Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Applicant elected without traverse Group 1 (claims 1-12) and food as the species from food or beverage, 85% or more of the undenatured type II collagen recovered after processing as the species of %, 37C or greater as the species of temperature, and flavoring as the species of additional component in the reply filed on July 10, 2025. Restriction was deemed to be proper and was made FINAL in the previous office action. Claims 2 and 13-20 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1 and 3-12 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
Rejection of claims 1 and 3-12 under 35 U.S.C. 101, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Maintained Rejections
U.S.C. 102
8. Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ben Yosef reference (US 2013/0052175, cited in the previous office action).
9. Ben Yosef reference teaches a processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen (see abstract, paragraphs [0042]-[0044], and claim 17, for example), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1 and 3. With respect to claims 5 and 12, Ben Yosef reference teaches the composition wherein the animal food and/or treat includes one or more of a protein source, a flavoring, or a coloring (see paragraphs [0010]-[0015] and claim 14, for example). With respect to claim 4, Ben Yosef reference teaches a processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen, which is interpreted as a processed animal meal given that the composition is intended for consumption (see abstract, paragraphs [0042]-[0044). Additionally, with respect to “wherein the processed food and/or beverage composition is processed at a temperature of about 40C or greater…wherein an amount of the undenatured type II collagen is incorporated into the composition prior to the processing…(claim 1); wherein the undenatured type II collagen is incorporated into the processed food and/or beverage…(claim 4); wherein an amount of undenatured type II collagen is incorporated into the composition prior to processing…(claim 6); wherein 45% or more of the undenatured type II collagen is recovered after processing (claim 7); wherein 60% or more of the undenatured type II collagen is recovered after processing (claim 8); wherein 85% or more of the undenatured type II collagen is recovered after processing (claim 9); wherein the processed food and/or beverage undergoes processing that includes a temperature of about 45C or greater (claim 10); wherein the processing lasts from 6 seconds to about 2 hours (claim 11)” according to MPEP 2111.04: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limitation effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses;
(B) “wherein” clauses; and
(C) “whereby” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Crop., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby” clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. ,”. In the instant case, it is not deemed that the “wherein” clause limits the claim to particular structural features.
Furthermore, instant claims 1, 4 and 6-11 recite product by process. The MPEP states the following: “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by an defined by the process determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process…The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produce in-situ does not change the end product” (see MPEP 2113[R-1]).
Since Ben Yosef reference teaches ALL of the active components, i.e., undenatured type II collagen, one or more different types of protein/peptides, and flavoring and coloring compounds, the reference anticipates instant claims 1 and 3-12.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
10. Applicant argues that “…the presently pending claims require (i) incorporation of an undenatured type II collagen into a composition prior to processing, and (ii) recovery of at least about 30% or more of the undenatured type II collagen after processing. Ben Yosef fails to teach or suggest either limitation.” Applicant further argues that “…Applicant respectfully submits that the requirement of at least about 30% recovery of undenatured type II collagen is not a mere product-by-process limitation, but rather a functional and structural characteristic of the final composition itself…”
11. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Instant claims are drawn to a processed food and/or beverage composition comprising undenatured type II collagen. Ben Yosef reference explicitly teaches a processed animal food and/or treat composition. Ben Yosef reference teaches a processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen. Ben Yosef reference teaches the composition wherein the animal food and/or treat includes one or more of a protein source, a flavoring, or a coloring. Ben Yosef reference teaches a processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen, which is interpreted as a processed animal meal given that the composition is intended for consumption. Instant claims do not recite any structural differences, any functional differences or any component differences. The claims recite a processed food and/or beverage comprising the same undenatured type II collagen as taught by Ben Yosef. Therefore, the product processed food composition of Ben Yosef reference is exactly the same as the process food/beverage composition.
In regard to Applicant’s argument “the requirement of at least about 30% recovery of undenatured type II collagen is not a mere product-by-process limitation, but rather a functional and structural characteristic of the final composition itself” it is unclear how the claim has a “structural characteristic”. Claim 1 has been amended to recite:
. The newly added limitation “wherein an amount of the undenatured type II collagen is incorporated into the composition prior to processing…about 30% or more of the undenatured type II collagen is recovered after processing.” This newly added limitation only recites method steps. There is structural limitation that is recited in the claim.
Since the USPTO lacks the experimental facilities to make a further determination, the burden is on the Applicant to provide evidence that the instant claimed processed food comprising undenatured type II collagen is markedly different from the processed food comprising undenatured type II collagen of Ben Yosef. In the instant case, Applicant fails to provide any direct evidence that there is a structural difference between the claimed processed food and/or beverage composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen and the processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen of Ben Yosef reference.
Therefore, the rejection is deemed to be proper and is maintained herein.
DOUBLE PATENTING
13. Claims 1 and 3-12 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No18/009359 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant application, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. Instant claims are drawn to:
.
15. Copending claims are drawn to:
.
16. The scope of instant claims and the copending claims are similar in that copending claims recite a supplement for improving one or more of endurance, lipid metabolism, and antioxidant status in a mammal, the supplement comprising: type II collagen composition, the type II collagen composition comprising undenatured collagen, hydrolyzed collagen, or a combination thereof. Therefore, if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
17. Claims 1 and 3-12 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No17/908007 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant application, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18. Instant claims are drawn to:
.
19. Copending claims are drawn to:
.
20. The scope of instant claims and the copending claims are similar in that copending claims recite a processed animal food and/or treat composition comprising an undenatured type II collagen. Therefore, if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims, and vice versa.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
21. Applicant argues “Applicant respectfully requests to hold the present nonstatutory double patenting rejections in abeyance until an indication of allowable subject matter is received by the Applicant.”
22. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
While a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated, the present is a rejection and will not be held in abeyance (see MPEP 714.02). Until a proper Terminal Disclaimer is filed and approved by the Office, the rejections are maintained.
New Rejections
U.S.C. 112(b)
24. Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
25. Claim 1 recites, “A processed food and/or beverage composition comprising: an undenatured type II collagen, wherein the processed food and/or beverage composition is processed at a temperature of about 40C or greater, wherein an amount of the undenatured type II collagen is incorporated into the composition prior to processing and at least about 30% or more of the undenatured type II collagen is recovered after processing.”. Claim 1 recites both a product and a method. A claim can only recite one invention. The preamble recites a processed food and/or beverage composition. Therefore, claim 1 has been interpreted as a product invention. Because claims 3-12 depend from indefinite claim 1 without clarifying the point of confusion, these claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
10/08/2026