DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12 and 14 are pending.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of the claim amendment to insert “alcohol” before ethoxylate.
The rejections of claims 1, 3-12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burkhardt et al. (New Phytologist, 2012), Basi et al. (Weed Biology and Management, 2014), Wang et al. (CN 104412963 A), Long (US 2010/0022392 A1) and Agbaje et al. (US 6,165,939) are withdrawn in view of the claim amendment to state that the electrolyte is potassium chloride.
The rejections of claims 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 104412963 A) and Long (US 2010/0022392 A1) are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson et al. (International Journal of Agronomy, 2012) as evidenced by Rissoli et al. (Chemosphere, 2016), Loveland Products, Inc. (Activator 90 Product Label, 2026) and van Dyke et al. (Cornell University, 2018).
Regarding claims 1, 5-8 and 12, Nelson et al. disclose herbicidal compositions comprising glyphosate (Roundup Original; isopropylammonium glyphosate), a mixture of alkyl polyoxyethylene ethers and free fatty acids (Activator-90; alkylphenol ethoxylate including nonylphenol ethoxylate, tall oil fatty acids, and alcohol ethoxylates), and potassium chloride (0-0-62-0) (pg. 2, col. 2; pg. 3, col. 1; pg. 5, col. 1; pg. 9, col. 1; Tables 3-5). Nelson et al. disclose composition application rates of 140 L ha-1 and 187 L ha-1, and the treatments consisted of application rates of 2.2, 8.8 and 17.6 kg K ha-1 (i.e., 1.18% to 12.57% w/v K), 0.25% v/v or 0.5% v/v surfactant, and 0.84 kg ae ha-1 glyphosate (pg. 2, col. 2 to pg.3, col. 1) for controlling weeds via application to the weeds or their locus.
As evidenced by Rissoli et al., Roundup Original comprises isopropylamine glyphosate (Abstract). As evidenced by Loveland Products, Inc., Activator 90 comprises alkylphenol ethoxylate, tall oil fatty acids and alcohol ethoxylate (Active Ingredient). As evidenced by van Dyke et al., Activator 90 comprises polyethoxylated nonylphenol (pg. 8, Table 1; pg. 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuchikata ‘078 (US 5,872,078).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Kuchikata ‘078 teach herbicidal compositions comprising glyphosate (N-phosphonomethylglycine) or a water-soluble salt thereof, a co-herbicide, and at least one surfactant which in its neat form is liquid at 25 °C and which gels in water (Claim 1). The glyphosate is the sodium, potassium or ammonium salt (Claim 2). The co-herbicide includes glufosinate (Claims 6 and 22). The surfactant comprises a nonionic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant or mixtures thereof, wherein the nonionic surfactant includes polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymer, an alkylphenol polyoxyethylene ether, polyoxyethylene oleylether, or mixtures thereof (Claims 8-10). Kuchikata ‘078 further teach that preferably agriculturally acceptable salts of glyphosate include isopropylamine (col. 6, ln. 16-18; Claim 14).
Kuchikata ‘078 do not explicitly disclose herbicidal compositions comprising potassium chloride, as instantly claimed. However, Kuchikata ‘078 teach that the herbicidal composition further comprises ammonium sulfate, potassium sulfate, potassium chloride, sodium sulfate, urea, or mixtures thereof (col. 2, ln. 61-63; col. 6, ln. 31-34; Claim 15).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare herbicidal compositions according to Kuchikata ‘078 comprising glyphosate, a nonionic surfactant and potassium chloride.
Regarding the concentration of nonionic surfactant and potassium chloride, Kuchikata ‘078 teach herbicidal compositions comprising up to 28.05% w/w nonionic surfactant (Examples 3-40), and 5.18%, 20% or 30.44% w/w ammonium sulfate (Examples 11, 24, 34).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute potassium chloride in the place of ammonium sulfate, as Kuchikata ‘078 teach that they are interchangeable (Claim 8).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kuchikata ‘078 teach that co-herbicides include glufosinate ammonium (col. 4, ln. 48-50).
Regarding claim 8, Kuchikata ‘078 teach herbicidal compositions comprising nonylphenol + 9.5 EO (Sterox NJ), nonylphenol + 11 EO (Sterox NK), or nonylphenol + 30 moles EO (T-DET N-307) (Examples 36 and 39-40).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Kuchikata ‘078 teach that examples of liquid anionic surfactants (typically solids unless dissolved in water) are sodium alkyl sulfate, sodium mono- and di-alkyl naphthalene sulfonates, sodium alpha-olefin sulfonate, sodium alkane sulfonates, alkylsulfates, polyoxyalkyene alkylether sulfate, polyoxyalkylene alkylarylether sulfates, polyoxy-alkylene styrylphenylether sulfate, mono- and di-alkylbenzene sulfonates, alkylnaphthalene sulfonate, alkylnaphthalene sulfonate formaldehyde condensate, alkyl diphenylether sulfonates, and olefine sulfonates (col. 5, ln. 63 to col. 6, ln. 11; Examples 4, 6-7, 27, 30, 35, 37; Claim 10). Kuchikata ‘078 teach examples comprising sodium lauryl sulfate (Stepanol Me-dry sodium; Texapon K1296) (Examples 7, 27, 30, 37).
Regarding claim 12, Kuchikata ‘078 teach another object of this invention to provide a herbicidal method of use for killing and controlling weeds by applying a herbicidally effective amount of said composition to the locus of the plant or weed to be killed or controlled (col. 3, ln. 53-57; col. 7, ln. 37-48).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare herbicidal compositions according to Kuchikata ‘078 comprising glyphosate and the co-herbicide glufosinate, in combination with a nonionic surfactant and anionic surfactant, and potassium chloride. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the composition to kill and control weeds by applying a herbicidally effective amount of said composition to the locus of the plant or weed to be killed or controlled, as suggested by Kuchikata ‘078
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuchikata ‘807 (US 6,228,807).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Kuchikata ‘807 teach herbicidal compositions comprising glyphosate (N-phosphonomethylglycine) or a water-soluble salt thereof, at least one surfactant, and less than 5% by weight water (Claim 1). The glyphosate is the sodium, potassium or ammonium salt, and the surfactant comprises a nonionic surfactant, an anionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, an amphoteric surfactant or mixtures thereof, wherein the nonionic surfactant includes polyoxyethylene polyoxypropylene block copolymer, an alkylphenol polyoxyethylene ether, polyoxyethylene oleylether, or mixtures thereof (Claims 2-5). Kuchikata ‘807 further teach that preferably agriculturally acceptable salts of glyphosate include isopropylamine (col. 6, ln. 31-33).
Kuchikata ‘807 do not explicitly disclose herbicidal compositions comprising potassium chloride, as instantly claimed. However, Kuchikata ‘807 teach that the herbicidal composition further comprises ammonium sulfate, potassium sulfate, potassium chloride, sodium sulfate, urea, or mixtures thereof (Claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare herbicidal compositions according to Kuchikata ‘807 comprising glyphosate, a nonionic surfactant and potassium chloride.
Regarding the concentration of nonionic surfactant and potassium chloride, Kuchikata ‘807 teach herbicidal compositions comprising up to 28.05% w/w nonionic surfactant (Examples 3-40), and 5.18%, 20% or 30.4% w/w ammonium sulfate (Examples 11, 24, 34).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute potassium chloride in the place of ammonium sulfate, as Kuchikata ‘807 teach that they are interchangeable (Claim 8).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kuchikata ‘807 teach that co-herbicides include glufosinate ammonium (col. 4, ln. 59-63).
Regarding claim 8, Kuchikata ‘807 teach herbicidal compositions comprising nonylphenol + 9.5 EO (Sterox NJ), nonylphenol + 11 EO (Sterox NK), or nonylphenol + 30 moles EO (T-DET N-307) (Examples 36 and 39-40).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Kuchikata ‘807 teach that examples of liquid anionic surfactants (typically solids unless dissolved in water) are sodium alkyl sulfate, sodium mono- and di-alkyl naphthalene sulfonates, sodium alpha-olefin sulfonate, sodium alkane sulfonates, alkylsulfates, polyoxyalkyene alkylether sulfate, polyoxyalkylene alkylarylether sulfates, polyoxy-alkylene styrylphenylether sulfate, mono- and di-alkylbenzene sulfonates, alkylnaphthalene sulfonate, alkylnaphthalene sulfonate formaldehyde condensate, alkyl diphenylether sulfonates, and olefine sulfonates (col. 6, ln. 10-26; Examples 4, 6-7, 27, 30, 35, 37). Kuchikata ‘807 teach examples comprising sodium lauryl sulfate (Examples 7, 27, 30, 37).
Regarding claim 12, Kuchikata ‘807 teach another object of this invention to provide a herbicidal method of use for killing and controlling weeds by applying a herbicidally effective amount of said composition to the locus of the plant or weed to be killed or controlled (col. 3, ln. 63-67; col. 7, ln. 56-67).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare herbicidal compositions according to Kuchikata ‘807 comprising glyphosate and the co-herbicide glufosinate, in combination with a nonionic surfactant and anionic surfactant, and potassium chloride. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the composition to kill and control weeds by applying a herbicidally effective amount of said composition to the locus of the plant or weed to be killed or controlled, as suggested by Kuchikata ‘807
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 13-14 and 16 of copending Application No. 17/687,001 in view of Agbaje et al. (US 6,165,939). The ‘001 Application claims a liquid herbicidal composition comprising a) L-glufosinate salt, b) at least one organic solvent or a liquid surfactant selected from alcohol ethoxylate, alkyl ether phosphate, alkyl aryl ether phosphate, sulfosuccinate and its derivatives, and c) water; as well as a process for preparing said composition. The ’001 Application also claims that the L-glufosinate salt includes monosodium, disodium, and ammonium salts. The ‘001 Application further claims the composition further comprising an additional herbicide.
The ‘001 Application does not claim at least one electrolyte comprising potassium chloride, as instantly claimed.
However, Agbaje et al. teach herbicidal compositions comprising glyphosate or glufosinate, a nonionic surfactant, and an electrolyte. Agbaje et al. teach that the composition may include inorganic salts. For example, an inorganic ammonium salt such as ammonium sulfate that is known to enhance herbicidal efficacy of glyphosate on certain weed species, or to reduce antagonism of glyphosate herbicidal efficacy by the chloroacetamide and/or triazine herbicides also present in the composition, can usefully be included. Illustrative inorganic salts that can be present are ammonium carbonate, ammonium bicarbonate, ammonium chloride, ammonium fluoride, ammonium nitrate, ammonium biphosphate, ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, ammonium sulfate, ammonium bisulfate, ammonium bisulfite, ammonium thiocyanate, potassium carbonate, potassium bicarbonate, potassium chloride, potassium nitrate, potassium phosphate, potassium biphosphate, potassium dihydrogen phosphate, potassium sulfate, potassium bisulfate, potassium sulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium chloride, sodium nitrate, sodium phosphate, sodium biphosphate, sodium dihydrogen phosphate, sodium sulfate, sodium bisulfate, sodium sulfite and sodium bisulfite (col. 11, ln. 14-33).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the compositions according to the ‘001 Application further comprising an inorganic salt electrolyte such as potassium chloride according to Agbaje et al. Such would have been obvious because Agbaje et al. teach that inorganic salts may be included in their herbicidal compositions, including potassium chloride with the aim of further enhancing herbicidal efficacy.
Regarding instant claim 12, the ‘001 Application claims herbicidal compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the herbicidal compositions for their intended purpose of controlling weeds and grasses.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that since neither the present claims nor the claims of any of the copending Applications have been patented, there is no way that double patenting can be determined. Applicant respectfully requests the provisional rejection be held in abeyance until such time as patentable subject matter is identified in two applications and a proper assessment of double patenting can be made.
The examiner respectfully argues that the rejection is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection since the claims in the copending application have not been allowed. Since Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer and the arguments are not persuasive, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 and 22-23 of copending Application No. 17/687,179. The ‘179 Application claims a liquid agrochemical composition comprising L-glufosinate ammonium, 5-30% wt. of a surfactant comprising C8-C10 alkyl polyglycoside, an N-alkyl glucamide, a C8-C20 alkyldimethylamine N-oxide, or a combination thereof, and 0.2-2% wt. of potassium chloride. The ‘179 Application further claims a composition further comprising glyphosate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that since neither the present claims nor the claims of any of the copending Applications have been patented, there is no way that double patenting can be determined. Applicant respectfully requests the provisional rejection be held in abeyance until such time as patentable subject matter is identified in two applications and a proper assessment of double patenting can be made.
The examiner respectfully argues that the rejection is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection since the claims in the copending application have not been allowed. Since Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer and the arguments are not persuasive, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/ERIN E HIRT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616