DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/26/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application. Claims 3-11 have been withdrawn due to a restriction requirement. No claims have been cancelled. No new claims have been added. Applicant's amendments to the abstract and specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 06/26/2025.
The Examiner notes that the changes in the amended claims filed 09/26/2025 were not indicated by strike-through and underlining and that the claims are incorrectly labeled “(currently amended)” since the claims are identical to the claims previously filed on 08/30/2022 and are therefore not “currently amended”. See Claim Objections below.
As a courtesy, the Examiner has examined the improperly marked claim set, rather than returning it to Applicant for correction.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: the changes in the amended claims were not indicated by strike-through and underlining and the claims are incorrectly labeled “(currently amended)” since the claims are identical to the claims previously filed on 08/30/2022 and are therefore not “currently amended”.
Applicant is reminded of 37 C.F.R. 1.121 and MPEP § 714 II C which states that: (A) Status Identifiers: The current status of all of the claims in the application, including any previously canceled or withdrawn claims, must be given. Status is indicated in a parenthetical expression following the claim number by one of the following status identifiers: (original), (currently amended), (previously presented), (canceled), (withdrawn), (new), or (not entered). (B) Markings to Show the Changes: All claims being currently amended must be presented with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version. The changes in any amended claim must be shown by strike-through (for deleted matter) or underlining (for added matter) with 2 exceptions: (1) for deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters, double brackets may be used (e.g., [[eroor]]); (2) if strike-through cannot be easily perceived (e.g., deletion of number "4" or certain punctuation marks), double brackets must be used (e.g., [[4]]). As an alternative to using double brackets, however, extra portions of text may be included before and after text being deleted, all in strike-through, followed by including and underlining the extra text with the desired change (e.g., number 4 as number 14 as ).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a hot-rolled, annealed highly anticorrosive martensitic stainless steel sheet” and “wherein chromium carbide or chromium nitride is distributed in a microstructure at a density of 25 particles/100 μm2”. The combination of these two limitations renders the claim indefinite. The preamble claims a “martensitic stainless steel sheet” which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand as a steel with a fully martensitic microstructure. However, the instant specification recites the hot-rolled, annealed steel material includes ferrite as a matrix in which chromium carbide or chromium nitride is distributed at a density of 25 particles/100 μm2 or more ([0018]). The presence of the chromium carbide or chromium nitride in a “ferrite matrix” is listed multiple times in the instant specification ([0004], [0018], [0035]-[0036], [0058], [0106]). The instant specification further recites the matrix of the steel is transformed from ferrite to austenite and in this process the chromium carbonitride is resolidified in the matrix in the form of chromium, carbon, and nitrogen ([0079]-[0080]), which implies that the claimed chromium carbide or chromium nitride are no longer present in a precipitate form in the final martensitic steel sheet. The claimed martensitic steel, by definition, cannot have ferrite as matrix since the matrix is assumed to be martensite for the steel to be considered “martensitic”.
Further regarding claim 1, given the indefinite issue regarding the microstructure of the martensitic stainless steel as described above, it is further unclear whether the limitation “in a microstructure” from the limitation “wherein chromium carbide or chromium nitride is distributed in a microstructure at a density of 25 particles/100 μm2” refers to the martensitic structure, a different microstructure that is not disclosed, or an intermediate microstructure along the processing of the claimed martensitic stainless steel sheet.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1, does not resolve the aforementioned issues, and is thereby also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2008/163452 A of Teraoka (as cited in prior Office action and in IDS mailed 01/03/2024 with reference to its English machine translation).
Teraoka teaches a martensitic stainless steel sheet which shows a high corrosion resistance and is excellent in wear resistance (Abstract, martensitic stainless steel sheet with high corrosion resistance reads on the claimed highly anticorrosive martensitic stainless steel sheet).
Table 1
Instant claims (wt%)
Teraoka (mass%)
Teraoka Ex. 10 (mass%)
C
0.14 - 0.21
0.13 - 0.18
0.15
N
0.05 - 0.11
0.03 - 0.06
0.055
Si
0.1 - 0.6
0.30 - 0.60
0.3
Mn
0.4 - 1.2
0.10 - 0.60
0.6
Cr
14.0 - 17.0
11.0 - 15.0
14.8
C+N
0.2 - 0.32
0.19 - 0.23
0.21
P: 0.035 or less
S: 0.015
Ni: 0.10 - 0.60
Cu: 0.50 or less
V: 0.10 or less
Al: 0.05 or less
Mo: 0.01 - 1.0
Ti: 0.005 - 0.050
Nb: 0.005 - 0.050
P: 0.023
S: 0.002
Ni: 0.50
Cu: 0.01
V: 0.03
Al: 0.005
Fe and inevitable impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
PREN
≥ 16
11.5 - 19.3
15.7
Precipitation temperature by
Formula (2)
≤ 950
866-940
837
Teraoka teaches a martensitic stainless steel sheet with chemical composition and PREN values overlapping with the steel sheet of the claimed invention as shown in Table 1. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Teraoka therefore reads on the limitation highly anticorrosive martensitic stainless steel sheet comprising, in percent by weight (wt%), 0.14 to 0.21% of C, 0.05 to 0.11% of N, 0.1 to 0.6% of Si, 0.4 to 1.2% of Mn, 14.0 to 17.0% of Cr, 0.2 to 0.32% of C+N, and the balance of Fe and inevitable impurities of claim 1 and a PREN value, represented by Formula (1) below, is 16 or more of claim 1.
Teraoka teaches hot rolling ([0044]-[0046]) and annealing in a batch annealing furnace ([0047]).
Teraoka therefore reads on the limitation a hot-rolled, annealed highly anticorrosive martensitic stainless steel sheet of claim 1.
However, Teraoka does not explicitly disclose wherein chromium carbide or chromium nitride is distributed in a microstructure at a density of 25 particles/100 μm2, a precipitation temperature of chromium carbide is 950°C or lower of claim 1 and wherein an elongation is 20% or more of claim 2.
The instant specification recites the precipitation temperature of Cr carbide relies on the C and Cr content and is expressed by Formula (2) ([0041], [0081]-[0083]).
While Teraoka does not recite the value of Formula (2), one can calculate the values given the composition of Teraoka which results in precipitation temperatures of 866-940°C and meets the limitation of 950°C or lower.
Teraoka therefore reads on the limitation a precipitation temperature of chromium carbide is 950°C or lower of claim 1.
The instant specification recites there is a need to establish an annealing pattern so that fine chromium carbide is uniformly distributed and that the annealing performed is batch annealing ([0006], [0037]). The instant specification recites when the C+N content is excessive, the elongation may deteriorate ([0051]).
Given the overlapping chemical composition, microstructure, and processing of the steel sheet of Teraoka and the instant invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the steel sheet of Teraoka to possess the claimed chromium carbide or chromium nitride density and elongation. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the steel of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (both are martensitic stainless steel sheets), and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes (see processing analysis above). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference steel, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference steel does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Teraoka therefore reads on the limitations wherein chromium carbide or chromium nitride is distributed in a microstructure at a density of 25 particles/100 μm2 of claim 1 and wherein an elongation is 20% or more of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Teraoka does not teach or suggest independent claim 1, as recited above (remarks, page 9). Applicant further argues that the presently claimed invention is non-obvious in view of Teraoka because of specific numerical recitations and technical configurations that are neither taught nor suggested by Teraoka (remarks, page 9).
In response, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. In this case, Applicant does not explain how the steel of Teraoka is different to the instant invention nor does the Applicant present evidence supporting their arguments to demonstrate why the steel of Teraoka does not possess the claimed properties of the instant invention.
Applicant argues that the recitation of a chromium carbide distribution of 25 particles/100 pm2 or more represents a microstructural control technology that cannot be achieved through mere compositional adjustment (remarks, page 9).
In response, the instant specification recites the precipitation temperature of Cr carbide relies on the C and Cr content and is expressed by Formula (2) ([0041], [0081]-[0083]) and the instant specification further recites there is a need to establish an annealing pattern so that fine chromium carbide is uniformly distributed and that the annealing performed is batch annealing ([0006], [0037]). Teraoka teaches hot rolling ([0044]-[0046]) and annealing in a batch annealing furnace ([0047]). Since the steel sheet of Teraoka and the instant invention have overlapping chemical compositions, microstructures, and processing steps (both perform hot-rolling and batch annealing) as outlined in the 103 rejection in this Office action, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the steel sheet of Teraoka to possess the claimed chromium carbide or chromium nitride density of the instant specification despite Teraoka not explicitly disclosing a chromium carbide or chromium nitride density. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference steel, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference steel does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims.
Applicant argues that the corrosion resistance index (PREN) of 16 or greater is not a simple compositional sum but a predictive metric for corrosion resistance (remarks, page 9).
In response, the instant claim recites a PREN value is represented by a formula which is based on compositional values of Cr, Mo, and N and therefore, a PREN value is a result of composition. The steel of Teraoka has overlapping PREN values with the instant invention, as shown in List 1 in this Office action and therefore reads on the instant invention.
Applicant argues that the nitrogen content range of 0.05- 0.11% in the present invention is significantly higher than Teraoka 0.03-0.06% (remarks, page 9).
In response, the nitrogen ranges of Teraoka and the instant invention overlap in a range of 0.05-0.06% and therefore the nitrogen content range of the instant invention is not “significantly higher” than Teraoka’s as argued by Applicant.
Applicant argues that Teraoka remains limited to simple compositional optimization, confirming that the technical approach of the present invention is fundamentally different (remarks, page 10).
In response, Applicant is reminded that the claims are directed to a product and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the instant case, the steel of Teraoka reads on the claimed composition, microstructure, chromium carbide or nitride, precipitation temperature of chromium carbide, and PREN values as described in the 103 rejections in this Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733