DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 appears to have extraneous markings after each “of” in line 2 of the claim. It is unclear whether these markings are intentional or not. If they are intentional, Examiner will make note as they do not impact the claim interpretation. If they are not intentional, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sarver et al. (US 2019/0307556 A1), “Sarver”.
Regarding claim 1, Sarver teaches
A lens device (Fig. 4), comprising a base lens (Fig. 4, central optical zone 46) formed with a plurality of diffractive zones (Fig. 11, high power lenses),
each having a negative diffractive subzone (Fig. 11, negative power lenses) and a positive diffractive subzone (Fig. 11, positive power lenses),
said negative and said positive diffractive subzones being arranged alternately (Fig. 11, high-power lenses alternate in positive and negative power [0054]),
wherein each diffractive subzone has a constant-sign curvature along a radial direction of said base lens (Fig. 12, [0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Sarver teaches
wherein said base lens (Fig. 4, central optical zone 46) is also formed with a plurality of refractive zones (Fig. 9, profiles may be refractive or diffractive in nature [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Sarver teaches
wherein said refractive zones (Fig. 9, profiles may be refractive or diffractive in nature [0052]) are offset from said base lens (Fig. 4, central optical zone 46 is distanced away from virtual aperture 48 which comprises high-power lenses [0040])
to compensate a phase difference induced by light diffracted from said diffractive zones and refracted from said refractive zones (Fig. 4, light rays that intersect virtual aperture 48 region are dispersed widely downstream from the IOL [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Sarver teaches
comprising at least two radially separated segments of a non-diffractive region (Figs. 9 and 11, profiles may be refractive in nature [0052] and each lens is radially separated (Fig. 11)).
Regarding claim 13, Sarver teaches
wherein each of the positive diffractive subzone starts from a plane at which its adjacent negative diffractive subzones ends (Fig. 11, high-power lenses alternate in positive and negative power [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Sarver teaches
wherein an optical surface of the device is devoid of any vertical or substantially vertical steps (Fig. 12, high-power lenses comprise smooth profiles and transition zones [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, Sarver teaches
wherein at least one diffractive zone (Fig. 11, high-powered lenses) comprises a step between a respective negative diffractive subzone and a respective positive diffractive subzone (Fig. 12, transition zones),
said step separating a plane where said respective positive diffractive subzone starts from a plane at which said respective negative diffractive subzone ends (Fig. 12, transition zones surround high-power optic zone of each high-power lens [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Sarver teaches
A lens device (Fig. 4), comprising a base lens (Fig. 4, central optical zone 46) formed with a plurality of positive diffractive zones (Fig. 11, positive power lenses),
a plurality of negative diffractive zones (Fig. 11, negative power lenses),
and a step separating a plane where one of said positive diffractive zones starts from a plane at a negative diffractive zone adjacent to said one of said positive diffractive zones ends (Fig. 12, transition zones surround high-power optic zone of each high-power lens [0056]),
wherein each diffractive zone has a constant-sign curvature along a radial direction of said base lens (Fig. 12, [0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 21, Sarver teaches
wherein said base lens (Fig. 4, central optical zone 46) is also formed with a plurality of refractive zones (Fig. 9, profiles may be refractive or diffractive in nature [0052]).
Regarding claim 35, Sarver teaches
comprising a central zone configured as a negative diffractive zone (Fig. 11, negative power lens located closer to central of virtual aperture);
and a negative diffractive peripheral zone at a periphery of said base lens (Fig. 11, negative power lens located closer to periphery of virtual aperture).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarver et al. (US 2019/0307556 A1), “Sarver” in view of Lux et al. (US 2018/0303601 A1), “Lux”.
Regarding claim 2, Sarver teaches at least one of said negative (Fig. 11, negative power lenses) and said positive diffractive subzones (Fig. 11, positive power lenses), but fails to teach the subzones are characterized by a sawtooth profile.
Lux teaches a multifocal lens comprising a sawtooth profile (Fig. 3, saw-tooth-shaped diffractive structure 6 [0049]). Sarver discloses that the diffractive structures used in the lens are structures with well-known behaviors that are easy to manufacture [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the diffractive subzones taught by Sarver with the sawtooth profile taught by Lux in order to enable easy manufacturing.
Regarding claim 20, Sarver teaches at least one of said negative and said positive diffractive zones (Fig. 11, negative and positive power lenses), but fails to teach are characterized by a sawtooth profile.
Lux teaches a multifocal lens comprising a sawtooth profile (Fig. 3, saw-tooth-shaped diffractive structure 6 [0049]). Sarver discloses that the diffractive structures used in the lens are structures with well-known behaviors that are easy to manufacture [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the diffractive subzones taught by Sarver with the sawtooth profile taught by Lux in order to enable easy manufacturing.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarver et al. (US 2019/0307556 A1), “Sarver” in view of Simpson et al. (US 2010/0131060 A1), “Simpson”.
Regarding claim 4, Sarver teaches wherein a base power of all diffractive zones (Fig. 11, high power lenses) is the same, and the refractive zones (Fig. 9, profiles may be refractive or diffractive in nature [0052]) but fails to teach wherein a power of all refractive zones is different from the base power of all the diffractive zones.
Simpson teaches a multifocal ophthalmic lens wherein a power of all refractive zones is different from the base power of all the diffractive zones (refractive regions focusing power contribute only to the lens’s far-focus power while diffractive region directs energy to both near and far foci of the lens [0035]). Simpson discloses that the energy directed for far-focus power can be increased by reducing step heights and/or adjusting the curvature of the central refractive distance zone [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the diffractive and refractive zones taught by Sarver with the power distribution taught by Simpson in order to increase far vision capabilities of the lens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0041664 A1, US Pat. No. 8636796 B2, US Pat. No. 6536899 B1, US 2017/0219846 A1, and US 2013/0107201 A1.
/G.G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774