DETAILED ACTION
Please note: The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
This Office Action is in reply to Applicants’ correspondence of 3/23/2026. Applicants’ remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put this application in condition for allowance. New grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendments, are presented in this Office Action. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims or as discussed in this Office Action. This Action is FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-16, 18-26, 33-35, and 37-39 are pending and being examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement (e.g., pg 6, ln 13; pg 11, ln 15-17). 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Non-Patent Literature reference 13 has been lined through, as it is a duplicate of NPL reference 6 (Chan et al., 2004).
Response to Remarks
Applicant did not submit an additional IDS in the response submitted on 3/23/2026. Therefore, references listed as unconsidered above remain unconsidered.
Abstract
The objection to the abstract is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Specification
The objections to the specification are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Withdrawn: The objection to claims 2, 5, 8, 12, 22, 33, and 36 as detailed in the Office Action of 10/21/2025 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and cancellation of claims 5 and 36.
New (Necessitated by Amendments): Claims 8, 12, 21, and 37-39 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 reads “identifying the location of the target on the DNA” and should read “identifying the location of the target on the chromosomal DNA” to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Claim 12 reads “wherein the cell sample comprises cytoplasmic membrane and nuclear membrane” and should read “wherein the cell sample comprises a cytoplasmic membrane and a nuclear membrane”.
Claim 21 reads “identifying the location of the target in the DNA sequence” and should read “identifying the location of the target in the chromosomal DNA sequence” to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Claim 37 reads “wherein the modified dNTPs” and should read “wherein the one or more modified dNTPs” to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Claim 38 reads “for binding at least one modified nucleotide” and should read “for binding at least one modified dNTP” to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Claim 39 reads “wherein one or more dNTPs is tagged” and should read “wherein the one or more modified dNTPs is tagged” to maintain consistent claim terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b - Indefiniteness
Withdrawn: The rejection of claims 5, 10, 12, 15-16, 19, and 33-38 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and cancellation of claims 5, 10, and 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112a – Written Description
The rejection of claims 1-26 and 33-38 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and cancellation of claims 3-6, 10, 17, and 36.
Response to Remarks
It is noted that Applicant did not amend claim 8 to specify that the nicking endonuclease in the NEFP is either Nt.CviPII or gHNH (as claims 1 and 33 were amended). The rejection of claim 8 (and dependent claims) under 112a written description is still withdrawn given that Applicant’s argument regarding nicking endonucleases (page 13 of the Remarks of 3/23/2026) was found persuasive. The specification provides an extensive list of nicking endonucleases compatible with the methodology, as well as selection criteria of nicking endonucleases that would function optimally with the claimed methodology.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
The rejections of claims under 35 USC § 102 and 103 as detailed in the Office Action of 10/21/2025 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, as well as the cancellation of claims 3-6, 10, 17, and 36.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Necessitated by Amendments
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) in view of Ponnaluri (Ponnaluri et al., Genome Biology 2017; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) and Widlak (Widlak et al., Apoptosis 2006).
Laemmli teaches a composition comprising a fusion protein that is comprised of a regulatable enzyme (such as an enzyme that induces a single stranded break or a site-specific nuclease; col 7, ln 65 and col 8, ln 1-10) and a domain, wherein the domain binds to a constant region of an antibody (Fig 1A, col 9, ln 18-32). Laemmli teaches that the domain that binds to a constant region of an antibody can be Protein A or Protein G (col 8, ln 1-10). Laemmli teaches inclusion of an antibody to bind to the target on the chromosomal DNA (col 10, ln 25-35). Laemmli teaches a buffer which maintains the regulatable enzyme in an inactive state until such time that cleaving is desired (col 7, ln 25-50, col 13, ln 25-35). In an exemplification of the methodology of Laemmli, Laemmli teaches the inclusion of 5mM EDTA and 100nM NaCl in a blocking buffer which the purified fusion protein is added to and incubated with crude nuclei that have been labeled with primary and secondary antibodies (col 33, ln 25-55). The excess of EDTA in the blocking buffer keeps the nuclease activity of the fusion protein inactive in the case of MNase (col 21, ln 40-45).
Laemmli does not teach that the nuclease enzyme fused to the domain that binds to a region of an antibody is Nt.CviPII (claim 1) or that the composition further comprises a strand displacing polymerase (claim 7).
Ponnaluri teaches a composition that comprises Nt.CviPII nicking endonuclease and a polymerase (relevant to claims 1 and 7; “Open chromatin DNA was labeled with biotin by incubating the nuclei in the presence of 2.5 U of Nt.CviPII (NEB R0626S), 10 U of DNA polymerase I (M0209S) and 30 μM of each dNTP including 6 μM of biotin-14-dATP (Invitrogen, 19524-016) and 6 μM of biotin-16-dCTP (ChemCyte, CC-6003-1) in 200 μL of 1× NEB buffer 2”, Methods – Open chromatin labeling).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the composition of Laemmli with that of Ponnaluri. One would be motivated to do so given the teaching of Ponnaluri that Nt.CviPII can travel through the nuclear membrane and nick sites of open chromatin with high sequence specificity (Results - Nicking enzyme-mediated tagging of the open chromatin). One would be motivated to include polymerase given the teaching by Ponnaluri that this, in addition to modified enzymes, allows for nick translation of sites of open chromatin and facilitates downstream methods such as sequencing (Nicking enzyme-mediated tagging of the open chromatin). One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Laemmli teaches that their methodology is not limited by choice of enzyme and can employ, preferably, any nucleases which induce single or double stranded cleavage (col 7, ln 65). Additionally, Laemmli teaches that the purpose of the methodology is to detect sites of enzymatic modification to the DNA at sites specifically bound by the antibody to which the enzyme is tethered (col 2, ln 40-51; col 18, ln 45-65). The inclusion of a strand displacing polymerase with the substitution of Nt.CviPII nicking endonuclease for MNase allows for detection of the incorporation of modified enzymes through nick translation, as taught by Ponnaluri.
Laemmli teaches that the regulatable enzyme/nuclease of their invention should be prevented from binding the chromatin and cutting at sites not specifically targeted by their fused binding domain/antibody tether (col 7, ln 25-50).
Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri do not teach the inclusion of heparin in the buffer to inhibit binding of the NEFP to the chromosomal DNA. However, use of heparin to inhibit the action of nucleases by preventing binding to the DNA is known in the art, as taught by Widlak.
Widlak teaches that heparin, by virtue of its polyanionic nature, can bind to nucleases and inhibit their binding to double-stranded DNA (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the composition of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri to substitute heparin for EDTA in the composition, as taught by Widlak. One would be motivated to use heparin given the teaching by Laemmli that it is desirable to prevent binding of the nuclease fusion protein to DNA in order to control localization of cleavage, and given the assertion by Widlak that heparin is “highly effective at nanomolar concentrations”. One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Nt.CviPII is a site-specific endonuclease which binds to and cleaves DNA.
Claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 24-25, 33, and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) in view of Ponnaluri (Ponnaluri et al., Genome Biology 2017; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) and Widlak (Widlak et al., Apoptosis 2006), as evidenced by NEBufferTM 2 (New England Biolabs, NEBufferTM 2 Certificate of Analysis 2018).
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 18: Laemmli teaches a method of identifying the location of a target on chromosomal DNA in samples (Abstract, col 33, ln 20-55). Laemmli teaches that the target can be a DNA binding protein (relevant to claim 9; Abstract). Laemmli teaches adding to the sample an antibody that binds indirectly to a target (a secondary antibody) and then adding a fusion protein that is comprised of a regulatable enzyme (such as an enzyme that induces a single stranded break or a site-specific nuclease; col 7, ln 65 and col 8, ln 1-10) and a domain, wherein the domain binds to a region of the antibody (Fig 1A, col 9, ln 18-32). Laemmli teaches that the domain that binds to a constant region of an antibody can be Protein A or Protein G (col 8, ln 1-10). Laemmli teaches a buffer which maintains the regulatable enzyme in an inactive state until such time that cleaving is desired (col 7, ln 25-50, col 13, ln 25-35). In an exemplification of the methodology of Laemmli, Laemmli teaches the inclusion of 5mM EDTA and 100nM NaCl in a blocking buffer which the purified fusion protein is added to and incubated with crude nuclei that have been labeled with primary and secondary antibodies (col 33, ln 25-55). The excess of EDTA in the blocking buffer keeps the nuclease activity of the fusion protein inactive in the case of MNase (col 21, ln 40-45). Laemmli then teaches replacing this buffer with a high salt wash buffer with 500mM NaCl without EDTA (reads on at least 400 mM inorganic salt; col 33, ln 45-50). Laemmli teaches initiating cleavage of the chromosomal DNA at sites proximal to the bound target by the addition of activating ions (Ca2+ in the case of MNase; col 33, ln 60-65). Laemmli teaches detecting sites of enzymatic modification (cleavage) to the DNA at sites specifically bound by the antibody to which the enzyme is tethered (col 2, ln 40-51; col 18, ln 45-65).
Laemmli does not teach that the method of detection is through nick translation (relevant to claim 8), or that that the nicking endonuclease is Nt.CviPII (relevant to claim 18). However, use of Nt.CviPII as a nicking endonuclease that can cleave chromosomal DNA and detection of said sites of cleavage through nick translation is known in the art, as taught by Ponnaluri.
Ponnaluri teaches a method of identifying a location of a target associated with chromosomal DNA (open chromatin; reads on a structural feature of the chromosomal DNA of claim 9) in a sample comprising contacting the sample with a nicking endonuclease (Nt.CivPII, relevant to claim 18), performing nick translation on the nicked chromosomal DNA in the presence of a strand displacing polymerase and a mixture of dNTPs where one or more of the dNTPs in the mixture is modified for blocking secondary nicking, and then identifying the location of the target on the DNA (Results - Nicking enzyme-mediated tagging of the open chromatin, Results - Open chromatin mapping with 250 cells). The modified dNTPs included in the mixture include biotin-14-dATP, which the specification of the instant application lists as a modified nucleotide that would act as an inhibiting moiety to nicking endonuclease cleavage (pg 24, ln 22-23). Ponnaluri teaches that magnesium ions are present to produce nicked chromosomal DNA by Nt.CviPII (“chromatin DNA was labeled with biotin by incubating the nuclei in the presence of 2.5 U of Nt.CviPII (NEB R0626S), 10 U of DNA polymerase I (M0209S) and 30 μM of each dNTP including 6 μM of biotin-14-dATP (Invitrogen, 19524-016) and 6 μM of biotin-16-dCTP (ChemCyte, CC-6003-1) in 200 μL of 1× NEB buffer 2”, Methods - Open chromatin labeling). The NEBufferTM 2 contains 10mM MgCl2, as evidenced by the NEB Certificate of Analysis for the product (included with this Office Action).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the method of Laemmli with that of Ponnaluri. One would be motivated to do so given the teaching of Ponnaluri that Nt.CviPII can travel through the nuclear membrane and nick sites of open chromatin with high sequence specificity (Results - Nicking enzyme-mediated tagging of the open chromatin). One would be motivated to include polymerase given the teaching by Ponnaluri that this, in addition to modified enzymes, allows for nick translation of sites of open chromatin and facilitates downstream methods such as sequencing (Nicking enzyme-mediated tagging of the open chromatin). One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Laemmli teaches that their methodology is not limited by choice of enzyme and can employ, preferably, any nucleases which induce single or double stranded cleavage (col 7, ln 65). Additionally, Laemmli teaches that the purpose of the methodology is to detect sites of enzymatic modification to the DNA at sites specifically bound by the antibody to which the enzyme is tethered (col 2, ln 40-51; col 18, ln 45-65). The inclusion of a strand displacing polymerase with the substitution of Nt.CviPII nicking endonuclease for MNase allows for detection of the incorporation of cleavage sites through nick translation, as taught by Ponnaluri.
Laemmli teaches that the regulatable enzyme/nuclease of their invention should be prevented from binding the chromatin and cutting at sites not specifically targeted by their fused binding domain/antibody tether (col 7, ln 25-50).
Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri do not teach the inclusion of heparin in the buffer to inhibit binding of the NEFP to the chromosomal DNA. However, use of heparin to inhibit the action of nucleases by preventing binding to the DNA is known in the art, as taught by Widlak.
Widlak teaches that heparin, by virtue of its polyanionic nature, can bind to nucleases and inhibit their binding to double-stranded DNA (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the methodology of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri to substitute heparin for EDTA in the composition, as taught by Widlak. One would be motivated to use heparin given the teaching by Laemmli that it is desirable to prevent binding of the nuclease fusion protein to DNA in order to control localization of cleavage, and given the assertion by Widlak that heparin is “highly effective at nanomolar concentrations”. One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Nt.CviPII is a site-specific endonuclease which binds to and cleaves DNA. Laemmli teaches detecting sites of enzymatic modification to the DNA at sites specifically bound by the antibody to which the enzyme is tethered
Regarding claim 11 and 12: Laemmli teaches that the sample is a cell sample wherein the nuclear membrane is rendered porous to allow access of the antibody to the DNA within the crude nuclei (col 32, ln 59-67, col 33, ln 20-50).
Regarding claim 13: Laemmli teaches incubation of the sample with inactive pA-MN at 30º C (col 33, ln 49).
Regarding claim 15: Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teaches washing the sample to further remove the inhibiting compound (heparin, as taught by Widlak) and unbound NEFP (col 33, ln 49).
Regarding claim 16: Laemmli teaches adding a buffer containing ions for activating the cleavage activity of the regulatable enzyme (for example, adding CaCl2 for MNase; col 3, ln 20-25, col 33, ln 60-65). Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak, as mentioned above, teaches that magnesium allows Nt.CviPII to cleave (Ponnaluri, as evidenced by NEBuffer 2, Methods – Open chromatin labeling).
Regarding claims 20 and 21: Ponnaluri teaches immobilizing the nick translated DNA from the sample and preparing a library from the immobilized DNA and then sequencing the library to identify the location of the target in the DNA sequence (“The genomic DNA from the biotin labeling reaction was purified, fragmented, and captured using Streptavidin beads for library construction. Streptavidin-captured DNA from putative open chromatin regions was used for high-throughput sequencing.” Results - Open chromatin mapping with 250 cells).
Regarding claims 24 and 25: Ponnaluri teaches that differences in the global landscape of closed versus open chromatin is associated with cancers (Results - DNA hypomethylation of HCT116 genome correlates with OCSs). Additionally, Ponnaluri teaches that open chromatin is associated with DNA binding proteins such as CTCF, DNAse I, and RNA pol II. It would have been obvious to those of skill in the art that DNA binding proteins associated with open chromatin would be a desired target of the methodology of Laemmli given the association between the these specific DNA binding proteins, open chromatin, and cancer as taught by Ponnaluri. Furthermore, Ponnaluri teaches that the genome of cancer is globally hypomethylated and thus determination of differences in levels of open chromatin would be associated with a cancer genome (diagnostic; Results - DNA hypomethylation of HCT116 genome correlates with OCSs). Thus, modification of Laemmli to specifically examine localization of DNA binding proteins in association with open chromatin would enable one to detect differences in open chromatin levels. Detection, as taught by Ponnaluri, is through the use of a nicking endonuclease, strand displacement polymerase, and modified dNTPs (as described above). Ponnaluri teaches including biotinylated dNTPs (for sequencing) OR dye labeled dNTPs for visualization. While Ponnaluri does not demonstrate combination of the two, Ponnaluri does teach that combination of NicE-Seq (biotinylated dNTPs in nicking endonuclease mediated nick translation) with dye-labeled dNTPs would facilitate visualization of the open chromatin in the same cell sample (Conclusion).
Regarding claims 33, 35, and 37-38: Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach including reagents necessary for performance of the above methodology in a kit (Laemmli, col 19, ln 19-20). Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach the components of the kit, including the NEFP, a first buffer comprising heparin salt and inorganic salt at a concentration less than 110mM (claim 33), a second buffer comprising at least 400 mM inorganic salt and free of heparin, a strand displacing polymerase and one or more modified nuleotides and dNTPs such as biotinylated CTP or dye labeled dNTP (claims 35 and 37), and magnetic beads coated with an affinity binding molecule for binding at least one of the modified nucleotides (such as streptavidin coated beads for capturing biotinylated dNTPs; claim 38; see citations above). Laemmli teaches that purified fusion protein is provided to a sample within blocking buffer (the 100mM NaCl and 5mM EDTA inhibitor without activating ions). Those of skill in the art would recognize that this would indicate that the two components were combined in the same tube (or compartment) prior to use in the methodology.
Regarding claim 39: Ponnaluri teaches using biotinylated CTP (6 μM of biotin-16-dCTP, Methods – Open chromatin labeling).
Claims 14, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) in view of Ponnaluri (Ponnaluri et al., Genome Biology 2017; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) and Widlak (Widlak et al., Apoptosis 2006), as evidenced by NEBufferTM 2 (New England Biolabs, NEBufferTM 2 Certificate of Analysis 2018) as applied to claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 24-25, 33, and 35-39 above, and further in view of Chan (Chan et al., Nucleic Acids Research 2004; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022).
The teachings of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak, as evidenced by NEB, as they apply to claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 24-25, 33, and 35-39 are detailed above. Relative to the instantly rejected claims, Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach a method of identifying a target associated with chromosomal DNA using a fusion protein comprised of a nicking endonuclease fused to a domain that binds to the constant region of an antibody, performing nick translation with a strand displacement polymerase and modified dNTPs, and then identifying the location of the target on the DNA.
Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak do not teach performing each step of the method at a single reaction temperature (claim 14). However, performing multiple reaction steps at a single temperature is known in the art, as taught by Chan.
Chan teaches a method of nicking endonuclease-mediated random DNA amplification in which an endonuclease (Nt.CviPII) is used to nick genomic DNA and a strand displacement polymerase and dNTPs are added to perform nick translation and amplification (Discussion, paragraph 8). Chan teaches that contacting DNA with Nt.CviPII and amplification can be done in a single-step isothermal reaction at the same temperature of 55ºC.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the method of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak with that of Chan. One would be motivated to do so given the assertion by Chan that this is a single-step reaction. One skilled in the art would recognize the inherent advantage of performing multiple reactions at a single temperature (less room for error, less time needed for temperature adjustment). One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Chan demonstrates that the same nicking endonuclease taught by Ponnaluri (Nt.CviPII) can perform at the temperature required for polymerase activity and nick translation to occur.
Regarding claim 19: Ponnaluri teaches that the one or more modified dNTPs biotin-14-dATP (Methods – Open chromatin labeling). The specification of the instant application lists this dNTP as a modified nucleotide that would act as an inhibiting moiety to nicking endonuclease cleavage (pg 24, ln 22-23). Chan teaches that Nt.CviPII does not cleave “mCCD sequences” (Introduction, paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to substitute biotinylated dATP with d5mCTP, given the assertion by Chan that this blocks cleavage of Nt.CviPII. This would be a simple substitution of one dNTP for another with the predicted effect of blocking Nt.CviPII cleavage.
Regarding claim 26: Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri, Widlak, and Chan do not explicitly teach performing this method in a single tube (claim 26). However, Chan teaches that both the nicking activity and the nick translation activity can be performed in a single-step reaction at the same temperature and Ponnaluri teaches that modified dNTPs can be added to nick translation to facilitate visualization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to perform the method in a single tube given the obvious advantage of minimized sample handling and minimized sample loss upon transfer between tubes.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) in view of Ponnaluri (Ponnaluri et al., Genome Biology 2017; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) and Widlak (Widlak et al., Apoptosis 2006), as evidenced by NEBufferTM 2 (New England Biolabs, NEBufferTM 2 Certificate of Analysis 2018) as applied to claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 24-25, 33, and 35-39 above, and further in view of Krystosek (Krystosek et al., US 5,264,343 A; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022) and Wenger (Wenger et al., Neuro-Oncology 2019; cited on PTO-892 of 10/21/2025).
The teachings of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak as they apply to claims 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 24-25, 33, and 35-39 are detailed above. Relative to the instantly rejected claims, Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach a method of identifying a target associated with chromosomal DNA using a fusion protein comprised of a nicking endonuclease fused to a domain that binds to the constant region of an antibody, performing nick translation with a strand displacement polymerase and modified dNTPs, and then identifying the location of the target on the DNA. Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach performing this methodology on cancer cell samples (colorectal cancer HCT116 cells). Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak teach incorporating modified dye labeled dNTPs for visualizing the presence and location of a target in the cells (Ponnaluri Fig 1B).
Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak do not teach that the sample is a biopsy sample from a patient. However, use of patient biopsy samples for assessment of target locations through nicking endonuclease mediated nick translation is known in the art, as taught by Krystosek.
Krystosek teaches a method of labeling open chromatin by exposing cells to DNA polymerase I, DNase, and dNTPs (at least one of which is biotin labeled; Abstract). Krystosek teaches that this methodology can be performed on fresh biopsy cells (claim 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the method of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri and Widlak with that of Krystosek. One would be motivated to do so given the assertion by Krystosek that this methodology of labeling open chromatin (similar to that of Ponnaluri) can be used to diagnose cancer through the detection of exposed DNA in cells (col 1, ln 61-68 and col 2, ln 1-4). One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Krystosek performs nicking endonuclease mediated nick translation in cell samples and using cell samples from patients in a diagnostic assay would predictably yield similar results. Krystosek also demonstrates that the methodology could be successfully performed in a normal human lymphocyte (non-dividing) obtained from a clinical laboratory (col 9, ln 6-15).
Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri, Widlak and Krystosek do not teach obtaining a plurality of aliquots from the same biopsy sample (claim 23). However, obtaining multiple aliquots from the same biopsy sample is known in the art, as taught by Wenger.
Wenger teaches performing genome-wide DNA methylation analysis on multiple samples from the same biopsied tumor to study intratumor heterogeneity (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the method of Laemmli in view of Ponnaluri, Widlak and Krystosek to obtain a plurality of aliquots from the same biopsied sample, as taught by Wenger. One would be motivated to do so given the teaching of Wenger that there is significant intratumor heterogeneity of methylation patterns (and thus patterns of open chromatin) which could impact diagnostics and classification of tumor status (Abstract). One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Wenger demonstrates that multiple samples/aliquots can be obtained from the same tumor biopsy.
Response to Remarks
Applicant traversed the 102 and 103 rejections as detailed in the Office Action of 10/21/2025 on pages 14-18 of the Remarks of 3/23/2026. The rejections as detailed in the previous Office Action have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and new rejections are presented above to address the new limitations. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Allowable Subject Matter
SEQ ID NOs: 5, 6, 7, and 8 are free of the prior art.
Claims 2 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Withdrawn: The double patenting rejections as detailed in the Office Action of 10/21/2025 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. New double patenting rejections are presented below, as necessitated by said amendments.
New (Necessitated by Amendments):
US 11,492,667 B2
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 11-16, 18-21, 24-25, 33, 35, 37, and 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,492,667 B2 in view of Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022).
Regarding claim 8: The claims of ‘667 teach a first buffer of heparin and an inorganic salt (claims 1 and 3). Claim 7 of ‘667 teaches washing away unbound NEFP and heparin by replacing the first buffer with a second buffer that has a higher concentration of inorganic salt than the second buffer and does not contain heparin.
The claims of ‘667 do not explicitly teach the inorganic salt concentration of the first and second buffers. However, keeping inorganic salt concentration low (less than 110mM) and then washing with a high salt buffer (over 400mM) is known in the art as taught by Laemmli.
Laemmli teaches the inclusion of an inhibitor and 100nM NaCl in a blocking buffer in which the purified fusion protein is added to and incubated with crude nuclei that have been labeled with primary and secondary antibodies (col 33, ln 25-55). The excess of inhibitor in the blocking buffer keeps the nuclease activity of the fusion protein inactive (col 21, ln 40-45). Laemmli then teaches replacing this buffer with a high salt wash buffer with 500mM NaCl without inhibitor (reads on at least 400 mM inorganic salt; col 33, ln 45-50).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the method of ‘667 with that of Laemmli. One would be motivated to use a higher salt wash given the teaching Laemmli that 500 mM of inorganic salt is high enough to stringently wash the sample to remove unbound/nonspecifically bound fusion proteins. One would have a reasonable expectation of success given that Laemmli is applying these variable salt buffers to binding of a nuclease-fusion protein that binds to antibodies, similar to the methodology as employed by ‘667.
Regarding claims 1 and 7: Additionally, though claims 1-14 of ‘667 in view of Laemmli teach a method, together they teach all reagents that would be present in a composition as taught by the instant claims (claims 1 and 7).
Regarding claims 33, 35, and 37: Furthermore, ‘667 in view of Laemmli teach inclusion of said composition in a kit (Laemmli, col 19, ln 19-20). Laemmli teaches that purified fusion protein is provided to a sample within blocking buffer (the 100mM NaCl and 5mM EDTA inhibitor without activating ions). Those of skill in the art would recognize that this would indicate that the two components were combined in the same tube (or compartment) prior to use in the methodology.
Regarding claim 12: Laemmli teaches that the sample is a cell sample wherein the nuclear membrane is rendered porous to allow access of the antibody to the DNA within the crude nuclei (col 32, ln 59-67, col 33, ln 20-50).
Claims 22-23, 26, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,492,667 B2 in view of Laemmli (Laemmli et al., US 7,790,379 B2; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022), as applied to claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 11-16, 18-21, 24-25, 33, 35, 37, and 39 above, and further in view of Ponnaluri (Ponnaluri et al., Genome Biology 2017; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022), Chan (Chan et al., Nucleic Acids Research 2004; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022), Krystosek (Krystosek et al., US 5,264,343 A; cited on IDS of 10/18/2022), and Wenger (Wenger et al., Neuro-Oncology 2019; cited on PTO-892 of 10/21/2025) according to citations and rationales provided above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAILEY ELIZABETH CASH/Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683