DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing of amendments to the claims filed 4/28/2026. As per the amendments therein, claims 1 and 22 have been amended, and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-15, and 18-22 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 12, 14, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finch et al. (US Pat. 6,338,340) in view of Litz (US Pub. 2015/0114397).
Regarding claim 1, Finch discloses a filtering system for a face mask (see system of Figs. 2-6, which includes filter element 12 with filling 22 as part of filter mask 10) comprising: a housing (see Figs. 2-6 where the body of container 18 is a housing member) comprising: a facial mounting surface (see Figs. 2-6 where mask 10 is understood to have an interior surface aligned with and coming into contact with the user’s face to form a seal; see Col. 4 lines 28-33 where the interior is understood to conform around the nose and mouth of the wearer), at least one passage (see Figs. 2-6 the internal space of mask 10, retainer 14A, and collar 44 forming a passage for the flow of air); at least one strap configured to tighten the facial mounting surface to a user's face (see Figs. 2-6 where retainer 14A is a strap to tighten around the user’s face and hold mask 10 in place, via patches 76/78), said strap connected at a first end to a first portion of the housing and at a second end to a second portion of the housing (see Figs. 2-6 where a bottom end of retainer 14A has loop fabric portion 48’’, which couples to hook portion 48’ of filter element 12A, thus holding the bottom of the retainer onto the bottom of the mask; and a top end of the retainer 14A has the same arrangement of loop portions 48’’ connecting to hook portions 48’ to hold the top of the retainer to the top of the mask); and a covering comprising a face mask which does not cover a wearer’s eyes, said face mask made of cloth, fibrous materials, or foamed materials adapted to fit over at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one passage (see Figs. 2-6 collar 44 which attaches via loop material 114 to at least a portion of the retainer 14A, thus covering at least a portion of both retainer 14A and mask 10; see also Col. 6 lines 39-43 where the collar has inner layer 102 made of a soft cloth material).
Finch teaches a separate embodiment of the filter mask, where the filter mask body has an externally mounted canister placed on the bottom of the mask body (see Fig. 11 where cannister 142 is a filter member to filter incoming air; see also Col. 7 lines 35-57).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter mask of the Figs. 2-6 embodiment of Finch to also use an externally mounted filter cannister for filtering incoming air as taught by the Fig. 11 embodiment of Finch, as it would be a simple substitution of one means for filtering incoming air in a face mask for another system of filtering incoming air, to yield the predictable result of filtering the incoming air. Additionally, an externally mounted filter cannister has the benefit of being more easily accessible and replaceable, and targeted to capture carbon monoxide (see Col. 7 lines 35-57). It is understood that the externally mounted filter cannister defined an interior passage through which air flows, which together with the interior flow space of the mask body can be considered the claimed “passage” and is covered by the collar of Figs. 2-6 that extends over the bottom of the mask body.
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of a disinfecting system for a face mask, comprising at least one ultraviolet irradiation component capable of emitting ultraviolet irradiation; a power source electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component; a switch electrically connected to the power source and electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component; and where the covering fitting at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component.
However, Litz teaches a mask system, having a disinfecting system for a face mask (see system of Figs. 1-3), comprising at least one ultraviolet irradiation component capable of emitting ultraviolet irradiation (see Figs. 2-3 where UV illumination tube 50 has cylindrical plastic insert 54 within it, and circuit board 60 with UV-emitting LEDs 62 on it; see [0031]); a power source electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component (see [0034]); a switch electrically connected to the power source and electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component (see Fig. 3 on/off switch 52; see [0031] and [0036]); and where the covering fitting at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external filter cannister of the modified Finch device to be a UV illumination and disinfecting tube as taught by Litz, as it would be a simple substitution of external filter cylinder system for another external filter cylinder system, to yield the predictable result of filtering the incoming air. Additionally, the use of a UV light filter system allows the system to more specifically target and destroy incoming microbes, enhancing the use of the mask system in situations where it is desirable to prevent incoming microbes from being inhaled. It is understood that in the modified Finch device, the external cannister of the Figs. 11 embodiment of Finch is attached to and extending from the body of the mask body of the Figs. 2-6 embodiment of Finch, and the external cannister is modified to be a UV light tube as taught by Litz. Hence, the collar of Figs. 2-6 of Finch is understood to be placed over and cover the modified UV cannister, as the collar covers the entire bottom of the mask body from which the cannister extends.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Finch device has wherein the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component comprises at least one light emitting diode selected from the group consisting of at least one UVC light emitting diode (Litz; see [0034] where the UV LEDs operate at about 240-280 nm wavelength, with a peak of 250 nm, and where it understood that UVC operates at 100-280 nm).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Finch device has wherein the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component comprises a circuit board (Litz; see Fig. 3 circuit board 60).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Finch device has wherein the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component comprises an ultraviolet irradiation component cover (Litz; see Fig. 3 cylindrical aluminum outer shell 51).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Finch device has wherein the power source is a battery (Litz; see [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Finch device has further comprising a primary cover connected to the housing (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where the outer surface of collar 44 has facing layer 98, which is a primary covering, and connects to the housing of mask body 10 by hook and loop connection to retainer 14A which has hook and loop connection to the mask body 10), said primary cover adapted to fit over at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one passage and the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where facing layer 98 is across the whole of collar 44, such that is covers the mask body 10 and modified external UV canister at the bottom of mask body 10).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Finch device has wherein the primary cover and the housing are a single integral component (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where facing layer 98 connects to the housing of mask body 10 by hook and loop connection to retainer 14A which has hook and loop connection to the mask body 10, forming an “integral connection”. It is noted that this is similar to the applicant’s specification, where being “integrally connected” includes adhesives or fasteners as seen in [0013]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Finch device has wherein the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component is oriented within the housing such that, when the housing is attached to the user's face, the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component emits ultraviolet irradiation in a direction opposite the user's face (Litz; see [0034] where the UV LEDs 62 mounted on circuit board 60 of Fig. 3 can be seated on the circuit boards at an angle so that the UV light is directed towards the filter 42, which is away from the user’s face).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Finch device has wherein the covering is integrally connected to the housing by an adhesive and/or by a fastener (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where collar 44 connects to the housing of mask body 10 by hook and loop connection to retainer 14A which has hook and loop connection to the mask body 10, forming an “integral connection”. It is noted that this is similar to the applicant’s specification, where being “integrally connected” includes adhesives or fasteners as seen in [0013]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Finch device has further comprising a filter material configured to fit over or within the passage (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where filter element 12 has a filling of filter components 22 which are polystyrene beads, and which fits over the mask 10 and the passage therein).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Finch device has wherein the filter material is contained within a removable cartridge (Litz; see Fig. 2 and [0018] where the filter assembly 40 is external and attachable to the mask), and the removable cartridge is adapted to attach to a surface of the housing (Litz; see Fig. 2 and [0018] and [0031] where the filter assembly 40 is external and attachable to the mask of Finch via the UV illumination tube 50 in the modified device).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Finch device has wherein the filter material is constructed of a material selected from the group consisting of fibrous filter materials, foamed filter materials, cloth filter materials, and combinations thereof (Finch; see Col. 3 line 64 to Col. 4 line 5 where a polystyrene bead is the filter material, which is a foamed filter material (being the individual components of expanded polystyrene resin (e.g. Styrofoam))).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Finch device has wherein the ultraviolet irradiation component is oriented within the housing such that at least a portion of the ultraviolet (UV) irradiation emitted from the ultraviolet irradiation component is directed towards the filter material (Litz; see [0034] where the UV LEDs 62 mounted on circuit board 60 of Fig. 3 can be seated on the circuit boards at an angle so that the UV light is directed towards the filter 42).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finch in view of Litz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guth (US Pub. 2008/0083411).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Finch device has the switch and the power source.
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of wherein the switch is integrally connected to the power source.
However, Guth teaches a similar sterilizing face mask system, wherein a switch is integrally connected to a power source (see Figs. 2-3 and [0060] where battery holder 70 has electric switch 75 placed on it).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the on/off switch of the modified Finch device to be on the battery as taught by Guth, as it would be a simple substitution of one location for a power switch for a battery controlling a UV light for another location of the power switch, to yield the predictable result of providing an accessible power switch that allows a user to control the flow of power from a battery to a UV light. Further, a switch located on a battery has the added benefit of not requiring additional wiring to connect the switch to the power source, thus simplifying construction of the device.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Finch device has the covering being held in place by a fastening mechanism (Finch; see Figs. 2-6 where collar 44 uses hook and loop systems 114 to connect to the retainer 14A).
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of wherein the covering comprises at least one secondary strap.
However, Guth teaches a similar protective respiratory device, where a strap is used to hold a respirator facepiece in place (see Figs. 2-3 and [0060] where elastic head band 50 is used to hold the facepiece in place and maintain a seal).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of the modified Finch device to additionally be held in place by an elastic strap as taught by Guth, as it would provide an additional structure for holding the entire mask system onto the face of the user, helping to ensure a proper seal and prevent unwanted motion.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finch in view of Litz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tufo (US Pub. 2006/0057020).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Finch device has wherein the filter system has an anti-microbial material (Litz; see [0028]).
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of wherein the housing further comprises an anti-microbial coating. It is noted that Finch does disclose where the body of the mask can have an aloe vera coating for capturing smoke and toxic gases (Finch; see Col. 8 lines 19-29).
However, Tufo teaches a similar device for cleaning and filtering air, where the walls of a filter housing can be coated with anti-microbial substances (see [0098]-[0099]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to line the walls of the flow path of the modified Finch device to be anti-microbial as taught by Tufo, as it would provide a further means for purifying the incoming air going to the patient, ensuring more consistently clean air.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Finch device has wherein the filter system has an anti-microbial material (Litz; see [0028]).
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of wherein the housing is manufactured of a material having anti-microbial properties. It is noted that Finch does disclose where the body of the mask can have an aloe vera coating for capturing smoke and toxic gases (Finch; see Col. 8 lines 19-29).
However, Tufo teaches a similar device for cleaning and filtering air, where the walls of a filter housing can be coated with anti-microbial substances (see [0098]-[0099]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to line the walls of the flow path of the modified Finch device to be anti-microbial as taught by Tufo, as it would provide a further means for purifying the incoming air going to the patient, ensuring more consistently clean air.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finch in view of Litz in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 2007/0006557).
Regarding claim 22, Finch discloses a sub-mask assembly (see system of Figs. 2-6, which includes filter element 12 with filling 22 as part of filter mask 10) comprising: a housing (see Figs. 2-6 where the body of container 18 is a housing member) comprising: a facial mounting surface (see Figs. 2-6 where mask 10 is understood to have an interior surface aligned with and coming into contact with the user’s face to form a seal; see Col. 4 lines 28-33 where the interior is understood to conform around the nose and mouth of the wearer), at least one passage (see Figs. 2-6 the internal space of mask 10, retainer 14A, and collar 44 forming a passage for the flow of air); at least one strap configured to tighten the facial mounting surface to a user's face (see Figs. 2-6 where retainer 14A is a strap to tighten around the user’s face and hold mask 10 in place, via patches 76/78), said strap connected at a first end to a first portion of the housing and at a second end to a second portion of the housing (see Figs. 2-6 where a bottom end of retainer 14A has loop fabric portion 48’’, which couples to hook portion 48’ of filter element 12A, thus holding the bottom of the retainer onto the bottom of the mask; and a top end of the retainer 14A has the same arrangement of loop portions 48’’ connecting to hook portions 48’ to hold the top of the retainer to the top of the mask); and a covering comprising a face mask which does not cover a wearer’s eyes, said face mask made of cloth, fibrous materials, or foamed materials adapted to fit over at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one passage (see Figs. 2-6 collar 44 which attaches via loop material 114 to at least a portion of the retainer 14A, thus covering at least a portion of both retainer 14A and mask 10; see also Col. 6 lines 39-43 where the collar has inner layer 102 made of a soft cloth material).
Finch teaches a separate embodiment of the filter mask, where the filter mask body has an externally mounted canister placed on the bottom of the mask body (see Fig. 11 where cannister 142 is a filter member to filter incoming air; see also Col. 7 lines 35-57).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter mask of the Figs. 2-6 embodiment of Finch to also use an externally mounted filter cannister for filtering incoming air as taught by the Fig. 11 embodiment of Finch, as it would be a simple substitution of one means for filtering incoming air in a face mask for another system of filtering incoming air, to yield the predictable result of filtering the incoming air. Additionally, an externally mounted filter cannister has the benefit of being more easily accessible and replaceable, and targeted to capture carbon monoxide (see Col. 7 lines 35-57). It is understood that the externally mounted filter cannister defined an interior passage through which air flows, which together with the interior flow space of the mask body can be considered the claimed “passage” and is covered by the collar of Figs. 2-6 that extends over the bottom of the mask body.
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of a disinfecting system for a face mask, comprising at least one ultraviolet irradiation component capable of emitting ultraviolet irradiation; a switch electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component; and where the covering fitting at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component.
However, Litz teaches a mask system, having a disinfecting system for a face mask (see system of Figs. 1-3), comprising at least one ultraviolet irradiation component capable of emitting ultraviolet irradiation (see Figs. 2-3 where UV illumination tube 50 has cylindrical plastic insert 54 within it, and circuit board 60 with UV-emitting LEDs 62 on it; see [0031]); a switch electrically connected to the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component (see Fig. 3 on/off switch 52; see [0031] and [0036]); and where the covering fitting at least a portion of the housing which comprises the at least one ultraviolet irradiation component.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external filter cannister of the modified Finch device to be a UV illumination and disinfecting tube as taught by Litz, as it would be a simple substitution of external filter cylinder system for another external filter cylinder system, to yield the predictable result of filtering the incoming air. Additionally, the use of a UV light filter system allows the system to more specifically target and destroy incoming microbes, enhancing the use of the mask system in situations where it is desirable to prevent incoming microbes from being inhaled. It is understood that in the modified Finch device, the external cannister of the Figs. 11 embodiment of Finch is attached to and extending from the body of the mask body of the Figs. 2-6 embodiment of Finch, and the external cannister is modified to be a UV light tube as taught by Litz. Hence, the collar of Figs. 2-6 of Finch is understood to be placed over and cover the modified UV cannister, as the collar covers the entire bottom of the mask body from which the cannister extends.
The modified Finch device lacks a detailed description of the system coming as a kit.
However, Wang teaches a similar filtering respiratory mask system, which is able to be provided as a kit for easier exchange and replacement of parts (see [0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Finch device to be provided as a kit as taught by Wang, as it would allow for different sized and shaped components to be included for different patients, as well as include replacement parts (Wang; see [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record. Specifically, the newly applied primary reference of Finch.
For the reasons above, the rejections hold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D ZIEGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785