Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 20220149997 in view of BELLESCHI US 20200229194.
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, 25, Wang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter device, comprising:
determining that a criterion relating to semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is satisfied, wherein the criterion relates to packet arrival times for SPS transmission (based on configured data arrival time and time window length, if at least one SPS candidate transmission resource, then earliest candidate transmission resources is selected to transmit SPS, [0274]); and
triggering an SPS resource reselection, for subsequent packets of the SPS transmission, based at least in part on determining that the criterion is satisfied (based on configured data arrival time and time window length, if at least one SPS candidate transmission resource, then earliest candidate transmission resources is selected to transmit SPS, [0274]).
Although Wang teaches triggering SPS resource reselection, the reference is silent on determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is at least one of:
a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets;
a threshold quantity of accumulated sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) subframes satisfying a first threshold value and an SPS transmission latency satisfying a second threshold value, when the SLSS is configured; or
a threshold SPS transmission latency corresponding to a threshold accumulation of reserved subframes.
Given Wang teaches SPS resource reselection BELLESCHI make obvious the limitation SPS resource reselection based upon a threshold quantity of packets / (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets.
BELLESCHI teaches resource reselection based on a threshold quantity of packets (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured arrival time / (latency requirement of the packet) and the resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets (BELLESCHI: Resource reselection can also be performed if certain events occur, e.g. if an urgent packet needs to be transmitted and the previously reserved resources do not allow to fulfill the latency requirement of the packet, [0016]). Note, Jo WO 2019245179 teaches receiving a critical packet and delivering the packet even if it was received outside of the receiving window (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Wang by triggering SPS resource reselection, determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets, as suggested by the combination of BELLESCHI. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring urgent packets are transmitted in time.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou US 20200367182 in view of BELLESCHI.
Regarding claims 1, 9, 17, 25 Zou teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter device, comprising:
determining that a criterion relating to semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is satisfied, wherein the criterion relates to packet arrival times for SPS transmission; and
triggering an SPS resource reselection based at least in part on determining that the criterion is satisfied (UE 400 selects SPS resources for the data transmission based on a data packet arrival time, [0088]).
Although Zou teaches triggering SPS resource reselection, the reference is silent on determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is at least one of:
a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets;
a threshold quantity of accumulated sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) subframes satisfying a first threshold value and an SPS transmission latency satisfying a second threshold value, when the SLSS is configured; or
a threshold SPS transmission latency corresponding to a threshold accumulation of reserved subframes.
Given Zou teaches SPS resource reselection BELLESCHI make obvious the limitation SPS resource reselection based upon a threshold quantity of packets / (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets.
BELLESCHI teaches resource reselection based on a threshold quantity of packets (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured arrival time / (latency requirement of the packet) and the resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets (BELLESCHI: Resource reselection can also be performed if certain events occur, e.g. if an urgent packet needs to be transmitted and the previously reserved resources do not allow to fulfill the latency requirement of the packet, [0016]). Note, Jo WO 2019245179 teaches receiving a critical packet and delivering the packet even if it was received outside of the receiving window (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Wang by triggering SPS resource reselection, determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets, as suggested by the combination of BELLESCHI. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring urgent packets are transmitted in time.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiyama US 20210029674 in view of BELLESCHI.
Regarding claim 1, 9, 17, 25, Uchiyama teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter device, comprising:
determining that a criterion relating to semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) is satisfied (fig. 36, [0049, 0307, 0308]), wherein the criterion relates to packet arrival times for SPS transmission; and
triggering an SPS resource reselection based at least in part on determining that the criterion is satisfied (resource selection trigger, latency requirement, [0273]).
Although Uchiyama teaches triggering SPS resource reselection, the reference is silent on determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is at least one of:
a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets;
a threshold quantity of accumulated sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) subframes satisfying a first threshold value and an SPS transmission latency satisfying a second threshold value, when the SLSS is configured; or
a threshold SPS transmission latency corresponding to a threshold accumulation of reserved subframes.
Given Wang teaches SPS resource reselection BELLESCHI make obvious the limitation SPS resource reselection based upon a threshold quantity of packets / (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets.
BELLESCHI teaches resource reselection based on a threshold quantity of packets (one urgent packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured arrival time / (latency requirement of the packet) and the resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets (BELLESCHI: Resource reselection can also be performed if certain events occur, e.g. if an urgent packet needs to be transmitted and the previously reserved resources do not allow to fulfill the latency requirement of the packet, [0016]). Note, Jo WO 2019245179 teaches receiving a critical packet and delivering the packet even if it was received outside of the receiving window (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Wang by triggering SPS resource reselection, determining that the criterion is satisfied, wherein the criterion is a threshold quantity of packets arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured SPS arrival time and the SPS resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more SPS resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets, as suggested by the combination of BELLESCHI. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring urgent packets are transmitted in time.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 22, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang and BELLESCHI as applied to claims 1, 9, 17, and 25 above, and further in view of Awad US 20220232618.
The combination is silent on identifying a jitter spread for the packet arrival times; and
wherein triggering the SPS resource reselection comprises:
reselecting SPS resources to one or more resources determined based at least in part on a size of the jitter spread.
Awad teaches identifying a jitter spread for the packet arrival times; and
wherein triggering the resource reselection / (activation/deactivation) comprises:
reselecting / (activating/deactivating) SPS resources to one or more resources determined based at least in part on a size of the jitter spread / tolerance, ([0075] A threshold value may be indicated to the UE if UE is initiating activation/deactivation; [0076] The UE may be configured to activate/deactivate different CG resources based on jitter tolerance. If, for example, jitter is above a certain limit on the received packets then all configured CG resources could be used. When jitter tolerance is at an intermediate level, then less than the configured amount of CG resources can be used. For UL traffic, jitter tolerance is detected at the gNB or application layer and fed back to the base station which may trigger activation/deactivation of CG resources. For the UE based approach, the UE may be signalled the criteria; e.g. the jitter tolerance level for different CG configurations).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by identifying a jitter spread for the packet arrival times; and
wherein triggering the SPS resource reselection comprises:
reselecting SPS resources to one or more resources determined based at least in part on a size of the jitter spread, as suggested by Awad. This modification would benefit the system by optimally reselecting SPS resources.
Claim(s) 7, 15, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang, BELLESCHI, and Awad as applied to claims 6, 14, and 22 above, and further in view of Hahn US 20190239039.
The combination is silent on the one or more resources are selected based at least in part on a channel busy ratio value.
Hahn teaches the one or more resources are selected based at least in part on a channel busy ratio value ([0023] The frequency bands for transmission of the SPS traffic may be determined based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured by the first communication node, [0090] In the communication system supporting V2X communications, the vehicle may perform communications based on the CA scheme. For example, the vehicle may perform communications using a primary carrier and one or more secondary carriers. The carrier used for the V2X communications (e.g., V2X service) may be determined based on channel state information (e.g., channel busy ratio (CBR)). The CBR may indicate congestion, occupancy state, load state, etc. of the corresponding carrier (e.g., channel). In this case, the vehicle may measure the CBR in the carrier according to a periodic or specific event).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the one or more resources are selected based at least in part on a channel busy ratio value, as shown by Hahn. This modification would benefit the system by selecting resources in an optimal matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner maintains the BELLESCHI make obvious the limitation ‘resource reselection based upon a threshold quantity of packets / (one urgent/critical packet) arriving for transmission from an application process after a configured arrival time and the resource reselection comprises reselection to one or more resources determined based at least in part on the packet arrival times of the threshold quantity of packets’.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476