DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2018/0002839, as evidenced by Omnexus, Glass Transition Temperature.
Regarding claim 1, 2, 12-14, Liao discloses a composite yarn including a core having an elastic fiber and a low melt fiber in the core [0018 and 0037] surrounded by, twisted with or intermingled with a rigid fiber. Paragraphs 0032-0033 discloses that the elastic fiber can include spandex. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the low melt fiber can include nylon 6,6 [polyamide 6,6]. Examiner is corresponding Liao’s low melt fiber as Applicant’s polymeric additive. Applicant’s claim 1 is not specific to the polymeric additive having a glass transition temperature below 100 ºC. Omnexus, Glass Transition Temperature provides evidence of nylon 6,6 [polyamide 6,6] having a glass transition temperature ranging from 55.0 to 58 ºC. Paragraph 0038 discloses a composite yarn including single wrapping of the elastic fibers with a rigid fiber.
Regarding claims 6-7, paragraph 0132 discloses that the yarn has a denier of 75.
Regarding claim 15, paragraph 0031 discloses that the rigid fiber can include polyester, nylon, cotton rayon or wool.
Regarding claims 16-17, Applicant’s claim is not specific to the control filament. Paragraphs 0032 and 0035 disclose that the elastomeric fiber can include a polyester bicomponent filament comprising a pair of polyesters intimately adhered to each other along the length of the fiber wherein the fiber can have a side by-side cross-section or eccentric sheath-core cross-section. Examiner is corresponding the sheath of the polyester bi-component fiber as the control filament.
Regarding claim 18, paragraph 0018 discloses a core spun yarn with an elastic fiber and low melt fiber in the core.
Regarding claim 19, paragraph 0049 discloses an air covered yarn.
Regarding claim 20, paragraphs 0011-0013 discloses a stretchable fabric wherein the fabric can be woven.
Regarding claims 21-22, paragraphs 0011-0015 disclose a garment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Goodrich et al., U.S. Patent Number 6,403,682.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 12 and 21, Goodrich discloses a nine filament 260 denier yarn formed from spandex containing quaternary amine additives wherein a segmented polyether-based polyurethaneurea elastomer is prepared using 0.5% of Methacrol 2462B [ a polymer of bis(4-isocyanatocyclohexyl)methane and N-t-butyl-N,N-diethanolamine].
Goodrich teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that the polymeric additive has a glass transition temperature below 100 ºC. It is a reasonable to presume that the glass transition temperature of the polymeric additive is below 100 ºC. Said presumption is based on Goodrich’s disclosure of 0.5% of Methacrol 2462B [ a polymer of bis(4-isocyanatocyclohexyl)methane and N-t-butyl-N,N-diethanolamine]. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, Table 1 in column 16 discloses quaternary amine additive preparation C being present in the amount of 0.93%, which is about 1%. Column 12, lines 43-50 discloses an oligomer of bis(4-isocyanatocyclohexyl)methane and N-t-butyl-N,N-diethanolamine.
Regarding claims 10-11, Goodrich discloses in column 6, lines 12-13 discloses additional additives such as pigments.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786