DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2-3 are original. Claims 8-10, 14-18, 20-37, 42-44, 46, and 49-53 are cancelled. Claims 1, 11, and 54 are amended. Claims 4-7, 13, 19, 38-41 and 45, 47-48 are as previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-7, 11, 13, 19, 38-41, 45, 47-48, and 54 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/03/2025 have been entered.
Claim Interpretation
The term “unitary body” will be interpreted as a body that undivided and formed by a single piece of material as the applicant intends per the applicant initiated interview on 01 May, 2025. The examiner requests that the term “unitary body” be replaced with the term “monolithic body” to more accurately describe a body that undivided and formed by a single piece of material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a distal direction” in lines 2 of claim 4, but claim 1 recites the limitation “a distal direction” in line 21 of claim 1. It is unclear if there are separate “distal directions” or if these are the same “distal direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acum (US 7,028,867).
Regarding claim 54, Acum teaches a nozzle (Fig. 2-3, All structural features) of a fluid material dispenser (Fig. 1), the nozzle comprising:
A first nozzle body (Fig. 2, 70 & 84) having a first inlet end (Fig. 2, 54), a first outlet end (Fig. 2, 87), a first outer surface (Fig. 2, outer surface of 70 & 84) extending between the first inlet end and the first outlet end, and a first inner surface (Fig. 2, inner surface of 70 & 84) opposite the first outer surface, the first inner surface defining a first channel (Fig. 2, 74 & 89) that is configured to direct a fluid material from the first inlet end to the first outlet end; and
a second nozzle body (Fig. 2, 42 & 94) having a second inlet end (Fig. 2, 108), a second outlet end (Fig. 2A-2B, 121), a second outer surface (Fig. 2, outer surface of 94) extending between the second inlet end and the second outlet end, and a second inner surface (Fig. 2, inner surface of 94) opposite the second outer surface, the second inner surface defining a second channel (Fig. 2, 100) that is configured to receive at least a portion of the first nozzle body therein such that at least a portion of the first outer surface is inwardly spaced from the second inner surface so as to define a space (Fig. 2, {(100 between 70 and 94) & 102 & 116}) between the first outer surface and the second inner surface, the space configured to direct a gas to the second outlet (Col. 7: Ln. 42-49),
wherein the first nozzle body comprises a first body portion (Fig. 2, 70) that defines the first outer surface, and an enlarged body portion (Fig. 2, 108) having a cross-sectional dimension that is greater than a cross-sectional dimension of the first body portion (108 is shown to have a greater cross-sectional dimension across the centerline than the portion of 70 below 108) such that, when the first nozzle body is received in the second nozzle body, the enlarged body portion spaces the first body portion from the second inner surface (Col. 7: Ln. 8-13), and
wherein the first nozzle body comprises a first body portion (Fig. 2, 70) that defines the first outer surface, and an enlarged body portion (Fig. 2, 108) having a cross-sectional dimension () that is greater than a cross-sectional dimension of the first body portion (108 is shown to have a greater cross-sectional dimension across the centerline than the portion of 70 below 108) such that, when the first nozzle body is received in the second nozzle body, the enlarged body portion spaces the first body portion from the second inner surface (Col. 7: Ln. 8-13),
and wherein the first nozzle body is in contact with the second nozzle body (Fig. 2), and wherein an entirety of the first inlet end of the first nozzle body is disposed within the second nozzle body (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13, 19, 38, 41, 45, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acum (US 7,028,867) in view of Hogan (US 5,294,459).
Regarding claim 1, Acum teaches a nozzle (Fig. 2-3, All structural features.) of a fluid material dispenser (Fig. 1), the nozzle comprising:
A first nozzle body (Fig. 2, 70 & 84) having a first inlet end (Fig. 2, 54), a first outlet end (Fig. 2, 87), a first outer surface (Fig. 2, outer surface of 70 & 84) extending between the first inlet end and the first outlet end, and a first inner surface (Fig. 2, inner surface of 70 & 84) opposite the first outer surface, the first inner surface defining a first channel (Fig. 2, 74 & 89) that is configured to direct a fluid material from the first inlet end to the first outlet end; and
a second nozzle body (Fig. 2, 42 & 94) having a second inlet end (Fig. 2, 108), a second outlet end (Fig. 2A-2B, 121), a second outer surface (Fig. 2, outer surface of 94) extending between the second inlet end and the second outlet end, and a second inner surface (Fig. 2, inner surface of 94) opposite the second outer surface, the second inner surface defining a second channel (Fig. 2, 100) that is configured to receive at least a portion of the first nozzle body therein such that at least a portion of the first outer surface is inwardly spaced from the second inner surface so as to define a space (Fig. 2, {(100 between 70 and 94) & 102 & 116}) between the first outer surface and the second inner surface, the space configured to direct a gas to the second outlet (Col. 7: Ln. 42-49),
wherein the first nozzle body comprises a first body portion (Fig. 2, 70) that defines the first outer surface, and an enlarged body portion (Fig. 2, 108) having a cross-sectional dimension that is greater than a cross-sectional dimension of the first body portion (108 is shown to have a greater cross-sectional dimension across the centerline than the portion of 70 below 108) such that, when the first nozzle body is received in the second nozzle body, the enlarged body portion spaces the first body portion from the second inner surface (Col. 7: Ln. 8-13), and
wherein the enlarged body portion defines at least one passage (Fig. 3, passage between 102 and the enlarged portion) that extends therethrough along a distal direction (Fig. 2, Direction along centerline 64 from the first inlet end to the first outlet end.) such that a gas can pass through the at least one bore along the distal direction and into the space.
Acum does not teach wherein the at least one passage is at least one bore.
However, Hogan teaches, a prior art comparable nozzle of a fluid material dispenser (Fig. 1, 10), the nozzle comprising:
a first nozzle body (Fig. 1-2, 18) having a first inlet end (Annotated Fig. 1), a first outlet end (Annotated Fig. 1,), a first outer surface (Fig. 1, {36 & 38}) extending between the first inlet end and the first outlet end, and a first inner surface (Fig. 1-2 {32}), the first inner surface defining a first channel (Annotated Fig. 1) that is configured to direct a fluid material from the first inlet end to the first outlet end; and
a second nozzle body (Fig. 1-2, {114, 114a, 132, 134}) having a second inlet end (Annotated Fig. 1), a second outlet end (Annotated Fig. 1), a second outer surface (Fig. 1, 152, 148) extending between the second inlet end and the second outlet end, and a second inner surface (Fig. 1, 146 & 150) opposite the second outer surface, the second inner surface defining a second channel (Fig. 1, Space between 146 & 150) that is configured to receive at least a portion of the first nozzle body therein such that at least a portion of the first outer surface is inwardly spaced from the second inner surface so as to define a space (Fig. 1, 128 & 130) between the first outer surface and the second inner surface, the space configured to direct a gas to the second outlet (Col. 7: Ln. 5-8),
wherein the first nozzle body comprises a first body portion (Fig. 1, 32 omitting 46 and 48) that defines the first outer surface, and an enlarged body portion (Annotated Fig 1) having a cross-sectional dimension (Fig 1, Dimension from the furthest point of 54 to the furthest point of 50) that is greater than a cross-sectional dimension of the first body portion (Fig. 2, Dimension across 40 from 38 to 36) such that, when the first nozzle body is received in the second nozzle body, the enlarged body portion spaces the first body portion from the second inner surface (Fig. 1), and
wherein the enlarged body portion defines at least one bore (Fig. 1, 86 & 84) that extends therethrough along a distal direction (Annotated Fig. 1) such that a gas can pass through the at least one bore along the distal direction and into the space (Fig. 1; Col. 9: Ln. 3-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (wherein the at least one passage is a bore) as taught by Hogan, into the nozzle disclosed by Acum to provide a shaped spray pattern in a conical or generally elliptical shape to spray coating material under components which might not otherwise get sprayed by the conical shaped pattern (Col. 10: Ln. 25-55; Fig. 7, 190 & 192 shows a generally elliptical shape; Fig. 4, 14 shows a conical shape.) and yielding the predictable result of spraying a fluid assisted by air, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate one known element (at least one bore) with a known function (providing air/gas to nozzle [Col. 6: Ln. 34-49]), taught by Hogan, by performing a simple substitution with another element (at least one passage) disclosed by Acum yielding the predictable result of providing air/gas to the second outlet end, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 2, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches wherein the first outlet end (Fig. 2, 87) defines a tip (Fig. 2, 117).
Regarding claim 3, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 2.
Acum further teaches wherein the tip (Fig. 2, 117) projects out of the second outlet end when the first nozzle is received in the second nozzle body (Fig. 2-2b).
Regarding claim 4, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim of claim 2.
Acum further teaches wherein the tip (Fig. 2, 117) is tapered inwardly (Fig. 2-2b) as the tip extends in a distal direction (Fig. 2, Direction along centerline 64 from the first inlet end to the first outlet end) that extends from the first inlet end towards the first outlet end.
Regarding claim 5, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 2.
Acum further teaches wherein the tip (Fig. 2, 117) has a conical shape (Fig. 2-2b).
Regarding claim 6, Acum in view of hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 2.
Acum further teaches wherein the first inlet end and the first outlet end are offset from one another along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2-2b, 64), and the outer surface at the tip forms an oblique tip angle with the longitudinal axis (Annotated Fig. 2a).
Annotated Figures
Regarding claim 7, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 2.
Acum further teaches wherein the first inlet end and the first outlet end are offset from one another along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2-2b, 64), and the outer surface at the tip forms a tip angle with the longitudinal axis of between 10 degrees and 40 degrees (Annotated Fig. 2A of claim 6 shows a tip angle of approximately 30 degrees).
Regarding claim 11, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches wherein the first body portion extends from the enlarged body portion towards the first outlet end (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches wherein the first nozzle body defines a stop (Annotated Fig. 2) that is configured to engage a corresponding stop (Annotated Fig. 2) of the second nozzle body so as to limit an insertion depth of the first nozzle body into the second nozzle body.
Annotated Figure(s)
Regarding claim 19, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches and further teaches wherein the first nozzle body has a tubular shape (Fig. 2), and wherein the space has an annular shape (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 38, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches wherein the second outer surface is devoid of any openings that are in fluid communication with the space (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 40, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches a fluid material dispensing system (Fig. 1, 10), comprising: the nozzle (Fig. 1, 12) of claim 1;
a fluid material source (Fig. 1, 125) configured to supply fluid material to the nozzle (Col. 7: Ln. 64-67); and
a pressurized gas source (Fig.1, 123) configured to supply a pressurized gas to the nozzle (Col. 7: Ln. 50-56).
Regarding claim 41, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum and further teaches the nozzle in an assembled state comprising the first nozzle body in the second channel of the second nozzle body such that at least a portion of the outer surface is inwardly spaced from the second inner surface (Fig. 2) so as to define the space between the first outer surface and the second inner surface (Fig. 2), the space configured to direct a gas to the second outlet end (Col. 7: Ln. 42-49; Fig. 2).
Acum does not disclose a method of assembling the nozzle of claim 1 comprising receiving the first nozzle body into the second channel of the nozzle body.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assemble the nozzle of claim 1 comprising receiving the first nozzle body into the second channel of the nozzle body because Fig. 3 shows a disassembled state (Col. 4: Ln. 52-53) of the nozzle comprising the first nozzle body not received in the second channel of the nozzle body and Fig. 2 shows the assembled state comprising the first nozzle body received in the second channel of the nozzle body and Acum teaches the nozzle is simple to disassemble, clean, and reassemble (Col. 3: Ln. 14-16) and therefore there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 45, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches a method (Col. 8: Ln. 13-48) of dispensing a fluid material (Fig. 1, 134) onto a substrate (Fig. 1, 20) from the nozzle (Fig. 1, 12) of claim 1, the method comprising:
discharging the fluid material from the first channel of first nozzle body through the first outlet end so as to form a bead (Fig. 1, 134) of the fluid material on the substrate (Fig. 1, 20) (Col. 8: Ln. 13-48; Col. 8: Ln. 60-61); and
discharging a pressurized gas (Fig. 1, 123) through the space, out of the second outlet end, and onto the bead so as to deform the bead (Col. 9: Ln. 5-7).
Regarding claim 47, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the method of claim 45.
Acum in view of Hogan further teaches discharging the pressurized gas comprises discharging the pressurized gas through the at least one bore defined through an enlarged body portion of the first nozzle body and into the space (Acum – Col. 7: Ln. 50-54; The pressurized gas is connected to 60 which is fluidically connected to the through the at least one bore defined through an enlarged body portion of the first nozzle body and into the space as shown in Fig. 2 of Acum.).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acum in view of Hogan, and Riney (US 7,621,465).
Regarding claim 48, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the method of claim 45.
Acum further teaches a string of the fluid material forms that extends from the bead to the first outlet end (A string of material can form when the valve closes.; Col. 9: Ln. 10-12), and a step that is capable of discharging the pressurized gas causing a string to break (Col. 16: Ln. 2-10).
Acum does not explicitly teach a string of material forms during the step of discharging the bead, and the step of discharging the pressurized gas causes a string to break.
However, Riney teaches a method, wherein, during a step of discharging the bead (Col. 4: Ln. 43-56), a string of the fluid material (Fig. 1, 66) forms that extends from a bead (Col. 4: Ln. 16-21 – “the dispensed liquid deposit on the substrate”) to a first outlet end (Fig. 1, 24), and the step of discharging the pressurized gas causes a string to break (Col. 4: Ln. 43-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique (a string of material forms during the step of discharging the bead, and the step of discharging the pressurized gas causes a string to break as taught by Riney, into the method taught by Acum in view of Hogan to prevent the adhesive forces in the residual string from pulling the residual string toward the dispensing orifice and accumulating on the nozzle tip (Col. 4: Ln. 54-56) and yielding the predictable result of discharging a pressurized gas to cause the string to break, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 39 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 39, Acum in view of Hogan teaches the nozzle of claim 1.
Acum further teaches the first nozzle body and the second nozzle body are configured to be positionally fixed relative to one another as the nozzle discharges the fluid material and a pressurized gas (Fig. 2), and wherein an entirety of the first inlet end of the first nozzle body is disposed within the second nozzle body (Fig. 2) such that the second inlet end of the second nozzle body extends beyond the first inlet end in a proximal direction (Fig. 2, Direction along centerline 64 from the first outlet end to the first inlet end) that extends away from the first outlet end along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 2-2b, 64) of the nozzle.
Acum in view of Hogan does not teach wherein the second nozzle body is a unitary body, where a unitary body is a body that undivided and formed by a single piece of material as the applicant intends per the applicant initiated interview on 01 May, 2025. The examiner requests that the term “unitary body” be replaced with the term “monolithic body” to more accurately describe a body that undivided and formed by a single piece of material.
The most relevant prior art includes Pahl (US 12,179,222) whom teaches a first nozzle body (Fig. 11, 5) and a second nozzle body (Fig. 11, 7) are configured to be positionally fixed relative to one another as the nozzle discharges the fluid material and a pressurized gas (Col. 9: Ln. 19-28), wherein the second nozzle body is a unitary body (Fig. 11), and a first inlet end of the first nozzle body (Fig. 11, inlet end of 5) is disposed within the second nozzle body (Fig. 2) a second inlet end of the second nozzle body (Fig. 11, inlet end of 5) extends a proximal direction (Fig. 11, Direction along centerline near leader 6 from a first outlet end (outlet end of 11) to a first inlet end.) that extends away from the first outlet end along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 11, centerline near leader 6) of the nozzle.
Pahl does not teach wherein an entirety of a first inlet end of the first nozzle body is disposed within the second nozzle body such that a second inlet end of the second nozzle extends beyond the first inlet end in a proximal direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ludwig (US 6,082,637), Hogan (US 6,325,853), Bievenue (US 6,170,760), Riney (US 6,149,076), Gill (US 5,421,921), and Raterman (US 5,524,828) all disclose inventions having elements of the claimed invention.
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 March 16, 2026
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752