DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The present office action is in response to the Arguments/Remarks filed 05/19/2026. As directed by amendment, claim 1 has been amended. Thus, claims 1 and 5 are presented pending in this application.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to address minor informalities. Therefore, the previously held claim objection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see section under “Claim Rejection - 35 USC 103” filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the presented prior arts have defects such as low access efficiency, poor sealing reliability and a complex structure and address in comparison with prior art individually.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant presents solution and key inventive points of the present invention as follows:
The design of the horizontal folding at the lower end of the chamber door which naturally descends with the folding line when opened with the zipper
Spatial overlapping of the U-shaped zipper and the folding line as shown in Fig 1 so that the wheelchair accessible passage is formed when opened with the zipper and allowing naturally descends similar to point (a) above, such that the top space is not occupied.
Structure and connection of the U-shaped sealing strip which fits the opening of the zipper and deforms adaptively by means of the connecting point when the chamber door is opened, thus preventing leakage at corners.
Examiner respectfully disagree with applicant’s argument. In regards to the design of the horizontal folding and the spatial overlapping of the U-shaped zipper, the prior art, Guan (machine translation of WO 2017054404 A1), discloses that a size of the chamber door would be big enough for the patient to enter and exit including the wheelchairs (PG 6, ln 5-8). Even though Guan does not disclose the inverted U-shape door, another prior art, Unannounced inventor of CN 201921509730 U (machine translation of CN 201921509730 U; hereinafter, Tianjin ‘789), which is analogous art to the claimed inventor for the airtight structure with the airtight zipper (abstract), teaches various configuration of the door as shown in Fig 16-18 including, but not limited to the U-shaped and the inverted U-shaped door. As modified Guan in the preceding Office action, the door would naturally descends by the folding line when opened with the zippers. In regards to the sealing strip, the prior art, Deng (machine translation of CN 201085752 Y), which is analogous art to the claimed invention given that a sealing structure with the sealing zipper mechanism for high-pressure cabin (abstract), teaches an inner zipper strip (8) is installed on a rear end surface of the chamber door (15) (PG 2, ln 4-6, “the inner slide fastener 8 in the zipper sealing soft material 7 of the long and narrow opening, and the periphery of the inner zipper 8 and zipper sealing soft material 7 is sealed and fixed in the zipper sealing soft material 7 periphery sealed and fixed with the cabin body 3 to form the second layer sealing structure”),
an inner zipper slider (13) (an inner slide fastener 8 which is provided in the end of strip the zipper sealing soft material as shown in Fig 1) is installed at an end of the inner zipper strip (8),
a sealing strip (10) (a sealing body 4 which is between the outer zipper 1 and inner zipper 8 as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-18, “sealing body 4 comprises: the two sides of the soft material after being folded up”) is arranged at a middle position between the outer zipper slider (12) and the inner zipper slider (13),
an inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) (a fixed position 5, Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-8, “the inner slide fastener 8 periphery sealed with a sealing body 4 of fixed position 9, and zipper sealing soft material 7 the periphery of the chamber 3 is sealed and fixed position 5”) is installed on a right side of the sealing strip (10) (see annotation below, Fig 1), and
a connecting point (11) (a single sealing location 10 which is attached to the sealing strip onto the outer surface as shown in Fig 1) is provided on a left side of the sealing strip (10) (see annotation below, Fig 1) in order to prevent overflow and reduce cost of the zipper (PG 2, ln 26-31) as discussed in preceding Office action.
Applicant further provides analysis on the differences in the technical effects from the reference documents such as improvement on access convenience, improvement on sealing reliability, and synergistic effect of structures.
Examiner respectfully disagree with Applicant’s analysis. As discussed previously, the chamber door of Guan discloses that the size is big enough for the patient and the wheel chair. Further, the door of the instant application and the door of modified Guan would need to be manually opened via the zippers. For the sealing stability, the zipper of Guan is modified to include the sealing strip to improve the seal in order to prevent overflow while reducing the cost as discussed above and the preceding Office action. Regarding the synergistic effects, applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Further, Examiner notes that the folding line is merely defines a location about which the chamber door pivots after the U-shaped zipper is opened. The folding motion itself is an expected and inherent characteristic of a flexible sheet or material connected along one edge which functions as a hinge when the zipper is opened. Whether the flexible door panel naturally falls downwards, is folded downwards by a user, or is otherwise pivoted about the remaining attached edge is simply the predictable operation of such a flexible closure.
Applicant further provides inventive argument and lack of combinational enlightenment such as the absence of key features and the gaps in regards to the limitations that are already discussed above.
Examiner respectfully disagree with Applicant’s argument as applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references as discussed above.
For these reasons above, Examiner modifies the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection from prior Office action as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “when the vertical soft U-shaped opening and closing sealed air-pressure chamber is in use, first….use in the inner part of the chamber body (1) is observed through the transparent window (6)” in ln 40-53 which render claim indefinite.
It has been held that a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Further, claim 1 recites, “whether a human body or the human body carried in a wheelchair or a cart is very convenient to enter” in ln 47-48 and “it is impossible for a person with inconvenient mobility to enter the chamber body” in 61-62 render claim indefinite. It is unclear at which degree in comparison to what would be considered as “convenient” or “inconvenient,” or to distinguish “very convenient” from “somewhat convenient.” Said limitation is a subjective term of degree for which the claim fails to provide an objective standard for determining the scope of the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of what degree of accessibility or ease of entry constitutes “very convenient.” Thus, it is not possible for one of ordinary skill to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim.
Also, the limitation of claim 1 deems to be generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. For example, claim 1, ln 55-64, “…completely changes an opening and closing method of the soft air-pressure chamber…by means of the wheelchair or the cart are solved” renders describing the objective of the invention rather further defining the structure structurally or functionally. See MPEP 2173.05.
For the examination purposes, the narrative limitations are interpreted as to --a statement of intended use--.
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [MPEP 2114]. Examiner notes that if the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
Claim 5 is rejected by virtue of the dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (machine translation of WO 2017054404 A1) in view of Yoo (machine translation of KR 100848009 B1), Deng (machine translation of CN 201085752 Y), Unannounced inventor of CN 201921509730 U (machine translation of CN 201921509730 U; hereinafter, Tianjin ‘789), Han (machine translation of KR 20070110962 A), Kokalj et al. (US 20220096303 A1), and Zhang (machine translation of CN 206261775 A).
Regarding claim 1, Guan discloses, a vertical soft U-shaped opening and closing sealed air-pressure chamber (a human external compartment of Fig 1; PG 4, ln 8-24, implies positive pressure chamber), comprising
a chamber body (1) (a cartridge body 101, Fig 1) and an outer zipper strip (7) (see annotation below, Fig 1; PG 5, ln 37-43/last paragraph, “The inlet and outlet 102 seals the above-mentioned cartridge body 101 by combining a sealing zipper… a passage for the patient to enter and exit the cartridge body”),
wherein a chamber door (15) (an inlet and outlet 102, Fig 1) is installed on a front end surface of the chamber body (1) (as shown in Fig 1),
the outer zipper strip (7) is installed on a front end surface of the chamber door (15) (the zippers are placed on the front surface which is an outer surface of the chamber door as shown in Fig 1);
While Guan discloses that the sealing zipper (PG 5, ln 37-43/last paragraph) is provided to access the airtight chamber (101, Fig 1) via the chamber door (102, Fig 1), Guan is silent on an outer zipper slider (12) is installed at an end of the outer zipper strip (7).
However, Yoo which is analogous art to the claimed invention given that the capsule of the constant level high-pressure oxygen and a simple mechanism to allow user to open and close the capsule (abstract), teaches wherein an outer zipper slider (12) (a zipper/slider portion of 220 which open and closes 210, Fig 1, PG 5, ln 28--32) is installed at an end (see annotation below, Fig 1) of the outer zipper strip (7) (a zipper strip portion of 2220, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include an outer zipper slider (12) is installed at an end of the outer zipper strip (7) as taught by Yoo in order to block air or moisture when closed (PG 5, ln 28--32).
While Guan discloses that the chamber can be access easily by the personnel inside and outside (PG 6, ln 5-8), modified Guan is silent on an inner zipper strip (8) is installed on a rear end surface of the chamber door (15), an inner zipper slider (13) is installed at an end of the inner zipper strip (8), a sealing strip (10) is arranged at a middle position between the outer zipper slider (12) and the inner zipper slider (13), an inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) is installed on a right side of the sealing strip (10), a connecting point (11) is provided on a left side of the sealing strip (10),
However, Deng which is analogous art to the claimed invention given that a sealing structure with the sealing zipper mechanism for high-pressure cabin (abstract), teaches an inner zipper strip (8) is installed on a rear end surface of the chamber door (15) (PG 2, ln 4-6, “the inner slide fastener 8 in the zipper sealing soft material 7 of the long and narrow opening, and the periphery of the inner zipper 8 and zipper sealing soft material 7 is sealed and fixed in the zipper sealing soft material 7 periphery sealed and fixed with the cabin body 3 to form the second layer sealing structure”),
an inner zipper slider (13) (an inner slide fastener 8 which is provided in the end of strip the zipper sealing soft material as shown in Fig 1) is installed at an end of the inner zipper strip (8),
a sealing strip (10) (a sealing body 4 which is between the outer zipper 1 and inner zipper 8 as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-18, “sealing body 4 comprises: the two sides of the soft material after being folded up”) is arranged at a middle position between the outer zipper slider (12) and the inner zipper slider (13),
an inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) (a fixed position 5, Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-8, “the inner slide fastener 8 periphery sealed with a sealing body 4 of fixed position 9, and zipper sealing soft material 7 the periphery of the chamber 3 is sealed and fixed position 5”) is installed on a right side of the sealing strip (10) (see annotation below, Fig 1), and
a connecting point (11) (a single sealing location 10 which is attached to the sealing strip onto the outer surface as shown in Fig 1) is provided on a left side of the sealing strip (10) (see annotation below, Fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include an inner zipper strip (8) is installed on a rear end surface of the chamber door (15), an inner zipper slider (13) is installed at an end of the inner zipper strip (8), a sealing strip (10) is arranged at a middle position between the outer zipper slider (12) and the inner zipper slider (13), an inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) is installed on a right side of the sealing strip (10), and a connecting point (11) is provided on a left side of the sealing strip (10) as taught by Deng in order to prevent overflow and reduce cost of the zipper (PG 2, ln 26-31)
While Guan further discloses, the size of the chamber door would be big enough for the patient to enter and exit including the wheelchairs (PG 6, ln 5-8), modified Guan does not specifically discloses, a lower end of the chamber door (15) is provided with a folding line (14).
However, Tianjin ‘789 which is analogous art to the claimed inventor for the airtight structure with the airtight zipper (abstract), teaches that a lower end of the chamber door (15) (an inverted U-shaped door/n-shaped door as shown in Fig 16B; PG 8, ln 30-42, “…the door sealing member 1502 comprises an airtight zipper… double-head zipper, preferably double-head zipper) is provided with a folding line (14) (Examiner interprets a folding line as merely the line where the door flaps, bend, fold or pivot to the line such as hinge axis as described in PG 6 of the instant application; see annotation below, Fig 16B) in order to provide different sizes to accommodate the size of the stored articles, personnels in and out requirements (PG 5, ln 38-43; PG 9, ln 28-35)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include a lower end of the chamber door (15) is provided with a folding line (14) as taught by Tianjin ‘789 in order to provide different sizes to accommodate the size of the stored articles, personnels in and out requirements (PG 5, ln 38-43; PG 9, ln 28-35).
Guan further discloses, an air inlet (2) (a gas inlet hole 103 is on the right end surface of the chamber as shown in Fig 1) is installed on a right end surface of the chamber body (1).
Guan does not specifically discloses, a transparent window (6) is installed inside the chamber door (15).
However, Yoo teaches, a transparent window (6) (see-through part 240, Fig 1) is installed inside the chamber door (15) (210, Fig 1) in purpose of viewing outside from the inside (PG 6, ln 9-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include a transparent window (6) is installed inside the chamber door (15) as taught by Yoo in purpose of viewing outside from the inside (PG 6, ln 9-12).
While Guan discloses, a manual pressure-relief valve (4) (a exhalation valve 105, Fig 1; PG 5, ln 24-227, “the exhalation valve 105 is disposed on the wall of the chamber, and the exhalation valve 105 includes an air outlet and a film covering a portion of the air outlet, ...the film covers a part of the air outlet by rotating or sliding to control the outflow of the gas in the magazine body 101”) on a left end surface of the chamber body, Guan is silent on a pressure gauge (3) is installed on the chamber body (1), and constant-pressure valves (5) are installed on the chamber body (1).
However, Han which is analogous art to the claimed invention given that high concentration oxygen capsule (abstract) having an air inlet (52, 52’, Fig 1) to the chamber (10, Fig 1) with the outer zipper (22, Fig 1) and the inner zipper (24, Fig 1), teaches a pressure gauge (3) (a manometer 32, Fig 1)) is installed on the chamber body (1) and constant-pressure valves (5) (safety valves 42-1, 42-2, 42-3, 42-4, Fig 2) are installed on the chamber body (1) in order to indicate the pressure inside of the capsule and maintain the constant pressure (PG 3, ln 1-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the chamber of Guan to include a pressure gauge and constant-pressure valves installed on the chamber body as taught by Han in order to indicate the pressure inside of the capsule and maintain the constant pressure (PG 3, ln 1-40).
Modified Guan does not specifically discloses the arrangement where a pressure gauge (3) is installed on a left end surface of the chamber body (1), a manual pressure-relief valve (4) is installed below the pressure gauge (3), and constant-pressure valves (5) are installed on a left side and a right side of the rear end surface of the chamber body (1).
However, modified Guan teaches that the components are disposed onto the chamber (as discussed above). Given the manual pressure-relief valve (Guan: 105, Fig 1), a pressure gauge (Han: 32, Fig 1)) and constant-pressure valves (Han: 42-1, 42-2, 42-3, 42-4, Fig 2) in purpose of maintaining the constant pressure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the components of modified Guan to have a pressure gauge (3) is installed on a left end surface of the chamber body (1), a manual pressure-relief valve (4) is installed below the pressure gauge (3), and constant-pressure valves (5) are installed on a left side and a right side of the rear end surface of the chamber body (1) as the rearrangement of known elements, the gauges and the valves without unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI).C.
The rearrangement or shifting the position of parts would have been a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed without new or unexpected results.
Further, applicant places no criticality in the arrangement other than merely reciting the arrangement as described in PG 5-6 of the instant application.
While modified Guan further discloses, wherein the outer zipper strip (7) is attached with the chamber door (15) (Guan: the zippers are placed on the front surface which is an outer surface of the chamber door as shown in Fig 1), and the inner zipper strip (8) is attached with the chamber door (15) (Deng: an inner slide fastener 8 which is provided in the end of strip the zipper sealing soft material as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 4-6), modified Guan is silent on the strips are attached by stitching.
However, Kokalj et al. which is analogous art to the claimed invention in the field of hyperbaric chambers for performing hyperbaric and hyperbaric-oxygen therapies for medical or non-medical purposes (abstract) teaches, the access to the inflatable chamber having the entering and leaving means with at least one inner layer and at least one outer layer and wherein each layer closes with a zipper, and wherein one of the zipper is mechanical zippers (¶0007) and attached to the zipper assembly by means of weld or stitching of the zipper onto the place of access (¶0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include the known method of the strips are attached by stitching as taught by Kokalj et al. in order to attach the zipper for the entering and leaving means as a known method.
Further, applicant places no criticality in the method of stitching the zipper strips other than merely reciting the method as described in PG 4-5 of the instant application.
While modified Guan further discloses, wherein the inner zipper strip (8) (Deng: an inner slide fastener 8 is attached with the fixing sheet as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 4-15) is attached with the inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) (Deng: a fixed position 5, Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-8, “the inner slide fastener 8 periphery sealed with a sealing body 4 of fixed position 9, and zipper sealing soft material 7 the periphery of the chamber 3 is sealed and fixed position 5”), and the inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) is fixedly connected to the chamber body (1) (fixed position 5 is connected to the chamber body as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-8, “the inner slide fastener 8 periphery sealed with a sealing body 4 of fixed position 9, and zipper sealing soft material 7 the periphery of the chamber 3 is sealed and fixed position 5), modified Guan is silent on the strips are attached by stitching.
However, Kokalj et al. which is analogous art to the claimed invention in the field of hyperbaric chambers for performing hyperbaric and hyperbaric-oxygen therapies for medical or non-medical purposes (abstract) teaches, the access to the inflatable chamber having the entering and leaving means with at least one inner layer and at least one outer layer and wherein each layer closes with a zipper, and wherein one of the zipper is mechanical zippers (¶0007) and attached to the zipper assembly by means of weld or stitching of the zipper onto the place of access (¶0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include the known method of the strips are attached by stitching as taught by Kokalj et al. in order to attach the zipper for the entering and leaving means as a known method.
Modified Guan further discloses, wherein the sealing strip (10) has a U-shaped structure (a sealing body 4 which is between the outer zipper 1 and inner zipper 8 as shown in Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-18, “sealing body 4 comprises: the two sides of the soft material after being folded up”; Examiner notes that the folded soft material is U-shaped), and the sealing strip (10) is connected to one side of the chamber body (1) (a single sealing location 10 which is attached to the sealing strip onto the outer surface as shown in Fig 1), modified Guan is silent on the sealing strip adhesively connected to the chamber body.
However, Zhang which is analogous art to the claimed invention given the cabin body is provided with a pressure gauge, a safety valve and a manual regulation valve (PG 2, ln 1-4) and the outer zipper (1, Fig 2) and the inner zipper (2, Fig 2) teaches the sealing strip adhesively connected to the chamber body (PG 3, ln 13-22, “…TIZIP watertight airtight zipper with by two rubber or TPU… s fixed on the U-type outer tooth, for the two rubber with closed, elastic adhesive tape on the outer tooth and inner edge between the compressed double-layer sealing state”) in purpose of maintain the zipper flexibility and sealing performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan include the sealing strip adhesively connected to the chamber body as taught by Zhang in purpose of maintain the zipper flexibility and sealing performance.
Guan further discloses, when the vertical soft U-shaped opening and closing sealed air- pressure chamber is in use (PG 5, ln 37-43/last paragraph, implies that the chamber is accessed via the U-shaped chamber door 102 by opening and closing the zipper), first, the material of the chamber body (1) is the soft material (PG 3, ln 28, “the cartridge body is made of a soft material”; PG 5, ln 37-39, “airtight, soft, and foldable, such as rubber, polymer material, airtight cloth, etc.”), and air enters an inner part of the chamber body (1) via the air inlet (2) (PG 7, second paragraph, implies that that the positive pressure airflow is supplied into the chamber 101 through the air inlet 103).
Modified Guan further discloses, after the outer zipper strip (7) is pulled open by the outer zipper slider (12) (Yoo: a zipper/slider portion of 220 which open and closes 210, Fig 1, PG 5, ln 28--32), the chamber door (15) is opened inward or outward by the folding line (14) to form an open door (Tianjin ‘789: annotation of Fig 16B discussed above; PG 5, ln 38-43; PG 9, ln 28-35; as discussed in the arguments above, the folding line is merely defines a location about which the chamber door pivots after the U-shaped zipper is opened. The folding motion itself is an expected and inherent characteristic of a flexible sheet or material connected along one edge which functions as a hinge when the zipper is opened);
when the outer zipper strip (7) and the inner zipper strip (8) are opened, a door-type U-shaped opening is formed; whether a human body or the human body carried in a wheelchair or a cart is very convenient to enter the chamber body (1), at this moment, the human body and the wheelchair enter the inner part of the chamber body (1), the inner zipper strip (8) is pulled up by the inner zipper slider (13), (Guan: PG 6, ln 5-8; Deng: Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-18; PG 2, ln 26-31; Guan as modified above is capable of forming a door-type U shaped opening when the said zippers are opened allowing access to a human body or a body carried in a wheelchair into the chamber body), and use in the inner part of the chamber body (1) is observed through the transparent window (6) (Yoo: Fig 1; PG 6, ln 9-12; Guan as modified above is capable of observing through the transparent window as taught by Yoo);
the outer zipper strip (7) and the inner zipper strip (8) both have the U-shaped structures (Guan: Fig 1; Yoo: Fig 1; As the opening of the Guan and Yoo has the U-shaped structure, the inner strip would have the U-shaped as the Guan is modified), and the chamber body (1) is sealed in a U-shaped method (Examiner interprets the “U-shaped method” as to the zipper opening/closing in shape of the U-shaped door; Guan: PG 6, ln 5-8; Fig 1; Deng: Fig 1; PG 2, ln 7-18; PG 2, ln 26-31; Yoo: Fig 1; Guan as modified is capable of sealing in a U-shaped method the soft air-pressure chamber), which is adaptable to various soft air-pressure chambers, and completely changes an opening and closing method of the soft air-pressure chamber; the inner zipper strip fixing sheet (9) strengthens connection between the inner zipper strip (8) and the chamber body (1) (Deng: the inner slide fastener 8 and the sealing body 4 is between the outer zipper 1 and the inner zipper 8 as shown in Fig 1 which is capable of strengthening the connection; PG 2, ln 7-18), and the connecting point (11) is formed between the sealing strip (10) and the chamber body (1) to increase airtightness inside the chamber body (1) (Deng: the single sealing location 10 which is attached to the sealing strip onto the outer surface as shown in Fig 1 is capable of increasing airtightness as the arrangement prevent overflow from said chamber as described in PG 2, ln 26-31), such that problems that an opening and closing method of one straight zipper is inconveniently used and it is impossible for a person with inconvenient mobility to enter the chamber body (1) by means of the wheelchair or the cart are solved (As discussed in 112b rejection above, Examiner interprets the limitation as to intended use which implies --capable of entering the chamber body by means of the wheelchair or the cart--; Guan: PG 6, ln 5-8, implies the size of the chamber door would be big enough for the patient to enter and exit including the wheelchairs);
an inflation pressure inside the chamber body (1) is observed by the pressure gauge (3) (Han: 32, Fig 1; PG 3, ln 1-40; Guan as modified above is capable of observing the inside pressure by the pressure gauge), and the pressure is removed to an outside by means of the constant-pressure valves (5) to balance the pressure in the chamber at a set value (Han: 42-1, 42-2, 42-3, 42-4, Fig 1; PG 3, ln 1-40; Guan as modified above is capable of balancing the pressure via the valves); the manual pressure-relief valve (4) is configured to relieve the pressure inside the chamber body (1) (Guan: 105, Fig 1; PG 5, ln 24-227; the exhalation valve is capable of relieving pressure by rotating or sliding the film cover of the valve manually).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (machine translation of WO 2017054404 A1) in view of Yoo (machine translation of KR 100848009 B1), Deng (machine translation of CN 201085752 Y), Unannounced inventor of CN 201921509730 U (machine translation of CN 201921509730 U; hereinafter, Tianjin ‘789), Han (machine translation of KR 20070110962 A), Kokalj et al. (US 20220096303 A1), and Zhang (machine translation of CN 206261775 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Starkey (GB 2178772 A).
Regarding claim 5, Guan in view of Yoo, Deng, Tianjin ‘789, Han, Kokalj et al., and Zhang discloses the chamber of claim 1, as discussed above.
While Guan further discloses, wherein the manual pressure-relief valve (4) (105, Fig 1) is connected to the chamber body (1) (PG 5, ln 24-227, “the exhalation valve 105 is disposed on the wall of the chamber, and the exhalation valve 105 includes an air outlet and a film covering a portion of the air outlet, ...the film covers a part of the air outlet by rotating or sliding to control the outflow of the gas in the magazine body 101”) and further teaches the leaflet valve of Guan to be connected to the chamber by glue or other adhesive, Guan is silent on the connecting means of the manual pressure-relief valve.
However, Starkey which is analogous art to the claimed invention given that an airtight inflatable tent intended primarily for medical or surgical use with a release valve (abstract) teaches, a method of the valve (8, Fig 1) adhesively connected (PG 1, ln 95-101, “the valve is secured by adhesive or heat welding to the shoulders of a cutout portion of the wall ”) to the chamber body (a tent of Fig 1) as a known method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of Guan to include the method of the manual pressure-relief valve adhesively connected to the chamber as taught by Starkey as the known method of connecting the valve onto the flexible sheeting of the airtight chamber.
While modified Guan discloses, the constant-pressure valves (5) are symmetrically distributed (Han: safety valves 42-1, 42-2, 42-3, 42-4 which are symmetrically distributed at a vertical line as shown in Fig 2) with respect to a vertical line of the chamber body (1), modified Guan does not specifically discloses, the constant-pressure valves (5) are symmetrically distributed with respect to a vertical centerline of the chamber body (1).
However, Han teaches that the valves are distributed with respect to a vertical centerline of the chamber body (the capsule of Fig 2) in the view of Fig 2 in comparison with Fig 5 of the instant application. Even though the drawings are silent as to symmetrically arrangement with respect to a vertical centerline, the one of the ordinary skills in the art would come to the conclusion that the valves are arranged symmetrically distributed with respect to a vertical centerline of the chamber body as shown in the Fig 2 (See MPEP 2125) as an obvious matter of design choice in the absence of a showing of unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI).C
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the components of modified Guan to have the constant-pressure valves (5) are symmetrically distributed with respect to a vertical centerline of the chamber body (1) as taught by Han as the rearrangement of known elements, the gauges and the valves without unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI).C.
The rearrangement or shifting the position of parts would have been a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed without new or unexpected results.
Further, applicant places no criticality in the arrangement other than merely reciting the arrangement as described in PG 2 and 5 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/J.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785