DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments, filed 7/02/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 9, and 11-63 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10, and 64 are currently pending.
Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claims 7 and 10 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and/or Species.
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are under examination as drawn to methods of treating CLL comprising administration of a first bispecific molecule comprising a means for binding CD2 and a means for binding CLL-1 and a second bispecific molecule comprising a means for binding a TCR complex or secondary T-cell signaling molecule and a means for binding to CLL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/2/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner in its entirety.
In view of the amendments and remarks filed on 7/2/2026, the following rejections remain.
Claim Interpretation
In the instant case instant claim 1 has been amended to recite antigen binding modules 1, 2, 4, and 5, each of which further comprising “a means for binding specifically” to CD2, CLL-1, a human TCR complex, and CLL-1, respectively:
Applicant states the structures for such means of binding are disclosed in the specification (Remarks pg. 7):
The instant specification discloses that antigen binding modules are immunoglobulin or non-immunoglobulin based (¶[0035]): “…term "antigen-binding module" or "ABM" as used herein refers to a portion of a MBM that has the ability to bind to an antigen non-covalently, reversibly and specifically. An ABM can be immunoglobulin- or non-immunoglobulin-based”. The instant specification further discloses examples of non-antibody structures that can be binders, such as DARPins, avidity multimers, knottins (¶[0134]), and affilins (¶[0568]-[0569]).
Therefore, the instant claims are interpreted to encompass not only the antibody structures disclosed in the instant specification and mentioned in the Remarks filed 7/02/2026, but also non-immunoglobulin structures, including organic molecule, peptides, nucleic acids, and any structure that can be a means for binding to one of the recited targets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 5, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This new grounds of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1, 5, and 64 encompass methods of treating AML comprising administration of a first bispecific molecule comprising a first AMB comprising a means for binding CD2 and a second AMB comprising a means for binding CLL-1 and a second bispecific molecule comprising a fourth AMB comprising a means for binding a TCR complex (claims 1 and 5) or CD3 (claim 64) and a fifth ABM comprising a means for binding CLL-1.
However, the specification fails to provide adequate written description support for a genus of antibody heavy chain constant regions with no recited structure having the desired functional properties required to practice the claimed functions of “means for binding” of each of the recited antigens.
The claims are not supported by a description that satisfies 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph. "[T]he test for sufficiency [of the written description] is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date." Ariad Phanns., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane).
A "sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus." Id. at 1350. "[A]n adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, physical properties, or other properties, of species falling within the genus sufficient to distinguish the genus from other materials." Id.
"[F]unctional claim language can meet the written description requirement when the art has established a correlation between structure and function." Id. "But merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species." Id.
"A sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
The specification discloses that antigen binding modules can be both immunoglobulin structures (¶[0111]-[0133]) and non-immunoglobulin structures (¶[0134]-[0140]). Non-immunoglobulin structures include (¶[0134]): “…the ABMs of a MBM are derived from nonantibody scaffold proteins (including, but not limited to, designed ankyrin repeat proteins (DARPins), Avimers (short for avidity multimers), Anticalin/Lipocalins, Centyrins, Kunitz domains, Adnexins, Affilins, Affitins (also known as Nonfitins), Knottins, Pronectins, Versabodies, Duocalins, and Fynomers), ligands, receptors, cytokines or chemokines.” The specification discloses examples of such binders such as a CD3 binding Affilin (¶[0568]-[0569]).
With respect to representative number of species, see AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014). Also, see MPEP 2163 Il(A)(3)(a))(ii):
A representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See Abb Vie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.").
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).
The claims are directed to methods of treating AML comprising administration of a first bispecific molecule comprising a first AMB comprising a means for binding CD2 and a second ABM comprising a means for binding CLL-1 and a second bispecific molecule comprising a fourth ABM comprising a means for binding a TCR complex (claims 1 and 5) or CD3 (claim 64) and a fifth ABM comprising a means for binding CLL-1, however each of the ABMs recited in the claims can comprise not only antibody structures, but non-immunoglobulin structures such as an affilin. However, the instant specification only discloses a limited number of both antibody and non-antibody structures with the recited functions (disclosed, for example, in Tables 11, 13, and 14-24) that does not adequately represent the broadly claimed structures that comprise the ABMs.
Moreover, there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed antigen binding modules to demonstrate possession. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, No. 2017-1480 (Fed. Cir. 2017). The Court reiterated that adequate written description must “contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products . . . .” The Court simultaneously suggested that the “newly characterized antigen” test “flouts” section 112 because it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen.” The Court concluded that for written description of an antibody to be adequate when presented with “functional” terminology, there must be an established correlation in the art between structure and function.
Given the broadly claimed class of antigen binding modules, and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed class of antigen binding molecules that bind to a ligand, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims. AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014), MPEP 2163.
The specification at best describes plan for making ABMs that have the recited functions of “means for binding specifically to human CD2”, “means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”, or “means for binding specifically to human TCR complex”, and then identifying those that satisfy the claim limitations, but a mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The specification discloses only a limited number of ABMs within the claimed scope. First, regarding immunoglobulin-based ABMs, it is unlikely that antibodies or fragments thereof as defined by the claims which may contain less than the full complement of CDRs from the alpha and beta chain variable regions of the antibody structures disclosed in the specification fused to framework sequences have the required binding function. Regarding non-immunoglobulin-based ABMs, the specification provides no guidance on how to generate such structures that can be used in the claimed methods of treating AML, such as other affilin structures. The specification provides no direction or guidance regarding how to produce antigen binding constructs with the functions of “means for binding specifically to human CD2”, “means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”, or “means for binding specifically to human TCR complex” as broadly defined by the claims.
Possession is not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Sufficient description to show possession of such a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of anti-TMPRSS6 antibodies or antigen binding fragments thereof falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. See Eli Lilly, 119F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claims 1, 5, and 64 do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.). Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/2/2026, are moot in light of this new rejection.
Applicant is invited to point to clear support or specific examples of the claimed invention in the specification as-filed.
To overcome this rejection, it is recommended to amend the claims to recite specific structures that have the recited binding functions. For example, specific antibody structures as defined by their CDR amino acid sequences, as well as the epitope the antibody structure binds to.
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention. This new grounds of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
The claims are rejected for the same reasons discussed in the Office Action mailed on 1/06/2026. Briefly, the instant specification does not enable one to make and use the claimed method of treating AML comprising administration of a first bispecific molecule comprising a first AMB comprising a means for binding CD2 and a second AMB comprising a means for binding CLL-1 and a second bispecific molecule comprising a fourth AMB comprising a means for binding a TCR complex (claims 1 and 5) or CD3 (claim 64) and a fifth ABM comprising a means for binding CLL-1. In light of the specification (see 112(f) interpretation supra), each of the “means for binding” encompasses a broad genus of any structure that has the recited functions, including immunoglobulin and non-immunoglobulin structures.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/02/2026, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
Applicant argues that the amended claims to recite a means-plus-function format, however the claims are still interpreted to encompass broad genera of binding modules with little to no recited structure (supra).
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites methods of treating AML comprising administration of a bispecific binding molecule comprising an ABM1 and ABM2, as well as a bispecific binding molecule comprising an ABM4 and ABM5. The claim is currently indefinite because it is unclear whether or not the claimed methods also comprise an ABM3 or not, as a fourth and fifth antigen binding module imply that a third is present. Claims 5 and 64 depend on claim 1 and do not resolve this issue and are also rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leong et al. (Blood. 2017 Feb 2;129(5):609-618. doi: 10.1182/blood-2016-08-735365) in view of Ebersbach et al. (WO2017125897). This new grounds of rejection is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Leong et al. teaches anti-CD3/anti-CLL-1 bispecific antibodies were able to target and kill AML cell lines (Results): “…using a bispecific antibody targeting CLL-1 and CD3e to redirect the human immune system is effective against a variety of AML subtypes and clinical AML samples…” Leong et al. teaches that these bispecific antibodies can be used to treat AML in a subject (Discussion): “…a full-length humanized-IgG TDB-targeting human CLL-1 and human CD3ε is a feasible approach to eradicate CLL-11 leukemic cells. The superior pharmacokinetic properties of an IgG antibody and low liability for off-target destruction of HSCs make this attractive as a potential targeted therapy for AML”
Leong et al. does not teach a method of treating AML comprising administration of a bispecific anti-CLL-1/CD3 antibody (i.e., “an antigen-binding module 4 (ABM4) comprising means for binding specifically to human CD3” and “an antigen-binding module 5 (ABM5) comprising means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”) and a bispecific anti-CLL-1/CD2 antibody (i.e., “an antigen-binding module 1 (ABM1) comprising means for binding specifically to human CD2” and “an antigen-binding module 2 (ABM2) comprising means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”; the limitations of instant claims 1, 5, and 64).
Ebersbach et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches multispecific molecule comprising an anti-CLL-1 binding antibody arm (claim 1-4), and an anti-CD2 binding antibody arm (claims 13 and 16-18). Ebersbach et al. teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administration of the multispecific molecule (claim 69), including AML (claim 72).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have combined the method of treatment of AML taught and suggests by Leong et al. with the methods of treating AML taught by Ebersbach et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as both are methods of treatment comprising administration of a bispecific antibody that one with ordinary skill would be able to combine. One would have been motivated to make this change to develop a more effective treatment of AML.
Additionally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980. See MPEP 2144.06. In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
The combined references teach a method of treating AML comprising administration of a first bispecific antibody that is anti-CLL/anti-CD3 (i.e., “an antigen-binding module 4 (ABM4) comprising means for binding specifically to human CD3” and “an antigen-binding module 5 (ABM5) comprising means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”) and an anti-CLL-1/CD2 bispecific antibody (i.e., “an antigen-binding module 1 (ABM1) comprising means for binding specifically to human CD2” and “an antigen-binding module 2 (ABM2) comprising means for binding specifically to human CLL-1”), meeting the limitations of instant claims 1, 5, and 64.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/02/2026, have been considered moot in light of this new rejection.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,037,378 (Pat ‘378) in view of Ebersbach et al. (WO2017125897, supra) and Leong et al. (Blood. 2017 Feb 2;129(5):609-618. doi: 10.1182/blood-2016-08-735365, supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This new grounds of rejection is necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Pat ‘378 claims CD2 binding molecules comprising a variant CD58 domain (i.e., “a means for binding specifically to CD2”; Pat ‘378 claim 1), as well as bispecific binding molecules comprising the CD2 binding molecule (claim 2). Pat ‘378 additionally claims methods of treating cancer comprising administration of the binding agent (claim 7), as well as AML (claim 8).
Pat ‘378 does not claim methods of treating AML comprising bispecific molecules comprising the CD2 binding domain and a means for binding to CLL-1, as well as an anti-CD3/anti-CLL-1 bispecific binding molecule.
Ebersbach et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches multispecific molecule comprising an anti-CLL-1 binding antibody arm (claim 1-4), and an anti-CD2 binding antibody arm (claims 13 and 16-18). Ebersbach et al. teaches methods of treating cancer comprising administration of the multispecific molecule (claim 69), including AML (claim 72).
Leong et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches anti-CD3/anti-CLL-1 bispecific antibodies were able to target and kill AML cell lines (Results): “…using a bispecific antibody targeting CLL-1 and CD3e to redirect the human immune system is effective against a variety of AML subtypes and clinical AML samples…” Leong et al. teaches that these bispecific antibodies can be used to treat AML in a subject (Discussion): “…a full-length humanized-IgG TDB-targeting human CLL-1 and human CD3ε is a feasible approach to eradicate CLL-11 leukemic cells. The superior pharmacokinetic properties of an IgG antibody and low liability for off-target destruction of HSCs make this attractive as a potential targeted therapy for AML”.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention claimed by Pat ‘378 in view of Ebersbach et al. and Leong et al. to develop a method of treating AML comprising a bispecific anti-CD2/anti-CLL-1 binding molecule and an anti-CD3/anti-CLL-1 binding molecule (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 1, 5, and 64) with a reasonable expectation of success, as all of the references teach methods of treating AML that one with ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine, for example by incorporating the anti-CLL-1 binding arm taught by Ebersbach et al. into the bispecific binding molecule claimed by Pat’378, and then administering this bispecific molecule with the bispecific anti-CD3/anti-CLL-1. One would have been motivated to make this change for the purposes of developing a more effective method of treating AML.
Additionally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980. See MPEP 2144.06. In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/02/2026, have been considered moot in light of this new rejection.
Therefore, the instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by Pat ‘378 in view of Ebersbach et al. and Leong et al., especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1, 5, and 64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 22, 23, 28, 34, 35, 40, 41, 44, 45, and 47-50 of copending Application No. 17/311,315 (App ‘315) in view of Ebersbach et al. (supra) and Leong et al. (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This new grounds of rejection is necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
App ‘315 claims bispecific binders comprising anti-CD3 binding arms (i.e., “a means for binding CD3”) as well as an anti-TAA binding arm (claim 28), wherein the TAA is CLL-1 (claim 40). App ‘315 additionally claims binders comprising an anti-CD2 binding arm and an anti-TAA binding arm (claim 34).
The instantly claimed invention is a prima facie obvious variant of the invention claimed by App ‘315 in view of Ebersbach et al. (supra) and Leong et al. (supra) for the same reasons discussed for Pat ‘378 supra. This is a provisional double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641