DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed 05/21/2026.
Claims 1-35 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed on 05/21/2026 have been fully considered.
With regards to the language “for future use” in the independent claims, Applicant cites paragraphs 89 and 96 of the specification as support.
[0089] For L3 relay scenarios, the remote UE may report its DRX preference (e.g., preferred parameters) to a relay node via PC5 RRC message. The relay node may decide the remote UE’s sidelink DRX configuration (e.g., according to the indicated preference or some other configuration). As an alternative, the relay node may forward the remote UE’s sidelink DRX preference to the network, for example, via a sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE assistance information (UAI), and the network entity may decide the remote UE SL DRX configuration.
[0096] As in the example of FIG. 14, the remote UE may report its sidelink DRX preference to relay node via PC5 RRC message. But in this case, the relay node forwards remote UE’s sidelink DRX preference to NW via SidelinkUEinformationNR (SUI) or UEAssistencelnformation (UAI). The network entity decides remote UE specific sidelink DRX configuration, and sends it to relay node via RRC reconfiguration message. The relay node the forwards the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (e.g., via a PC5 RRC message), and the remote UE applies the sidelink DRX as noted above.
From these paragraphs, there is no indication of a “future” use. If anything, these paragraphs indicate the DRX configuration that is to be used for the current communication. Moreover, the fact that the next step, as per the claims, is to enter the reduced power state provided by the configuration is further indication that it is for a current communication. It can be argued that the configuration would still apply to “future” communications – i.e. those that will happen at a later time – until the configuration is changed. But, clearly from the specification and the claim language, the configuration preference is to be used at the time the preference is received, from which the device can enter the reduced power state and wake up during on-durations. If it is truly for “future use” the device would not enter this reduced power state and there would be an offset time for applying the parameters of the DRX configuration. The Examiner respectfully states, that the term “future use” remains unclear as per the order of steps required in the claims and as supported by the cited paragraphs.
With regards to the arguments related to the Song reference, they are persuasive and new grounds of rejection are presented below.
The Shrivastava reference, cited below, makes specific reference to the DRX configuration that is sent in a solicitation message from the remote UE to the relay UE (as mentioned in paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0095). The paragraph states “the remote UE sends a solicitation message in order to discover a Relay UE to meet its desired service and includes one or combinations of information in the message including, but not limited to, UE identity, QoS Requirement i.e. packet delay budget/latency bound of the service, DRX configuration and state… and the configuration for the DRX”. Thus, according to this it is a desired or preferred service that is indicated to the relay UE, and this is considered to meet the claims as the stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15, 17, 19, 21-25, 27, 29 and 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0297842).
Regarding claim 1 Shrivastava discloses a method for wireless communication by a remote user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0015; method for discovering User Equipment (UE) over side link in device to device (D2D) communication), comprising:
connecting, via a sidelink, to a relay node connected to a network entity (figure 11, paragraph 0054; wherein remote UE is connected via PC5 link to relay UE which is, in turn, connected to the base station via Uu link);
sending an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference for future use (paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0095; remote UE sends a solicitation request to relay UE, comprising DRX configuration request);
receiving, after sending the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0075, 0100; the relay UE sends a DRX configuration to the remote UE);
entering a reduced power state during off-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (figure 12, paragraphs 0102; non-transmission and no-reception periods which are inherent in DRX); and
monitoring for discovery messages from one or more other relays for relay selection, during on-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0100, 0102; remote UE applies the DRX configuration and determines active periods (i.e., on-durations) to monitor for sidelink messages, including discovery as seen in figures 4, 5 and paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 2 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraphs 0026, 0070; providing same DRX config as its own or a sub-set of it based on service needs, QoS/latency bounds).
Regarding claim 3 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the remote UE sends the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference to the relay node (paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0095; remote UE sends a solicitation request to relay UE, comprising DRX configuration request); and the relay node signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (paragraphs 0075, 0100; the relay UE sends a DRX configuration to the remote UE).
Regarding claim 4 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the relay node also decides the sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0063, 0070, 0075; the Relay UE determines optimal DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 6 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the remote UE applies the sidelink DRX pattern to all of its sidelinks (paragraphs 0083, 0109; RX patterns assignment to remote UE(s) with aligning DRXs between relay and remote UE(s)).
Regarding claim 7 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 3, wherein: the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and sends it to the relay node to be forwarded to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE).
Regarding claim 8 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the remote UE sends the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference to the network entity (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; the DRX configuration indication from network can be explicitly provided or indicated through an index to the preconfigured list of configurations).
Regarding claim 9 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern).
Regarding claim 10 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements).
Regarding claim 11 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 12 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated).
Regarding claim 13 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the relay node or network entity decides to switch the remote UE between the first and second DRX patterns based on sidelink measurements reported by the remote UE (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern by the relay node).
Regarding claim 15 Shrivastava discloses a method for wireless communication by a relay node, comprising:
connecting, via a sidelink, to a remote user equipment (UE) while the relay node is also connected to a network entity (figure 11, paragraph 0054; wherein remote UE is connected via PC5 link to relay UE which is, in turn, connected to the base station via Uu link);
receiving, from the remote UE, an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference for future use (paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0095; remote UE sends a solicitation request to relay UE, comprising DRX configuration request); and
sending to the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0075, 0100; the relay UE sends a DRX configuration to the remote UE).
Regarding claim 17 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the relay node also decides the sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0063, 0070, 0075; the Relay UE determines optimal DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 19 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15, wherein: the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and sends it to the relay node to be forwarded to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; the DRX configuration indication from network can be explicitly provided or indicated through an index to the preconfigured list of configurations).
Regarding claim 21 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15, wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern).
Regarding claim 22 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements).
Regarding claim 23 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 24 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated).
Regarding claim 25 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the relay node or network entity decides to switch the remote UE between the first and second DRX patterns based on sidelink measurements reported by the remote UE (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern by the relay node).
Regarding claim 27 Shrivastava discloses a method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
connecting to a relay node that is connected to a remote user equipment (UE) (figure 11, paragraph 0054; wherein remote UE is connected via PC5 link to relay UE which is, in turn, connected to the base station via Uu link);
receiving an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference for future use (paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0071, 0095; remote UE sends a solicitation request to relay UE, comprising DRX configuration request); and
sending the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0075, 0100; the relay UE sends a DRX configuration to the remote UE).
Regarding claim 29 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 27, wherein: the network entity receives the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference from the relay node (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE via the relay node (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE).
Regarding claim 31 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 27, wherein: the network entity receives the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration directly from the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and signals the sidelink DRX configuration directly to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; the DRX configuration indication from network can be explicitly provided or indicated through an index to the preconfigured list of configurations).
Regarding claim 32 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 27, wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern).
Regarding claim 33 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements).
Regarding claim 34 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 35 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14, 18, 20, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Pan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0227620; hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 5 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 3, wherein: the remote UE does not monitor receive resource pools which fall into off durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (figure 12, paragraphs 0102; non-transmission and no-reception periods which are inherent in DRX). Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses the sidelink DRX configuration is signaled to the remote UE via a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs 0301, 0389; PC5 RRC message including the sidelink DRX configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to achieve enhanced reliability (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 14 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses further comprising: receiving a sidelink broadcast channel from the relay node (paragraphs 0282, 0301; SBCCH – sidelink broadcast control channel); and synchronizing timing of the DRX pattern based on the sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0379; operating sidelink DRX mechanism, the timing to wake up for monitoring sidelink control channel could be synced with a synchronization reference UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 18 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the sidelink DRX configuration is signaled to the remote UE via a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs 0301, 0389; PC5 RRC message including the sidelink DRX configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 20 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 19. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity via at least one of sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE Assistance Information (UAI) (paragraphs 0190-0191, 0253; The UEAssistanceInformation message is used for the indication of UE assistance information to the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 26 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses further comprising: sending a sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0301; SBCCH – sidelink broadcast control channel), wherein the remote UE synchronizes timing of the DRX pattern based on the sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0379; operating sidelink DRX mechanism, the timing to wake up for monitoring sidelink control channel could be synced with a synchronization reference UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 30 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 29. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity via at least one of sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE Assistance Information (UAI) (paragraphs 0190-0191, 0253; The UEAssistanceInformation message is used for the indication of UE assistance information to the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Claim(s) 16 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Miao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0337140; hereinafter Miao).
Regarding claim 16 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 15. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Miao, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraph 0049; with a global sidelink DRX and a group sidelink DRX being configured for the UEs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Miao, in order to increase system efficiency (Miao: paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 28 Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 27. Shrivastava fails to disclose but Miao, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraph 0049; with a global sidelink DRX and a group sidelink DRX being configured for the UEs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shrivastava with the teachings of Miao, in order to increase system efficiency (Miao: paragraph 0048).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2023/0156857 to Hong – that discloses receiving, from a base station or another UE, sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information; configuring a sidelink DRX parameter using the sidelink DRX configuration information; receiving, from another UE, a sidelink command MAC control element (CE); and controlling a PSCCH transmission or reception operation not to be performed by stopping the sidelink DRX parameter on the basis of the sidelink command MAC CE.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466