Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 8-11 of copending Application No. 14/907, 860 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to reaction product of isophorone diisocyanate and only tertiary amine components represented by the formulas of the pending claims, for example, the reaction product of isophorone diisocyanate and 2-[2-2-(dimethylamino)ethoxy]ethyl- methyl amino] ethanol of copending claim 11. The copending claims claim the use of a catalyst. Therefore, the copending claims include more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of the copending claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. Since the application claims are anticipated by the copending claims, they are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 202005/0069649 to Ambrose et al. in view of JP-2017/132936 to Masahito et al.
As to claims 1-4, 8, and 29, Ambrose discloses catalysts comprising only tertiary amine groups and urethane groups (0008) derived from diisocyanate including isophorone diisocyanate (0016, Example B) and tertiary amines including dimethylamino propylamine (Example B). Ambrose discloses wherein the product is substantially free of isocyanate functionality (0020).
Ambrose does not expressly disclose the elected tertiary amine component.
However, Masahito discloses reaction products of diisocyanate and tertiary amines including the ones taught in Ambrose and the elected compound represented by the following:
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a known type of tertiary amine taught in Ambrose with another known type of tertiary amine taught in Masahito based on the tenet wherein it is prima facie obvious to add a known ingredient to a known composition for its known function. See MPEP2100. Further, because of the increased in reacting groups the amine taught in Masahito would not remain in the free state and thus prevent odor elimination and improving further reactions from yellowing (0011).
Claims 1-4, 8, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0237742 to Floshbach et al. in view of JP-2017/132936 to Masahito et al.
As to claims 1-4, 8, and 29, Flosbach discloses a liquid two component coating composition comprising a catalyst that is the reaction product of only a diisocyanate, in particular, isophorone diisocyanate and a tertiary amine component (0086) wherein suitable tertiary amines include N,N-dimethyldiethanolamine, N,N-dimethylaminopropanol. Flosbach teaches a full reaction with the diisocyanate and the tertiary amine at ratios of 1:1.1 (0084).
Flosbach does not expressly disclose the elected tertiary amine component.
However, Masahito discloses reaction products of diisocyanate and tertiary amines including the ones taught in Flosbach and the elected compound represented by the following:
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a known type of tertiary amine taught in Flosbach with another known type of tertiary amine taught in Masahito based on the tenet wherein it is prima facie obvious to add a known ingredient to a known composition for its known function. See MPEP2100. Further, because of the increased in reacting groups the amine taught in Masahito would not remain in the free state and thus prevent odor elimination and improving further reactions from yellowing (0011).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 8, and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763