DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the in vivo treatment method and apparatus of claims 21 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. While the Specification contains adequate description of an ex vivo blood treatment system and method, there is no description in the Specification for such a method to be carried out in vitro, or within the human body. No blood connections, implantable filters, or pumps are disclosed or described. Since the Specification lacks any such description, the Examiner has determined that the Inventor did not, at the time of filing, have possession of an in vitro blood treatment method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 23-27, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 8,480,607 to Davies et al.
In the specification and figures, Davies discloses the method as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 23-26, Davies discloses a method of treating a patient comprising selectively removing albumin from the blood of an individual, selectively removing endotoxin from the blood of an individual, wherein the albumin removal may be via dialysis using a 50 kDa pore membrane (see column 1, lines 52-55, column 6, lines 60-67). The step of selecting a patient based on their current condition (see also claims 23-26) is a mental step performed by a practitioner. As such, the selection step is not eligible for patent protection and does not patentably distinguish the claim from the cited prior art.
With regard to claim 2, Davies discloses that the albumin may be removed by membrane dialysis, while the endotoxins may be removed via affinity binding (see column 6, lines 60-67, column 9, lines 8-25).
With regard to claim 4, Davies discloses that the method includes the removal of albumin-bound toxins (see column 4, lines 50-53).
With regard to claim 5, Davies discloses the use of a solid support capable of selectively binding albumin (see column 6, lines 41-55).
With regard to claim 6, Davies discloses the use of a solid support capable of selectively binding endotoxins (see column 9, lines 50-63).
With regard to claims 7-9, Davies claims an apparatus and an ex vivo method that selectively removes albumin, endotoxins, and means for supplying allogenic pharmaceutical grade albumin, where other components are returned to the patient (see claims 1, 4, 12, 17, column 12, lines 48-65).
With regard to claim 27, Davies claims a method of method of treating a patient comprising selectively removing albumin from the blood of an individual, selectively removing endotoxin from the blood of an individual, wherein the albumin removal may be via dialysis using a 50 kDa pore membrane, introducing allogenic albumin from a donor, wherein removal and introduction of albumin are carried out via dialysis (see claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,480,607 to Davies et al in view of US 2020/0069860 to Rammo et al.
In the specification and figures, Davies discloses the method substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claim3, Davies does not disclose a step of cytokine removal. However, Rammo discloses a multi-component blood filtration system that comprises at least an adsorber, and a dialysis device, wherein the adsorber may be used for cytokine removal (see all FIGS, ¶0034, 0087, 0160). Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d at 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at1396. Accordingly, since the applicant[s] have submitted no persuasive evidence that the combination of the above elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) because it is no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions resulting in the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Conclusion
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 27 May 2025