DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 15, 16, 47, and 48 have been amended. Claims 18 and 28-45 have been canceled. Claim 49 has been added. Claims 1-17, 19-27, and 46-49 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 11, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the amendment to
the specification is persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 11, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the amendments to
the claim objection of claims 15 and 16 are persuasive. The previous claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11-15, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to “the cavities (4) that are closed by the supporting wall of the planar body on the machining side are clearly not closed by the sealing element (14)”, the examiner disagrees.
The cavities have been identified as (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) and the sealing element has been identified as (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3). The sealing element (14/15) closes cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8) shown in figures 3 and 7.
With respect to “the ring 15 disclosed in the Kolthoff patent is not plate-shaped.”, the limitations are written as “wherein the cover element is plate-shaped and configured as a ring body” and “wherein the sealing element comprises a plate-shaped ring body”.
The cover element has been identified as (27 Fig. 7) and the sealing element has been identified as (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3). The cover element, 27, as shown in Fig. 7 is both plate and ring shaped. The sealing element, 14 and 15, is both plate shaped (14 shown in Fig. 7) and ring shaped (15 shown in Fig. 7).
With respect to “In amended Claim 47 defines cavities that are not completely filled but still contain air.”, the limitation has been written as “wherein the cavities are covered such that the cavities are air-filled spaces,”. The cavities of Kolthoff and identified as (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) are shown to be air-filled in figure 3 of Kolthoff. With respect to the teaching reference of Wiand, it is solely relied upon for showing the holding pins (130) is a feature known in the art for mating two bodies.
With respect to “Applicant has also further amended Claim 47 to define not just a single pin, but several pins.”, Wiand teaches a plurality of pins (130) shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to “The cited Wuensch reference shows a grinding plate that has cavities in its interior or middle area that are open at the top but are not closed.”, Wuensch is used as a teaching reference to solely show the outer, uncovered series of ribs is known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19-25, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolthoff (U.S. Patent No. 9,597,776 B2).
Referring to claim 1: Kolthoff discloses a sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) for a sanding machine (“power drill or an appropriate drive unit” Col. 5, lines 45-48), comprising a drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7), situated on a machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) of the sanding pad, to be fastened in a non-rotatable manner (“pin” Col. 5, lines 45-48) to a drive (“chuck” Col. 5, lines 45-48) of the sanding machine (“power drill” Col. 5, lines 45-48), such that the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) can be driven by the sanding machine;
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), which is opposite the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1) and has a machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) on which a sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7) for abrasive machining of a workpiece can be arranged so as to be fixed or removable using an adhesive layer (adhesive layer of 3 Fig. 1; Col. 5, line 11),
wherein inflow openings (6 Fig. 1) for dust-laden dirty air to flow in are situated in the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), and outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) fluidically connected to the inflow openings via through- channels (through-channels created by 6, 7, and 17 Fig. 1; Col. 6, lines 44-52) are situated on the machine side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1); wherein the outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) are situated in a radially inner suction zone (radially inner suction zone shown in Fig. 1 created by suction tool Col. 6, lines 52-56) defined by a ring-shaped sealing element (14 and 15 are ring-shaped shown in Figs. 1 and 3)
that is situated on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1) for sealingly contacting a counter-sealing element (counter-sealing element of sanding machine which seals with 1 Fig. 1 to allow suction through holes 17 Fig. 1) of the sanding machine (“power drill or an appropriate drive unit” Col. 5, lines 45-48),
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) which has a supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted below) provided for supporting the sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7), which supporting wall is reinforced by a rib structure (rib structure made of 4 and 5 Figs. 1 and 7), a plurality of ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of which project beyond the supporting wall (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) towards the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1),
wherein the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) delimit cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) each of the cavities being
closed by the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted below) on the machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) and defining an opening on
the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1), and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) closes at least some of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1), and
wherein the sanding pad further comprises a cover element (27 Fig. 7) extending radially outwardly (27 extends outwardly 14) from the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) in a direction away from the drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7),
wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) closes at least part of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1),
whereby both the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) each close openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1) and wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) is plate-shaped (shown in Fig. 3) and configured as a ring body (shown in Figs. 1 and 7), and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) comprises a plate-shaped ring body (plate-shaped ring body shown in Fig. 7).
Referring to claim 2: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element and the planar body are integral or the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) are separate components (shown in Fig. 7) which are fixedly connected to one another.
Referring to claim 3: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein at least one of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) closed by the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1) is a demolding cavity formed by removing (“injection molding” Col. 5, lines 3-6) a casting core from the cavity.
Referring to claim 4: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) together, except for the outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7), tightly close all of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) within the suction zone (suction zone created by suction tool Col. 6, lines 52-56) and/or on a flat side (flat side of 3 Fig. 3) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) and/or between the drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) and an edge region (edge region of 9 and 10 Fig. 3) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 5: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3), except for the outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7), tightly closes at least a part of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7), so that a volume located in the respective cavity is closed dust-tight (“forms air guiding chambers” Col. 6, lines 21-26).
Referring to claim 6: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) tightly closes (“forms air guiding chambers” Col. 6, lines 21-26) at least one, multiple, or all of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) provided and configured to form one or more through-channels and/or at least one or all through-channels (through-channels created by 6, 7, and 17 Figs. 1 and 7; Col. 6, lines 44-52).
Referring to claim 7: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) rests flatly on the end faces (end faces of 4,5 which make perimeter of 8 shown in Fig. 1) of the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) facing toward the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3).
Referring to claim 8: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) is connected by means of welding (“welding” Col. 3, lines 6-18), and/or adhesive bonding to the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 10: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) and the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) are supported on one another in a form-fitting manner in a force direction (direction “A” shown in Fig. 2-A inserted below) parallel to the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 11: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) is detachably arranged (shown in Fig. 1) on the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 12: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) are connected to one another in a form-fitting manner (FFP with accommodating receptable shown in Fig. 2-A inserted below) by at least one pairing of a form-fitting projection (FFP Fig. 2-A inserted below) and a form-fitting receptacle (form-fitting receptacle which receives FFP Fig. 2-A inserted below) which extend transversely (shown extending transversely in direction “A” Fig. 2-A inserted above), to the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) and interlock.
Referring to claim 13: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) has at least one support contour (FFP and 15 Fig. 2-A inserted above) and/or a support rib projecting in front of the sealing element for lateral contact (shown in Fig. 1) on at least one of the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) delimiting a cavity (cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7).
Referring to claim 14: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 13, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) has two support contours (FFP and 15 Fig. 2-A inserted above) and/or welding projections spaced apart from one another (shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above), which are provided for contact (shown in Fig. 1) on opposite ribs (are on opposite ribs of 4 and 5 shown in Figs. 1 and 7) delimiting the cavity of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) or delimit a receptacle for engaging the rib.
Referring to claim 15: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 13, wherein the at least one support contour (FFP and 15 Fig. 2-A inserted above) or at least one welding projection has at least two support contours or welding projections extending at an angle (extending angles “A” and “B” shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above) to one another, for support on ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) angled in relation to one another.
Referring to claim 16: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad claim 13, wherein the at least one support contour or at least one welding projection (18 Fig. 3) comprises a support frame (19 Fig. 3) for lateral contact (shown in Fig. 2-A inserted above) on an inner circumference of the cavity of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) delimited by ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of the rib structure (rib structure made of 4 and 5 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 17: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 13, wherein the at least one support contour (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) forms or comprises a welding projection (“parts 14 and 15 that project” Col. 6, lines 27-34) for thermal welding and/or ultrasonic welding (“friction welding or ultrasonic welding” Col. 6, line 31) of the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) to the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 19: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) is held on the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) in a form-fitting manner (shown in Fig. 1) by means of an adhesive bond and/or is integrally formed or fixedly connected with the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) or is formed by the sealing element.
Referring to claim 20: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1 wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) has openings (openings of 17 shown in Fig. 1), for form-fitting elements, using which the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) are fixed on one another in a form-fitting manner (shown in Fig. 7), and/or for engaging a plurality of holding contours of the sealing element and/or for through-flow of dirty air and/or for the drive holder (13 Figs. 1-3).
Referring to claim 21: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3), except for the outflow openings (17 Fig. 1) inside the suction zone suction zone close all of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1), which are closed between the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) and the machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) or
to an outer edge of the sanding pad with respect to an outer circumference of the planar body.
Referring to claim 22: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein at least a part of the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) extend radially or radiating away from the drive holder (13 Figs. 1-3) to an edge region (edge region of 9 and 10 of Fig. 3) of the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7).
Referring to claim 23: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein at least a part of the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) extend to a common support plane (SP Fig. 2-A inserted above), in which the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) support the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and/or the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3).
Referring to claim 24: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) has recesses (recesses of 6 Fig. 1) on the machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) to form the inflow openings (6 Fig. 1) and/or to provide at least partial portions of the through-channels (through-channels created by 6, 7, and 17 Fig. 1; Col. 6, lines 44-52).
Referring to claim 25: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) of the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) is provided directly by the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) or a cover body having the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1).
Referring to claim 46: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) is held against the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) in a form-fitting manner by means of the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3), whereby the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) is retained between (shown retained between 3 and 15 in Fig. 3-A inserted below) the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolthoff (U.S. Patent No. 9,597,776 B2) and Wiand (U.S. Patent No. 5,449,388 A).
Referring to claim 9: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the sealing element and/or the planar body have at least one projection, projection specifically being for welding to the respective other component of the sealing element or planar body or are welded by means of the at least one welding projection to the respective other component of sealing element or planar body.
Wiand teaches wherein the similar configuration sealing element (128 Fig. 2) and/or the similar configuration planar body have at least one similar configuration welding projection (projection in between 130 Fig. 2), for welding (Col. 4, lines 40-42) to the respective other component of the similar configuration sealing element or planar body (110 Fig. 2) or are welded by means of the at least one welding projection to the respective other component of sealing element or planar body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection method of Kolthoff with the welding as taught by Wiand for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, an alternate form of binding/ securing members of the abrasive pad.
Referring to claim 47: Kolthoff discloses a sanding pad for a sanding machine (“power drill or an appropriate drive unit” Col. 5, lines 45-48), comprising a drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7), situated on a machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) of the sanding pad, to be fastened in a non-rotatable manner (“pin” Col. 5, lines 45-48) to a drive (“chuck” Col. 5, lines 45-48) of the sanding machine (“power drill” Col. 5, lines 45-48), such that the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) can be driven by the sanding machine;
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), which is opposite the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) and has a machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) on which a sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7) for abrasive machining of a workpiece can be arranged so as to be fixed or removable using an adhesive layer (adhesive layer of 3 Fig. 1; Col. 5, line 11),
wherein inflow openings (6 Fig. 1) for dust-laden dirty air to flow in are situated in the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), and outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) fluidically connected to the inflow openings via through-channels (through-channels created by 6, 7, and 17 Fig. 1; Col. 6, lines 44-52) are situated on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine);
wherein the outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) are situated in a radially inner suction zone (radially inner suction zone shown in Fig. 1 created by suction tool Col. 6, lines 52-56) defined by a ring-shaped sealing element (14 and 15 are ring-shaped shown in Figs. 1 and 3) that is situated on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) for sealingly contacting a counter-sealing element (counter-sealing element of sanding machine which seals with 1 Fig. 1 to allow suction through holes 17 Fig. 1) of the sanding machine,
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) which has a supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) provided for supporting the sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7), which supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) is reinforced by a rib structure (rib structure made of 4 and 5 Figs. 1 and 7), a plurality of ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) of which project beyond the supporting wall (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) towards the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine),
wherein the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) delimit cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7), each of the cavities being closed by the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) on the machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), and
wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) closes at least some of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side, and
wherein a cavity (cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5) formed between (shown between ribs 4/5 on either sides of 3 in Fig. 1) the respective ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) is closed by the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) and the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3),
and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) comprises a sealing body (sealing body of 14 and 15 shown in Figs. 1 and 3), and wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) further comprises a cover element (27 Fig. 7) extending radially outwardly (27 extends outwardly from 14) from the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) in a direction away from the drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7), wherein the cover element (27 Fig. 7) closes at least part of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1), whereby both the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) each close openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine), and wherein the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) are covered such that the cavities are air-filled spaces (shown in Fig. 3), and wherein the cover element (27 Fig. 7) is plate-shaped (shown in Fig. 7) and configured as a ring body (shown in Fig. 7), and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) comprises a plate-shaped ring body (plate-shaped ring body shown in Fig. 7).
But is silent on wherein the sealing element comprises a plurality of holding pins,
the sealing body having an inner circumferential edge, an outer circumferential edge and an annular surface extending between the inner circumferential edge and the outer circumferential edge, the plurality of holding pins being disposed between the inner circumferential edge and the outer circumferential edge and extending from the annular surface of the sealing body in an axial direction toward the machining face, and wherein the planar body comprises, in addition to the cavities form-fitting receptacles for receiving the holding pins of the sealing element for connecting the sealing element to the planar body in a form-fitting manner.
Wiand in an analogous sanding pad (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) for a sanding machine wherein the similar configuration sealing element (128 Fig. 2; “a lower mold platen 128 is provided which has a series of spaced indentation portions 130 corresponding to the shape of the desired protrusion in the resulting abrasive pad or sheet, such as sheet 110.” Col. 4, lines 21-25) comprises a plurality of holding pins (130 Fig. 2),
the sealing body (body of 128 Fig. 2) having an inner circumferential edge (inner circumferential edge of 128 configured to mate with edge of 20 shown in Fig. 1), an outer circumferential edge (outer circumferential edge of 128 configured to mate with edge of 16 shown in Fig. 1) and an annular surface (annular surface of 128 configured to fit within outer edge 16 and inner edge 20 shown in Fig. 1) extending between the inner circumferential edge and the outer circumferential edge,
the plurality of holding pins (130 Fig. 2) being disposed between the inner circumferential edge and the outer circumferential edge and extending from the annular surface of the sealing body (128 Fig. 2) in an axial direction toward the machining face (machining face of 132 Fig. 2; “An upper platen 132 is provided for placing a mixture of a thermoplastic material and an abrasive grit material under pressure,” Col. 4, lines 25-27), and wherein the planar body (132 Fig. 2) comprises, in addition to the cavities form-fitting receptacles (spaces between 114 of 132 to accommodate 130 shown in Fig. 2) for receiving the holding pins (130 Fig. 2) of the sealing element (128 Fig. 2) for connecting the sealing element (128 Fig. 2) to the planar body (132 Fig. 2) in a form-fitting manner (shown in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding pad of Kolthoff with the plurality of holding pins as taught by Wiand for the purpose of connecting the sealing element and planar body in an alternate manner using an interlocking structure.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolthoff (U.S. Patent No. 9,597,776 B2) and Marton (U.S. Patent No. 4,287,685 A).
Referring to claim 26: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 25, but is silent on wherein the cover body has or is formed by an elastic and/or resilient cushion body
and/or the cover body covers the planar body on the machining side completely or except for an edge region which is remote from the drive holder and provided for reaching behind the sanding means and/or through- flow openings for dirty air and/or that wherein the cover body has the sanding means or the adhesive layer for the detachable fastening of the sanding means on the sanding pad.
Marton in an analogous sanding pad (Fig. 6) teaches a cover body (73 Figs. 5 and 6) having or is formed by an elastic and/or resilient cushion body (“sponge material” Col. 5, line 19)
and/or the cover body (73 Figs. 5 and 6) covers the similar configuration planar body (12b Figs. 5 and 6) on the machining side (machining side of 12b which faces 70 Figs. 5 and 6) completely (shown at the edge of 12b Fig. 6)
or except for an edge region which is remote from the drive holder and provided for reaching behind the sanding means
and/or similar configuration through- flow openings for dirty air (Col. 5, lines 22-24)
and/or that wherein the cover body has the similar configuration sanding means or the adhesive layer for the detachable fastening of the sanding means on the sanding pad.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding pad of Kolthoff with the cover body as taught by Marton for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, increasing the efficiency of the sanding pad when operating on contours (Col. 5, lines 24-28 of Marton).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolthoff (U.S. Patent No. 9,597,776 B2) and in further view of MAK (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0072600 A1)
Referring to claim 27: Kolthoff discloses the sanding pad of claim 25, but is silent on wherein the cover body is detachably fastened on the planar body by means of fastening bolts.
MAK in an analogous sanding pad teaches a similar configuration cover body (59 Figs. 3 and 4) is detachably fastened on the similar configuration planar body (51 Fig. 4) by means of fastening bolts (“anchoring fitting tools” via 68 [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding pad of Kolthoff as modified with the attachment means as taught by MAK for the purpose of, as it is known in the art, having an alternate means of attaching the cover body.
Claims 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolthoff (U.S. Patent No. 9,597,776 B2) and in further view of Wuensch et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0124275 A1)
Referring to claim 48: Kolthoff teaches a sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) for a sanding machine (“power drill or an appropriate drive unit” Col. 5, lines 45-48) comprising a drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7), situated on a machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine which faces the sanding machine) of the sanding pad, to be fastened in a non-rotatable manner (“pin” Col. 5, lines 45-48) to a drive (“chuck” Col. 5, lines 45-48) of the sanding machine (“power drill” Col. 5, lines 45-48) such that the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) can be driven by the sanding machine;
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), which is opposite the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) and has a machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) on which a sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7) for abrasive machining of a workpiece can be arranged so as to be fixed or removable using an adhesive layer (adhesive layer of 3 Fig. 1; Col. 5, line 11),
wherein inflow openings (6 Fig. 1) for dust-laden dirty air to flow in are situated in the machining face (machining face of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1), and outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) fluidically connected to the inflow openings via through-channels (through-channels created by 6, 7, and 17 Fig. 1; Col. 6, lines 44-52) are situated on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine);
wherein the outflow openings (17 and 28 Figs. 1 and 7) are situated in a radially inner suction zone (radially inner suction zone shown in Fig. 1 created by suction tool Col. 6, lines 52-56) defined by a ring-shaped sealing element (14 and 15 are ring-shaped shown in Figs. 1 and 3) that is situated on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine) for sealingly contacting a counter-sealing element (counter-sealing element of sanding machine which seals with 1 Fig. 1 to allow suction through holes 17 Fig. 1) of the sanding machine (“power drill or an appropriate drive unit” Col. 5, lines 45-48),
wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) comprises a planar body (3 Figs. 1 and 7) which has a supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) provided for supporting the sanding means (2 Figs. 1 and 7), which supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) is reinforced by a rib structure (rib structure made of 4 and 5 Figs. 1 and 7), a plurality of ribs (rib structure made of 4 and 5 Figs. 1 and 7) of which project beyond the supporting wall (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above) towards the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine);
wherein the ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7) delimit cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) each of the cavities being closed by the supporting wall (SW Fig. 1-A inserted above) on the machining side (side of 3 facing 2 Fig. 1) and defining an opening (opening shown in Fig. 1) on the machine side, and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) closes at least some of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side, and wherein the sanding pad (1 Figs. 1 and 7) further comprises a cover element (27 Fig. 7) extending radially outwardly (27 extends outwardly from 14) from the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) in a direction away from the drive holder (13 Figs. 1, 3, and 7), the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) closing at least part of the openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side,
whereby both the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) and the cover element (27 Fig. 7) each close openings of the cavities (cavities created by 4 and 5 and cavity 8 which is delimited by 4/5 shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7) on the machine side, and wherein the cover element (16 Figs. 1 and 3) is plate-shaped (shown in Fig. 3) and configured as a ring body (shown in Figs. 1 and 7) and wherein the sealing element (14 and 15 Figs. 1 and 3) has no through-flow openings (shown in Fig. 1).
But is silent on wherein the planar body has further ribs on the outside or radially on the outside with respect to the drive holder and the sealing element, wherein the further ribs are not covered or overlapped by the sealing element and the cover element, and wherein each of the further ribs define an opening on the machine side.
Wuensch et al. in an analogous sanding pad (12 Figs. 1 and 2) and teaches wherein the similar configuration planar body (planar body of 12 Figs. 1 and 2) has further ribs (ribs shown on outermost surface of 12 shown in Fig. 1) on the outside or radially on the outside with respect to the similar configuration drive holder (drive holder of 16 shown in Fig. 1) and the similar configuration sealing element (sealing element 16 shown in Fig. 1), wherein the further ribs (ribs shown on outermost surface of 12 shown in Fig. 1) are not covered or overlapped by the sealing element and the cover element, and wherein each of the further ribs define an opening (opening defined by ribs shown in Figs. 1 and 2) on the similar configuration machine side (top machining side of 12 Fig. 1 which faces the sanding machine).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sanding pad of Kolthoff with the exterior ribs as taught by Wuensch et al. for the purpose of minimizing the required material during production while maintaining the desired structural integrity, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)
Referring to claim 49: Kolthoff as modified teaches the sanding pad of Claim 48, wherein each of the further ribs (4 and 5 Figs. 1, 3, and 7 of Kolthoff) defines an opening (shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 7 of Kolthoff) on the machine side (top machining side of 3 Fig. 1 of Kolthoff).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723