DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Bates (US 5,283,089) in view of Suyama et al. (US 2005/0255335).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Bates discloses a silicon carbide matrix deposited onto and within a pre-shaped fibrous matrix of silicon carbide with the structure having a desnity of greater than about 85%, which corresponds to a porosity of less than about 15%, see abstract; see also MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges. Note that with respect to claims 8 and 9, the reference is considered to disclose a composite material consisting of and consisting essentially of the claimed materials, see Bates entire document.
The reference fails to disclose the claimed alpha-type and beta-type SiC.
Suyama discloses a silicon carbide matrix composite comprising a matrix with a first silicon carbide phase and a second silicon carbide phase, see abstract. The crystal phase of the first SiC phases consists of an alpha or a beta phase, and the second SiC phase is a beta phase [0044]. The second phase is controlled to have an average crystal grain diameter of 0.01 to 2 microns, which overlaps the claimed range [0039]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges. The crystal diameter of the first phase may be smaller than that of the second phase [0043].
Note that while the reference does not specifically disclose the alpha and beta SiC crystals detected at the clamed X-ray beam diameter, it is expected that the disclosed invention will satisfy the claimed requirements based on the method of making the disclosed SiC matrix composite, the crystal size, and the ratio of SiC:C when forming the compact to be injected with molten silicon [0039-0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the matrix of Bates to comprise the SiC phases of Suyama in order to provide a silicon carbide matrix composite material with improved strength and toughness as well as enhanced reliability and durability, see Suyama [0012].
Regarding claim 2, while Suyama does not specifically disclose the claimed volume of each of the alpha and beta SiC crystals, the reference does disclose controlling the amount of SiC powder (alpha phase) and carbon powder (used to form the beta phase) in order to prevent strength degradation and microcracks while providing a material that stably provides high strength and high toughness to large shapes [0057]. Wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the volume of each phase to provide for a high strength and high toughness material.
Regarding claim 3, the reference discloses the SiC crystal grains constituting the first SiC phase (alpha-SiC) are controlled to have an average crystal grain diameter falling in a range of 0.1 to 10 microns [0039]. Additionally, the reference discloses the SiC crystal grains constituting the second SiC phase (beta-SiC) are controlled to have an average crystal grain diameter falling in a range of 0.01 to 2 microns [0039]. Based on the ranges disclosed for the diameters of both phases, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 4, the reference renders obvious the claimed crystal sizes for alpha and beta SiC as well as a beta phase that is no less than two times the crystal size of the alpha phase, see above discussion, [0039] and MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, the reference discloses the porosity of the composite material as 4% or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, Bates discloses the fiber as silicon carbide fibers, see abstract.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates (US 5,283,089) in view of Suyama et al. (US 2005/0255335) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jensen (US 5,272,239).
Bates in view of Suyama discloses the SiC matrix composite of claim 1, see above discussion. While Suyama discloses first and second SiC phases comprising alpha and beta crystals respectively, the reference fails to discloses the claimed crystal structures, see above discussion.
Jensen discloses ceramic compositions comprising mixtures of beta SiC (3C) and alpha SiC (2H, 4H, 6H, 15R, 21R) useful in high temperature structural applications, see col. 1, col. 11 and Example 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the phases of Suyama to comprise a mixture of the beta and alpha SiC crystal structures of Jensen as a known material suitable for high temperature and high performance applications, see Jensen col. 1 lines 16-24.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bates (US 5,283,089) in view of Suyama et al. (US 2005/0255335) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei (US 4,543,345).
Bates in view of Suyama discloses the SiC matrix composite of claim 1, see above discussion.
The references fail to disclose the claimed volume of matrix and of fiber.
Wei discloses a ceramic composite with 5-60 vol% SiC whiskers, which corresponds to fibers, see abstract and col. 4 lines 1-2. The reference further discloses the concentrations greater than 60 vol% cause clumping which detracts from the composite toughness, see col. 4 lines 7-10. Less than 5 vol% of whickers leads to insufficient toughness, see col. 4 lines 10-15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time for the composite of Bates to have the whisker volume of Wei in order to prevent fiber clumping while at the same time providing sufficient toughness; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Note that based on the vol% of whiskers disclosed by Wei, the reference renders obvious a vol% of matrix of from 40% to 95%, which overlaps the claimed range; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot in view of a new combination of prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783