Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie (CN 101880552A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 18, Xie discloses a method and system for producing a solid product which is biochar (Such a product char, which is created from a biomass in Xie, can be considered a biochar) and a product gas by means of a gasification, the method comprising:
gasifying bio-based raw material in a fluidized bed gasifier (see paragraph 17 which discloses a fluidized bed gasifier in the first sentence) for forming a product gas and a solid co-product (see abstract which discloses the production of a product synthesis gas and see paragraph 17 which discloses char production); and
arranging a gasification temperature to temperature of 750 - 850° C. for increasing a yield of the solid co-product (see paragraph 53 which discloses a gasification temperature of 750C); and
feeding an oxygen or air 10 - 22 % of stoichiometric amount of oxygen to the gasification to provide a defined temperature during the gasification (see paragraph 53 which discloses the gasifier operates at an equivalence ratio of 0.11).
Xie goes on to teach that the produced char produces a product which is withdrawn via conduit 6 and brought into a combustion process in chamber 7.
Xie further discloses at least a part of the solid co-product is recirculated back to the gasification (via recycle leg 6, riser 8, and cyclonic filters 9, 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 101880552A with references made to the machine translation) in view of Koskinen (US 2013/0072583).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Xie discloses a method and system for producing a solid product and a product gas by means of a gasification, the method comprising:
gasifying bio-based raw material in a fluidized bed gasifier (see paragraph 17 which discloses a fluidized bed gasifier in the first sentence) for forming a product gas and a solid co-product (see abstract which discloses the production of a product synthesis gas and see paragraph 17 which discloses char production); and
arranging a gasification temperature to temperature of 750 - 850° C. for increasing a yield of the solid co-product (see paragraph 53 which discloses a gasification temperature of 750C); and
feeding an oxygen or air 10 - 22 % of stoichiometric amount of oxygen to the gasification to provide a defined temperature during the gasification (see paragraph 53 which discloses the gasifier operates at an equivalence ratio of 0.11).
Xie goes on to teach that the produced char produces a product which is withdrawn via conduit 6 and brought into a combustion process in chamber 7. Such a product char, which is created from a biomass in Xie, can be considered a biochar.
Xie further discloses the product gas is filtrated (paragraph 5 as well as via cyclonic filter 5).
Furthermore, while not explicitly disclosing the details of the yield of the solid co-product, Xie teaches a gasifier which operates at the claimed temperature, the claimed equivalence ratio and processes the same feed material. As such, similar results are assumed with regard to the yield of the co-product. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Xie teaches that the produced synthesis gas has a H2/CO ratio of greater than 1.1:1 (paragraph 35) which overlaps the claimed ratio, but does not explicitly teach the claimed ratios. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Furthermore, Xie teaches a process in which a bio-based material is gasifier to produce a synthesis gas with a H2/CO ratio that is above 1.1 (paragraph 35) but does not teach sending the synthesis gas produced in the gasifier to a reformer.
Koskinen also discloses a gasification system (see abstract).
Koskinen teaches the well known method of utilizing a reformer on the outlet of a gasifier to further refine a synthesis gas stream and assist in removing contaminants while also adjusting the H2/CO ratio (paragraphs 6-7).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the reformer of Koskinen to modified Xie in order to further refine a synthesis gas stream and assist in removing contaminants while also adjusting the H2/CO ratio.
Xie further discloses at least a part of the solid co-product is recirculated back to the gasification (via recycle leg 6, riser 8, and cyclonic filters 9, 10).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Xie teaches a preferable range for the gasification reactor is 700-850C (paragraph 24) which overlaps the claimed range, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed range. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 101880552A with references made to the machine translation) and Koskinen (US 2013/0072583) and further in view of Chen (US 2015/0099814).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 17, Xie teaches the generation of a synthesis gas, but does not teach downstream applications of the synthesis gas. More specifically, Xie does not teach a synthesis device to form a final product form the product gas or an electrolysis unit.
Chen also discloses a gasification process (see abstract).
Chen teaches a system which includes a fisher tropsch reactor (see Figure) that utilizes a product gas from a biomass gasifier to produce a liquid hydrocarbon (paragraph 3) and teaches an electrolysis unit that produces hydrogen that is combined with the synthesis gas to adjust to the proper H2/CO ratio (paragraphs 20-22 and 38).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the Fischer Tropsch unit and the electrolysis unit of Chen to the system and method of Xie in order to produce a liquid hydrocarbon and facilitate H2/CO ratio due to the inclusion of an electrolysis unit that produces hydrogen from water.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 101880552A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 19, Xie teaches a preferable range for the gasification reactor is 700-850C (paragraph 24) which overlaps the claimed range, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed range. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 5-6, Applicant argues that the instant invention is a simple process and not a multistage process like Xie, Koskinen and Chen. The Office notes that the claims do not recite any features that require a “simple process” as argued. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., process complexity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, on page 6, Applicant argues that Xie does not recirculate the solids for the purpose of increasing the yield of the solid product. It is noted that this argument appears to be arguing that Xie does not teach the same motivation for the invention as the instant invention. It is noted that the intent of the process and/or apparatus does not further limit the process and/or apparatus.
Relevant Prior Art
US 4,968,325 – Discloses a gasification system which gasifies a biomass material and recycles at least a portion of produced fines in the reactor along with operating at similar temperatures to the instantly disclosed gasifier (see abstract).
WO 2009/055829 – Discloses a gasification system which produces a syngas and char and teaches a recycling step in which a portion of the char that is produced in the gasifier is recycled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725