CTFR 17/907,642 CTFR 94960 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been considered for examination. In the amendments, claims 40-45 are newly added. With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 05/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are not applied to any of the references being used in the current rejection. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s ) is/are: “means for transmitting an RS orthogonality request …”, as recited in claim 43 and “means for receiving an RS orthogonality request …”, as recited in claim 44 . Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Regarding the limitations, it appears that the following are corresponding structures described in the specification: see, combinations of “modulator/demodulator 232a through 232t” and antennas 234a through 234t” in FIG. 2 and ¶0038 and/or combinations of “modulator/demodulator 254a through 254t” and antennas 252a through 252t” in FIG. 2 If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 7-11, 14-15, 17-18, 33, 35, 38-42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) . Regarding claim 1, Ohwatari discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless node in a wireless communication network [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a method of a wireless communication performed by a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)] , the method comprising: communicating, using a first antenna panel, a first reference signal (RS) based at least in part on a first RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration; see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below ] , and communicating, simultaneously [ see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below for the reference signals which are transmitted (or received) via four antennas and on the same symbol location (symbol #10) ] with the first RS and using a second antenna panel that is different than the first antenna panel, a second RS based at least in part on a second RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration; see FIG. 4A of Ohwatari as annotated below ] , wherein the second RS configuration orthogonalizes the second RS relative to the first RS [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0053, reference signals are orthogonalized to each other between antennas of each radio base station apparatus eNB; note that the reference signal configuration is used for transmitting (or receiving) the reference signals orthogonalized to each other ] . PNG media_image1.png 200 400 media_image1.png Greyscale <FIG. 4A of Ohwatari (as annotated)> Although Ohwatari discloses, “communicating, using a first antenna panel, a first reference signal (RS) based at least in part on a first RS configuration, and communicating, simultaneously with the first RS and using a second antenna panel that is different than the first antenna panel, a second RS based at least in part on a second RS configuration” as set forth above, Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the first RS comprises a downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a downlink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS), or a downlink tracking reference signal , and the second RS comprises an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) or an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) , and wherein based at least on the first RS comprising an RS type that is different than an RS type of the second RS , the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first set of resource elements and the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second set of resource elements. However, Xia discloses, wherein wherein the first RS comprises a downlink demodulation reference signal (DMRS) [FIG. 8; its related descriptions, ¶0068, RE 8014 is assigned with both SRS and a DL DMRS ] , the second RS comprises an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) [FIG. 8; its related descriptions, ¶0068, RE 8014 is assigned with both SRS and a DL DMRS] , and wherein based at least on the first RS comprising an RS type that is different than an RS type of the second RS , the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first set of resource elements and the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second set of resource elements [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028-0030, note that DMRs/first RS has a different RS type than CSI-RS has, and the DMRS is associated with a first set of REs and the CSI-RS is associated with a second set of REs ] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Xia to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Xia into the system of Ohwatari would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g ., enabling to improve spectral efficiency by implementation of full duplex mode communication and to perform demodulation and channel state measurement in both DL and UL directions , such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Further, although Ohwatari discloses, a transmit beam for the second RS from the second antenna panel and a receive beam for the first RS at the first antennal panel [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, a beam for second reference using antennal #2 and a beam for first reference signal using antenna #1] , Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein simultaneous communication of the first RS and the second RS is conditional on a beam separation between a transmit beam for the second RS from the second antenna panel and a receive beam for the first RS at the first antennal pane. However, Kim’095 discloses, wherein simultaneous communication of the first RS and the second RS is conditional on a beam separation between a transmit beam for the second RS and a receive beam for the first RS [¶0246, simultaneously transmitted and received signals in UL/DL bands are transmitted through beam separation] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kim’095 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia in order to cause the system to be able to reduce an interference between UL and DL signals [e.g., ¶0245-0246 of Kim] . Regarding claim 7, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1] . Regarding claim 8, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, transmitting the first RS configuration and the second RS configuration [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0090-0091, each radio base station apparatus eNB#1 selects a reference signal configuration and reports a control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information; note that the resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration corresponds to the first RS configuration and the resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration corresponds to the second RS configuration ] . Regarding claim 9, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a first user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration] , and communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating), the second RS . . . [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration] , Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a first user equipment (UE) [see FIG. 4A and ¶0043-0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the DL (RS) signal is transmitted to UE1 ] , and communicating the second RS comprises receiving, in an uplink (UL) , the second RS from a second UE [see FIG. 4A and ¶0043-0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the UL (RS) signal is received from UE2 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Regarding claim 10, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 7 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration] , and communicating simultaneously the second RS [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration] , Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, communicating the first RS comprises transmitting, in a downlink (DL), the first RS to a user equipment (UE) [see FIG. 4B and ¶0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the DL (RS) signal is transmitted to UE1 ] , and receiving, in an uplink (UL) , the second RS from the UE [see FIG. 4B and ¶0044 along with FIGS. 7-8, note that the UL (RS) signal is received from the UE1 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Regarding claim 11, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 8 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the first RS comprises a downlink (DL) RS corresponding to a resource set [FIG. 4A; its related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives) a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration] and wherein the second RS comprises an . . . RS corresponding to the resource set [FIG. 4A; its related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 (or UE) transmits (or receives), using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration] , Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS comprises corresponds to a resource set and wherein the second RS corresponds to the resource set [FIG. 8 and its related descriptions; note that the DL DMRS corresponds to the RE 8014, and the UL SRS corresponds to the RE 8014 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Regarding claim 14, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment] . Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8. Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 10. Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11. Regarding claim 33, Ohwatari discloses, a wireless node for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)] , comprising: a memory [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory ] ; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one processor coupled to the memory ] . Since claim 33 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 33 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1. Regarding claim 35, Ohwatari discloses, an apparatus for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)] . Since claim 35 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 35 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1. Regarding claim 38, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari discloses, wherein the first RS configuration and the second RS configuration are received from a network entity [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; FIG. 4A shows a reference signal configuration (reference signal pattern) per resource block, ¶0090-0091, each radio base station apparatus eNB# 1 to #3 reports a control information signal including reference signal configuration , resource allocation information or the like to the mobile terminal apparatus UE through signaling (step S02); note that the reference signal configuration of FIG. 4A indicates the configurations of the first RS and the second RS ] . Regarding claim 39, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS and the second RS are communicated with a full duplex transmission mode [FIG. 8; its related descriptions; ¶0068, note that FIG. 8 illustrates an example of performing CDM processing in full-duplex communication when the DL DMRS is transmitted via RE 8014 in a full duplex transmission mode, and the UL SRS is transmitted via the RE 8014 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 10. Regarding claim 41, claim 41 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 9. Regarding claim 42, claim 42 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11. Regarding claim 45, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the first RS configuration and the second RS configuration are associated with a full duplex transmission mode [FIG. 8; its related descriptions; ¶0068, note that FIG. 8 illustrates an example of performing CDM processing in full-duplex communication when the DL DMRS is transmitted via RE 8014 in a full duplex transmission mode, and the UL SRS is transmitted via the RE 8014 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of Zhang’265 et al (US Publication No. 2019/0090265) . Regarding claim 2, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, a radio base station apparatus eNB#1] , the method further comprising transmitting scheduling allocations [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0090, eNB#1 transmits control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information] , Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein communicating the second RS comprises receiving the second RS [see FIG. 3 and ¶0034-0035 along with FIG. 8 and 0071, the uplink signals (SRS) are transmitted (or received) from the user equipment (or by base station)] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Further, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’265 discloses, transmitting scheduling allocations that schedule simultaneous full duplex communications based at least in part on at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a combination thereof [¶0071, the grant instruction may further include other information. For example, the grant instruction may be used to indicate whether the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE, and in this case, the included information may be an identifier code. For example, an identifier code “0” indicates that the PDSCH is currently idle and may be used for full-duplex transmission , and an identifier code “1” indicates that the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE; further see ¶0072-0074; note that the full-duplex communication implies simultaneous communications for both directions ] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhang’265 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhang’265 into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure for improving spectral efficiency and latency by enabling simultaneous transmission of data using existing downlink resources , such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Regarding claim 3, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment] , the method further comprising receiving scheduling allocations [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0090, the UE receives transmits control information signal including reference signal configuration and resource allocation information] , Ohwatari does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xia discloses, wherein the communicating the second RS comprises transmitting the second RS [see FIG. 3 and ¶0034-0035 along with FIG. 8 and 0071, the uplink signals (SRS) are transmitted by the user equipment] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xia in the system of Ohwatari for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1. Further, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’265 discloses, receiving scheduling allocations that schedule simultaneous full duplex communications based at least in part on at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a combination thereof [¶0071, the grant instruction may further include other information. For example, the grant instruction may be used to indicate whether the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE, and in this case, the included information may be an identifier code. For example, an identifier code “0” indicates that the PDSCH is currently idle and may be used for full-duplex transmission , and an identifier code “1” indicates that the PDSCH is scheduled for uplink transmission of another UE; further see ¶0072-0074; note that the full-duplex communication implies simultaneous communications for both directions ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhang’265 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of LJUNG et al (US Publication No. 2021/0314802) . Regarding claim 16, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 14 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, communicating the first RS comprises receiving, in a downlink (DL), the first RS from a first base station [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, UE receives, using an antenna #1, a first reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #3) of reference signal configuration from eNB#1] , and communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating), the second RS . . . [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and ¶0091, eNB#1 transmits, using an antenna #2, a second reference signal based on a resource element (subcarrier #4) of reference signal configuration] , Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations) discloses, but LJUNG discloses, communicating the first RS comprises receiving, in a downlink (DL), the first RS from a first base station [FIGS. 3 and 4; their related descriptions; ¶0074, trigger criteria may be satisfied based on conditions pertaining to downlink reference signals (i.e., first RS in a DL) from the serving base station 12 (i.e., first base station), neighboring base station 13, or both to the electronic device 14 (i.e., UE)] , and communicating the second RS comprises transmitting, in an uplink (UL) , the second RS to a second base station [FIGS. 3 and 4; their related descriptions; ¶0074, in either situation, initiated uplink reference signals (i.e., second RS in a UL) may be measured by the serving base station 12 and/or the neighboring base station 13 (i.e., second base station) to enable subsequent processing (e.g. handover decisions)] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by LJUNG in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 in order to cause the system to be able to ensure avoid unwanted degraded mobility performance due to a condition where an electronic device fails to receive downlink reference signal from other neighboring base stations [e.g., ¶0005-0006 of LJUNG] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 21-22, 36 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of Zhang’909 et al (US Publication No. 2023/0019909) . Regarding claim 21, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the method of claim 1 and particularly, “the second RS configuration orthogonalizes the second RS relative to the first RS ” as set forth above. Although Ohwatari discloses, wherein the wireless node is a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053 and 0090, user equipment] , Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’909 discloses, transmitting an RS (configuration) request , wherein at least one of the first RS configuration, the second RS configuration, or a combination thereof, is based at least in part on the RS (configuration) request [¶0153, the network device may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device in a broadcast manner, or may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device based on a request message sent by the terminal device] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Zhang’909 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Zhang’909 into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure the base station to provide more accurate and reliable reference signals for channel estimations and demodulation, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Regarding claim 22, since claim 22 is merely different from claim 21 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a base station, but recites similar features to claim 21 without further additional features. Thus, claim 22 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21. Regarding claim 36, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Zhang’909 discloses, wherein the second RS configuration is based at least in part on a negotiation communication between the apparatus and another node [¶0153, the network device may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device in a broadcast manner, or may send the configuration information of the at least one first reference signal to the terminal device based on a request message sent by the terminal device ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Zhang’909 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 21. Regarding claim 43, claim 43 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21. Regarding claim 44, claim 44 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 25, 27, 29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of Kim’307 et al (US Publication No. 2022/0007307) . Regarding claim 25, claim 25 recites similar features to claim 1 except for following limitation (see, italicized limitations), a method of wireless communication performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop IAB network . However, Kim’307 discloses, a method of wireless communication performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop IAB network [FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 and 0146, IAD node in multi-hop IAB network] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kim’307 to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim’307 into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring flexible and cost-effective deployment in hard-to-reach or high-traffic areas, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Regarding claim 27, Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kim’307 discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises receiving the first RS from a parent node of the lAB node , and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously receiving the second RS from one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 10(d) and 12; their related descriptions; further see ¶0179, a relay node-based simultaneous reception case in which a relay node receives a DL (second DL) signal from a parent node, and a UL (second UL) signal from a child node; further see ¶0180, a DL signal for channel measurement such as a CSI-RS] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kim’307 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 25. Regarding claim 29, Ohwatari in view of Xia. Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kim’307 discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node , and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 10(d) and 11; their related descriptions; further see ¶0175, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node; further see ¶0180, a DL signal for channel measurement such as a CSI-RS] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Kim’307 in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 for similar rationales set forth above in claim 25. Regarding claim 34, Ohwatari discloses, a node for wireless communication [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; ¶0052-0053, a method of a wireless communication performed by a radio base station apparatus eNB#1 (or user equipment)] , comprising: a memory [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one memory ] ; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors [FIGS. 4A and 12; their related descriptions; note that every wireless communication device has at least one processor coupled to the memory ] . Since claim 34 recites similar features to claim 25 except for the above-mentioned features, claim 34 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 25 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of Kim’307 et al (US Publication No. 2022/0007307) and further in view of Xu et al (US Publication No. 2021/0143959) . Regarding claim 28, Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node [ see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node , and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node] , and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously (communicating) the second RS from one or more child nodes of the IAB node [ see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node ] , Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized), but Xu discloses, (by the IAB node), transmitting the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node, and “ receiving” the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 33; their related descriptions; ¶0129, RN1-1 (i.e., IAB) transmit/receive SSBs/reference signals to/from DN1 (i.e., parent node), and transmits/receives SSBs/reference signals to/from RN2-1 (i.e., child nodes); see both open-ended arrows between nodes in FIG. 33] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu] . Regarding claim 30, Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, wherein communicating the first RS comprises (communicating) the first RS from a parent node of the IAB node [ see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node , and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node] , and wherein communicating the second RS comprises simultaneously transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [ see ¶0175 of Kim, relay node-based simultaneous transmission case in which a relay node transmits a UL (first UL) signal to a parent node, and a DL (first DL) signal to a child node ] , Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized), but Xu discloses, (by the IAB node), “receiving” the first RS to a parent node of the IAB node, and transmitting the second RS to one or more child nodes of the IAB node [FIGS. 33; their related descriptions; ¶0129, RN1-1 (i.e., IAB) transmit/receive SSBs/reference signals to/from DN1 (i.e., parent node), and transmits/receives SSBs/reference signals to/from RN2-1 (i.e., child nodes); see both open-ended arrows between nodes in FIG. 33] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu] . Regarding claim 31, Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, wherein the IAB node comprises a mobile termination (MT) function [ see FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 of Kim , note that since the IAB node communicates between P-IAB node (backhaul link) and UE (access link/mobile link) , the IAB node is required to have mobile termination (MT) for communication between the P-IAB node and the UE ] , Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, in concurrent communication with a first parent node of the IAB node and a second parent node of the IAB node , the method further comprising: receiving at least one of the first RS configuration, the second RS configuration, or a combination thereof from the first parent node of the IAB , wherein the communication with the second parent node of the IAB is based at least in part on a negotiation communication between the first parent node of the IAB and the second parent node of the IAB [FIG. 28; its related descriptions; ¶0114, the donor node configures CSI-RS RX resources for hop1 IAB nodes, and then configures the remaining BH CSI-RS time resources for the hop1 IAB nodes. First, the donor node configures hop1 IAB nodes with a connection relationship and a neighbor relationship to ensure that the CSI-RSs for the hop1 IAB nodes are orthogonal in time. The configuration may include BH CSI-RS transmission and BH CSI-RS reception (monitoring the IAB nodes of the same hop). Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission time resources for an independent hop1 IAB node (the CSI-RS resources of any hop1 IAB node may be multiplexed). Then, based on the hop1 IAB node to which a hop2 IAB node is connected, the donor node configures CSI-RS reception time resources for the hop2 IAB node. Then, it configures CSI-RS transmission resources for the hop2 IAB nodes connected to each other, to ensure that the time resources are orthogonal, and also configures CSI-RS reception resources. Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission resources for an independent hop2 IAB node] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu] . Regarding claim 32, Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Although Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 discloses, wherein the IAB node comprises a mobile termination (MT) function [ see FIG. 10; its related descriptions; ¶0094 of Kim , note that since the IAB node communicates between P-IAB node (backhaul link) and UE (access link/mobile link) , the IAB node is required to have mobile termination (MT) for communication between the P-IAB node and the UE ] , Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Xu discloses, in concurrent communication with a first parent node of the IAB node and a second parent node of the IAB node , the method further comprising: receiving the first RS configuration from the first parent node of the IAB; and transmitting an indication of the first RS configuration to the second parent node of the IAB, wherein the indication is to facilitate selection of the second RS configuration by the second parent node of the IAB [ see FIG. 28; its related descriptions; ¶0114 of Kim, the donor node configures CSI-RS RX resources for hop1 IAB nodes, and then configures the remaining BH CSI-RS time resources for the hop1 IAB nodes. First, the donor node configures hop1 IAB nodes with a connection relationship and a neighbor relationship to ensure that the CSI-RSs for the hop1 IAB nodes are orthogonal in time. The configuration may include BH CSI-RS transmission and BH CSI-RS reception (monitoring the IAB nodes of the same hop). Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission time resources for an independent hop1 IAB node (the CSI-RS resources of any hop1 IAB node may be multiplexed). Then, based on the hop1 IAB node to which a hop2 IAB node is connected, the donor node configures CSI-RS reception time resources for the hop2 IAB node. Then, it configures CSI-RS transmission resources for the hop2 IAB nodes connected to each other, to ensure that the time resources are orthogonal, and also configures CSI-RS reception resources. Then, the donor node configures CSI-RS transmission resources for an independent hop2 IAB node] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Xu in the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia, Kim’095 and Kim’307 in order to cause the system to be able to facilitate finding a suitable candidate to establish multiple connections or backup connections to provide required robustness [e.g., ¶0003 of Xu] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohwatari et al (US Publication No. 2011/0188540) in view of Xia et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190685) and further in view of Kim’095 et al (US Publication No. 2020/0163095) and further in view of Kang et al (US Publication No. 2015/0230102) . Regarding claim 37, Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 discloses, the apparatus of claim 35 as set forth above. Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Kang discloses, wherein the first RS configuration associates the first RS with a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group , and wherein the second RS configuration associates the second RS with a second CDM group , wherein the first CDM group is orthogonal to the second CDM group [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0101, In the example of FIG. 7, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 7 and 8 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 1 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code. Similarly, DMRSs with respect to antenna ports 9 and 10 may be located in REs corresponding to DMRS CDM group 2 and multiplexed according to an orthogonal code; further see, “DMRSs with respect to different antenna ports, which are located in the same time-frequency resource, can be identified using an orthogonal code (i.e. multiplexed according to CDM)”] . It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Kang to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kang into the system of Ohwatari in view of Xia and Kim’095 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring to reduce interferences between reference signals in a wireless communications , such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUN JONG KIM whose telephone number is (571)270-3216. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:30pm (M-T). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 17/907,642 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469