DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 and 8-27 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2026 was filed prior to the mailing date of a first Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner. Some references were not considered, however, because they are not in English and no translation or concise statement of relevance was provided.
Status of the Rejections
The 102 and 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s arguments and invocation of the exception of 35 USC 102(b)(2)(C).
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments.
Notice of Allowed Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 as limited to the elected species of formula (I) were found free of the prior art. Therefore, search and examination was expanded to include additional species within the scope of the claims, and claims 1-6, 8, and 10-16 were found free of the prior art over their full scope, which does not teach or suggest a compound of formula (I) as required by base claim 1. Regarding claim 9 and its dependent claims 17-20, prior art was identified against these claims (i.e., Bourgeois et al. as discussed in the 102 and 103 rejections below). Examiner has selected the compound of Bourgeois as the next species under examination. Newly added claims 21-27 do not read on the new species under examination, and therefore are withdrawn as directed to species not under consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bourgeois et al. ((Helvetica Chimica Acta Vol. 84 (2001) 2230-2438; of record in IDS) as evidenced by the English translation thereof (of record in IDS of 3/19/26).
Bourgeois discloses on page 2433 Compound 10, which the skilled artisan would recognize is capable of releasing a compound of formula (I) of claim 9, when R1 is H, R2 and R3 are methyl, and R4 is hydrogen, and therefore is a properfume compound within the scope of claim 9. Bourgeois further discloses that the compounds taught therein have a strong coconut fragrance (Abstract and second paragraph of page 2435).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Bourgeois et al. ((Helvetica Chimica Acta Vol. 84 (2001) 2230-2438) as evidenced by the English translation thereof, and in view of Muratore et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0221503; of record in IDS).
The teachings of Bourgeois are relied upon as discussed above, but they do not further expressly disclose that the compound taught therein is part of a perfumed consumer product (claim 18) such as a perfume/fine perfume (claims 19-20) and which comprises a perfumery base as recited by claim 17.
Muratore discloses certain cyclopentane derivatives as useful as fragrances in perfumes (Abstract and paragraphs 1 and 46), and teaches perfume consumer products comprising the fragrance in combination with a perfumery base (see, e.g., Example 14).
As to claims 17-20, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the teachings of Bourgeois by incorporating the cyclopentane derivative fragrance taught therein into a consumer fine perfume product comprising a perfumery base, because Bourgeois teaches that the compounds taught therein have a strong coconut scent such that the skilled artisan would recognize that it could be used to impart this scent to a perfume product, and Muratore teaches that cyclopentane derivatives that are useful as fragrances can be formulated into a consumer perfumed product by addition of a perfumery base, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that the Bourgeois cyclopentane derivative fragrance also could be formulated as a consumer fine perfumed product by addition of a perfumery base. Such a modification is merely the combining of known elements according to known methods to achieve predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600