DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 7th 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application. Claims 6-7 were added by the Applicant. The previous rejections have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yokoshima et al. US 11,393,643 B2. New rejections follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “at positions substantially equidistance from…”. Examiner notes that there appears to be a typographical error in Claim 6 and the word “equidistance” is instead supposed to be “equidistant”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “an inner surface”. Claim 1 previously recites “an inner surface”. It is not clear if Applicant is referring to the inner surface mentioned in Claim 1, or introducing a new and different inner surface in Claim 1. Thus the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. US 2009/0148767 A1, and further in view of Kuribayashi JP H05-74432 A, Marubayashi et al. US 7,140,380 B2, and Yokoshima et al. US 11,393,643 B2.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamashita discloses a sealed battery (Figure 1 Item 10) comprising
An electrode assembly (spiral electrode [0037]) having an electrode tab (current collecting tab Figure 1 Item 11a) [0037]
An outer housing can in the shape of a bottomed cylinder (“battery outer can” Figure 1 Item 17) [0037] (see Annotated Figure 1 below)
Yamashita discloses that the electrode assembly is accommodated in the outer housing can [0037] (see Annotated Figure 1 below)
A sealing assembly (Figure 1 Item 18) [0037] that closes an opening of the outer housing can (battery outer can) [0037] (see Annotated Figure 1 below)
Yamashita Annotated Figure 1
Yamashita discloses that the sealing assembly further includes a first thin portion (notch Figure 2 Item 25e) [0041]. Yamashita discloses that the notch is formed around the concave part [0041], thus Yamashita disclose that the first thin portion has an annular shape.
Yamashita discloses that the sealing assembly further includes a valve portion (concave part 25a) that is surrounded by the first thin portion (notch is formed around the valve portion [0041]) and protrudes outward from the battery when it deforms [0043]. Yamashita discloses that the valve portion (concave part) is part of the rupture disc in the sealing assembly [0040]
Yamashita discloses that the sealing assembly further includes a second thin portion (convex part Figure 6 Item 25c) in the valve portion (concave part) [0055].
Yamashita discloses that the sealing assembly further includes an electrode tab that is connected to an electrode of the electrode assembly (current collecting tabs 11a and 12a Figure 1 connected to the positive and negative electrode plates [0037]). Yamashita discloses that the electrode tab (current collecting tab 11a) extends in a direction of the sealing assembly, as shown in Yamashita Annotated Figure 1 below.
Yamashita Annotated Figure 1
Yamashita discloses that the electrode tab (current collecting tab 11a) is welded to the terminal plate (Figure 1 Item 20) [0037], which is positioned as the inner surface of the valve portion. This is further illustrated in Annotated Figures 2 & 6 below. As shown, Yamashita thus discloses that the electrode tab is welded to the inner surface of the valve portion.
Annotated Figures 2 & 6
However, Yamashita is silent as to the electrode tab specifically intersecting the second thin portion and positioned to sandwich the second thin portion.
Kuribayashi discloses a configuration for a sealed battery (explosion-proof battery) with a sealing assembly (explosion-proof structure) comprising a valve portion (rupture disc Item 2 Figures 1-15) [0007]. This is further illustrated in Annotated Figure 2 below.
Kuribayashi Annotated Figure 2
Kuribayashi discloses a thin portion (Item 11 Figure 2, see above) in the valve portion (rupture disc Item 2, see above) that corresponds to Yamashita’s second thin portion (convex part) as mentioned above. Kuribayashi discloses as illustrated in Annotated Figure 2 above, that there is an electrode tab (Item 8 Figures 1-15) that extends from the electrode assembly towards the sealing assembly, wherein the electrode tab is shown to overlap the thin portion (Item 11) of the valve portion (rupture disc 2), which is further shown in Annotated Figures 2 & 13 below. Kuribayashi further discloses that the electrode tab is welded to the valve portion (rupture disc) [0018]. Thus, Kuribayashi discloses that the electrode tab is disposed to intersect the thin portion (by overlapping) and welded to an inner surface of the valve portion (rupture disc) to sandwich the thin portion, shown in the figure below:
Kuribayashi Annotated Figures 2 & 13
Kuribayashi discloses that this configuration for a sealed battery is simple and provides safe pressure relief when the internal pressure of the battery increases [0006], as well as safely shutting off the current [0032]. Additionally, Kuribayashi discloses that a sealed battery with this configuration is economically efficient [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, in the absence of Yamashita directly teaching a specific configuration of the electrode tab, to incorporate the teaching of Kuribayashi’s electrode tab configuration to provide a sealed battery with a simple and economically efficient configuration with safe pressure relief and current shut off.
Additionally, modified Yamashita fails to specifically disclose that the second thin portion is linear.
Marubayashi discloses a battery with a safety valve comprising an annular groove (break groove Figure 1 Item 4) and a straight groove (break aiding grooves Figure 1 Item 1) [0017] Marubayashi discloses that the break aiding grooves are a linear straight line (Figure 1).
Marubayashi discloses that a cell with this safety valve configuration operates quickly when internal cell pressure rises [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Yamashita’s second thin portion with Marubayashi’s linear break aiding groove to provide a linear second thin portion and achieve a safety valve with quick operation to release internal cell pressure.
Further, while modified Yamashita discloses that the electrode tab is welded to the inner surface of the valve portion, as mentioned above, modified Yamashita is silent as to the exact positioning of weld portions.
Yokoshima discloses a cylindrical battery (Figure 1) comprising a container (Figure 1 Item 121) and a sealing body (Figure 1 Item 122) [Column 4 Lines 46-47] that house an electrode assembly (Figure 2 Item 110) [Column 4 Lines 58-61]. Yokoshima discloses that the electrodes comprise electrode lead plates, further shown in Figure 7 [Column 5 Lines 43-45; Column 6 Lines 33-35], that are connected to the electrodes of the electrode assembly and extend in a direct of the sealing assembly, as shown in Figure 8, wherein the positive electrode lead plates are connected to the positive electrodes and extend towards and connect to the sealing body, as illustrated in Yokoshima Annotated Figure 8 below:
Yokoshima Annotated Figure 8
Yokoshima further discloses that the lead plates are welded to the sealing body [Column 7 Lines 22-24]. More specifically Yokoshima discloses that the inner surface of the sealing body is referred to as the first main surface (Item 163a) of the connection plate (Item 163), as shown in Yokoshima Annotated Figure 13, and that the lead plates are welded to the first main surface of the connection plate of the sealing body, as illustrated below. Thus, Yokoshima discloses specifically that the lead plates are welded to the inner surface of the sealing body.
Yokoshima Annotated Figure 13
Yokoshima discloses that the lead plates and the inner surface of the sealing body are welded at two locations by welding electrodes, shown as Items 301 in Figure 13 [Column 8 Lines 33-50], resulting in welding points at two locations, shown as Items “R” in Figure 15 [Column 9 Lines 46-51], see Yokoshima Annotated Figures 13 & 15 below. Thus, Yokoshima discloses welding portions on the left and right sides of a center line.
Yokoshima Annotated Figures 13 & 15
Yokoshima discloses that this method of welding at two positions as above prevents damage from being caused to the connection plate of the sealing body during welding to distribute the force applied during the welding process and reliably weld the electrode leads with the sealing body [Column 2 Lines 18-29].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the method of welding suggested by Yokoshima into the assembly of the battery of modified Yamashita, thereby providing welding portions at two positions as in the configuration of Yokoshima above, to prevent damage to the sealing body during welding and reliably weld the electrode leads with the sealing body.
Thus, modified Yamashita discloses, as shown below in Modified Yamashita Annotated Figure 6, welding portions of the electrode tab to the inner surface of the valve portion having a first welding portion and a second welding portion formed at a distance from each other, wherein when viewed in a cross-sectional view the first welding portion is formed at a left side of the second thin portion and the second welding portion is formed at a right side of the second thin portion.
Modified Yamashita Annotated Figure 6
Regarding Claim 2, Yamashita discloses that the first thin portion is a notch formed around the valve portion (concave portion) [0041], thus Yamashita discloses that the first thin portion is annular.
Modified Yamashita discloses, with the modification of Marubayashi, that the second thin portion passes through the center of the first thin portion [Marubayashi 0037]. As shown in Marubayashi Annotated Figure 1 below, the second thin portion is shown to have a linear shape along a radial direction, thus modified Yamashita discloses that the second thin portion, as modified by Marubayashi, has a linear shape along a radial direction of the first thin portion.
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 4, Yamashita discloses that the valve portion (concave portion) has a shape protruding inward towards the battery (Figure 2). Yamashita discloses that the valve portion is deformed when the pressure increases in the cell away from the terminal plate to break the circuit [0043], thus Yamashita discloses that the valve portion is configured to protrude away from the battery when the pressure increases.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yamashita discloses that the first welding portion and the second welding portion are formed at positions equidistant from the second thin portion, as shown in Yokoshima Figures 13 & 15 above as well as Modified Yamashita Annotated Figure 6 above.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yamashita discloses that the first thin portion (notch 25e) is a notch [0041], and is shown in Figure 2 as a “groove” on an inner surface of the sealing assembly (rupture disc). Modified Yamashita further discloses that the second thin portion (“break aiding groove”), as modified by Marubayashi, is shown as a “groove” in Figures 23-25 of Marubayashi and described as a groove [Marubayashi Column 7 Lines 53-54], and as modified is formed on an inner surface of the sealing assembly (rupture disc) of Yamashita, as mentioned above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, Kuribayashi, and Marubayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiotani et al. US 2021/0175577 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yamashita is relied upon for the reasons above in addressing Claim 1. However, modified Yamashita fails to disclose specifically that the first thin portion is thicker than the second thin portion.
Shiotani discloses a battery cell with a sealing plate [0014] wherein the sealing plate has a first thin portion (thin plate portion Figure 2 Item 24) and a second thin portion (central grooves Figure 2 Items 29,30) forming a valve that is configured to open when the pressure rises in the cell [0014]. Shiotani discloses that the first thin portion (thin plate 24) has a thickness smaller than the rest of the sealing plate (Figure 2 Item 19) [0060], and more specifically has a thickness (T2) of 0.25mm. Shiotani discloses that the second thin portion (grooves 29, 30) has a thickness of 100µm or less [0073]. Thus Shiotani discloses a first thin portion having a thickness larger than a second thin portion.
Shiotani discloses that a sealing plate with this configuration allows for a controlled pressure relief valve while preventing rupturing of the valve due to other stresses [0013].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the thicknesses of Shiotani in the first thin portion and second thin portion of modified Yamashita to achieve a sealing plate with controlled pressure relief.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726