DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 1/6/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9, 14 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/25/2025.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant amendments to the claims were sufficient to overcome the 112(b) rejections previously presented.
Applicant arguments that Chabrillangeas does not teach the claimed polymer mixture as newly amended are persuasive, as such new rejections are presented below which address the newly added limitation.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chabrillangeas (US 2018/0318186), Arditty (US 2012/0093560) and Candau (US 2005/0008588).
Chabrillangeas discloses cosmetic compositions for hair and skin (Abs and [0066]).
Example 3, Composition II, of Chabrillangeas discloses an O/W emulsion comprising:
- 1.5% cetyl alcohol (a solid alcohol of formula R-OH, wherein R is a C16 alkyl group) – reading on instant claims 1(i), 2-3 and 13(i);
- 0.3% of disodium stearoyl glutamate – reading on amino acid surfactant of instant claims 1(ii), 4-6, 13(ii) and 15, wherein Z=C17 linear alkyl group, X=H, n=0, Y=(CH2)2C(O)OM, M=Na;
- 1% polyacryloyldimethyl ammonium taurate (Hostacerin AMPS, an AMPS homopolymer which is crosslinked and neutralized as evidenced by the filed specification page 10) – reading on instant claims 1(iii), 10 and 13(iii) and the elected species;
Regarding claim 11: Example 3 teaches the aqueous phase to make up 82.65% of the composition.
Regarding claim 12: Example 3 teaches the fatty phase to make up 17.35% of the composition.
Chabrillangeas does not teach the inclusion of an optionally crosslinked copolymer of AMPS and polyoxyethylene alkyl methacrylate, however, Chabrillangeas does exemplify compositions comprising Simulgel 600 (i.e. an AMPS copolymer) and Hostacerin AMPS (i.e. AMPS homopolymer).
Arditty teaches cosmetic applications and teaches the use of hydrophilic gelling agents such as AMPS, AMPS and acrylamide copolymers of the Sepigel or Simulgel type and copolymers of AMPS and polyoxyethylene alkyl methacrylate [0188].
Candau teaches cosmetic compositions [0002] which comprise hydrophilic thickeners such as Simulgel 600 and Hostacerin AMPS [0309].
As demonstrated by Arditty and Candau, Simulgel 600, Hostacerin AMPS and copolymer of AMPS and polyoxyethylene alkyl methacrylate are all hydrophilic gelling/thickening agents suitable for use in cosmetic compositions (i.e. art recognized equivalency).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chabrillangeas with those of Candua and Arditty. A skilled artisan would have recognized that Hostacerin AMPS and Simulgel 600 as taught by Chabrillangeas are known in the cosmetics arts to be hydrophilic thickening agents and a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use both a copolymer of APMS and polyoxyethylene alkyl methacrylate in the example 3 of Chabrillangeas as this agent is taught to be equivalent to Hostacerin AMPS and Simulgel 600 and its prima facie obvious to combine two art recognized equivalents each taught individually by the prior art to form a new composition for the same purpose.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chabrillangeas (US 2018/0318186), Arditty (US 2012/0093560) and Candau (US 2005/0008588), as applied to claims 1-6, 10-13 and 15 above, further in view of Simonnet (US 2015/0290109) and EP2335677.
As discussed above, the above references make obvious the limitations of claims 1-6, 10-13 and 15, however, Chabrillangeas does not teach the elected sodium stearoyl glutamate wherein Z=C17 linear alkyl group, X=H, n=0, Y=(CH2)2C(O)OH, M=Na.
Chabrillangeas teaches that emulsifying the co-emulsifying surfactants can be used, these are preferably anionic or nonionic surfactants [0099].
Simonnet teaches composition for application to the hair or skin. These can comprise anionic surfactants which are preferably disodium stearoyl glutamate and sodium stearoyl glutamate, selected from a finite number of options [0381].
EP’677 cosmetic compositions and teaches glutamic acid salts of formula R-CONH-C(COOM)-C2R4-COOM with R being alkyl groups having 8-22 carbons such as stearoyl are emulsifying surfactants. Sodium stearoyl glutamate is preferred [0072-0073], but disodium stearoyl glutamate is embraced.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of the above references with those of Simonnet and EP’677. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute disodium stearoyl glutamate with an equivalent emulsifying anionic surfactant, sodium stearoyl glutamate, as both of these are taught by the prior art to be equivalent surfactants personal care compositions and its prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent for the other as they are both taught by the prior art to be used for the same purpose.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613