Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 17/908,648 has claims 21-26, 28-36, and 38-40 pending filed on 09/01/2022; there are 2 independent claims and 16 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on November 20, 2025 in response to PTO Office Action dated September 15, 2025. The Applicant’s remarks were considered with the results that follow.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 USC § 103 Rejection of claims 21-26, 28-36, and 38-40
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/20/2025 with respect to the claims 21-26, 28-36 and 38-40 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step") are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step") are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: component in claims 31-36 and 38-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 28-36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricci Christopher (US PGPUB 20190279440) in view of Ravi et al (US PGPUB 20190074960).in further view of Huang et al (CN106485636A)
As per claim 21:
Ricci teaches:
“A method, performed by at least one server on a network, for collecting and managing vehicle-generated data from a vehicle while ensuring personal privacy protection, the method comprising” (Paragraph [0007] and Paragraph [0593] (a method is disclosed, the method comprising: receiving vehicle state data from a plurality of vehicles, the vehicle state data comprising a plurality of parameters and can provide for a number of communication participation node rules and controls for the privacy and security of information associated with the user's vehicle))
“receiving, via a secure channel, an event report message and an interaction report message from the vehicle” (Paragraph [0012] and Paragraph [0599] (include a vehicle control system, comprising, a vehicle, a vehicle control system coupled to the vehicle, and a communications unit using secured transmission channels coupled to the vehicle control system wherein the vehicle control system synchronizes with the vehicle control system and generates a notice for a first user based on an event and a supplemental factor))
“the event report message comprising vehicle identification information and event data stored by an event data recorder of the vehicle” (Paragraph [0172] and Paragraph [0571] (in any event, the data may be stored as device data and/or profile data in a storage system and the event report notification may consist of the external SSID used by vehicles may be associated with a unique name followed by the vehicle's identification number))
“and the interaction report message comprising the vehicle identification information and interaction data indicative of an interaction between an autonomous driving system of the vehicle and a driver” (Paragraph [0307] and Paragraph [0038] (a user/device interaction subsystem in a vehicle system may include, but are not limited to, providing information to the user, receiving input from the user (driver), and controlling the functions or operation of the vehicle, the device interaction module may communicate with the various devices, the device interaction module can provide content, information, data, and/or media associated with the various subsystems of the vehicle system to one or more devices)).
Ricci does not EXPLICITLY teaches: generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt; wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information; storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection; storing the event data and the link data in a second database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection.
However, in an analogous art, Ravi teaches:
“generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt” (Paragraph [0029] and Paragraph [0030] (the VIN and timestamp may be combined by concatenating the VIN and the timestamp, the manufacturer system may then hash the first identification using a cryptographic hashing function to generate a second identification number, the customer ID may be associated with the VIN received from the vehicle and the manufacturer system may also hash the second identification number (salt) with the customer ID (associated with the VIN) using a cryptographic hashing function (one way hash function) to generate a third identification number (link data)))
“wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0031] (by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed (de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information) from the third party provider))
“storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection” (Paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5 (the vehicle 102 may transmit a first signal 510 (first database)to the manufacturer system 230 where the first signal may include the VIN and may optionally include location information of the vehicle 102))
“storing the event data and the link data in a second database storing to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0040], Paragraph [0041] and Fig. 5 (upon receipt of the VIN, the manufacturer system 230 may combine the VIN with a timestamp to create the first identification number, then perform a first hashing function by hashing the first identification using a cryptographic hashing function to generate a second identification number, may retrieve a customer ID stored on the manufacturer system 230 (second database) and perform a second hashing function on the second identification number and the customer ID to generate a third identification number)).
“storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0041], Paragraph [0042] and Fig. 5 (after generating the third identification number, the manufacturer system 230 may transmit a second signal 520 to the third party provider 220 containing a request for a resource allocation for the vehicle 102, by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed from the third party provider and In response to the request for the resource allocation, the third party provider 220 (third database) may transmit a third signal 530 back to the manufacturing system 230 having a charging schedule for the vehicle 102 along with the third identification)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Ravi and apply them on teachings of Ricci for the method “generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt; wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information; storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection; storing the event data and the link data in a second database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information”. One would be motivated as by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed from the third party provider (Ravi, Paragraph [0041]).
Ricci and Ravi do not EXPLICITLY teach: automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection.
However, in an analogous art, Huang teaches:
“automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection” (Page 6 Lines 27-28, Page 9 Lines 4-6 and Page 17 Lines 22-26 (the information processing unit through the service processing module comprises the matching sub-module to each vehicle information in the to-be-processed data storing submodule or each person information stored is valid or not, the matching sub-module by the expiration date in the preset valid period information to compare with the current date, if the expiration date is before the current date, it is indicated that the preset valid period information has expired; corresponding vehicle information or the information is invalid and the vehicle information or the same information of the identity information of the vehicle information or personal information are deleted)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Huang and apply them on teachings of Ricci and Ravi for the method “automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection”. One would be motivated as the information preprocessing submodule is used for according to the preset judging rule storage module, obtaining front or rear storage module to determine whether there is repeating of vehicle information or personal information and the information of the recurring vehicle information or personal information is removed (Huang, Page 10 Lines 31-37).
As per claim 22:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 21 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“wherein deleting the vehicle identification information or the salt from the first database s performed when it is desired to remove an association between the vehicle identification information and the event data or an association between the vehicle identification information and the interaction data” (Paragraph [0674] (in the case of an updated displayed element, the switch may be activated and once the switch is made, the pre-updated version of the application may be deleted from memory)).
As per claim 23:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 21 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“maintaining the event data and the interaction data in the second database and the third database” (Paragraph [0703] (online database is maintained for each vehicle and driver which may include download data on the state of the vehicle, and may receive warnings and potentially video when a trigger occurs))
“deleting the vehicle identification information of the vehicle or the salt from the first database in response to expiration of the validity period set by the vehicle owner of the vehicle” (Paragraph [0674] and Paragraph [0675] (the time period may be associated with a type of update, a state of the vehicle, and/or a communication ability of the vehicle and in the case of an updated displayed element, the switch may be activated and once the switch is made, the pre-updated version of the application may be deleted from memory)).
As per claim 24:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 21 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“receiving a request message requesting deletion of the vehicle identification information, the event data, or the interaction data” (Paragraph [0171] (the user may interact with the vehicle control system through the interface or device and the device may include or have access (delete) to device data and/or profile data))
“deleting the vehicle identification information, the link data, the event data, or the interaction data from a related database in response to receiving the request message” (Paragraph [0674] (in the case of an updated displayed element, the switch may be activated and once the switch is made, the pre-updated version of the application may be deleted from memory)).
As per claim 25:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 24 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“mitigating a security level of a right to use related event data and interaction data stored in the second database and the third database in an event of deleting the vehicle identification information or the salt from the first database” (Paragraph [0299] ( the profile identification module may request profile information from a user and/or a device to access a profile stored in a profile database (first database) and the profile identification module may include rules for profile identification, profile information retrieval, creation, modification, and/or control of components in the system)).
As per claim 26:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 25 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“the event data or the interaction data for which the security level is not mitigated is retrieved from the second database or the third database based on the link data reconstructed from the salt and related vehicle identification information stored in the first database” (Paragraph [0171] (the user may thus interact with the vehicle control system through the interface or device where the device may include or have access to device data and/or profile data))
“the event data or the interaction data for which the security level is mitigated is allowed to be retrieved directly from the second database or the third database without the reconstructed link data” (Paragraph [0228] (the host device 908 may include one more routing profiles, permission modules, and rules (security level is mitigated) that control how communications within the vehicle are to occur and one or more of the other devices can communicate directly with the host device which then provides Internet access to those devices via the device))).
As per claim 28:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 21 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“wherein the vehicle identification information is a vehicle identification number (VIN)” (Paragraph [0571] and Paragraph [0612] (the vehicle identifier can be a numeric, alpha numeric, globally unique identifier (GUID), or any other type of identifier, may be associated with a unique name, followed by the vehicle's identification number or VIN)).
As per claim 29:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 21 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“wherein the link data is a de-identified version of a vehicle identification number (VIN) generated by” (Paragraph [0571] (the external SSID used by vehicles may be associated with a unique name followed by the vehicle's identification number (e.g., Vehicle Identification Number, or VIN))
“and replacing the subset of digits of the VIN with the hash value” (Paragraph [0616] (the communication authorization field may include information that can be used by another entity in establishing an authorized use. and at least one key, hash, code, and/or other security data (replacing the subset of digits of the VIN with the hash value) configured to selectively allow access to a communication ability of the vehicle)).
Also, Ravi further teaches:
“generating a hash value by applying the one-way hash function to a concatenation of the salt and a subset of digits of the Vehicle Identification Number or VIN of the vehicle” (Paragraph [0029] (the manufacturer system may receive the VIN from the vehicle and combine the VIN with a timestamp to create a first identification number and the manufacturer system may then hash the first identification number using a cryptographic hashing function to generate a second identification number)).
As per claim 30:
Ricci, Ravi and Huang teach the method of claim 29 above.
Ricci further teaches:
“wherein the subset of digits comprises a production serial number” (Paragraph [0571] (it utilizes unique identification numbers (production serial number) and/or SSIDs, passwords may be encoded and only used by vehicles and not for general purpose connections)).
As per claim 31:
Ricci teaches:
“A cloud storage system, implemented by at least one server ona network, for collecting and managing vehicle-generated data from a vehicle while ensuring personal privacy protection, the system comprising” (Paragraph [0008], Paragraph [0177] and Paragraph [0593] (a system is disclosed, the system may communicate through the communication network to a server where the server may represent a cloud computing system and comprising: receiving vehicle state data from a plurality of vehicles, the vehicle state data comprising a plurality of parameters and controls for the privacy and security of information associated with the user's vehicle))
“means for receiving, via a secure channel, an event report message and an interaction report message from the vehicle” (Paragraph [0012] and Paragraph [0599] (include a vehicle control system, comprising, a vehicle, a vehicle control system coupled to the vehicle, and a communications unit using secured transmission channels coupled to the vehicle control system wherein the vehicle control system synchronizes with the vehicle control system and generates a notice for a first user based on an event and a supplemental factor))
“the event report message comprising vehicle identification information and event data stored by an event data recorder of the vehicle” (Paragraph [0172] and Paragraph [0571] (in any event, the data may be stored as device data and/or profile data in a storage system and the event report notification may consist of the external SSID used by vehicles may be associated with a unique name followed by the vehicle's identification number))
“and the interaction report message comprising the vehicle identification information and interaction data indicative of an interaction between an autonomous driving system of the vehicle and a driver” (Paragraph [0307] and Paragraph [0038] (a user/device interaction subsystem in a vehicle system may include, but are not limited to, providing information to the user, receiving input from the user (driver), and controlling the functions or operation of the vehicle, the device interaction module may communicate with the various devices, the device interaction module can provide content, information, data, and/or media associated with the various subsystems of the vehicle system to one or more devices)).
Ricci does not EXPLICITLY teaches: means for generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt; wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information; means for storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection; means for storing the event data and the link data in a second database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; means for storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; means for automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection.
However, in an analogous art, Ravi teaches:
“means for generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt” (Paragraph [0029] and Paragraph [0030] (the VIN and timestamp may be combined by concatenating the VIN and the timestamp, the manufacturer system may then hash the first identification using a cryptographic hashing function to generate a second identification number, the customer ID may be associated with the VIN received from the vehicle and the manufacturer system may also hash the second identification number (salt) with the customer ID (associated with the VIN) using a cryptographic hashing function (one way hash function) to generate a third identification number (link data)))
““wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0031] (by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed (de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information) from the third party provider))
“means for storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection” (Paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5 (the vehicle 102 may transmit a first signal 510 (first database)to the manufacturer system 230 where the first signal may include the VIN and may optionally include location information of the vehicle 102))
“means for storing the event data and the link data in a second database storing to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0040], Paragraph [0041] and Fig. 5 (upon receipt of the VIN, the manufacturer system 230 may combine the VIN with a timestamp to create the first identification number, then perform a first hashing function by hashing the first identification using a cryptographic hashing function to generate a second identification number, may retrieve a customer ID stored on the manufacturer system 230 (second database) and perform a second hashing function on the second identification number and the customer ID to generate a third identification number)).
“means for storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information” (Paragraph [0041], Paragraph [0042] and Fig. 5 (after generating the third identification number, the manufacturer system 230 may transmit a second signal 520 to the third party provider 220 containing a request for a resource allocation for the vehicle 102, by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed from the third party provider and In response to the request for the resource allocation, the third party provider 220 (third database) may transmit a third signal 530 back to the manufacturing system 230 having a charging schedule for the vehicle 102 along with the third identification)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Ravi and apply them on teachings of Ricci for the method “means for generating link data by applying a one-way hash function to the vehicle identification information and a salt; wherein the link data ensures de-identification or pseudonymization of the vehicle identification information; means for storing the vehicle identification information and the salt in a first database separated from the event data and the interaction data to enhance privacy protection; means for storing the event data and the link data in a second database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information; means for storing the interaction data and the link data in a third database to prevent direct association with the vehicle identification information”. One would be motivated as by using the third identification rather than the VIN or the customer ID, such the identity of the vehicle and the customer are both concealed from the third party provider (Ravi, Paragraph [0041]).
Ricci and Ravi do not EXPLICITLY teach: means for automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection.
However, in an analogous art, Huang teaches:
“means for automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection” (Page 6 Lines 27-28, Page 9 Lines 4-6 and Page 17 Lines 22-26 (the information processing unit through the service processing module comprises the matching sub-module to each vehicle information in the to-be-processed data storing submodule or each person information stored is valid or not, the matching sub-module by the expiration date in the preset valid period information to compare with the current date, if the expiration date is before the current date, it is indicated that the preset valid period information has expired; corresponding vehicle information or the information is invalid and the vehicle information or the same information of the identity information of the vehicle information or personal information are deleted)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the teachings of Huang and apply them on teachings of Ricci and Ravi for the method “means for automatically deleting the vehicle identification information from the first database upon expiration of a validity period set by a vehicle owner or in response to a request for deletion from the vehicle owner, thereby ensuring privacy protection”. One would be motivated as the information preprocessing submodule is used for according to the preset judging rule storage module, obtaining front or rear storage module to determine whether there is repeating of vehicle information or personal information and the information of the recurring vehicle information or personal information is removed (Huang, Page 10 Lines 31-37).
As per claim 32, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 31 and the claim 22 above.
As per claim 33, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 31 and the claim 23 above.
As per claim 34, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 31 and the claim 24 above.
As per claim 35, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 34 and the claim 25 above.
As per claim 36, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 35 and the claim 26 above.
As per claim 38, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 31 and the claim 28 above.
As per claim 39, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 31 and the claim 29 above.
As per claim 40, the claim is rejected based upon the same rationale given for the parent claim 39 and the claim 30 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lerner et al, (US PGPUB 20200342562), an example operation may include one or more of receiving a request from a requesting device to initiate a transport to perform a transport event at a target location, identifying the transport to perform the transport event, identifying a target device associated with the transport event is located at the target location, receiving location updates of the transport and the target device at a server, determining the transport has initiated the transport event based on the location updates of the transport, determining the target device and the transport are proximate to one another based on the location updates.
Hannah Marc, (US PGPUB 20160097648), it relates to methods and systems to manage traffic density in a transportation system, and by doing so, maintain, in one embodiment, traffic flows near optimum levels to maximize road capacity and minimize travel times. The method includes, in one embodiment, a mechanism for vehicles to request road access from a centalized control, a queuing system that allows road access to be granted to individual vehicles over an extended period of time in a fair and organized fashion, a measurement system that allows traffic flow and density throughout the system to be determined in real-time, and an enforcement and fraud prevention mechanism to ensure that the rules and permissions imposed by the system are followed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAMAL K DEWAN whose telephone number is (571) 272-2196. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TONY MAHMOUDI can be reached on 571-272-4078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Kamal K Dewan/
Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163