DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-35 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed with the RCE have been fully considered.
Claims have been amended to recite: “sending an indication of a sidelink DRX configuration preference for future use”. For support Applicant has recited paragraphs 0080-0098 of the specification as filed which are replicated below for reference:
[0080] Aspects of the present disclosure may help achieve such DRX configurations for a remote UE, by coordinating with a relay that is connected to a network entity (e.g., a gNB) and/or the network entity itself. FIGS. 11, 12, and 13 illustrate example operations from the perspective of a remote UE, relay UE, and network entity, respectively, for coordinating a sidelink DRX configuration for a remote UE that may be optimized for relay reselection
[0081] FIG. 11 illustrates example operations 1100 that may be performed by a remote UE to coordinate a sidelink DRX configuration in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Operations 1100 may be performed, for example, by a UE 120 of FIG. 1 or FIG. 4.
[0082] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, by connecting, via a sidelink, to a relay node connected to a network entity. At 1104, the remote UE sends an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference. At 1106, the remote UE receives, after sending the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern. At 1108, the remote UE entering a reduced power state during off-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern. At 1110, the remote UE monitors for discovery messages from one or more other relays for relay selection, during on-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern.
[0083] Operations 1200 may be performed by a relay node (e.g., a relay UE) to coordinate a sidelink DRX configuration for a remote UE (performing operations 1100 of FIG. 11).
[0084] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, by connecting, via a sidelink, to a remote user equipment (UE) while the relay node is also connected to a network entity. At 1204, the relay node receives, from the remote UE, an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference. At 1206, the relay node sends to the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern.
[0085] Operations 1300 may be performed by a network entity (e.g., a gNB) connected to a relay node to coordinate a sidelink DRX configuration for a remote UE (performing operations 1100 of FIG. 11).
[0086] Operations 1300 begin, at 1302, by connecting to a relay node that is connected to a remote user equipment (UE). At 1304, the network entity receives an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference. At 1306, the network entity sends the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern.
[0087] As noted above, one of the objectives of the sidelink (SL) DRX configuration may be for power saving of the remote UE and/or the relay UE. Without SL DRX, the remote UE may have to keep its receiver always on to monitor for relay discovery messages. According to the SL DRX configuration, however, the relay UE may turn off its transceiver during sidelink DRX OFF durations for power saving
[0088] The SL DRX mode may be applied to relay reselection and PC5 data transmission (e.g., after connected to one relay node). As will be described in greater detail below, by coordinating with a remote UE, a remote UE specific sidelink DRX (e.g., similar to Uu C-DRX) pattern may be established.
[0089] For L3 relay scenarios, the remote UE may report its DRX preference (e.g., preferred parameters) to a relay node via PC5 RRC message. The relay node may decide the remote UE’s sidelink DRX configuration (e.g., according to the indicated preference or some other configuration). As an alternative, the relay node may forward the remote UE’s sidelink DRX preference to the network, for example, via a sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE assistance information (UAI), and the network entity may decide the remote UE SL DRX configuration.
[0090] For L2 relay scenarios, the remote UE can report its DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via SUI or UAI), for the network entity to decide on its SL DRX configuration. In this case, the network entity can update both the remote UE and relay UE DRX configurations, for example, via RRC reconfiguration message
[0091] In either scenario (L3 or L2), if SL DRX is configured, the relay node may be required to send a sidelink broadcast channel (SL-BCH) for the synchronization of the remote UE SL DRX cycles.
[0092] FIG. 14 illustrates one alternative for SL DRX configuration in an L3 relay scenario. As illustrated, the remote UE may indicate a specific (preferred) sidelink DRX configuration to the relay (e.g., via PC5 RRC). For example, the preferred sidelink DRX configuration may have DRX ON durations that are a subset of a remote UE group common DRX ON (e.g., used in relay selection). The indicated DRX preference may include DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer (same as legacy UAI).
[0093] As illustrated, in this alternative, the relay node decides the remote UE DRX pattern (e.g., according to the indication preference or otherwise). The relay node may convey the remote UE specific sidelink DRX, for example, via a PC5 RRC message. As illustrated, the relay node may also forward remote UE’s sidelink DRX configuration to the network, for example, via a SidelinkUEinformationNR (SUI).
[0094] The remote UE may apply the sidelink DRX configuration similar to a Uu C-DRX mode. For example, the remote UE may not monitor any receive resource pools which fall into the dedicated DRX off time. Further, at least the DRX inactivity timer may be running and possibly a HARQ RTT timer. In some cases, the remote UE may apply the dedicated sidelink DRX for all of its sidelinks (PC5 links). In other words, a single remote UE dedicated DRX configuration may apply to all of its PC5 links. This may be sufficient, as DRX configurations among different relay nodes (in CONNECTED mode) may be coordinated, for example, via inter-node messages.
[0095] FIG. 15 illustrates another alternative for SL DRX configuration in an L3 relay scenario, in which the network entity decides the remote UE DRX pattern.
[0096] As in the example of FIG. 14, the remote UE may report its sidelink DRX preference to relay node via PC5 RRC message. But in this case, the relay node forwards remote UE’s sidelink DRX preference to NW via SidelinkUEinformationNR (SUI) or UEAssistencelnformation (UAI). The network entity decides remote UE specific sidelink DRX configuration, and sends it to relay node via RRC reconfiguration message. The relay node the forwards the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (e.g., via a PC5 RRC message), and the remote UE applies the sidelink DRX as noted above.
[0097] FIG. 16 illustrates an example of remote UE specific SL DRX configuration coordination in a scenario involving an L2 relay. In this scenario, it may always be up to the network to decide the remote UE DRX pattern.
[0098] As illustrated, in this case, the remote UE reports its sidelink DRX preference directly to the network entity (e.g., via UAI or SUI). As noted above, the DRX preference may include preferred settings for DRX cycle, on-duration timer/offset, inactivity timer.
Thus, from the above paragraphs it is unclear how the preference is “for future use”. Neither in these paragraphs does the specification makes a reference for future, or upcoming, or subsequent communications. Even more so, the independent claims themselves recite an order of steps that imply that the node enters the DRX configuration once it receives a sidelink DRX configuration from the relay node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 15, 17, 27, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0366645; hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 1 Song discloses a method for wireless communication by a remote user equipment (UE) (fig. 12; method for discovering User Equipment (UE) over side link in device to device (D2D) communication), comprising:
connecting, via a sidelink, to a relay node connected to a network entity (figure 12, step 1214; paragraphs 0103-0112; D2D connection setup process 1214 is performed on the basis of a procedure of transmitting and receiving a control signal between D2D devices);
sending an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference for future use (fig. 12, step 1216; paragraphs 0103-0112; a negotiation and configuration process for the D2D DRX mode is performed. For this purpose, a DUE1 1210 transmits (1216) a DRX configuration request to a DUE2 1212 to transmit a DRX parameter, DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212);
receiving, after sending the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 12, step 1218; paragraphs 0103-0112; the DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212 may be modified by the DUE2 1212 and then may be again transmitted to the DUE1 1210. Alternatively, when the DUE2 1212 receives the DRX parameter from the DUE1 1210, the DUE2 1212 may also transmit a newly generated DRX parameter to the DUE 1 1210);
entering a reduced power state during off-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 12, steps 1220, 1222; paragraphs 0111, 0121-0125; the D2D operated DUE1 will enter a sleep mode during off-durations); and
monitoring for discovery messages from one or more other relays for relay selection, during on-durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (paragraphs 0109, 0139-0140; for the D2D communication, a D2D connection setup process 1214 is performed on the basis of a procedure of transmitting and receiving a control signal between D2D devices 1210 and 1212 and the eNB 320 and discovering an opponent device).
Regarding claim 3 Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the remote UE sends the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference to the relay node (fig. 12, step 1216); and the relay node signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (fig. 12, step 1218).
Regarding claim 4 Song discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the relay node also decides the sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 12, step 1218; paragraphs 0103-0112; the DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212 may be modified by the DUE2 1212 and then may be again transmitted to the DUE1 1210. Alternatively, when the DUE2 1212 receives the DRX parameter from the DUE1 1210, the DUE2 1212 may also transmit a newly generated DRX parameter to the DUE 1 1210).
Regarding claim 6 Song discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the remote UE applies the sidelink DRX pattern to all of its sidelinks (fig. 12, step 1218; paragraphs 0103-0112; the DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212 may be modified by the DUE2 1212 and then may be again transmitted to the DUE1 1210. Alternatively, when the DUE2 1212 receives the DRX parameter from the DUE1 1210, the DUE2 1212 may also transmit a newly generated DRX parameter to the DUE 1 1210).
Regarding claim 8 Song discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the remote UE sends the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference to the network entity (fig. 13, step 310); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE (fig. 13, step 1312).
Regarding claim 15 Song discloses a method for wireless communication by a relay node fig. 12; method for discovering User Equipment (UE) over side link in device to device (D2D) communication, comprising:
connecting, via a sidelink, to a remote user equipment (UE) while the relay node is also connected to a network entity (figure 12, step 1214; paragraphs 0103-0112; D2D connection setup process 1214 is performed on the basis of a procedure of transmitting and receiving a control signal between D2D devices);
receiving, from the remote UE, an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference (fig. 12, step 1216; paragraphs 0103-0112; a negotiation and configuration process for the D2D DRX mode is performed. For this purpose, a DUE1 1210 transmits (1216) a DRX configuration request to a DUE2 1212 to transmit a DRX parameter, DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212); and
sending to the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 12, step 1218; paragraphs 0103-0112; the DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212 may be modified by the DUE2 1212 and then may be again transmitted to the DUE1 1210. Alternatively, when the DUE2 1212 receives the DRX parameter from the DUE1 1210, the DUE2 1212 may also transmit a newly generated DRX parameter to the DUE 1 1210).
Regarding claim 17 Song discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the relay node also decides the sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 12, step 1218; paragraphs 0103-0112; the DRX parameter transmitted from the DUE1 1210 to the DUE2 1212 may be modified by the DUE2 1212 and then may be again transmitted to the DUE1 1210. Alternatively, when the DUE2 1212 receives the DRX parameter from the DUE1 1210, the DUE2 1212 may also transmit a newly generated DRX parameter to the DUE 1 1210).
Regarding claim 27 Song discloses a method for wireless communication by a network entity (figs. 12, 13), comprising:
connecting to a relay node that is connected to a remote user equipment (UE) (figures 12, 13, step 1214; paragraphs 0103-0112; D2D connection setup process 1214 is performed on the basis of a procedure of transmitting and receiving a control signal between D2D devices);
receiving an indication of a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration preference (fig. 13, step 1310; a negotiation and configuration process for the D2D DRX mode is performed with base station 320); and
sending the remote UE, after receiving the indication, a sidelink DRX configuration defining at least one sidelink DRX pattern (fig. 13, step 1312; DRX parameter sent be base station to DUE1).
Regarding claim 31 Song discloses the method of claim 27, wherein: the network entity receives the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration directly from the remote UE (fig. 13, step 1310); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and signals the sidelink DRX configuration directly to the remote UE (fig. 13, step 1312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9-13, 19, 21-25, 29, and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Shrivastava (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0297842).
Regarding claim 2 Song discloses the method of claim 1. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraphs 0026, 0070; providing same DRX config as its own or a sub-set of it based on service needs, QoS/latency bounds). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 7 Song discloses the method of claim 3. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and sends it to the relay node to be forwarded to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 9 Song discloses the method of claim 1. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 10 Song discloses the method of claim 9. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 11 Song discloses the method of claim 10. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 12 Song discloses the method of claim 11. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 13 Song discloses the method of claim 11. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node or network entity decides to switch the remote UE between the first and second DRX patterns based on sidelink measurements reported by the remote UE (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern by the relay node). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 19 Song discloses the method of claim 15. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity decides the sidelink DRX pattern and sends it to the relay node to be forwarded to the remote UE (paragraphs 0071, 0083; the DRX configuration indication from network can be explicitly provided or indicated through an index to the preconfigured list of configurations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 21 Song discloses the method of claim 15. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 22 Song discloses the method of claim 21. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 23 Song discloses the method of claim 22. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 24 Song discloses the method of claim 23. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 25 Song discloses the method of claim 23. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node or network entity decides to switch the remote UE between the first and second DRX patterns based on sidelink measurements reported by the remote UE (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern by the relay node). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 29 Song discloses the method of claim 27. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the network entity receives the indication of the sidelink DRX configuration preference from the relay node (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE); and the network entity signals the sidelink DRX configuration to the remote UE via the relay node (paragraphs 0071, 0083; DRX configuration can be obtained by Relay UE from the network, after it informs network on the DRX requirements for the remote UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 32 Song discloses the method of claim 27. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the DRX configuration indicates at least first and second sidelink DRX patterns (paragraphs 0063, 0075; multiple receiving patterns provided to remote UE); and the remote UE switches between the first and second sidelink DRX patterns based on one or more criteria (paragraphs 0100, 0103; dynamically adapting/changing the pattern). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 33 Song discloses the method of claim 32. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the one or more criteria relate to sidelink channel quality (paragraph 0098; quality of service and latency requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 34 Song discloses the method of claim 33. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE switches to a pattern with longer on durations when sidelink channel quality falls below a threshold (paragraphs 0101-0103; switching to DRX pattern with different transmit/receive gaps according to meeting thresholds as seen in paragraph 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 35 Song discloses the method of claim 34. Song fails to explicitly disclose but Shrivastava, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the remote UE decides autonomously to switch between the first and second DRX patterns (paragraph 0100; Remote UE 1102 applies both Unicast and side-link DRX configuration to determine active period in conn mode. Based on state and service scheduling, DRX config/pattern can be dynamically updated). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Shrivastava, in order to optimize energy efficiency (Shrivastava: paragraph 0012).
Claim(s) 5, 14, 18, 20, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Pan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0227620; hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 5 Song discloses the method of claim 3, wherein: the remote UE does not monitor receive resource pools which fall into off durations of the sidelink DRX pattern (figs. 14-15; not monitoring during off-durations or sleep mode on). Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses the sidelink DRX configuration is signaled to the remote UE via a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs 0301, 0389; PC5 RRC message including the sidelink DRX configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to achieve enhanced reliability (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 14 Song discloses the method of claim 1. Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses further comprising: receiving a sidelink broadcast channel from the relay node (paragraphs 0282, 0301; SBCCH – sidelink broadcast control channel); and synchronizing timing of the DRX pattern based on the sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0379; operating sidelink DRX mechanism, the timing to wake up for monitoring sidelink control channel could be synced with a synchronization reference UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 18 Song discloses the method of claim 15. Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein: the sidelink DRX configuration is signaled to the remote UE via a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraphs 0301, 0389; PC5 RRC message including the sidelink DRX configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 20 Song discloses the method of claim 19. Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity via at least one of sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE Assistance Information (UAI) (paragraphs 0190-0191, 0253; The UEAssistanceInformation message is used for the indication of UE assistance information to the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 26 Song discloses the method of claim 15. Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses further comprising: sending a sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0301; SBCCH – sidelink broadcast control channel), wherein the remote UE synchronizes timing of the DRX pattern based on the sidelink broadcast channel (paragraphs 0282, 0379; operating sidelink DRX mechanism, the timing to wake up for monitoring sidelink control channel could be synced with a synchronization reference UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 30 Song discloses the method of claim 29. Song fails to disclose but Pan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the relay node forwards the sidelink DRX configuration preference of the remote UE to the network entity via at least one of sidelink UE information (SUI) or UE Assistance Information (UAI) (paragraphs 0190-0191, 0253; The UEAssistanceInformation message is used for the indication of UE assistance information to the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Pan, in order to increase system efficiency (Pan: paragraph 0049).
Claim(s) 16 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Miao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0337140; hereinafter Miao).
Regarding claim 16 Song discloses the method of claim 15. Song fails to disclose but Miao, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraph 0049; with a global sidelink DRX and a group sidelink DRX being configured for the UEs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Miao, in order to increase system efficiency (Miao: paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 28 Song discloses the method of claim 27. Song fails to disclose but Miao, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink DRX, discloses wherein the on-duration of the sidelink DRX pattern comprises a subset of an on-duration remote UE group common DRX pattern on duration for initial relay selection (paragraph 0049; with a global sidelink DRX and a group sidelink DRX being configured for the UEs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Song with the teachings of Miao, in order to increase system efficiency (Miao: paragraph 0048).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2023/0156857 to Hong – that discloses receiving, from a base station or another UE, sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information; configuring a sidelink DRX parameter using the sidelink DRX configuration information; receiving, from another UE, a sidelink command MAC control element (CE); and controlling a PSCCH transmission or reception operation not to be performed by stopping the sidelink DRX parameter on the basis of the sidelink command MAC CE.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466