DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 57-63, 65-74, 77-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wang et al (USP 4663277).
Regarding claim 57, Wang teaches a diagnostic platform for detecting a biological pathogen in a sample (Abstract: dipstick for detecting virus), the platform comprising at least one XRF identifiable marker operably linked via complexation or ionic or covalent interaction (Col. 5 lines 5-14; Claim 15) to at least one functional component associable with the biological pathogen for detecting the biological pathogen or a part thereof, wherein the functional component enables marking the pathogen in the sample with the at least one XRF identifiable marker, wherein the at least one functional component is a component of a polymerase chain reaction (PCR), a reverse transcription, a nucleic acid hybridization, an antibody test, or a serological antibody test (col. 7 lines 21-50: microspheres with antibody (Abv) specific to antigens of viruses and detected by X-ray fluorescence).
Regarding claims 58, 67, Wang teaches the at least one XRF identifiable marker and the at least one functional component are operably linked by at least one non-specific (multifunctional) component. (col. 5 lines 11-25: F.sub.c portion linking the Ab.sub.v)
Regarding claim 59, Wang teaches the at least one functional component is a component of a polymerase chain reaction (PCR), a reverse transcription, a nucleic acid hybridization, an antibody test, a serological antibody test. (col. 5 lines 10-35: antibody test)
Regrading claim 60, Wang teaches the at least one functional component is a nucleotide, an oligonucleotide, an amino acid, a peptide. (col. 7 line 29; col. 53-56: conjugated Ab.sub.v, reads on "a conjugate")
Regarding claim 61, Wang teaches the at least one functional component is a primary of a secondary antibody (col. 5 lines 20-30: Ab.sub.v and Ab.sub.s).
Regarding claims 62, 72, Wang teaches the biological pathogen is a viral or a bacterial pathogen in a mammalian disease (col. 8 lines 18-36: Measles virus, Hepatitis A and B viruses).
Regarding claims 63, 74, Wang teaches the sample is a biological sample obtained from a mammal at risk of being infected or already infected with the biological pathogen (Col. 8 lines 18-36: nasal secretions, stool).
Regarding claims 65, 77, Wang teaches the biological sample is a sample of a body fluid, a body discharge, a body secretion obtained from a mammal at risk of being infected or already infected with the biological pathogen (Col. 8 lines 18-36: nasal secretions, stool).
Regarding claim 66, Wang teaches a composition comprising at least one XRF identifiable marker operably linked to at least one functional component for detecting a biological pathogen or a part thereof, for marking the pathogen with the at least one XRF identifiable marker that is detectable by an XRF reading device. (col. 7 lines 21-50: microspheres with Abv specific to antigens of viruses and detected by X-ray fluorescence).
Regarding claim 68, Wang teaches a method for detecting a biological pathogen in a sample, the method comprises contacting the sample with diagnostic platform according to claim 57, thereby marking the pathogen in the sample with the at least one XRF identifiable marker wherein upon association of the at least one functional component linked to the at least one XRF identifiable marker with the pathogen, the formed construct is identifiable by an XRF-based device; and irradiating said sample with X-ray or gamma-ray radiation to thereby determine presence or absence of the construct and thereby of the pathogen.. (col. 7 lines 21-50: microspheres with Abv specific to antigens of viruses and detected by X-ray fluorescence).
Regarding claims 70, Wang teaches for determining presence of a virus in the sample. (col. 7 lines 21-50: detected by X-ray fluorescence inherently irradiates with x-ray radiation, see USP 4,436,826 incorporated by reference col. 4 lines 5-15, x-ray irradiation to detect x-ray fluorescence).
Regarding claim 71, Wang teaches the at least one XRF identifiable marker, the at least one functional component are operably linked by covalent bond. (col. 5 lines 11-25: F.sub.c portion linking the Ab.sub.v; Ab.sub.s is covalently bound to the solid phase)
Regarding 73, Wang teaches the mammalian disease is a human disease. (col. 8 lines 18-36: Measles virus, Hepatitis A and B viruses).
Regarding claim 78, Wang teach the biological sample is a sample of blood, serum, saliva, a sample of nasal or lung discharge, urine or fecal sample or a sample of tear drops.(Col. 8 lines 18-36: nasal secretions, stool)
Regarding claim 79, Wang teach the microspheres can include Abs (col. 8 lines 57-58: Example 1: Abs rabbit anti goat) that interacts to the Goat Abv (col. 9 lines 1-2, Example 1: Goat Abv anti-cytomegalovirus). It is noted that the Abs antibody on the microsphere (reads on as the "XRF identifiable marker") interactions with the Abv include electrostatic interaction in how the anti-goat antibody on the Abs interacts with the goat antibody of the Abv ("ionic interaction to an amino acid or a peptide selected to interact or associate with a viral pathogen").
Regarding claim 80, Wang teach the microsphere is labelled with different metal elements and antibodies (col. 7 line 40-48: Abv proteins conjugated to microsphere labelled with different metal elements, reads on "organometallic complex of a metal atom and an organic ligand")
Regarding claim 81, Wang teach the at least one functionality is selected and operable to selectively associate to at least one region of a virus (Wang: col. 5 lines 23-25: functional epitope Abv for the viral Ag)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 64 and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Hart et al US 2002/0164582.
Regarding claims 64 and 76, Wang teach detecting a viral pathogen, but is silent to the viral or the bacterial pathogen is selected from the pathogens of Cholera, Plague and Yellow Fever, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), Ebola, Zika, Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) (See 112 rejection), Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV/AIDS), Influenza A (H1N1)pdm/09, Tuberculosis (TB) and Corona Virus Disease 19 (COVID-19).
Hart et al teach a method for detecting the presence of Ebola virus in a sample using fluorescent antibody spectroscopy or colorimetry to provide diagnosis of an Ebola virus infection. (Para. 0053). It is desirable to detect Ebola virus in a sample to provide early detection and prevent widespread infections of the highly infectious Ebola from spreading. Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is held to be obvious. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the virus in Wang for Ebola of Hart et al to provide the above advantage of preventing widespread infections of the highly infectious Ebola from spreading.
Claim(s) 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Hart et al US 2002/0164582 and further in view of Casanova et al, "Assessment of Self-Contamination During Removal of Personal Protective Equipment for Ebola Patient Care" Infection Control & Hospital Epidemiology. 2016;37(10):1156-1161.
Regarding claim 75, Wang teach samples to detect viruses but are silent to the sample is a non-biological sample obtained from a surface, an object, or a part thereof, which was in contact or is suspected to be in contact with a mammal at risk of being infected or already infected with the biological pathogen.
Casanova et al teach the sample for detecting viruses can be the personal protective equipment to prevent viral self-contamination. It is desirable to detect highly infectious viruses on the PPE to ensure the healthcare personnel are protected against exposure. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the e sample is a non-biological sample obtained from a surface, an object, or a part thereof, which was in contact or is suspected to be in contact with a mammal at risk of being infected or already infected with the biological pathogen of Casanova to the method of Wang to provide the above advantage of ensuring the healthcare personnel are protected against exposure.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC 112b, the arguments are persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Wang teaches that the XRF marker is provided in the microspheres, but that the markers are neither complex, or ionically associated, or covalently associated therewith. This is not convincing because the interaction with the anti-virus antibody (Abv) and the mobile solid phase are covalently bound (Col. 5 lines 5-14; Claim 15). The argument that the "In Wang, the construct is complex. At col. 5, line 9, the system is depicted as: solid-phase+Abv+viral antigen+Abv+microspheres containing XRF marker. The platform of the present invention can be comparatively described as: XRF marker+Abv (or other component)+viral antigen…As may be noted, the system of the present invention is much simpler and does not require the complexity of a solid and a mobile phase." is not convincing because the argument is not commensurate with the claim limitations. The claim does not require having only "a single functional component for associating to the virus, as claimed" as the claim uses the "comprising" language that is open for additional components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dennis White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758