DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed on 11/6/2025.
No claim has been amended.
Claims 2-4 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, and 5-6 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, and 5-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7794878 B2, KOGETSU et al.
Regarding claim 1. KOGETSU [col 3 lines 18-22] disclose silicone-based active material particles, called columnar particles. KOGETSU [col 5 lines 34-45] discloses in the figure depicted below wherein multiple layers, called portions (33, 34, 35) are within the silicon-based active material particles forming a layer structure within the silicon-based active material particles, KOGETSU [col 7 lines 35-45] further discloses “columnar particle may be made up of single crystal particles, polycrystal particles including a plurality of crystallites, particles comprising microcrystal having the crystallite size of 100 nm or less, or amorphous.” [col 8 lines 13-19] go on to disclose that the size of these bumps or layers can be controlled.
Thereby making a thickness of each layer of the multiple layers is 0.2 µm or less obvious over the prior art.
KOGETSU [col 25 lines 44-48] and table 7 discloses that negative electrode 4A was given an active material thickness of 0.1µm thereby anticipating the range with sufficient specificity.
Regarding claim 5. KOGETSU [abstract] discloses a negative electrode of a lithium ion secondary battery, comprising the silicon-based active material particles according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6. KOGETSU [col 3 lines 23-27] discloses that the silicon-based active material particles according to claim 1, consist of a metal element-containing silicon-based active material.
Conclusion
LAWRENCE LA RAIA III
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727