DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 02/03/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are not applied to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, 14-15, 17-18, 24, 33, 35 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685).
Regarding claim 1, Ohwatari discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless node in a wireless communication network [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a method of a wireless communication performed by a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)], the method comprising:
communicating, using a first antenna panel, a first reference signal (RS) based at least in part on a first RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration; see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below], and
communicating, simultaneously [see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below for the reference signals which are transmitted (or received) via four antennas and on the same symbol location (symbol #10)] with the first RS and using a second antenna panel that is different than the first antenna panel, a second RS based at least in part on a second RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration; see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below], wherein the second RS configuration orthogonalizes the second RS relative to the first RS [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0053, reference signals are orthogonalized to each other between antennas of each radio base station apparatus eNB; note that the reference signal configuration is used for transmitting (or receiving) the reference signals orthogonalized to each other].
<FIG. 4A of Ohwatari (as annotated)>
Although Ohwatari discloses, “communicating, using a first antenna panel, a first reference signal (RS) based at least in part on a first RS configuration, and communicating, simultaneously with the first RS and using a second antenna panel that is different than the first antenna panel, a second RS based at least in part on a second RS configuration” as set forth above, Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the first RS comprises a downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a downlink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), or a downlink tracking reference signal, and the second RS comprises an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) or an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS).
However, Xia discloses, wherein wherein the first RS comprises a downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) [FIG. 8; its related descriptions, ¶0068, RE 8014 is assigned with both SRS and a DL DMRS], the second RS comprises an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) [FIG. 8; its related descriptions, ¶0068, RE 8014 is assigned with both SRS and a DL DMRS].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xia to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xia into the system of Ohwatari would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling to improve spectral efficiency by implementation of full duplex mode communication and to perform demodulation and channel state measurement in both DL and UL directions, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 7, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1].
Regarding claim 8, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above.
Ohwatari discloses, transmitting the first RS configuration and the second RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0090-0091, each radio base station apparatus eNB#1 selects a reference signal configuration and reports a control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information; note that the resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration corresponds to the first RS configuration and the resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration corresponds to the second RS configuration].
Regarding claim 9, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a first user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration], and communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating), the second RS . . . [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration], Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a first user equipment (UE) [see FIG. 4A and ¶0043-0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the DL (RS) signal is transmitted to UE1], and communicating the second RS comprises receiving, in an uplink (UL), the second RS from a second UE [see FIG. 4A and ¶0043-0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the UL (RS) signal is received from UE2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration], and communicating simultaneously the second RS [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration], Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a user equipment (UE) [see FIG. 4B and ¶0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the DL (RS) signal is transmitted to UE1], and receiving, in an uplink (UL), the second RS from the UE [see FIG. 4B and ¶0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the UL (RS) signal is received from the UE1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 8 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the first RS comprises a downlink (DL) RS corresponding to a resource set [FIG. 4A; its related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives) a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration] and wherein the second RS comprises an . . . RS corresponding to the resource set [FIG. 4A; its related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration], Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS comprises corresponds to a resource set and wherein the second RS corresponds to the resource set [FIG. 8 and its related descriptions; note that the DL DMRS corresponds to the RE 8014, and the UL SRS corresponds to the RE 8014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment].
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11.
Regarding claim 24, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein, based at least on the first RS comprising an RS type that is different than an RS type of the second RS, the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first set of resource elements (REs) and the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second set of REs [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028-0030, note that DMRs/first RS has a different RS type than CSI-RS has, and the DMRS is associated with a first set of REs and the CSI-RS is associated with a second set of REs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, Ohwatari discloses, a wireless node for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)], comprising:
a memory [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory]; and
one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one processor coupled to the memory].
Since claim 33 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 33 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, Ohwatari discloses, an apparatus for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)].
Since claim 35 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 35 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 38, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the first RS configuration and the second RS configuration are received from a network entity [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; FIG. 4A shows a reference signal configuration (reference signal pattern) per resource block, ¶0090-0091, each radio base station apparatus eNB# 1 to #3 reports a control information signal including reference signal configuration, resource allocation information or the like to the mobile terminal apparatus UE through signaling (step S02); note that the reference signal configuration of FIG. 4A indicates the configurations of the first RS and the second RS].
Regarding claim 39, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS and the second RS are communicated with a full duplex transmission mode [FIG. 8; its related descriptions; ¶0068, note that FIG. 8 illustrates an example of performing CDM processing in full-duplex communication when the DL DMRS is transmitted via RE 8014 in a full duplex transmission mode, and the UL SRS is transmitted via the RE 8014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Zhang’265 et al (US Publication No. 2019/0090265).
Regarding claim 2, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1], the method further comprising transmitting scheduling allocations [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0090, eNB#1 transmits control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information], Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein communicating the second RS comprises receiving the second RS [see FIG. 3 and ¶0034-0035 along with FIG. 8 and 0071, the uplink signals (SRS) are transmitted (or received) from the user equipment (or by base station)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Further, Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’265 discloses, transmitting scheduling allocations that schedule simultaneous full duplex communications based at least in part on at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a combination thereof [¶0071, the grant instruction may further include other information. For example, the grant instruction may be used to indicate whether the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE, and in this case, the included information may be an identifier code. For example, an identifier code “0” indicates that the PDSCH is currently idle and may be used for full-duplex transmission, and an identifier code “1” indicates that the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE; further see ¶0072-0074; note that the full-duplex communication implies simultaneous communications for both directions].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhang’265 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhang’265 into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure for improving spectral efficiency and latency by enabling simultaneous transmission of data using existing downlink resources, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 3, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment], the method further comprising receiving scheduling allocations [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0090, the UE receives transmits control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information], Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the communicating the second RS comprises transmitting the second RS [see FIG. 3 and ¶0034-0035 along with FIG. 8 and 0071, the uplink signals (SRS) are transmitted by the user equipment].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Further, Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’265 discloses, receiving scheduling allocations that schedule simultaneous full duplex communications based at least in part on at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a combination thereof [¶0071, the grant instruction may further include other information. For example, the grant instruction may be used to indicate whether the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE, and in this case, the included information may be an identifier code. For example, an identifier code “0” indicates that the PDSCH is currently idle and may be used for full-duplex transmission, and an identifier code “1” indicates that the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE; further see ¶0072-0074; note that the full-duplex communication implies simultaneous communications for both directions].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhang’265 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Claims 4-6, 23 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kang et al (US Publication No. 2015/0230102).
Regarding claim 4, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kang discloses, wherein the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group, and wherein the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second CDM group, wherein the first CDM group is orthogonal to the second CDM group [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, In the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code. Similarly, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code; further see, “DMRSs with respect to different antenna ports, which are located in the same time-frequency resource, can be identified using an orthogonal code (i.e. multiplexed according to CDM)”].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kang into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce interferences between reference signals in a wireless communications, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 5, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kang discloses, the method of claim 4 as set forth above.
Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kang discloses, wherein the first RS configuration associates the first CDM group . . . [see FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101 of Kang, in the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1] and wherein the second RS configuration associates the second CDM group . . . [see FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101 of Kang, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2] as set forth above.
Further, although Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS configuration . . . with downlink (DL) communications in a full duplex transmission mode, a simultaneous transmission mode, or a simultaneous reception mode, and wherein the second RS configuration . . . with one other of the UL communications or the DL communications [FIG. 8; its related descriptions; ¶0068, note that FIG. 8 illustrates an example of performing CDM processing in full-duplex communication when the DL DMRS is transmitted via RE 8014 in a full duplex transmission mode, and the UL SRS is transmitted via the RE 8014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kang discloses, the method of claim 4 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kang discloses, wherein the first RS corresponds to a first RS port, wherein the second RS corresponds to a second RS port, and wherein the first RS port is associated with the first CDM group and the second RS port is associated with the second CDM group [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, In the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs (i.e., first RS) with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 (i.e., first RS port) may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1 … DMRSs (i.e., second RS) with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 (i.e., second RS port) may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kang in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia for similar rationales set forth above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 23, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kang discloses, wherein based, at least in part on the first RS comprising an RS type that matches an RS type of the second RS [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, note that a RS type of DMRS is a demodulation RS], the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group and the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second CDM group, wherein the first CDM group and the second CDM group have RS orthogonality relative to one another [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, In the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code. Similarly, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code; further see, “DMRSs with respect to different antenna ports, which are located in the same time-frequency resource, can be identified using an orthogonal code (i.e. multiplexed according to CDM)”].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kang into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce interferences between reference signals in a wireless network.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of LJUNG et al (US Publication No. 2021/0314802).
Regarding claim 16, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 14 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises receiving, in a downlink (DL), the first RS from a first base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, UE receives, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration from eNB#1], and communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating), the second RS . . . [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration], Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations) discloses, but LJUNG discloses, communicating the first RS comprises receiving, in a downlink (DL), the first RS from a first base station [FIGS. 3 and 4; their related descriptions; ¶0074, trigger criteria may be satisfied based on conditions pertaining to downlink reference signals (i.e., first RS in a DL) from the serving base station 12 (i.e., first base station), neighboring base station 13, or both to the electronic device 14 (i.e., UE)], and communicating the second RS comprises transmitting, in an uplink (UL), the second RS to a second base station [FIGS. 3 and 4; their related descriptions; ¶0074, in either situation, initiated uplink reference signals (i.e., second RS in a UL) may be measured by the serving base station 12 and/or the neighboring base station 13 (i.e., second base station) to enable subsequent processing (e.g. handover decisions)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by LJUNG in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia in order to cause the system to be able to ensure avoid unwanted degraded mobility performance due to a condition where an electronic device fails to receive downlink reference signal from other neighboring base stations [e.g., ¶0005-0006 of LJUNG].
Claims 21-22 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Zhang’909 et al (US Publication No. 2023/0019909).
Regarding claim 21, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the method of claim 1 and particularly, “the second RS configuration orthogonalizes the second RS relative to the first RS” as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment], Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’909 discloses, transmitting an RS (configuration) request, wherein at least one of the first RS configuration, the second RS configuration, or a combination thereof, is based at least in part on the RS (configuration) request [¶0153, the network device may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device in a broadcast manner, or may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device based on a request message sent by the terminal device].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhang’909 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhang’909 into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure the base station to provide more accurate and reliable reference signals for channel estimations and demodulation, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 22, since claim 22 is merely different from claim 21 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a base station, but recites similar features to claim 21 without further additional features. Thus, claim 22 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21.
Regarding claim 36, Ohwatari in view of Xia discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’909 discloses, wherein the second RS configuration is based at least in part on a negotiation communication between the apparatus and another node [¶0153, the network device may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device in a broadcast manner, or may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device based on a request message sent by the terminal device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhang’909 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia for similar rationales set forth above in claim 21.
Claims 25, 27, 29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2022/0007307).
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 recites similar features to claim 1 except for following limitation (see, italicized limitations), a method of wireless communication performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop IAB network.
However, Kim discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop IAB network [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 and 0146, IAD node in multi-hop IAB network].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kim to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring flexible and cost-effective deployment in hard-to-reach or high-traffic areas, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 27, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above.
Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kim discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises receiving the first RS from a parent node of the lAB node, and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously receiving the second RS from one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 10(d) and 12; their related descriptions; further see ¶0179, a relay node-based simultaneous reception case in which a relay node receives a DL (second DL) signal from a parent node, and a UL (second UL) signal from a child node; further see ¶0180, a DL signal for channel measurement such as a CSI-RS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kim in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia for similar rationales set forth above in claim 25.
Regarding claim 29, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above.
Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kim discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node, and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 10(d) and 11; their related descriptions; further see ¶0175, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node; further see ¶0180, a DL signal for channel measurement such as a CSI-RS].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kim in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia for similar rationales set forth above in claim 25.
Regarding claim 34, Ohwatari discloses, a node for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a method of a wireless communication performed by a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)], comprising:
a memory [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory]; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one processor coupled to the memory].
Since claim 34 recites similar features to claim 25 except for the above-mentioned features, claim 34 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 25.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2022/0007307) and further in view of Kang et al (US Publication No. 2015/0230102).
Regarding claim 26, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above.
Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kang discloses, wherein the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group, and wherein the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second CDM group, wherein the first CDM group is orthogonal to the second CDM group [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, In the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 may be located in RE corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code. Similarly, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code; further see, “DMRSs with respect to different antenna ports, which are located in the same time-frequency resource, can be identified using an orthogonal code (i.e. multiplexed according to CDM)”].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kang into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce interferences between reference signals in a wireless communications, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 2022/0007307) and further in view of Xu et al (US Publication No. 2021/0143959).
Regarding claim 28, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node [see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node], and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating) the second RS from one or more child nodes of the IAB node [see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node], Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized), but Xu discloses, (by the IAB node), transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node, and “receiving” the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 33; their related descriptions; ¶0129, RN1-1 (i.e., IAB) transmit/receive SSBs/reference signals to/from DN1 (i.e., parent node), and transmits/receives SSBs/reference signals to/from RN2-1 (i.e., child nodes); see both open-ended arrows between nodes in FIG. 33].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu].
Regarding claim 30, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises (communicating) the first RS from a parent node of the IAB node [see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node], and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node], Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized), but Xu discloses, (by the IAB node), “receiving” the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node, and transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 33; their related descriptions; ¶0129, RN1-1 (i.e., IAB) transmit/receive SSBs/reference signals to/from DN1 (i.e., parent node), and transmits/receives SSBs/reference signals to/from RN2-1 (i.e., child nodes); see both open-ended arrows between nodes in FIG. 33].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu].
Regarding claim 31, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, wherein the IAB node comprises a mobile termination (MT) function [see FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 of Kim, note that since the IAB node communicates between P-IAB node (backhaul link) and UE (access link/mobile link), the IAB node is required to have mobile termination (MT) for communication between the P-IAB node and the UE], Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, in concurrent communication with a first parent node of the IAB node and a second parent node of the IAB node, the method further comprising: receiving at least one of the first RS configuration, the second RS configuration, or a combination thereof from the first parent node of the IAB, wherein the communication with the second parent node of the IAB is based at least in part on a negotiation communication between the first parent node of the IAB and the second parent node of the IAB [FIG. 28; its related descriptions; ¶0114, the donor node configures CSI-RS RX resources for hop1 IAB nodes, and then configures the remaining BH CSI-RS time resources for the hop1 IAB nodes. First, the donor node configures hop1 IAB nodes with a connection relationship and a neighbor relationship to ensure that the CSI-RSs for the hop1 IAB nodes are orthogonal in time. The configuration may include BH CSI-RS transmission and BH CSI-RS reception (monitoring the IAB nodes of the same hop). Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission time resources for an independent hop1 IAB node (the CSI-RS resources of any hop1 IAB node may be multiplexed). Then, based on the hop1 IAB node to which a hop2 IAB node is connected, the donor node configures CSI-RS reception time resources for the hop2 IAB node. Then, it configures CSI-RS transmission resources for the hop2 IAB nodes connected to each other, to ensure that the time resources are orthogonal, and also configures CSI-RS reception resources. Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission resources for an independent hop2 IAB node].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu].
Regarding claim 32, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above.
Although Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim discloses, wherein the IAB node comprises a mobile termination (MT) function [see FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 of Kim, note that since the IAB node communicates between P-IAB node (backhaul link) and UE (access link/mobile link), the IAB node is required to have mobile termination (MT) for communication between the P-IAB node and the UE], Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, in concurrent communication with a first parent node of the IAB node and a second parent node of the IAB node, the method further comprising: receiving the first RS configuration from the first parent node of the IAB; and transmitting an indication of the first RS configuration to the second parent node of the IAB, wherein the indication is to facilitate selection of the second RS configuration by the second parent node of the IAB [see FIG. 28; its related descriptions; ¶0114 of Kim, the donor node configures CSI-RS RX resources for hop1 IAB nodes, and then configures the remaining BH CSI-RS time resources for the hop1 IAB nodes. First, the donor node configures hop1 IAB nodes with a connection relationship and a neighbor relationship to ensure that the CSI-RSs for the hop1 IAB nodes are orthogonal in time. The configuration may include BH CSI-RS transmission and BH CSI-RS reception (monitoring the IAB nodes of the same hop). Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission time resources for an independent hop1 IAB node (the CSI-RS resources of any hop1 IAB node may be multiplexed). Then, based on the hop1 IAB node to which a hop2 IAB node is connected, the donor node configures CSI-RS reception time resources for the hop2 IAB node. Then, it configures CSI-RS transmission resources for the hop2 IAB nodes connected to each other, to ensure that the time resources are orthogonal, and also configures CSI-RS reception resources. Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission resources for an independent hop2 IAB node].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang’044 et al (US Publication No. 2021/0022044) [¶0103].
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469