DETAIL ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 02/04/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1, 11 and 14 are amended.
Claims 16-17 are new.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC §103:
Applicant's argument, see remarks pages 8-9, filed 02/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are moot because the amendment necessitated a new ground of rejections. The new prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millar et al., (US 2018/0359975 A1, hereinafter Miller, previously cited) and in view of Yan, et al. (hereinafter Yan) "Safety production-based LED light system design for plant factories," 2016 13th China International Forum on Solid State Lighting (SSLChina), Beijing, China, 2016, pp. 97-10, and further in view of Noguchi et al. (US2017/0118925 A1, hereinafter Noguchi, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches
A system for estimating a harvesting time in a plant growing environment (Miller, Figures2, and 4, [0002] Embodiments described herein generally relate to systems and methods for determining harvest tinting for plant matter within a grow pod, The assembly line grow pod 100), said system comprising:
at least one sensor interface (Miller, Figure 4, environmental sensors
313 and position sensors 315, in embodiments, weight sensors 310, etc); and at least one processor (Miller, Figure 5, processor 930) configured to: receive a light setting used by one or more light sources (Miller, Figure 2, lighting system 206) to illuminate a section of said plant growing environment with horticulture grow light that, in terms of light intensity and spectrum, is suitable for growing plants in said plant growing environment (Miller, Figure 2, [0023], The lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or
more predetermined wavelengths that may facilitate plant growth. electromagnetic sources of the lighting system 206 may generally be positioned on the underside of the track 102 such that the electromagnetic sources can illuminate plant matter in the carts 104 on the track 102 below the electromagnetic sources),
Miller teaches lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or more predetermined wavelengths (known wave lengths) that may facilitate plant growth.
Miller is silent on said light setting comprising at least an intensity of a color component associated with said section of said plant growing environment
estimate a harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said light measurement information,(ii) said intensity of said color component in said light setting wherein the processor is configured to receive, via a wired or wireless receiver, the light setting from the one or more light sources or from a controller of the one or more light sources
However, Yan teaches light setting comprising at least an intensity of a color component associated with said section of said plant growing environment
estimate a harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said light measurement information, (Yan, Figure 2, (see below), Page 99, left col. Bottom paragraph, Initial growth parameters of various plants can be set in the software, and can be modified according to actual condition. Furthermore, these modified parameters will be stored in storage, which allow a repeat use. The system can automatically detect environment light intensity, and compared with the plant growth light demand parameters, to get the light supplement value and realize the optimal light control (ii) said intensity of said color component in said light setting wherein the processor is configured to receive, via a wired or wireless receiver, the light setting from the one or more light sources or from a controller of the one or more light sources. (Yan, Page 98, right col. Middle paragraph, One channel
for red light, one channel for green light and two channels for blue. Using such combination to simulate the spectrum that plants growth required for photosynthesis. LED light source module is composed of one group of red LEDs, one group of green LEDs, and two groups of blue LEDs. A basic LED unit contains 8 red Led, 2 blue Led, and 1 green Led. In plant growth mode, red LED and blue LED can realize light ratio of 8:1 and 8:2, and meet the demands of different production stage. When people are working exposed to LED
light source, system will reduce the red and blue light illumination intensity through PWM adjustment, in addition, controller will light the green LED, to achieve a safe production environment”)
Yan et al. figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Miller and Yan are silent on
(iii) a cultivation temperature protocol for said section of said plant growing environment, said cultivation temperature protocol comprising one or more assumed cultivation temperatures.
However, Noguchi teaches (iii) a cultivation temperature protocol (Noguchi, Figure 24, Temperature sensor 5002) for said section of said plant growing environment (Noguchi, Figures 1, and environment information unit 500), said cultivation temperature protocol comprising one or more assumed cultivation temperatures. (Noguchi, Figure 24, [0095] “the operating machine 100 may include sensor devices, for example, an infrared sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor. Information obtained by these sensors is transmitted to the server 704. The server 704 stores the information in the database 708, and utilizes the information for predicting harvest time and the like”. [0163], The environmental information obtainment unit 500 includes a temperature sensor 5002. [0168], The temperature adjustment unit 6002 executes atmosphere adjustment for the entire plant cultivation facility 10, to adjust the temperature in the plant cultivation facility 10.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
The system as claimed in claim 1,
Miller further teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to control an environmental parameter based on a difference between said estimated harvesting time and a target harvesting time. (Miller, Figures 5-7, [0007] “ an assembly line grow pod system includes(…), the controller including a processor and a computer readable and executable instruction set, which when executed, causes the processor to identify a type of the plant matter positioned within the cart, receive data indicative of at least one of a detected plant matter weight from the weight sensor and a detected plant matter height from the distance sensor, retrieve a harvest time recipe based on the identified type of plant matter, the harvest time recipe including a harvest time plant matter weight and a harvest time plant matter height, determine that the at least one of the detected plant matter weight and the detected plant matter height satisfies the harvest time plant matter weight and the harvest time plant matter height, and in response to determining that the at least one of the detected plant matter weight and the detected plant matter weight satisfies the harvest time plant matter weight and the harvest time plant matter height, move the actuator to an extended position to tilt at least a portion of the cart in a vertical direction”).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 2,
Miller further teaches further comprising at least one output interface wherein said at least one processor (Miller, [0049] controller 106 determines a type of seeds being used (and/or other information, such as ambient conditions), the master controller 106 may communicate with the remote computing device 854 to retrieve a previously stored recipe (e.g., predetermined preferred growing conditions, such as water/ nutrient requirements, lighting requirements, temperature requirements, humidity requirements, or the like). is configured to:
Miller is silent on determine an adjusted temperature protocol for said section of said plant growing environment based on said cultivation temperature protocol and a difference between said estimated harvesting time and said target harvesting time, said adjusted temperature protocol comprising one or more adjusted cultivation temperatures, and output, via said at least one output interface, a temperature control signal based on said adjusted temperature protocol.
However, Noguchi teaches determine an adjusted temperature protocol for said section of said plant growing environment based on said cultivation temperature protocol and a difference between said estimated harvesting time and said target harvesting time, said adjusted temperature protocol comprising one or more adjusted cultivation temperatures, and output, via said at least one output interface, a temperature control signal based on said adjusted temperature protocol. (Noguchi, Figure 24, [0095] “the operating machine 100 may include sensor devices, for example, an infrared sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor. Information obtained by these sensors is transmitted to the server 704. The server 704 stores the information in the database 708, and utilizes the information for predicting harvest time and the like”. [0163], The environmental information obtainment unit 500 includes a temperature sensor 5002. [0168], The temperature adjustment unit 6002 executes atmosphere adjustment for the entire plant cultivation facility 10, to adjust the temperature in the plant cultivation facility 10.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 1,
Miller is silent on wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine a percentage of reflected light of said color component based on said light measurement information and said intensity of said color component in said light setting and estimate said harvesting time based on said percentage of reflected light .
However, Yan teaches wherein said at least one processor (Yan, Figure 1, Processor) is configured to determine a percentage of reflected light of said color component based on said light measurement information (Yan, Figure 2, (See above) step, read get light intensity), and said intensity of said color component in said light setting and estimate said harvesting time based on said percentage of reflected light( Yan, Figure 2,Judge current growth, calculate light quality, light intensity, post period and adjust red blue LED through PWM Bus)
Yan et al. Figure 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Miller and Yan are silent on and said cultivation temperature protocol.
However, Noguchi teaches and said cultivation temperature protocol. ( Noguchi, Figure 24, [0095] “the operating machine 100 may include sensor devices, for example, an infrared sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor. Information obtained by these sensors is transmitted to the server 704. The server 704 stores the information in the database 708, and utilizes the information for predicting harvest time and the like”. [0163], The environmental information obtainment unit 500 includes a temperature sensor 5002. [0168], The temperature adjustment unit 6002 executes atmosphere adjustment for the entire plant cultivation facility 10, to adjust the temperature in the plant cultivation facility 10.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 4,
Miller is silent on wherein said at least one processor is configured to estimate a potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and estimate said harvesting time based on a difference between said potential current yield and a desired yield and said cultivation temperature protocol
However, Noguchi teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to estimate a potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and estimate said harvesting time based on a difference between said potential current yield and a desired yield and said cultivation temperature protocol (Noguchi, Figure 1, Figures 26-27 [0078] Also, being capable of predicting the harvest time and crop yields of plants provides greater value for a system user. To implement such capability, the server 704 can execute multivariate analysis in response to commands from the user terminals 710 and 712, by using conditions (raising conditions) under which the produce has been actually raised, such as the plant activity (the normalized vegetation index NDVI is one of indicators, (…) a degree of water stress, situations of watering and fertilization, hours of sunshine, the air temperature, the humidity, and the like. These conditions are analyzed with the raising stages, the harvest time, and the crop yields of the plants obtained under the conditions. The more these data items are accumulated, the higher the precision becomes in terms of predicted output (harvest time and crop yields”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 5,
Miller is silent on wherein said at least one processor is configured to estimate said potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and calibration information, said calibration information comprising a user- inputted yield associated with said percentage of reflected lighting.
However, Noguchi teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to estimate said potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and calibration information, said calibration information comprising a user- inputted yield associated with said percentage of reflected lighting. (Noguchi, Figure 1, Figures 26-27 [0078] Also, being capable of predicting the harvest time and crop yields of plants provides greater value for a system user. To implement such capability, the server 704 can execute multivariate analysis in response to commands from the user terminals 710 and 712, by using conditions (raising conditions) under which the produce has been actually raised, such as the plant activity (the normalized vegetation index NDVI is one of indicators, (…) a degree of water stress, situations of watering and fertilization, hours of sunshine, the air temperature, the humidity, and the like. These conditions are analyzed with the raising stages, the harvest time, and the crop yields of the plants obtained under the conditions. The more these data items are accumulated, the higher the precision becomes in terms of predicted output (harvest time and crop yields” [0261] Note that the NDVI can be used as an index for control for a comparatively long period such as managing raising states and harvest time, whereas the PRI is an index with which a short cycle control is possible when water stress is given. By using both indices, the server 704 and the like can execute control for putting the quality and crop yields of plants into desired states over the entire raising
period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 6,
Miller is silent on wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine one or more parameter values, select calibration data from said calibration information based on said one or more parameter values, and estimate said potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and said calibration data.
However, Noguchi teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to determine one or more parameter values, select calibration data from said calibration information based on said one or more parameter values, and estimate said potential current yield based on said percentage of reflected light and said calibration data (Noguchi, Figure 1, Figures 26-27 [0078] Also, being capable of predicting the harvest time and crop yields of plants provides greater value for a system user. To implement such capability, the server 704 can execute multivariate analysis in response to commands from the user terminals 710 and 712, by using conditions (raising conditions) under which the produce has been actually raised, such as the plant activity (the normalized vegetation index NDVI is one of indicators, (…) a degree of water stress, situations of watering and fertilization, hours of sunshine, the air temperature, the humidity, and the like. These conditions are analyzed with the raising stages, the harvest time, and the crop yields of the plants obtained under the conditions. The more these data items are accumulated, the higher the precision becomes in terms of predicted output (harvest time and crop yields” [0261] Note that the NDVI can be used as an index for control for a comparatively long period such as managing raising states and harvest time, whereas the PRI is an index with which a short cycle control is possible when water stress is given. By using both indices, the server 704 and the like can execute control for putting the quality and crop yields of plants into desired states over the entire raising
period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 7,
Miller is silent on wherein said one or more parameter values comprise at least one of: position of said one or more light sources with respect to said plants, growth stage of said plants, stem density of said plants and plant density in said section of said plant growing environment.
However, Noguchi teaches wherein said one or more parameter values comprise at least one of: position of said one or more light sources with respect to said plants, growth stage of said plants, stem density of said plants and plant density in said section of said plant growing environment (Noguchi, Figure 1, Environmental Information unit 500, and environmental adjustment unit 600, and Figure 24-25,[0163], the environmental information obtainment unit 500 obtains environmental information that is used for estimating information about a plant indirectly.
The environmental information obtainment unit 500 obtains environmental information such as temperature, humidity, and illuminance in the plant cultivation facility 10, and transmits the obtained environmental information to the server 704. [0169] The adjustment units described above are usually
controlled by the server 704 so that environmental conditions are maintained and adjusted to predetermined setting conditions.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 5,
Miller is silent on wherein said at least one processor is configured to record yield over time at various temperatures and estimate said harvesting time further based on said recorded yield at said one or more assumed cultivation temperatures.
However, Noguchi teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to record yield over time at various temperatures and estimate said harvesting time further based on said recorded yield at said one or more assumed cultivation temperatures. (Noguchi, Figure 24, [0095] “the operating machine 100 may include sensor devices, for example, an infrared sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor. Information obtained by these sensors is transmitted to the server 704. The server 704 stores the information in the database 708, and utilizes the information for predicting harvest time and the like”. [0163], The environmental information obtainment unit 500 includes a temperature sensor 5002. [0168], The temperature adjustment unit 6002 executes atmosphere adjustment for the entire plant cultivation facility 10, to adjust the temperature in the plant cultivation facility 10.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 1,
Miller is silent on wherein said one or more color sensors comprise a plurality of color sensors and said at least one processor is configured to determine an average light measurement measured by said plurality of color sensors and estimate said harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said average light measurement and said intensity of said color component in said light
setting.
However, Yan teaches wherein said one or more color sensors comprise a plurality of color sensors and said at least one processor is configured to determine an average light measurement measured by said plurality of color sensors (Yan, Figure 1-2, Page 98, right col. Top paragraph, “The light intensity detector uses environmental light intensity sensor integrated circuit BH1750FVI. It is a kind of digital illumination sensor, using I2C bus to communicate with processor”) and estimate said harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said average light measurement and (Yan, Figure 2, (see below), Page 99, left col. Bottom paragraph, Initial growth parameters of various plants can be set in the software, and can be modified according to actual condition. Furthermore, these modified parameters will be stored in storage, which allow a repeat use. The system can automatically detect environment light intensity, and compared with the plant growth light demand parameters, to get the light supplement value and realize the optimal light control”) said intensity of said color component in said light setting. (Yan, Figure 2, Judge current growth, calculate light quality, light intensity, post period and adjust red blue LED through PWM Bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 1,
Miller further teaches further comprising at least one control interface, wherein said at least one processor (Miller, Figure 5, processor 930) is configured to control, via said at least one control interface, said one or more light source(Miller, Figure 2, lighting system 206) to illuminate said section of said plant growing environment according to said light setting(Miller, Figure 2, [0023], [0023] The lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or
more predetermined wavelengths that may facilitate plant growth. electromagnetic sources of the lighting system 206 may generally be positioned on the underside of the track 102 such that the electromagnetic sources can illuminate plant matter in the carts 104 on the track 102 below the electromagnetic sources),
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 11,
Miller further teaches wherein said at least one processor is configured to control, via said at least one control interface, said one or more light source (Miller, Figure 2, [0023], [0023] The lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or more predetermined wavelengths that may facilitate plant growth. electromagnetic sources of the lighting system 206 may generally be positioned on the underside of the track 102 such that the electromagnetic sources can illuminate plant matter in the carts 104 on the track 102 below the electromagnetic sources),
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Miller, Yan and Noguchi teaches the
system as claimed in claim 11,
Miller teaches wherein said at least one processor (Miller, Figure 5, processor 930) is configured to: control, via said at least one control interface (Miller, Figure 4, environmental sensors 313 and position sensors 315, in embodiments, weight sensors 310, etc); said one or more light sources to render light with a first light output level during a first moment and light with a second light output level during a second moment, an interval between said first moment and said second moment not exceeding an interval threshold,( Miller, Figure 2, [0023], [0023] The lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or more predetermined wavelengths that may facilitate plant growth. electromagnetic sources of the lighting system 206 may generally be positioned on the underside of the track 102 such that the electromagnetic sources can illuminate plant matter in the carts 104 on the track 102 below the electromagnetic sources. [0049] Similarly, the remote computing device 854 may include a server, personal computer, tablet, phablet, mobile device, server, or the like, and may be utilized for machine-to-machine communications. As an example, if the master controller 106 determines a type of seeds being used (and/or other information, such as ambient conditions), the master controller 106 may communicate with the remote computing device 854 to retrieve a previously stored recipe (e.g., predetermined preferred growing conditions, such as water/ nutrient requirements, lighting requirements, temperature requirements, humidity requirements, or the like).
Miller is silent on-obtain, via said at least one sensor interface first light measurement information measured at said first moment and second light measurement information measured at said second moment from at least one of said one or more color sensors,
-determine a daylight contribution based on a difference between said first light measurement information and said second light measurement information, -determine adjusted light measurement information by subtracting said daylight contribution from said light measurement information, and -estimate said harvesting time for said section.
However, Noguchi teaches -obtain, via said at least one sensor interface first light measurement information measured at said first moment and second light measurement information measured at said second moment from at least one of said one or more color sensors ((Noguchi, [0158], a color sensor is used that has an RGB color filter disposed in a Bayer array for each photodetector (pixel) of the photodetector array 64. This RGB color filter has peaks (maximal values) of the spectrum around 470 nm for B (blue), around 540 nm for G (green), and around 620 nm for R (red). The spectral characteristics of the filters 78Ba, 78Bb, and 78Bc constituting the filter 78B are different from those of the RGB filters constituting the second filters in the color sensor, respectively. By having rays of light pass through the filters constituting the filter 78B and the filters constituting the second filters in the color sensor, spectroscopic information can be obtained at the same time, which may be equivalent to that obtained with 3 by 3, or nine types of band pass filters”)
-determine a daylight contribution based on a difference between said first light measurement information and said second light measurement information (Noguchi, Figure 25, Illumination adjustment unit 6006, [0167] FIG. 25 is a schematic view illustrating the environment adjustment unit 600) The environment adjustment unit 600 adjusts the environment in the plant cultivation facility 10 with respect to the temperature, the humidity, the illuminance, and the like, based on information from the server 704. The environment adjustment unit 600 includes a temperature adjustment unit 6002, a humidity adjustment unit 6004, an illuminance adjustment unit 6006), -determine adjusted light measurement information by subtracting said daylight contribution from said light measurement information, and -estimate said harvesting time for said section(Noguchi, [0168], The illuminance adjustment unit 6006 is LEDs or the like that are controlled to be turned on and off when necessary so that the amount of light is adjusted, to adjust illuminance in the plant cultivation facility 10. Since light influences greatly photosynthesis of plants, controlling the illuminance also makes it possible to control the growth of plants. [ 0174] FIG. 26 is a flowchart illustrating a process of predicting harvest time according to an embodiment. The plant cultivation system 1 in the embodiment executes the process of predicting harvest time, to predict the harvest time of a target plant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 14, Miller teaches
A method of estimating a harvesting time in a plant growing environment, said method comprising: (Miller, Figures2, and 4, [0002] Embodiments described herein generally relate to systems and methods for determining harvest tinting for plant matter within a grow pod, The assembly line grow pod 100), said system comprising:
at least one sensor interface (Miller, Figure 4, environmental sensors
313 and position sensors 315, in embodiments, weight sensors 310, etc); and at least one processor (Miller, Figure 5, processor 930) configured to: determine a light setting used by one or more light sources (Miller, Figure 2, lighting system 206) to illuminate a section of said plant growing environment with horticulture grow light that, in terms of light intensity and spectrum, is suitable for growing plants in said plant growing environment (Miller, Figure 2, [0023], [0023] The lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or
more predetermined wavelengths that may facilitate plant growth. electromagnetic sources of the lighting system 206 may generally be positioned on the underside of the track 102 such that the electromagnetic sources can illuminate plant matter in the carts 104 on the track 102 below the electromagnetic sources),
Miller teaches lighting system 206 includes one or more electromagnetic sources to provide light waves in one or more predetermined wavelengths (known wave lengths) that may facilitate plant growth.
Miller is silent on said light setting comprising at least an intensity of a color component associated with said section of said plant growing environment
estimate a harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said light measurement information, (ii) said intensity of said color component in said light setting wherein the processor is configured to receive, via a wired or wireless receiver, the light setting from the one or more light sources or from a controller of the one or more light sources
However, Yan teaches light setting comprising at least an intensity of a color component associated with said section of said plant growing environment
estimate a harvesting time for said section of said plant growing environment based on said light measurement information, (Yan, Figure 2, (see below), Page 99, left col. Bottom paragraph, Initial growth parameters of various plants can be set in the software, and can be modified according to actual condition. Furthermore, these modified parameters will be stored in storage, which allow a repeat use. The system can automatically detect environment light intensity, and compared with the plant growth light demand parameters, to get the light supplement value and realize the optimal light control (ii) said intensity of said color component in said light setting wherein the processor is configured to receive, via a wired or wireless receiver, the light setting from the one or more light sources or from a controller of the one or more light sources. (Yan, Page 98, right col. Middle paragraph, One channel
for red light, one channel for green light and two channels for blue. Using such combination to simulate the spectrum that plants growth required for photosynthesis. LED light source module is composed of one group of red LEDs, one group of green LEDs, and two groups of blue LEDs. A basic LED unit contains 8 red Led, 2 blue Led, and 1 green Led. In plant growth mode, red LED and blue LED can realize light ratio of 8:1 and 8:2, and meet the demands of different production stage. When people are working exposed to LED
light source, system will reduce the red and blue light illumination intensity through PWM adjustment, in addition, controller will light the green LED, to achieve a safe production environment”, NOTE: Yan et al. figure 2. See above claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Miller and Yan are silent on
(iii) a cultivation temperature protocol for said section of said plant growing environment, said cultivation temperature protocol comprising one or more assumed cultivation temperatures.
However, Noguchi teaches (iii) a cultivation temperature protocol (Noguchi, Figure 24, Temperature sensor 5002) for said section of said plant growing environment (Noguchi, Figures 1, and environment information unit 500), said cultivation temperature protocol comprising one or more assumed cultivation temperatures. (Noguchi, Figure 24, [0095] “the operating machine 100 may include sensor devices, for example, an infrared sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor. Information obtained by these sensors is transmitted to the server 704. The server 704 stores the information in the database 708, and utilizes the information for predicting harvest time and the like”. [0163], The environmental information obtainment unit 500 includes a temperature sensor 5002. [0168], The temperature adjustment unit 6002 executes atmosphere adjustment for the entire plant cultivation facility 10, to adjust the temperature in the plant cultivation facility 10.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller system for determining harvest time to incorporate Noguchi’s system with a color sensor, temperature sensor and associated system with the benefits of controlled agricultural system about designing and operating a plant production line of an agricultural facility, and a plant factory is to improve productivity of plants, which is solved by using various camera devices in the embodiment. (Noguchi, [0058])
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Miller and Noguchi teaches the method of claim 14,
Miller further teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, the instructions, when executed by a computer system (Miller, Figure 5, [0050] FIG. 5 depicts the computing device 130 of the master controller 106, according to embodiments described herein. As illustrated, the computing device 130 includes a processor 930, input/output hardware 932, the network
interface hardware 934, a data storage component 936, and the memory component 840, component 840 may be configured as volatile and/or nonvolatile
memory and as such, may include random access memory) the computer system to perform the method of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, combination of Miller and Noguchi teaches the system of claim 1,
Miller is silent on wherein the color component of the light setting corresponds to a color a plant arranged in said section of said plant growing environment.
However, Yan teaches wherein the color component of the light setting corresponds to a color a plant arranged in said section of said plant growing environment. (Yan, Page 98, right col. Middle paragraph, One channel
for red light, one channel for green light and two channels for blue. Using such combination to simulate the spectrum that plants growth required for photosynthesis. LED light source module is composed of one group of red LEDs, one group of green LEDs, and two groups of blue LEDs. A basic LED unit contains 8 red Led, 2 blue Led, and 1 green Led. In plant growth mode, red LED and blue LED can realize light ratio of 8:1 and 8:2, and meet the demands of different production stage. When people are working exposed to LED
light source, system will reduce the red and blue light illumination intensity through PWM adjustment, in addition, controller will light the green LED, to achieve a safe production environment”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Miller and Noguchi teaches the method of claim 14,
Miller is silent on wherein the color component of the light setting corresponds to a color a plant arranged in said section of said plant growing environment.
However, Yan teaches wherein the color component of the light setting corresponds to a color a plant arranged in said section of said plant growing environment. (Yan, Page 98, right col. Middle paragraph, One channel
for red light, one channel for green light and two channels for blue. Using such combination to simulate the spectrum that plants growth required for photosynthesis. LED light source module is composed of one group of red LEDs, one group of green LEDs, and two groups of blue LEDs. A basic LED unit contains 8 red Led, 2 blue Led, and 1 green Led. In plant growth mode, red LED and blue LED can realize light ratio of 8:1 and 8:2, and meet the demands of different production stage. When people are working exposed to LED
light source, system will reduce the red and blue light illumination intensity through PWM adjustment, in addition, controller will light the green LED, to achieve a safe production environment”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller lighting system for a controlled illumination of specific color component light for specific color plant growth as taught by Yan with the benefits of detecting the environmental parameters and adjust the required illumination parameters to fit plant growth in different life cycle (Yan, Abstract, page 97, left col. Middle paragraph).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gilley et al. (US 20180220592 A1) recites “A method and system for plant growth lighting. The method comprises accessing a reference growth profile associated with a plant under cultivation. Based on comparing a growth state of the plant with the reference growth profile, a desired intraday growth lighting condition corresponding to the plant growth state is identified. The desired intraday growth lighting condition is correlated with a spectral output frequency signature of the LED growth lighting source. The desired intraday growth condition is simulated by providing lighting including the correlated spectral output frequency signature from the LED lighting source to the plant under cultivation” (Abstract).
UENO et al (US 20180035619 A1) discloses “An illumination system includes: a light-emitting module including a blue LED light source that emits blue light having a light emission peak in a blue range of from 400 nm to 470 nm and a red LED light source that emits red light having a light emission peak in a red range of from 610 nm to 680 nm; a light regulator that controls a first light intensity, which is light intensity at the light emission peak in the blue range, and a second light intensity, which is light intensity at the light emission peak in the red range, in a light emission spectrum of light emitted by the light-emitting module; and a clock that measures a time. The light regulator causes the second light intensity to change in conjunction with a change in the first light intensity, in accordance with the time measured by the clock”(Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
3/2/2026