DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, and 5-18 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 3 in the reply filed on 06/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 5-18 remain withdrawn.
Claim 3 is currently under consideration to the extent that it reads upon Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted that in the process of searching the instantly elected species, the Examiner previously came across art that read upon Dazomet. As such, the Examiner extended the species election to also include Dazomet.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 (the only claim currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincente (2014) and Teminco (2018).
Vincente teaches that Fusarium wilt or Panama disease is caused by Fusarium oxysporum cubensis – Tropical Race 4 (TR4) (see entire document, for instance, page 1, top slide). Vincente further teaches applying Dazomet as a sanitation and disinfection agent for pre-planting control of soil diseases (see entire document, for instance, page 9, top slide).
Vincente, while teaching that Dazomet is useful for sanitizing and disinfecting soil from Fusarium oxysporum cubensis – Tropical Race 4 (TR4) does not expressly articulate the depth of said application.
Teminco teaches soil diseases that are detrimental to plants include Fusarium oxysporum, which is found at 60+ cm deep (see entire document, for instance, page 6). Teminco further teaches application of active agents, such as metam sodium, by injection allows the product to be applied at a depth of 10-40cm deep (see entire document, for instance pages 12 and 21). Teminco further teaches that it can be necessary to very the amount of the active agent in order to achieve efficient soil treatment results (see entire document, for instance, page 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Dazomet at 40 cm in order to reduce Fusarium oxysporum cubensis – Tropical Race 4 (TR4) in soil which Musa plants will be grown. One would have been motivated to do so since Teminco teaches that injection applies active agents 10-40 cm deep, wherein Fusarium oxysporum is taught as being present at 60+ cm deep. As such, one would have been motivated to apply the agent at 40 cm to allow the application to be close to the target, namely, the Fusarium oxysporum cubensis – Tropical Race 4 (TR4). There would be a reasonable expectation of success since Dazomet is a known agent for sanitizing and disinfecting soil from Fusarium oxysporum cubensis – Tropical Race 4 (TR4) wherein Teminco teaches the application of agents against soil diseases at depths of 40cm.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of the active utilized. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve efficient soil treatment results as indicated by Taminco. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since the amount of the composition is taught as being a result effective variable, wherein the desired result of efficient soil treatment is directly tied to the amount of the composition being utilized. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
With regard to the steps of allowing the composition to convert to MITC, it is noted that a product cannot be separated from its properties, wherein the Dazomet (or metam sodium) would necessarily convert to MITC since MITC is a degradation product that occurs when the Dazomet (or metam sodium) is applied. Further, regarding the step of allowing the MITC to reduce viable Foc TR4 propagule count in the soil by at least 15%, it is noted that, again, a product cannot be separated from its properties, wherein the Dazomet (or metam sodium) would necessarily have the effect of reducing the Foc TR4 in the soil since this is a property of the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 09/30/2025 that the prior art does not teach the amount of the composition as newly claimed. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection set forth above. Specifically, the prior art motivates one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of the active agent in order to arrive at an efficient soil treatment result. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claim 3 (the only claim currently under consideration) is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/907496 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims recite a method of reducing Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. cubense Tropical Race 4 (Foc TR4) (a.k.a. Fusarium odoratissimum) propagules in soil of a Musa field, comprising applying a composition comprising 500-5000 L/ha of methyl isothiocyanate (MITC) or a compound that produces MITC as a degradate (or a functional equivalent or alternative thereof), wherein application of the composition reduces Foc TR4 propagule count in the soil by at least 15% compared to the Foc TR4 propagule count in the soil before treatment which directly overlaps the instantly claimed claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 09/30/2025 that the copending claims do not recite the depth of the composition, and therefore, the double patenting rejection should be withdrawn. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is noted that the instant claims recite methyl isothiocyanate OR a compound that produces MITC as a degradate at least 40 cm below the surface of the soil. Since the copending claims teach methyl isothiocyanate, the copending claims are not required to teach “a compound that produces MITC as a degradate at least 40 cm below the surface of the soil.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611