DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims refer to the terms “the one or more surface-based component models” and “the surface-based component models”, it would be better to uniquify to avoid any possible antecedent issues.
Claims 128, 145, have no period at the end.
Claim 132, line 2 includes the typo “one or more view”. Examiner interprets as “one or more views" for examination purposes.
As to claim(s) 133, 134, 139, 140, 144, they are objected for the same deficiency.
Claim 133, lines 1-2 include the typo “one or more elongate fiber tow model”. Examiner interprets as “one or more elongate fiber tow models" for examination purposes.
As to claim(s) 135, 136, they are objected for the same deficiency.
Claim 139, line 3 includes the typo “an an”. Examiner interprets as “an" for examination purposes.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 128-130, 132-134, and 137-146 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 128 recites the limitation "wherein forming one or more path" in line(s) 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no "forming one or more path" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
As to claim(s) 129, 130, 133, they are objected for the same deficiency.
Claim 130 recites the limitation "the surface-based components" in line(s) 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While there are "one or more surface-based component models" anteceding this limitation in the claim, there are no "surface-based components" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
As to claim(s) 132, 134, 137-139, they are objected for the same deficiency.
Claim 133 recites the limitation "the tow length" in line(s) 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no "a tow length" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
Claim 137 recites the limitation "wherein the forming one or more path model" in line(s) 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no "forming one or more path model" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
Claim 140 recites the limitation "the surface-based component models" in line(s) 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While there are "one or more surface-based components" anteceding this limitation in the claim, there are no "surface-based component models" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
Claim 141 recites the limitation "the pressure foot device" in line(s) 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no "pressure foot device" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 142, the same deficiency applies.
Claim 142 recites the limitation "the channel" in line(s) 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no "channel" anteceding this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 144, the same deficiency applies.
Dependent claims inherit the defect of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner would like to point out that any reference to specific figures, columns and lines should not be considered limiting in any way, the entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention.
Claims 127-136 and 138-146 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Adriana Willempje Blom-Schieber, (Blom-Schieber hereinafter), U.S. Patent 10169492, taken in view of Fei Yang, (Yang hereinafter), U.S. Pre–Grant publication 20180264742.
As to claim 127, Blom-Schieber discloses a computer-implemented (see "computer system" in col. 3, lines 14-16) method for modelling and forming a fiber-reinforced plastic composite object (see "process for generating optimized fiber placement programming for laying steered-fiber plies" in col. 11, lines 61-65) comprising one or more fiber tows (see "structural optimization problem is solved (step 44) using an algorithm that uses the approximate models to judiciously choose points at which to run the finite element analysis program, and periodically uses the results of these finite element analyses to improve the approximate model. This process is iterated until completion of the structural optimization, i.e., this process is terminated when computed stream functions are determined that qualify as an optimum design for the steered-fiber plies to be produced. Based on these optimum stream functions, a fiber placement optimization algorithm is performed (step 46). The optimized fiber placements are then converted into a computer program for controlling a multi-axis computer numerical control tow placement machine. When this program is executed to add a steered-fiber ply during lay-up of a composite laminate, respective courses are precisely placed (i.e., laid) with their centerlines disposed along lines corresponding to the stream lines of the optimum stream function… using a robotic tow placement head" in col. 8, lines 8-29), comprising: acquiring a digital model comprising two or more spatial dimensions of an object to be manufactured; forming a three-dimensional (see “Once the geometry been simulated for each pair of neighboring courses, the tow optimization process 24 can be performed for those same courses without having any knowledge about the actual geometry. This means that the same optimization algorithm can be used for three-dimensional structures“ in col. 14, lines 1-8) model decomposition of the object to be manufactured, wherein forming the three-dimensional model decomposition comprises (see "acquiring" as "surveyed", "design space is surveyed (step 38) by the optimization program. An experiment is designed to gather response data on the design space for an initial approximate model. This includes defining the domain (specification of input parameters, output responses and bounds on the parameters) and defining the experiment (definition of an experiment based on a Design of Experiments that gives statistical data concerning the samples that will yield the maximum information). Then surrogate models are built, which will allow the optimization algorithm to make inferences about the merits of various structures in the design space (step 40)" in col. 7, line 63 to col. 8, line 6) segmenting at least a portion of the digital model comprising two or more spatial dimensions into one or more surface-based (see “fiber placement… enables the placement of curved fiber courses on a surface“ in col. 1, lines 39-40) component models (see "method for laying a composite ply comprising steered fibers, comprising: (a) generating stream function data with a multiplicity of corresponding stream lines; (b) generating course pair data representing successive pairs of neighboring courses… and for each pair of neighboring courses… splitting up individual tows at these locations to create tow segments" in col. 4, lines 39-49); reading from a computer memory (see "retrieves the geometry information", 'The tow optimization process 24 executes in a loop over course pairs that are adjacent. The optimization can be done for each pair, where the “penalty” is minimized. The input for the optimization is the geometric information for this pair that is available from the geometry process 22. The computer system retrieves the geometry information for each potential tow cut for each pair of neighboring courses from computer memory (algorithm 78 in FIG. 9)' in col. 14, lines 10-18) a lower limit on a radius of curvature (see "lower limit on a radius of curvature" as "minimum turning radius", "selecting which tows of the pair of neighboring courses should be cut (or added) and at which potential tow cut locations, i.e., which of the tow segments are placed on the surface and which are not, and in which direction the course should be laid down, taking a plurality of constraints into account (such as… a minimum turning radius" in col. 3, lines 34-40; "minimum turning radius constraint is often referred to as the curvature constraint, where the maximum curvature is the inverse of the minimum turning radius allowed" in col. 9, lines 35-38) of a path of the one or more surface-based component models, wherein a fiber tow follows the one or more paths continuously (see "Then the structural optimization problem is solved (step 44) using an algorithm that uses the approximate models to judiciously choose points at which to run the finite element analysis program, and periodically uses the results of these finite element analyses to improve the approximate model. This process is iterated until completion of the structural optimization, i.e., this process is terminated when computed stream functions are determined that qualify as an optimum design for the steered-fiber plies to be produced. Based on these optimum stream functions, a fiber placement optimization algorithm is performed (step 46). The optimized fiber placements are then converted into a computer program for controlling a multi-axis computer numerical control tow placement machine. When this program is executed to add a steered-fiber ply during lay-up of a composite laminate, respective courses are precisely placed (i.e., laid) with their centerlines disposed along lines corresponding to the stream lines of the optimum stream function… using a robotic tow placement head" in col. 8, lines 8-29), and storing in memory (see "storing in memory" as in current loop iteration saves "geometry information" for next loop iteration of "process 24 executes in a loop", 'The tow optimization process 24 executes in a loop over course pairs that are adjacent. The optimization can be done for each pair, where the “penalty” is minimized. The input for the optimization is the geometric information for this pair that is available from the geometry process 22. The computer system retrieves the geometry information for each potential tow cut for each pair of neighboring courses from computer memory (algorithm 78 in FIG. 9)' in col. 14, lines 10-18) a tow twist at one or more locations along the one or more paths (see "Geometry Information is Generated for Each Potential Cut… the centerline curvature values at the minimum cut length distance from the potential tow cut location on each side of the potential tow cut location… All of the foregoing information is collected by the computer system and used to generate the following lists: a list of data for each tow that indicates the potential tow cut locations along its length, a list of parameters representing the tow segments, a list of data specifying the lengths of the tow segments, and two lists of data specifying the centerline curvatures at the minimum cut length distance from each potential tow cut location at either side of the potential tow cut location" in col. 13, lines 35-67); highlighting, on a computer display presenting one or more views of the surface-based component models, the one or more paths (see "paths" as "courses", "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments. The final design can be displayed… a visual representation of a steered-fiber ply comprising a multiplicity of courses, each course comprising a respective multiplicity of tows including tow cuts for neighboring courses with overlaps that conform to a coverage parameter constraint. A visualization of optimized tow cuts/adds for two neighboring courses 102a and 102b is shown in FIG. 17" in col. 15, lines 50-62), wherein the radius of curvature is lower than the radius of the lower limit (see "In case any of the hard constraints cannot be satisfied… iteration can be done multiple times until all hard constraints are met, or until the maximum number of iterations is reached, in which case the course pair with the lowest penalty is selected and the user receives an error message indicating that there is a problem" in col. 14, lines 43-53); and forming, on a surface of the one or more surface-based component models, the one or more paths (see "paths" as "courses", "Fibers in a steered-fiber panel are typically placed in strips called tows, with multiple tows being laid down side by side to form a course" in col. 6, lines 63-66), each comprising one or more elongate fiber tow models (see "structural optimization problem is solved (step 44) using an algorithm that uses the approximate models to judiciously choose points at which to run the finite element analysis program, and periodically uses the results of these finite element analyses to improve the approximate model. This process is iterated until completion of the structural optimization, i.e., this process is terminated when computed stream functions are determined that qualify as an optimum design for the steered-fiber plies to be produced. Based on these optimum stream functions, a fiber placement optimization algorithm is performed (step 46)" in col. 8, lines 8-18).
While Blom-Schieber discloses three-dimensional as “Once the geometry been simulated for each pair of neighboring courses, the tow optimization process 24 can be performed for those same courses without having any knowledge about the actual geometry. This means that the same optimization algorithm can be used for three-dimensional structures“ in col. 14, lines 1-8; Blom-Schieber fails to expressly disclose
Yang discloses (see "[0057]… creating a 3D model by depositing layers of molding materials by discharging filamentary molding materials on a flat surface, making a gap which may occur between the filamentary molding materials discharged on the flat surface small, or preferably eliminating the gap").
Blom-Schieber and Yang are analogous art because they are related to modeling composites.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yang with Blom-Schieber, because Yang points out that his "[0057]… disclosure aims at, when creating a 3D model by depositing layers of molding materials by discharging filamentary molding materials on a flat surface, making a gap which may occur between the filamentary molding materials discharged on the flat surface small, or preferably eliminating the gap", and as a result, Yang reports that his "[0112]… solid object modeling… reduces a size of a gap region, or preferably eliminates a gap region, by adjusting a width of a toolpath… by changing a route of a toolpath".
As to claim 128, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein forming one or more path comprises adjusting a spread of two or more coplanar adjacent paths to form (see "(a) generating stream function data with a multiplicity of corresponding stream lines; (b) generating course pair data representing successive pairs of neighboring courses having centerlines corresponding to the stream lines representing the stream function data generated in operation (a) such that there is no gap between the courses and the overlap is minimized (no-gap-minimum-overlap condition); and for each pair of neighboring courses" in col. 3, lines 17-24).
As to claim 129, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein forming one or more path comprises forming one or more set of adjacently concentric spiral paths (see "generating a list of data for each tow that indicates the potential tow cut locations along its length, a list of parameters representing the tow segments, a list of data specifying the lengths of the tow segments, and two lists of data specifying the centerline curvatures" in col. 3, lines 27-31).
As to claim 130, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein forming one or more path comprises forming one or more set of concentric contour paths that follow at least a portion of a contour of one or more of the one or more surface-based component model (see "if a curvature of a path of a course is larger than a specified threshold, the tows along an outer radius of the course are not cut to avoid fiber straightening (depending on the direction in which the course is laid down)" in col. 4, lines 7-11).
As to claim 131, Blom-Schieber discloses acquiring path instructions comprised in a path pattern library (see "retrieves the geometry information", 'The tow optimization process 24 executes in a loop over course pairs that are adjacent. The optimization can be done for each pair, where the “penalty” is minimized. The input for the optimization is the geometric information for this pair that is available from the geometry process 22. The computer system retrieves the geometry information for each potential tow cut for each pair of neighboring courses from computer memory (algorithm 78 in FIG. 9)' in col. 14, lines 10-18).
As to claim 132, Blom-Schieber discloses highlighting, on a computer display presenting one or more view of the surface-based components (see "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments" in col. 15, lines 50-55), one or more of forbidden region (see "In case any of the hard constraints cannot be satisfied… iteration can be done multiple times until all hard constraints are met, or until the maximum number of iterations is reached, in which case the course pair with the lowest penalty is selected and the user receives an error message indicating that there is a problem" in col. 14, lines 43-53).
As to claim 133, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein forming one or more path comprising one or more elongate fiber tow model comprises instructions to read from memory (see "retrieves the geometry information", 'The tow optimization process 24 executes in a loop over course pairs that are adjacent. The optimization can be done for each pair, where the “penalty” is minimized. The input for the optimization is the geometric information for this pair that is available from the geometry process 22. The computer system retrieves the geometry information for each potential tow cut for each pair of neighboring courses from computer memory (algorithm 78 in FIG. 9)' in col. 14, lines 10-18) a lower limit on the tow length (see "optimization is set up to take into account manufacturing constraints, such as minimum cut length" in col. 3, lines 4-7); and highlighting, on a computer display presenting one or more view of: (see "paths" as "courses", "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments. The final design can be displayed… a visual representation of a steered-fiber ply comprising a multiplicity of courses, each course comprising a respective multiplicity of tows including tow cuts for neighboring courses with overlaps that conform to a coverage parameter constraint. A visualization of optimized tow cuts/adds for two neighboring courses 102a and 102b is shown in FIG. 17" in col. 15, lines 50-62);
As to claim 134, Blom-Schieber discloses highlighting, on a computer display (see "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments" in col. 15, lines 50-55) presenting one or more view of the surface-based components, one or more of the tow paths wherein the tow twist is greater than a tow twist threshold stored in memory (see "In case any of the hard constraints cannot be satisfied… iteration can be done multiple times until all hard constraints are met, or until the maximum number of iterations is reached, in which case the course pair with the lowest penalty is selected and the user receives an error message indicating that there is a problem" in col. 14, lines 43-53).
As to claim 135, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein the forming of one or more path comprising one or more elongate fiber tow model comprises forming a discontinuity in the fiber tow at one or more locations in the path comprising a radius of curvature that is less than a lower limit (see "discontinuity" as "one of the two tows needs to be cut… the cut tow needs to be added again", "FIG. 15 is a diagram representing an area of overlap 120 where tows 110a of course 102a overlap with tows 110b of course 102b. The computer system determines where tows 110a in course 102a cross tows 110b in course 102b. Every time two tows cross each other and start overlapping, one of the two tows needs to be cut, or if the overlap ends, the cut tow needs to be added again. The exact location depends on the coverage parameter. In this operation, only “potential” tow cut locations are determined for each tow" in col. 13, lines 7-15).
As to claim 136, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein the forming of one or more path comprising one or more elongate fiber tow model comprises forming a plurality of parallel paths that are spaced apart by a distribution profile specified by one or more distribution component (see "laying a composite ply comprising steered fibers, comprising: (a) generating stream function data with a multiplicity of corresponding stream lines; (b) generating course pair data representing successive pairs of neighboring courses having centerlines corresponding to the stream lines representing the stream function data generated in operation (a) such that there is no gap between the courses and the overlap is minimized" in col. 4, lines 39-46).
As to claim 138, Blom-Schieber discloses highlighting, on a computer display presenting one or more views of the surface-based components, one or more axes of symmetry in one or more of the surface-based components (see "components" as "tows 110a… 110b" and "axes of symmetry" in FIG. 17, "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments. The final design can be displayed… A visualization of optimized tow cuts/adds for two neighboring courses 102a and 102b is shown in FIG. 17… two of tows 110a have been cut at cut locations 124b and 124d along the outside of course 102a, while three of tows 110b have been cut at cut locations 124a, 124c and 124e along the inside of course 102b" in col. 15, line 50 to col. 16, line 3).
As to claim 139, Blom-Schieber discloses highlighting, on a computer display presenting one or more view of the surface-based components, one or more region (see "components" as "tows 110a… 110b", "Visualization: After the tow cut/add locations have been optimized, the segment variables for all courses are used to display the active tow segments. The final design can be displayed… a visual representation of a steered-fiber ply comprising a multiplicity of courses, each course comprising a respective multiplicity of tows including tow cuts for neighboring courses with overlaps that conform to a coverage parameter constraint… in FIG. 17, two of tows 110a have been cut at cut locations 124b and 124d along the outside of course 102a, while three of tows 110b have been cut at cut locations 124a, 124c and 124e along the inside of course 102b" in col. 15, line 50 to col. 16, line 3) wherein a displacement of infill material is greater than an infill displacement threshold stored in memory (see "In case any of the hard constraints cannot be satisfied… iteration can be done multiple times until all hard constraints are met, or until the maximum number of iterations is reached, in which case the course pair with the lowest penalty is selected and the user receives an error message indicating that there is a problem" in col. 14, lines 43-53).
As to claims 140 and 144-146, these claims recite a system and a computer-readable storage medium for performing the method of claims 127-129. Blom-Schieber discloses a "computer system" (see col. 3, lines 14-16) for performing a method that teaches claims 127-129. Therefore, claims 140 and 144-146 are rejected for the same reasons given above.
As to claim 141, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein the pressure foot device is coupled to a pressure foot device rotation actuator (see col. 1, line 53 to col. 2, line 3).
As to claim 142, Blom-Schieber discloses wherein the pressure foot device is comprised in a foot shaft housing, characterized by a pressure foot device's axis of rotation, defining a Z-axis, wherein the pressure foot device's axis of rotation is collinear with the channel for guiding an elongate fiber tow onto an object surface (see col. 1, line 53 to col. 2, line 3).
As to claim 143, Blom-Schieber discloses a communication network connected to a system for applying an elongate fiber tow (see "For each pair of neighboring courses, the computer system .
Claim 137 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blom-Schieber taken in view of Yang as applied to claim 127 above, and further in view of Mostafa Rassaian, (Rassaian hereinafter), U.S. Pre–Grant publication 20120323538.
As to claim 137, while Blom-Schieber discloses acquiring one or more axis of symmetry in one or more of the surface-based components (see "Each discrete course path can be described separately, but in design a steered-fiber ply is typically treated as a direction field… Fiber direction fields can also be described by the local angle a fiber makes with a ply axis. This leads to a scalar-valued function. In the design process disclosed in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/164,701, the design variables directly define the stream function. With the stream function defined, the thickness distribution and fiber angle distribution are easily computed from the stream function" in col. 7, lines 11-28); dividing the one or more of the surface-based components at the one or more axis of symmetry into a plurality of component regions (see "dividing" as "create tow segments", "method for laying a composite ply comprising steered fibers, comprising: (a) generating stream function data with a multiplicity of corresponding stream lines; (b) generating course pair data representing successive pairs of neighboring courses… and for each pair of neighboring courses… splitting up individual tows at these locations to create tow segments" in col. 4, lines 39-49); Blom-Schieber and Yang fail to disclose wherein the forming one or more path model comprises forming one or more first path model into a first component region of the plurality of component regions and mirroring the first path model into one or more of the other component regions of the plurality of component regions.
However in a patent application cited by Blom-Schieber, Rassaian discloses wherein the forming one or more path model comprises forming one or more first path model into a first component region of the plurality of component regions and mirroring the first path model into one or more of the other component regions of the plurality of component regions (see "mirroring" as "reflected", "[0054] Suppose that one wants to balance a ply defined by φ with another one defined by ψ. In this case, balance means that the fiber directions given by ψ are the same as those given by φ after they have been reflected about some preferred direction d… [0056]").
Blom-Schieber, Yang, and Rassaian are analogous art because they are related to modeling composites.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Rassaian with Blom-Schieber and Yang, because Rassaian discloses that "[0035]… a design is selected by the optimization program current knowledge of the design space. Then the optimization program hands the design parameters to a program (step 32 in FIG. 3) that processes parametric geometry and then formats the data for finite element analysis. In step 34, the finite element analysis program solves for the strain field under given loads. Then in step 36, the finite element analysis program post-processes the strain field to calculate panel strength based on these results. The structural analysis is driven by the optimizer and automated using scripting", and as a result, Rassaian reports that "… [t]he scripts can be used to distribute data for parallel runs on different computers of a high-performance computing cluster if one is available. Parallel finite element analysis runs result in significant time saving".
Conclusion
Examiner would like to point out that any reference to specific figures, columns and lines should not be considered limiting in any way, the entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention.
/JUAN C OCHOA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186