of pathogens and their byproducts, thereby allowing the vicious cycle of chronic inflammation leading to fibrosis (pg. 531, Fig. 1). In chronic pulmonary fibrosis, the fibrotic response to pathogens is exacerbated by secondary and repeated pathogen insults, wherein viral byproducts are particularly important in perpetuating fibrosis (pg. 534, Fig. 2).
Meneghin additionally teaches fibrosis as characterized by an inflammatory response (abstract; pg. 530, Col. 2 “Important cellular culprits of fibrosis”; pg. 532, “From pathogens to the chronic inflammatory response and pathological tissue fibrosis”; pg. 535 “Summary and clinical therapeutic considerations”).
In summary, Meneghin teaches that the persistence of pathogens and chronic inflammation, leads to debilitating tissue fibrosis (pgs. 535-536, “Summary and clinical therapeutic considerations”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select the animal of Wagle, which includes humans (abstract), as those in need of enhanced immunity or enhanced immunity and suppression of inflammation, to arrive at instant claims 9-10. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such selections, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Wagle teaches its methods for the treatment of, prevention of, reduction of, or amelioration of fibrotic diseases, and
- Meneghin teaches that the persistence of pathogens leads to debilitating tissue fibrosis and inflammation, and teaches fibrosis as characterized by an inflammatory response.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would predictably expect that the patient population of Wagle would be in need of enhanced immunity or enhanced immunity and suppression of inflammation, to a) decrease infection by or mediate the infection of pathogens, that would lead to debilitating tissue fibrosis and inflammation, and b) decrease inflammation, which characterizes fibrosis.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 10, Remarks, Applicant argues that Wagle does not teach “a mammal in need of enhancing immunity or suppressing inflammation.”
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive.
While Wagle does not explicitly teach “enhancing immunity in an mammal in need thereof,” or “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation in a mammal in need thereof,” it teaches the same step of administering an effective amount of a compound of formula (I), i.e., 2-methyl-2-thiazoline, thiazole and 2-isobutylthiazole, to an animal; the instant specification teaches an effective amount as 1pg/kg to 5,000mg/kg ([0058]), and Wagle teaches an effective amount as 0.1mg/kg-4mg/kg and about 0.7mg/kg to about 280mg/kg ([0052], [0198]). The instant specification does not specifically define a mammal in need of enhanced immunity or suppression of inflammation. Since all mammals benefit from enhanced immunity, i.e., protection from viruses, protection from bacterium, and protection from cancerous cells, for example, the patient population of Wagle meets the limitation of “a patient in need of enhanced immunity,” as instantly claimed. See also MPEP 2112.02.
Further regarding claim 10, Wagle teaches its compounds as inhibiting the formation of inflammatory mediators ([0003]). As such, the patient population taught by Wagle is in need of the suppression of inflammation, and thus are in need of enhanced immunity; since the methods of Wagle inhibit the formation of inflammatory mediators, patients’ immunity is enhanced by the methods of Wagle.
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Double Patenting
(Modified) Claims 9-10, 12, 15 and 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-18 of copending Application No. 18/040,569 (claim set dated 02/03/2023, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘569 claims a method for preventing or treating a psychiatric disorder in a mammal, comprising administering an effective amount of a compound of instant formula (I) or (II) (claims 13, 15-16).
‘569 claims ring A as thiazoline, thiazole, thiazolidine, thiomorpholine and others (claim 14).
While ‘569 does not explicitly recite an animal in need of “enhancing immunity,” or “enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation,” [0004] of ‘569 teaches inflammation as leading to psychiatric disorders, wherein inflammation is a response that is necessary for immune cells to destroy exogenous substances, and that when inflammation progresses excessively, immune cells destroy not only exogenous substances, but also normal cells.” As such, it is reasonable to assume that the patient population of ‘569 are in need of “enhanced immunity” and “enhanced immunity and suppressed inflammation.”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 11, Remarks, Applicant argues that ‘569 does not teach an animal in need of enhancing immunity or in need of enhancing immunity and suppressing inflammation.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. [0004] of ‘569 teaches inflammation as leading to psychiatric disorders, wherein inflammation is a response that is necessary for immune cells to destroy exogenous substances, and that when inflammation progresses excessively, immune cells destroy not only exogenous substances, but also normal cells.” As such, in view of this teaching, it is reasonable to assume that the patient population of ‘569 is in need of “enhanced immunity” and “enhanced immunity and suppressed inflammation.”
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622