Double Patenting
Applicants’ request for abeyance is acknowledged to the extent that applicants’ lack of response to the cited rejection will not be treated as non-responsive. However, since the rejection is still proper it will be maintained until such time as a proper response to it is filed or conditions appropriate for removal of the rejection are present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 fails to further limit the amount of polyisocyanate and catalyst composition. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-14, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,509,392 to Jhaveri et al.
As to claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-14, and 20, Jhaveri discloses a binder composition comprising 18 grams of a polyol component, 27 grams of a polyisocyanate component and 0.18 grams of catalyst, useful catalyst include potassium acetate, dizaobicycloundecance, alkali metal salts of aliphatic carboxylic acids as well as 0.03 to 5.0% by weight of urethane catalysts such as dibutyltin dilaurate, phenyl mercuric acetate, bismuth or lead naphthenate (6:17-27). Jhaveri discloses wherein the catalyst composition is dissolved in propylene carbonate or dibasic esters (6:33-35) wherein the content of solvent is 0 up to 95% by weight based on the weight of the catalyst (6:35-37). Jhaveri discloses wherein solvent in amounts of 10 to 30% by weight are used to dissolve the polyisocyanate component (5:3-5). The content of polyisocyanate within the composition is 60% or greater (note ratio of 3:1 to 10:1, 5:37-34). At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use more polyisocyanate within the binder of Jhaveri to improve hot strength (5:16-17). The content of catalyst and solvent composition sit within the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill in the art could routinely work through different amounts of catalyst and solvent including those within the broad claimed ranges to lower viscosity, thus increasing volume of catalyst that allows for larger amounts of catalyst to be weighted and/or metered into foundry sand mold compositions (6:26-30).
As to claim 21, Jhaveri discloses wherein the binder further includes aggregate materials such as sand, silica, zircon, and chromite (7:3-5).
Claims 3-6, 9-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,509,392 to Jhaveri et al.
As to claims 3-9, Jhaveri discloses a binder composition comprising 18 grams of a polyol component, 27 grams of a polyisocyanate component and 0.18 grams of catalyst, useful catalyst include potassium acetate, dizaobicycloundecance, alkali metal salts of aliphatic carboxylic acids as well as 0.03 to 5.0% by weight of urethane catalysts such as dibutyltin dilaurate, phenyl mercuric acetate, bismuth or lead naphthenate (6:17-27). Jhaveri discloses wherein the catalyst composition is dissolved in propylene carbonate or dibasic esters (6:33-35) wherein the content of solvent is 0 up to 95% by weight based on the weight of the catalyst (6:35-37).
Jhaveri does not expressly disclose the metal complex.
However, Kiso within the same field of endeavor teaches a catalyst composition
comprising a mixture of cooper acetylacetonate and a bicyclic tertiary amine (Abstract, 2:17-
25). Stengel further discloses the use of copper acetate, copper acetylacetonate, or copper
salicylate as suitable catalyst to improve isocyanate reaction speed that is dissolved in dimethyl
sulfoxide that is used in amounts that range from 0.04 to 10 wt% of the catalyst composition
(0006-0011) with the rest being the solvent (0055-0057).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute the copper ion catalyst of
Kojima with the catalyst composition of Kiso to improve curing speed and to avoid toxicity problems typically associated with tin catalysts to improve environmental issues (1:44-54, 0003
Stengel).
As to claims 10-18, Jhaveri in view of Stengel disclose solvent blends including amines
and mixtures of N-alkyl amides including dimethylformamide or N-methyl pyrrolidone or
organic carbonates including propylene carbonate and DMSO (0055). At the time of filing it
would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known solvent
for another type of solvent including blends of certain solvents to improve solubility, improve
fluidity and film forming of the binder and based on the tenet wherein it is prima
facie obvious to add a known ingredient to a known composition for its known function. In re
Lindner 173 USPQ 356; In re Dial et al 140 USPQ 244.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763