DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner notes that acrylic resin is electrically non-conductive and functions as a polymer binder, as evidenced by [0043], [0008] of Morishita et al. (JP 2019-175827 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
The Examiner notes that cerium oxide (CeO2) is electrically non-conductive, as evidenced by [0029] of Imai (JPWO 2018-168550 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyung et al. (US PGPub 2007/0154801 A1, cited on the IDS dated August 30, 2022) and further in view of Taniguchi (US PGPub 2015/0050549 A1), Fetzer et al. (DE 10 2014-201539 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated January 17, 2025), and Li et al. (CN 205542934 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), with evidence provided by Morishita et al. (JP 2019-175827 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) and Imai (JPWO 2018-168550 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, Hyung discloses in Figs. 1-2 a cylindrical secondary battery (100) ([0025]), comprising:
a battery case (300, 400) ([0025]);
an electrode assembly (200) including a positive electrode (210), a separator (230), and a negative electrode (220) housed in the battery case (300, 400) together with an electrolyte solution ([0025]-[0026]);
a gasket (305); and
wherein the battery case (300, 400) is made of metal ([0029]-[0030]), and comprises a cylindrical can (300) that includes a housing part (310) in which the electrode assembly (200) and the electrolyte solution are housed together and a beading part (340) located at an upper part of the housing part (310) ([0029]); and a cap assembly (400) that is mounted on an open upper end part of the cylindrical can (300) and includes an upper end cap (490) having a protrusion-type electrode terminal ([0029]-[0030]).
Hyung further discloses in Figs. 2 and 4a-b a hollow center pin (360) inserted into a central part of the electrode assembly (200) ([0031]-[0034], [0040]).
Specifically, Hyung discloses an anti-corrosion layer (380) coated on an outer surface of the center pin (360) where the center pin (360) and the electrolyte solution contact each other in order to provide corrosion-resistance, thereby preventing metal leaching of the center pin (360) ([0041], [0038]-[0040]).
Moreover, Hyung discloses wherein the anti-corrosion layer (380) is not particularly limited and may comprise an organic material such as a polymer or an inorganic material such as a metal ([0041]).
However, Hyung does not disclose wherein the anti-corrosion layer is an organic-inorganic mixed layer having a thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm and wherein the anti-corrosion layer is electrically non-conductive at the thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm.
Taniguchi teaches an anti-corrosion layer (14) for use in a secondary battery that decreases or prevents corrosion of a metal ([0050]-[0051]).
Specifically, Taniguchi teaches wherein the anti-corrosion layer (14) may be a layer formed by ceria sol treatment with a corrosion prevention treatment agent made of cerium oxide, phosphoric acid, and a thermosetting resin such as acrylic resin ([0052], [0054], e.g. [0110]) and therefore Taniguchi teaches wherein the anti-corrosion layer (14) is an organic-inorganic (acrylic resin-cerium oxide) mixed layer.
Taniguchi further teaches the anti-corrosion layer (14) preferably having a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 5 µm in view of corrosion prevention function ([0055]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the anti-corrosion layer of Hyung to be an organic-inorganic mixed layer having a thickness in the range taught by Taniguchi, as such is a known composition in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully provide corrosion-resistance, thereby preventing metal leaching of the center pin of Hyung, as desired by Hyung.
The Examiner notes that the anti-corrosion layer comprises cerium oxide and acrylic resin and therefore is electrically non-conductive at the thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm, as evidenced by [0029] of Imai and [0043], [0008] of Morishita.
Modified Hyung does not disclose wherein the anti-corrosion layer is coated on an inner surface of the housing part where the housing part contacts the electrolyte solution, or coating the inner surface of the housing part and the beading part.
Fetzer teaches a battery case with an improved protective effect ([0001]).
Specifically, Fetzer teaches wherein an anti-corrosion layer is coated on an inner surface of a housing where the housing contacts an electrolyte solution in order to prevent corrosion of the housing ([0008]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further form the anti-corrosion layer of modified Hyung on an inner surface of the housing part of modified Hyung where the housing part contacts the electrolyte solution of modified Hyung, as taught by Fetzer, in order to prevent corrosion of the housing part, thereby achieving a battery case with an improved protective effect.
Modified Hyung further discloses wherein the gasket (305 of Hyung) is mounted on an upper part of the beading part (340 of Hyung) of the cylindrical can (300 of Hyung) (Fig. 2, [0029] of Hyung).
However, modified Hyung does not disclose wherein the anti-corrosion layer is coated on a surface of the gasket facing an inner area of the cylindrical can and on an edge of the gasket facing a center of the cylindrical can.
Li teaches in Fig. 1 a battery comprising a gasket (1), wherein an anti-corrosion layer (2) is coated on a surface of the gasket (1) facing an inner area of the battery and on an edge of the gasket (1) facing a center of the battery in order to make the battery corrosion-resistant and leak-proof ([0006], [0008], [0027]-[0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further coat the anti-corrosion layer of modified Hyung on a surface of the gasket of modified Hyung facing an inner area of the cylindrical can of modified Hyung and on an edge of the gasket facing a center of the cylindrical can, as taught by Li, in order to make the cylindrical secondary battery of modified Hyung corrosion-proof and leak-proof.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal is aluminum or iron ([0029] of Hyung).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the electrode assembly (200 of Hyung) is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly ([0026] of Hyung).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the anti-corrosion layer (380 of Hyung) is coated on a hollow inner surface of the center pin (360 of Hyung) (Figs. 4a-b, [0041] of Hyung).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the center pin (360 of Hyung) may be made of copper or iron ([0042], [0034] of Hyung).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the center pin of modified Hyung of copper or iron, as disclosed by modified Hyung, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the center pin desired by modified Hyung.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the organic-inorganic mixed layer comprises inorganic particles of cerium oxide and acrylic resin ([0053], [0110] of Taniguchi) and therefore modified Hyung discloses wherein the organic-inorganic mixed layer comprises inorganic particles having a dielectric constant of 1 or more and a binder polymer, as evidenced by P12, L13-15 and P13, L19-P14, L2 of the instant specification and [0043], [0008] of Morishita.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyung et al. (US PGPub 2007/0154801 A1, cited on the IDS dated August 30, 2022) and further in view of Taniguchi (US PGPub 2015/0050549 A1), Fetzer et al. (DE 10 2014-201539 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated January 17, 2025), and Li et al. (CN 205542934 U, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), with evidence provided by Morishita et al. (JP 2019-175827 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) and Imai (JPWO 2018-168550 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Shim et al. (KR 2014-0005653 A, cited on the IDS dated August 30, 2022, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses in Fig. 2 of Hyung wherein:
the cap assembly (400 of Hyung) has a safety device (480 of Hyung) for current interruption (PTC device) and a safety vent (410 of Hyung) for internal pressure drop stacked under the upper end cap (490 of Hyung) ([0030] of Hyung), and
the electrode assembly (200 of Hyung) comprises a positive electrode tab (215 of Hyung) and a negative electrode tab (225 of Hyung) extending from the electrode assembly (200of Hyung), wherein the positive electrode tab (215 of Hyung) is connected to the cap assembly (400 of Hyung), and the negative electrode tab (225 of Hyung) is connected to a bottom surface (320 of Hyung) of the cylindrical can (300 of Hyung) spaced apart from the housing part (310 of Hyung) of the cylindrical can (300 of Hyung) ([0027]-[0030] of Hyung).
Modified Hyung further discloses a current interruption device (CID) (420 of Hyung) provided on top of the safety vent (410 of Hyung) so that the current interrupting means is fractured when the safety vent (420 of Hyung) is deformed, thereby interrupting current ([0030] of Hyung).
Consequently, modified Hyung does not disclose wherein the current interruption device (CID) is located at a lower end of the safety vent.
Shim teaches in Fig. 1 a conventional cylindrical secondary battery comprising a cap assembly (10) and a gasket (15) mounted on an upper part of a beading (40) of a cylindrical can (20), wherein the cap assembly (10) comprises a safety vent (12) for internal pressure drop stacked under an upper end cap (11) and a current interruption device (CID) (14) located at a lower end of the safety vent (12), wherein the combination of the safety vent (12) and the current interruption device (CID) (14) blocks current or exhausts gas when pressure inside the secondary battery rises ([0007]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the current interruption device (CID) of modified Hyung to be located at a lower end of the safety vent of modified Hyung, as taught by Shim, as such is a known configuration in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully block current or exhaust gas when pressure inside the secondary battery of modified Hyung rises, as desired by modified Hyung.
Claims 9-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyung et al. (US PGPub 2007/0154801 A1, cited on the IDS dated August 30, 2022) and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US PGPub 2011/0129706 A1), Taniguchi (US PGPub 2015/0050549 A1), Fetzer et al. (DE 10 2014-201539 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated January 17, 2025), and Kerlau et al. (US PGPub 2014/0004426 A1), with evidence provided by Morishita et al. (JP 2019-175827 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 11, 2025) and Imai (JPWO 2018-168550 A1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated July 11, 2025).
Regarding Claims 9, 11, and 13, Hyung discloses in Figs. 1-2 a secondary battery (100) ([0025]), comprising:
a battery case (300, 400) ([0025]);
an electrode assembly (200) including a positive electrode (210), a separator (230), and a negative electrode (220) housed in the battery case (300, 400) together with an electrolyte solution ([0025]-[0026]); and
wherein the battery case (300, 400) is made of metal ([0029]-[0030]), and comprises a can body (300) that has an open upper end and houses the electrode assembly (200 and the electrolyte solution together therein ([0029]); and a top cap (400) that is coupled and sealed to the upper end of the can body (300) and are connected to electrode terminals (215, 225) of the electrode assembly ([0027]-[0029]).
Hyung further discloses wherein the electrode assembly (200) is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly ([0026]).
However, Hyung discloses wherein the secondary battery (100) is a cylindrical secondary battery (Figs. 1-2, [0025]).
Consequently, Hyung does not disclose wherein the secondary battery is a prismatic secondary battery and further wherein the can body is a rectangular can body and the top cap includes cap terminals that are coupled and sealed to the upper end of the can body and are connected to electrode terminals of the electrode assembly.
Takahashi teaches a secondary battery (1) comprising a center pin (5) inserted into a center part of an electrode assembly (4), wherein the electrode assembly (4) is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly ([0067]-[0068], i.e. the electrode assembly 4 is a winding body).
Specifically, Takahashi teaches wherein a shape of the secondary battery is not particularly limited so long as the electrode assembly (4) is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly (i.e. a winding body) and for example may be a cylindrical secondary battery or a prismatic secondary battery ([0034], [0065]).
Takahashi further teaches in Figs. 3-4 wherein the prismatic secondary battery (1) comprises a rectangular can body (22) that has an open upper end and houses the electrode assembly (4) and an electrolyte solution (13) together therein; and a top cap (3) including cap terminals (23, 24) that are coupled and sealed to the upper end part of the can body (22) and are connected to electrode terminals of the electrode assembly (4) ([0067]-[0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the secondary battery of Hyung to be a prismatic secondary battery, wherein the can body of Hyung is a rectangular can body that has an open upper end and houses the electrode assembly of Hyung and the electrolyte solution of Hyung together therein and wherein the top cap of Hyung includes cap terminals that are coupled and sealed to the upper end of the can body and are connected to electrode terminals of the electrode assembly, as taught by Takahashi, wherein such is a known shape of a secondary battery in the art comprising a jelly-roll type electrode assembly and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form a secondary battery, as desired by Hyung.
Modified Hyung discloses in Figs. 2 and 4a-b of Hyung hollow center pin (360 of Hyung, corresponding to 5 of Takahashi) inserted into a central part of the electrode assembly (200 of Hyung, corresponding to 4 of Takahashi) ([0031]-[0034], [0040] of Hyung).
Specifically, modified Hyung discloses an anti-corrosion layer (380 of Hyung) coated on an outer surface of the center pin (360 of Hyung) where the center pin (360 of Hyung) and the electrolyte solution contact each other in order to provide corrosion-resistance, thereby preventing metal leaching of the center pin (360 of Hyung) ([041], [0038]-[0040] of Hyung).
Moreover, modified Hyung discloses wherein the anti-corrosion layer (380 of Hyung) is not particularly limited and may comprise an organic material such as a polymer or an inorganic material such as a metal ([0041] of Hyung).
However, Hyung does not disclose wherein the anti-corrosion layer is an organic-inorganic mixed layer having a thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm and wherein the anti-corrosion layer is electrically non-conductive at the thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm.
Taniguchi teaches an anti-corrosion layer (14) for use in a secondary battery that decreases or prevents corrosion of a metal ([0050]-[0051]).
Specifically, Taniguchi teaches wherein the anti-corrosion layer (14) may be a layer formed by ceria sol treatment with a corrosion prevention treatment agent made of cerium oxide, phosphoric acid, and a thermosetting resin such as acrylic resin ([0052], [0054], e.g. [0110]) and therefore Taniguchi teaches wherein the anti-corrosion layer (14) is an organic-inorganic (acrylic resin-cerium oxide) mixed layer.
Taniguchi further teaches the anti-corrosion layer (14) preferably having a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 5 µm in view of corrosion prevention function ([0055]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the anti-corrosion layer of Hyung to be an organic-inorganic mixed layer having a thickness in the range taught by Taniguchi, as such is a known composition in the art, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully provide corrosion-resistance, thereby preventing metal leaching of the center pin of Hyung, as desired by Hyung.
The Examiner notes that the anti-corrosion layer comprises cerium oxide and acrylic resin and therefore is electrically non-conductive at the thickness of 1 µm or more to less than 10 µm, as evidenced by [0029] of Imai and [0043], [0008] of Morishita.
Furthermore, modified Hyung does not disclose wherein the anti-corrosion layer is coated on an inner surface of the can body where the can body contacts the electrolyte solution, or coated on the inner surface of the can body and an inner surface of the top cap excluding the cap terminals.
Fetzer teaches a battery case with an improved protective effect ([0001]).
Specifically, Fetzer teaches wherein an anti-corrosion layer is coated on an inner surface of a housing where the housing contacts an electrolyte solution in order to prevent corrosion of the housing ([0008]-[0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further form the anti-corrosion layer of modified Hyung on an inner surface of the can body of modified Hyung where the can body contacts the electrolyte solution of modified Hyung, as taught by Fetzer, in order to prevent corrosion of the can body, thereby achieving a battery case with an improved protective effect.
Modified Hyung further discloses wherein the electrode assembly (200 of Hyung, corresponding to 4 of Takahashi) comprises a positive electrode tab (11 of Takahashi) and a negative electrode tab (21 of Takahashi) extending from the electrode assembly (200 of Hyung, corresponding to 4 of Takahashi), and the positive electrode tab (11 of Takahashi) and the negative electrode tab (21 of Takahashi) are connected to the cap terminals (23, 24 of Takahashi) respectively ([0068]-[0076] of Takahashi).
However, modified Hyung does not disclose wherein a conductive layer including a conductive material configured to prevent corrosion while having electrical conductivity is formed on one or more of: the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, or the cap terminals.
Kerlau teaches wherein a conductive layer including a conductive material configured to prevent corrosion while having electrical conductivity may be formed on a negative electrode tab in order to protect the negative electrode tab against corrosion ([0118]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a conductive layer including a conductive material configured to prevent corrosion while having electrical conductivity on the negative electrode tab of modified Hyung, as taught by Kerlau, in order to form a negative electrode tab that is protected against corrosion.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the metal is aluminum or iron ([0029] of Hyung).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the anti-corrosion layer (380 of Hyung) is coated on a hollow inner surface of the center pin (360 of Hyung) (Figs. 4a-b, [0041] of Hyung).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the center pin (360 of Hyung) may be made of copper or iron ([0042], [0034] of Hyung).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the center pin of modified Hyung of copper or iron, as disclosed by modified Hyung, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the center pin desired by modified Hyung.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hyung discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the organic-inorganic mixed layer comprises inorganic particles of cerium oxide and acrylic resin ([0053], [0110] of Taniguchi) and therefore modified Hyung discloses wherein the organic-inorganic mixed layer comprises inorganic particles having a dielectric constant of 1 or more and a binder polymer, as evidenced by P12, L13-15 and P13, L19-P14, L2 of the instant specification and [0043], [0008] of Morishita.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (KR 101976084 B1, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with this Office Action) teaches a conductive layer including a conductive material configured to prevent corrosion while having electrical conductivity is formed on an electrode terminal ([0010], [0014]).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725