DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the amended application filed on January 29, 2026. The Remarks of January 29, 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Drawings are considered and the replacement sheets to the figures are accepted. The original objections to the Drawings are withdrawn.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Specification are considered and the respective amendments are accepted. There are no further objections to the Specification.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Claims are considered. The respective amendments to claims 10, 12, 14, and 19 are accepted and the objections to these claims are withdrawn. The amendments to claim 2 give rise to new objections as presented below.
The Remarks regarding the 112 rejections of the Claims are considered the respective amendments are accepted. There are no further 112 rejections to the Claims.
The Remarks regarding the 103 rejections of the Claims are considered.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the limitations of claims 4 and 5. Likewise, claim 19 has been amended in a similar manner.
Regarding the amendments to claim 1 the applicant (pages 5-6) argues:
“Wang does not explicitly teach the relationship between the phase shift units and the antenna units. Wang is silent about "each phase shift unit comprises: ... the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate" and "each phase shift unit comprises: ... wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit".
Element 422 of Ogilvie was cited as corresponding to the second substrate.
…
That is, the feed-top substrate 422 is an element of antenna cell.
…
In addition, Ogilvie discloses phase shifters (e.g., time delay units) 260. However, the feed-top substrate 422 of Ogilvie is not used to form the phase shifters 260.
Therefore, Ogilvie and Horst in view of Wang cannot teach the limitations "each phase shift unit comprises: ... the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate" in amended independent claim 1.
On the other hand, Ogilvie discloses summing circuits (e.g., power combiners or dividers) 270. Ogilvie is silent about the specific connection relationship between the phase shifters 260 and the summing circuits 270, let alone the connection relationship between the coplanar waveguide transmission line in the phase shift unit (phase shifters 260 in Ogilvie) and the first power divider (summing circuits 270 in Ogilvie).
Therefore, Ogilvie and Horst in view of Wang cannot teach the limitations "each phase shift unit comprises: ... wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit" in amended independent claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
In this regard, Ogilvie (Fig. 2) teaches antenna units (210), phase shift units (260), and a power division transmission unit (270) connected in the same order as recited in claim 1 of the invention.
Wang (Fig. 3) teaches a phase shifting unit comprising: a second substrate (20) and a third substrate (10) arranged opposite to each other; a coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission line (13 and 14) located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode (21) located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer (3) located between the second substrate and the third substrate.
Regarding the applicant’s statement of a substrate 422 in Ogilvie being cited as corresponding to the second substrate as related to the phase shift units, the citation of the substrate 422 is provided to demonstrate arranging different substrates in a correct relationship in a multilayer printed circuit boards and not as a statement that substrate 422 is a part of the phase shift unit.
The examiner notes that designing multi-layer printed circuit boards combining multiple RF components is well-known and well-established in the art. Thus, although Wang does not teach the relationship between the phase shift units and the antenna units, a person skilled in the art would know how to substitute the phase shift units in Ogilvie with the liquid crystal phase shifter in Wang by providing the appropriate stack-up of the entire combination so that the second substrate (related to the phase shifting units) is arranged accordingly relative to the first substrate (related to the antenna units) and an appropriate transition between layers is established for feeding the antenna unit (as necessitated by the antenna type). Further, a person skilled in the art would know that connecting the antenna units and the power division transmission unit in Ogilvie via the phase shifter of Wang requires to connect one end of the CPW transmission line of the phase shifter to the power division transmission unit and the other end of the CPW transmission line to the corresponding antenna unit using the appropriate feeding mechanism as stated above.
Furthermore, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
Also, the factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Because of the above reasons, the applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive and the amended claims 1 and 19 are rejected as presented below.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 19 necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 (lines 2 and 3) “the each first power divider” should be amended to “each first power divider”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogilvie (US 9755306 B1; hereinafter Ogilvie) in view of Horst et al. (“Monolithic Low Cost Ka-Band Wilkinson Power Dividers on Flexible Organic Substrates”, 2007 Electronic Components and Technology Conference, hereinafter Horst) and Wang et al. (US 20200203827 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Ogilvie (Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 22-49; Figs. 3-4; Fig. 9, col. 7, lines 4-14) discloses an antenna, comprising:
at least one group of antenna units (regarding the at least one group of antenna units, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below);
at least one group of phase shift units (regarding the at least one group of phase shift units, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), each group of phase shift units corresponding to a group of antenna units, each phase shift unit being configured to perform phase adjustment on a microwave signal (regarding the limitation of each phase shift unit being configured to perform phase adjustment, a phase shift unit is inherently configured to perform phase adjustment on transmitted and/or received electromagnetic signals; regarding the limitation of microwave signal, Fig. 9, col. 7, lines 4-14 disclose that the antenna unit operates in the frequency range of 10-17 GHz, which is a microwave frequency range); and
a power division transmission unit (regarding the power division transmission unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below),
wherein each group of the antenna units comprises a first antenna unit and a second antenna unit (regarding the first antenna unit and the second antenna unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), each group of the phase shift units comprises a first phase shift unit coupled to the first antenna unit and a second phase shift unit coupled to the second antenna unit (regarding the first phase shift unit and the second phase shift unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), the power division transmission unit comprises at least one first power divider (regarding the at least one first power divider, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), each first power divider comprises a first end, a second end and a third end, the first end is coupled to the first phase shift unit, the second end is coupled to the second phase shift unit (regarding the first end, the second end, and the third end of each first power divider, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below);
wherein each antenna unit comprises: a first substrate (416 in Fig. 4); a first reference electrode (415 in Fig. 4) arranged at a side of the first substrate and provided with a first via hole (320 in Fig. 3); and a radiation patch (312 in Fig. 3/417 in Fig. 4) arranged at a side of the first substrate away from the first reference electrode, an orthogonal projection of the radiation patch onto the first substrate overlapping an orthogonal projection of the first via hole onto the first substrate at a first overlapping region (see overlapping region of the orthogonal projection of the radiation patch 312 with the orthogonal projection of the first via hole 320 in Fig. 3).
Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein a phase difference between a first microwave signal transmitted from the first end to the third end and a second microwave signal transmitted from the second end to the third end is a preset value.
Horst (Fig. 4; p. 1853, left column, lines 9-12) teaches a power divider wherein a phase difference between a first microwave signal transmitted from its first end to its third end and a second microwave signal transmitted from its second end to its third end is a preset value (regarding the first end, the second end, and the third end of the power divider, see annotated Fig. 4 in Horst below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogilvie’s first power divider so that a phase difference between a first microwave signal transmitted from the first end to the third end and a second microwave signal transmitted from the second end to the third end is a preset value as taught by Horst. This modification would provide a first power divider with highly isolated output ports, while maintaining a matched impedance at all ports (see Horst, p. 1851, Introduction, lines 7-9).
The so modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein each phase shift unit comprises: a second substrate and a third substrate arranged opposite to each other, the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate; a coplanar waveguide transmission line located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer located between the second substrate and the third substrate, wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit.
Wang (Fig. 4) teaches a phase shift unit comprising: a second substrate (20) and a third substrate (10) arranged opposite to each other; a coplanar waveguide transmission line (13 and 14) located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode (21) located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer (3) located between the second substrate and the third substrate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make the modified Ogilvie wherein each phase shift unit comprises: a second substrate and a third substrate arranged opposite to each other, the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate; a coplanar waveguide transmission line located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer located between the second substrate and the third substrate. This modification would provide phase shift units which are easy to control and have low power consumption (see Wang, [0055], lines 19-21).
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate and the limitation wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit.
However, Ogilvie (Figs. 3-4) teaches: a second substrate (422 in Fig. 4) being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode (415 in Fig. 4) away from the first substrate (416 in Fig. 4); and a transmission line (326 in Fig. 3) disposed on a third substrate (424 in Fig. 4) on a side facing the second substrate, wherein an end of the microstrip transmission line is coupled to the radiation patch (417). Further, Ogilvie (Fig. 2) teaches a first phase shift unit, one end of which is coupled to the first power divider and its second end coupled to the first antenna unit (regarding the first phase shift unit, the first power divider, and the first antenna unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above). Furthermore, designing multi-layer printed circuit boards combining multiple RF components is well-known and well-established in the art. Thus, a person skilled in the art would know how to substitute the phase shift units in Ogilvie with the phase shift unit in Wang by providing the appropriate stack-up of the entire combination so that the second substrate of the phase shifting unit is arranged accordingly relative to the first substrate of the antenna unit and an appropriate transition between layers is established for feeding the antenna unit (as necessitated by the antenna type). Further, a person skilled in the art would know that connecting the antenna units and the power division transmission unit in Ogilvie via the phase shift unit of Wang requires to connect one end of the coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission line of the phase shift unit to the power division transmission unit and the other end of the CPW transmission line to the corresponding antenna unit using the appropriate feeding mechanism as stated above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogilvie’s antenna, so that the second substrate is arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate and the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit (regarding the fourth end and the fifth end of the coplanar waveguide transmission line, it is inherent for a transmission line to have two ends). This modification would provide an antenna wherein multiple antenna units are combined together via the first power divider and wherein their phase is adjusted via the phase shift units, so that the beam formed by the multiple antennas is directed at the desired angle.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1.
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach the limitation, wherein a line between the first end and the third end of each first power divider is a first line, a line between the second end and the third end of each first power divider is a second line, and a difference between a length of the first line and a length of the second line is an odd multiple of a half wavelength of the microwave signal.
Horst (Fig. 4) teaches a power divider wherein a line between the first end and the third end of the power divider is a first line, a line between the second end and the third end of the power divider is a second line (regarding the first line and the second line, see annotated Fig. 4 in Horst above). Furthermore, Horst (p. 1853, left column, lines 9-12) teaches a phase shift of 1800 between the first line and the second line. As is well-known in the art, a difference of 1800 between two transmission lines is achieved when the difference between a length of the first line and a length of the second line is an odd multiple of a half wavelength of the microwave signal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogilvie’s antenna so that a line between the first end and the third end of each the first power divider is a first line, a line between the second end and the third end of each first power divider is a second line, and a difference between a length of the first line and a length of the second line is an odd multiple of a half wavelength of the microwave signal as taught by Horst. This modification would provide a first power divider with a phase difference of 1800 between its outputs. In addition, this modification would provide a first power divider with highly isolated output ports, while maintaining a matched impedance at all ports (see Horst, p. 1851, Introduction, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 2 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach a first resistor coupled to both the first line and the second line.
Horst (Figs. 1 and 4) teaches a first resistor (R in Fig. 1) coupled to both the first line and the second line (regarding the first resistor coupled to both the first line and the second line, see annotated Fig. 4 in Horst above).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogilvie’s antenna by adding a first resistor coupled to both the first line and the second line as taught by Horst. This modification would provide a first power divider with highly isolated output ports, while maintaining a matched impedance at all ports (see Horst, p. 1851, Introduction, lines 7-9).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first overlapping region at least partially overlaps an orthogonal projection of a portion of the coplanar waveguide transmission line close to the fifth end onto the first substrate.
However, Ogilvie (Fig. 3) teaches the first overlapping region at least partially overlaps an orthogonal projection of a portion of a transmission line (326) close to its end, which is coupled to the radiation patch (417), onto the first substrate.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ogilvie and make the modified Ogilvie’s antenna wherein the first overlapping region at least partially overlaps an orthogonal projection of a portion of the coplanar waveguide transmission line close to the fifth end onto the first substrate, so that the first overlapping region at least partially overlaps an orthogonal projection of a portion of the coplanar waveguide transmission line close to the fifth end onto the first substrate. This modification would provide means for feeding the antenna unit’s radiation patch via the fifth end of the coplanar waveguide transmission line.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Ogilvie (Fig. 2) further teaches an antenna system (200), comprising the antenna according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1.
Ogilvie (Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 22-49) further teaches a method for driving the antenna according to claim 1, comprising:
receiving, by each of a first antenna unit and a second antenna unit of each group of antenna units, a microwave signal (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above);
performing, by a first phase shift unit, phase adjustment on the microwave signal received by the first antenna unit (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above);
performing, by a second phase shift unit, phase adjustment on the microwave signal received by the second antenna unit (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above); and
combining, by a first power divider, the microwave signal adjusted by the second phase shift unit and the microwave signal adjusted by the first phase shift unit into one signal (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above), and/or,
dividing, by the first power divider, a microwave signal into two signals, and transmitting the signals to the first phase shift unit and the second phase shift unit respectively (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above);
performing, by the first phase shift unit, phase adjustment on the microwave signal transmitted to the first phase shift unit, and performing, by the second phase shift unit, phase adjustment on the microwave signal transmitted to the second phase shift unit (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above); and
transmitting, by first antenna unit, the microwave signal adjusted by the first phase shift unit, and transmitting, by second antenna unit, the microwave signal adjusted by the second phase shift unit (inherent – see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Ogilvie as applied to claim 5 in view of Sanadgol et al. (“30 GHz liquid crystal phased array”, 2009 Loughborough Antennas & Propagation Conference, 16-17 Nov. 2009, hereinafter Sanadgol).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein the first power divider is arranged at a same layer and made of a same material as the coplanar waveguide transmission line.
Sanadgol (Fig. 7 – Top) teaches an antenna unit comprising a power divider (1:4 Wilkinson Divider) and coplanar waveguide transmission lines (regarding the coplanar waveguide transmission lines, see annotated Fig. 7 in Sanadgol below), wherein the power divider is arranged at a same layer and made of a same material as the coplanar waveguide transmission lines.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modified Ogilvie’s antenna with the first power divider arranged at a same layer and made of a same material as the coplanar waveguide transmission line as taught by Sanadgol. This modification would provide an antenna unit with a simplified stack-up layout, which is would be easy to fabricate.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission lines of all the phase shift units are electrically coupled to each other through a same signal line, and the loading electrodes of different phase shift units are insulated from each other.
Sanadgol (Fig. 7 – Top) teaches a plurality of phase shift units (Phase Shifter), all of which are electrically coupled to each other through a same signal line (regarding the same signal line see annotated Fig. 7 in Sanadgol above), and different phase shift units are insulated from each other.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modified Ogilvie’s antenna with the coplanar waveguide transmission lines of all the phase shift units are electrically coupled to each other through a same signal line, and the loading electrodes of different phase shift units are insulated from each other as taught by Sanadgol. This modification would allow independently controlling the phases of the signal transmitted from the same signal line to all antenna units independently, so that the beam formed by the multiple antennas is directed at the desired angle.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Ogilvie as applied to claim 9 in view of Rogers et al. (US 20200099123 A1, hereinafter Rogers).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 9 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein the power division transmission unit further comprises at least one second power divider, each second power divider comprises a sixth end and a plurality of seventh ends, and each seventh end is coupled to the third end of at least one first power divider.
Rogers (Fig. 1A; [0025]) teaches a power division transmission unit comprising at least one second power divider, each second power divider comprises a sixth end and a plurality of seventh ends, and each seventh end is coupled to the third end of at least one first power divider (regarding one second power divider, having a sixth end and a plurality of seventh ends, and one first power divider and its third end, see annotated Fig. 1A in Rodgers below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modified Ogilvie’s antenna with the power division transmission unit further comprising at least one second power divider, each second power divider comprises a sixth end and a plurality of seventh ends, and each seventh end is coupled to the third end of at least one first power divider as taught by Rogers. This modification would provide means of splitting an input signal into multiple equivalent signals of reduced power that are then fed to multiple antenna elements (see Rogers, [0025], lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Ogilvie teaches the antenna of claim 10 as addressed above.
The modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein the power division transmission unit further comprises a second reference electrode arranged at a side of the third substrate away from the coplanar waveguide transmission line.
Rogers (Fig. 1A; [0025]) teaches a reference electrode (107 – not shown in figure; see [0025], lines 4-6) disposed on a side of a substrate (101) away from the first and the second power divider (regarding the first and the second power divider, see annotated Fig. 1A in Rogers above). The reference electrode (107) serves as a ground plane for the power dividers, thus, ensuring their operation.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modified Ogilvie’s antenna with the power division transmission unit further comprising a second reference electrode arranged at a side of the third substrate away from the coplanar waveguide transmission line as taught by Rogers. This modification would provide the second power divider with a ground plane to ensure its operation. In addition, one skilled in the art would know to arrange the second reference electrode arranged at a side of the third substrate away from the coplanar waveguide transmission line, so that it does not render the coplanar waveguide transmission line inoperable or having poor transmission characteristics, such as transmission loss and/or return loss.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogilvie (cited above) in view of Horst (cited above), Wang (cited above), and Chen et al. (US 10297923 B2, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 19, Ogilvie (Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 22-49; Figs. 3-4; Fig. 9, col. 7, lines 4-14) discloses A method for manufacturing an antenna, comprising:
forming at least one group of antenna units (regarding the at least one group of antenna units, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above);
forming at least one group of phase shift units (regarding the at least one group of phase shift units, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), each group of phase shift units corresponding to a group of antenna units, each phase shift unit being configured to perform phase adjustment on a microwave signal (regarding the limitation of each phase shift unit being configured to perform phase adjustment, a phase shift unit is inherently configured to perform phase adjustment on transmitted and/or received electromagnetic signals; regarding the limitation of microwave signal, Fig. 9, col. 7, lines 4-14 disclose that the antenna unit operates in the frequency range of 10-17 GHz, which is a microwave frequency range); and
forming a power division transmission unit (regarding the power division transmission unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above),
wherein each group of the antenna units comprises a first antenna unit and a second antenna unit (regarding the first antenna unit and the second antenna unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie below), each group of the phase shift units comprises a first phase shift unit coupled to the first antenna unit and a second phase shift unit coupled to the second antenna unit (regarding the first phase shift unit and the second phase shift unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above), the power division transmission unit comprises at least one first power divider (regarding the at least one first power divider, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above), each first power divider comprises a first end, a second end and a third end, the first end is coupled to the first phase shift unit, the second end is coupled to the second phase shift unit (regarding the first end, the second end, and the third end of each first power divider, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above),
wherein the forming at least one group of antenna units comprises: providing a first substrate (416 in Fig. 4); a radiation patch array (417 in Fig. 4) at a side of the first substrate; and a first reference electrode (415 in Fig. 4) at the other side of the first substrate;
wherein each antenna unit comprises: a first substrate (416 in Fig. 4); a first reference electrode (415 in Fig. 4) arranged at a side of the first substrate and provided with a first via hole (320 in Fig. 3); and a radiation patch (312 in Fig. 3/417 in Fig. 4) arranged at a side of the first substrate away from the first reference electrode, an orthogonal projection of the radiation patch onto the first substrate overlapping an orthogonal projection of the first via hole onto the first substrate at a first overlapping region (see overlapping region of the orthogonal projection of the radiation patch 312 with the orthogonal projection of the first via hole 320 in Fig. 3).
Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein a phase difference between a first microwave signal transmitted from the first end to the third end and a second microwave signal transmitted from the second end to the third end is a preset value.
Horst (Fig. 4; p. 1853, left column, lines 9-12) teaches a power divider wherein a phase difference between a first microwave signal transmitted from its first end to its third end and a second microwave signal transmitted from its second end to its third end is a preset value (regarding the first end, the second end, and the third end of the power divider, see annotated Fig. 4 in Horst above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Horst and make Ogilvie’s method with a phase difference between a microwave signal transmitted from the first end to the third end and a microwave signal transmitted from the second end to the third end being a preset value . This modification would provide the predictable result of a first power divider wherein a phase difference between a microwave signal transmitted from the first end to the third end and a microwave signal transmitted from the second end to the third end is a preset value. In addition, this modification would provide a first power divider with highly isolated output ports, while maintaining a matched impedance at all ports (see Horst, p. 1851, Introduction, lines 7-9).
The modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation
wherein the forming at least one group of phase shift units comprises: providing a second substrate and a third substrate; forming a coplanar waveguide transmission line on the third substrate; forming a loading electrode on the second substrate; aligning the third substrate with the second substrate to form a cell, the coplanar waveguide transmission line and the loading electrode being arranged between the third substrate and the second substrate; and filling a liquid crystal layer between the third substrate and the second substrate.
Wang (Fig. 4) teaches a phase shift unit comprising: a second substrate (20) and a third substrate (10); a coplanar waveguide transmission line (13 and 14 on the third substrate; a loading electrode (21) located on the second substrate; wherein the third substrate with the second substrate form a cell, the coplanar waveguide transmission line and the loading electrode being arranged between the third substrate and the second substrate; and a liquid crystal layer (3) between the third substrate and the second substrate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make the modified Ogilvie wherein forming the phase shift unit comprises: providing a second substrate and a third substrate; forming a coplanar waveguide transmission line on the third substrate; forming a loading electrode on the second substrate; aligning the third substrate with the second substrate to form a cell, the coplanar waveguide transmission line and the loading electrode being arranged between the third substrate and the second substrate; and filling a liquid crystal layer between the third substrate and the second substrate. This modification would provide phase shift units which are easy to control and have low power consumption (see Wang, [0055], lines 19-21).
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the antenna unit is combined with the phase shift unit through bonding.
Chen (Fig. 3; col. 7, lines 28-37) teaches two PWB sub-assemblies (302 and 304) that are combined through bonding.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the modified Ogilvie’s method with the antenna unit being combined with the phase shift unit through bonding as taught by Chen. This modification would provide not only mechanical bonding between the units, but also electrical connection between different conducting elements as needed (see Chen, col. 7, lines 35-37).
The so modified Ogilvie does not teach the limitation wherein each phase shift unit comprises: a second substrate and a third substrate arranged opposite to each other, the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate; a coplanar waveguide transmission line located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer located between the second substrate and the third substrate, wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit.
Wang (Fig. 4) teaches a phase shift unit comprising: a second substrate (20) and a third substrate (10) arranged opposite to each other; a coplanar waveguide transmission line (13 and 14) located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode (21) located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer (3) located between the second substrate and the third substrate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make the modified Ogilvie wherein each phase shift unit comprises: a second substrate and a third substrate arranged opposite to each other, the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate; a coplanar waveguide transmission line located at a side of the third substrate facing the second substrate; a loading electrode located at a side of the second substrate facing the third substrate; and a liquid crystal layer located between the second substrate and the third substrate. This modification would provide phase shift units which are easy to control and have low power consumption (see Wang, [0055], lines 19-21).
The modified Ogilvie does not explicitly teach the second substrate being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate and the limitation wherein the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit.
However, Ogilvie (Figs. 3-4) teaches: a second substrate (422 in Fig. 4) being arranged at a side of the first reference electrode (415 in Fig. 4) away from the first substrate (416 in Fig. 4); and a transmission line (326 in Fig. 3) disposed on a third substrate (424 in Fig. 4) on a side facing the second substrate, wherein an end of the microstrip transmission line is coupled to the radiation patch (417). Further, Ogilvie (Fig. 2) teaches a first phase shift unit, one end of which is coupled to the first power divider and its second end coupled to the first antenna unit (regarding the first phase shift unit, the first power divider, and the first antenna unit, see annotated Fig. 2 in Ogilvie above). Furthermore, designing multi-layer printed circuit boards combining multiple RF components is well-known and well-established in the art. Thus, a person skilled in the art would know how to substitute the phase shift units in Ogilvie with the phase shift unit in Wang by providing the appropriate stack-up of the entire combination so that the second substrate of the phase shifting unit is arranged accordingly relative to the first substrate of the antenna unit and an appropriate transition between layers is established for feeding the antenna unit (as necessitated by the antenna type). Further, a person skilled in the art would know that connecting the antenna units and the power division transmission unit in Ogilvie via the phase shift unit of Wang requires to connect one end of the coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission line of the phase shift unit to the power division transmission unit and the other end of the CPW transmission line to the corresponding antenna unit using the appropriate feeding mechanism as stated above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ogilvie’s antenna, so that the second substrate is arranged at a side of the first reference electrode away from the first substrate and the coplanar waveguide transmission line comprises a fourth end coupled to the first power divider and a fifth end coupled to the antenna unit (regarding the fourth end and the fifth end of the coplanar waveguide transmission line, it is inherent for a transmission line to have two ends). This modification would provide an antenna wherein multiple antenna units are combined together via the first power divider and wherein their phase is adjusted via the phase shift units, so that the beam formed by the multiple antennas is directed at the desired angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845