DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/13/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 106868623 to Sun in view of USPAP 2013/0274399 to Ligthart, USPN 4,320,213 to Woodbrey, USPAP 2002/0151625 to Yakabe and/or USPAP 2013/0280513 to Itou.
Claim 1, Sun discloses a polyamide industrial yarn, prepared from raw materials comprising a high-viscosity polyamide 5X resin having a relative viscosity in 96% sulfuric acid of 3.3 to 4.0, and a water content of 100 to 1000 ppm, wherein the high-viscosity polyamide 5X resin is selected from the group consisting of polyamide 510, polyamide 511, polyamide 512, polyamide 513, polyamide 514, polyamide 515, polyamide 516, polyamide 517, polyamide 518, and a combination thereof (see entire translation document including the abstract and pages 2-4 and 8).
Sun does not appear to specifically mention the polyamide resin including a copper acetate and potassium iodide thermal stabilizer but Ligthart, Woodbrey and Yakabe each disclose that it is known in the polyamide resin art to include the combination of copper acetate and potassium iodide as a thermal stabilizer (see entire documents including [0001]-[0011] of Ligthart, column 4, lines 29-42 of Woodbrey and [0066] of Yakabe). Woodbrey discloses that such a thermal stabilizer is well known in the art (column 4, lines 29-42) and Ligthart discloses that the molar ratio of copper acetate to potassium iodide is to be 1:(5-15) [0007]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include copper acetate and potassium iodide thermal stabilizer, within the claimed amount, in the polyamide resin material of Sun, motivated by a desire to provide the yarn with thermal stabilization.
Claims 4-9, regarding the claimed properties, considering that the polyamide yarn taught by the applied prior art is made by a substantially identical process with a substantially identical polyamide resin, the claimed properties are either inherent or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the properties, such as claimed, based on the desired/required properties for the intended use and/or because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection, In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 10, 21 and 22, Sun discloses that the polyamide yarn is obtained from spinning raw materials by a spinning process, and the spinning raw materials may comprise a low-viscosity polyamide 5X resin having a relative viscosity in 96% sulfuric acid of 2.2-2.7 (page 3). In addition, Sun discloses use of a linear aliphatic dibasic acid selected from one or more of sebacic acid, undecanedioic acid, dodecanedioic acid, tridecanedioic acid, tetradecanedioic acid, pentadecanedioic add, hexadecane dibasic acid, heptadecanedioic acid, octadecanedioic acid, and Δ9-1,18 octadecenedioic acid (page 2). It is the examiner’s position that the article of the applied prior art is identical to or only slightly different than the claimed article. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The burden has been shifted to the applicant to show an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The applied prior art either anticipated or strongly suggested the claimed subject matter. It is noted that if the applicant intends to rely on Examples in the specification or in a submitted declaration to show non-obviousness, the applicant should clearly state how the Examples of the present invention are commensurate in scope with the claims and how the Comparative Examples are commensurate in scope with the applied prior art.
Claim 11, Sun does not appear to specifically mention the resin including one of the claimed additives but the examiner takes official notice (now admitted prior art) that the claimed additives are well known to those skilled in the art and Sun lists a variety of uses for the fiber wherein the fiber would benefit from one or more of the claimed additives (pages 2 and 5). For example, Sun mentions clothing therefore an antistatic agent would be beneficial. Sun also mentions outdoor use such as a tent or parachute wherein a UV absorber would be beneficial. In addition, Itou discloses that it is known in the polyamide fiber clothing art to construct a polyamide fiber with additives such as flame retardants, UV absorbers, antioxidants, IR absorber, etc. (see entire document including [0003], [0004] and [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include one or more of the claimed additives motivated by a desire to provide the yarn with one or more of the benefits of said additive(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789