DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 20; and amended dependent claims 5, and canceled dependent claims 3, 4, 6, 13, 16-18. The pending claims are claims 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14, 15, 19, 20.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14, 15, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the phrase "anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14, 15, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al., WO 2011074088 (translation US 20130084491), in view of Nakagawa et al., JP 2005-135776.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto et al., teaches a solid electrolyte (0003; 0030), comprising a plastic crystal (perfluorosulfonic acid; 0081) doped with an electrolyte (0081; 0083; 0094), wherein the plastic crystal contains two or more types of cations in total, at least one of which is selected from the group of imidazoliums (0011; 0013; 0016).
Nakamoto does not teach a crystal lattice structure in which anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use of the solid electrolyte.
However, “crystal lattice structure in which anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use of the solid electrolyte” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite and a 35 USC 112 Rejection is described above.
Nakamoto does not teach quaternary ammoniums (0015-0018; 0035).
Nakagawa et al., teaches quaternary ammoniums (0005-0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Nakagawa into the teachings of Nakamoto because Nakagawa teaches that the quaternary ammonium is an imidazolium cation (0016) and the quaternary ammonium may be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds (0044).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamoto et al., does not teach wherein the plastic crystal contains two types of cations selected from the group of the quaternary ammoniums.
Nakagawa et al., teaches quaternary ammoniums (0005-0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Nakagawa into the teachings of Nakamoto because Nakagawa teaches that the quaternary ammonium is an imidazolium cation (0016) and the quaternary ammonium may be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds (0044).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamoto et al., teaches wherein the plastic crystal contains: one type of cation (0011; 0013; 0016); and another type of cation excluding the imidazoliums (0011; 0013; 0016).
Nakamoto does not teach the quaternary ammoniums.
Nakagawa teaches quaternary ammoniums (0005-0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Nakagawa into the teachings of Nakamoto because Nakagawa teaches that the quaternary ammonium is an imidazolium cation (0016) and the quaternary ammonium may be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds (0044).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamoto et al., teaches solid electrolyte (0003; 0030).
Nakamoto does not teach the quaternary ammoniums include a tetraalkylammonium represented by the following chemical formula (B) and substituted with a linear alkyl group having any number of carbon atoms: [Formula ]
wherein a, b, c, and d represent integers of 1 or more, and the number of carbon atoms may be any number.
Nakagawa teaches the quaternary ammoniums (0015-0018) include a tetraalkylammonium (0035; 0037) represented by the following chemical formula (B) and substituted with a linear alkyl group having any number of carbon atoms: [Formula ] (Fig. 1; 0004).
Nakagawa teaches the quaternary ammoniums (0015-0018); include a tetraalkylammonium (0035; 0037; 0071) represented by the following chemical formula (B) and substituted with a linear alkyl group having any number of carbon atoms: [Formula ]
Regarding claim 8, Nakamoto et al., teaches solid electrolyte (0003; 0030).
Nakamoto does not teach according to wherein the quaternary ammoniums include a five-membered ring ammonium pyrrolidinium represented by the following chemical formula (C) and spiro-pyrrolidinium represented by the following chemical formula (D):
wherein Rl and R2 represent a methyl group, an ethyl group, or an isopropyl group.
Nakagawa teaches the quaternary ammoniums include a five-membered ring ammonium pyrrolidinium (0035; 0071) represented by the following chemical formula (C) and spiro-pyrrolidinium represented by the following chemical formula (D): (0004; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamoto et al., teaches solid electrolyte according to claim 5, wherein the another type of cation is one of phosphoniums represented by the following chemical formula (E):[Formula ]
wherein e, f, g, and h represent integers of 1 or more, and the number of carbon atoms may be any number.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamoto et al., teaches solid electrolyte (0030; 0071; 0075) according to wherein the plastic crystal contains two or more types of anions (0011; 0016; 0020).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamoto et al., teaches power storage device (0008; 0066; 0071), comprising: the solid electrolyte (0030; 0071) according to claim 1; and both electrodes disposed opposite to each other (0028) with the solid electrolyte sandwiched therebetween (0028).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamoto et al., teaches wherein one or both of both the electrodes are polarizable electrode (0028) having: an active material layer composed of a porous material (0074; 0080); and a current collector (0097), and an electric double layer is formed on an interface between the polarizable electrode and the solid electrolyte (0028; 0030).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamoto et al., teaches a solid electrolyte (0003; 0030).
Nakamoto does not teach solid electrolyte according to claim 2, wherein the quaternary ammoniums include a tetraalkylammonium represented by the following chemical formula (B) and substituted with a linear alkyl group having any number of carbon atoms: [Formula (B) ]
wherein a, b, c, and d represent integers of 1 or more, and the number of carbon atoms may be any number.
Nakagawa teaches the quaternary ammoniums (0015-0018) include a tetraalkylammonium (0035; 0037; 0071) represented by the following chemical formula (B).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamoto et al., teaches a solid electrolyte (0003; 0030), according to claim 2, wherein the quaternary ammoniums (0015-0018) include a five-membered ring ammonium pyrrolidinium (0035) represented by the following chemical formula (C) and spiro-pyrrolidinium represented by the following chemical formula (D):[Formula (C)]
wherein Rl and R2 represent a methyl group, an ethyl group, or an isopropyl group; [Formula (D) ]
Regarding claim 19, Nakamoto et al., teaches wherein the plastic crystal (0081; 0083; 0094) contains two or more types of anions (0052).
Regarding claim 20, Nakamoto et al., teaches method of manufacturing a solid electrolyte, comprising: a step of producing a plastic crystal (perfluorosulfonic acid; 0081) (0083; 0094) containing two or more types of cations at least one of which is selected from the group of imidazoliums (0011; 0013; 0016).
Nakamoto does not teach quaternary ammoniums.
Nakagawa et al., teaches quaternary ammoniums (0005-0006).
Nakamoto does not teach a crystal lattice structure in which anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use of the solid electrolyte.
However, “crystal lattice structure in which anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use of the solid electrolyte” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Nakagawa into the teachings of Nakamoto because Nakagawa teaches that the quaternary ammonium is an imidazolium cation (0016) and the quaternary ammonium may be used alone or in combination of two or more kinds (0044).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “Nakamoto fails to teach or suggest a plastic crystal doped with an electrolyte.”
However, Nakamoto teaches a plastic crystal (perfluorosulfonic acid-based polymer, as perfluorosonlfonic acid is a plastic) (0081) doped with an electrolyte (0094).
Additionally, the Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach “the plastic crystal has a three-dimensional crystal lattice structure in which anions and cations are regularly arranged and gave rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use of the solid electrolyte.”
However, a 35 USC 112 Rejection is described above; the phrase "anions and cations are regularly arranged and have rotation irregularity within a temperature range of use" is unclear and renders the claim indefinite.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727