DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a glue or a local deformation caused by an indentation or melting within the stylet-cannula connection pair (412) or one of a tape or plastic film provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (412)” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, line 20: “wherein” should be inserted before “said breakable fixture”; and
in claim 1, line 22: “an outside” should be “an outside”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the stylet-cannula connection pair” in line 17 in which there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also, it is not clear what relationship the stylet-cannula connection pair has with the other physical structures of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “said breakable fixture is one of a glue or a local deformation caused by an indentation or melting within the stylet-cannula connection pair (412) or one of a tape or plastic film provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (412)” in lines 20-22 which is so grammatically awkward that its meaning is not clear. For example, the recitation raises the following questions:
(1) is said breakable fixture one of a glue; a local deformation caused by an indentation or melting within the stylet-cannula connection pair (412); a tape; or a plastic film provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (412)?
(2) is said breakable fixture one of a glue within the stylet-cannula connection pair (412); a local deformation caused by an indentation or melting within the stylet-cannula connection pair (412); a tape provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (412); or a plastic film provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (412)?
(3) what is meant by a local deformation caused by an indentation? A local deformation of what? An indentation in what?
(4) what is meant by a local deformation caused by melting ? A local deformation of what? A melting of what?
These questions render claim 1 indefinite.
Claims 2-4 and 14-16 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “a stylet-cannula connector pair” in line 13, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “the stylet-cannula connection pair” of claim 1, line 17. If they are the same, “a stylet-cannula connector pair” in claim 2 should be “the stylet-cannula connector pair”. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear; they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements); and any subsequent recitation should make it clear which recitation is being referred to.
Claims 3-4 and 16 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,743,881 (Demco)(previously cited), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0065017 (Racz)(previously cited), and further in view of WO 2007/027830 (Lavelle), and further in view of JP 2004254789 A (Takehiko)(previous cited). Citations to Takehiko will refer to the machine English translation that accompanies the Office Action mailed on 4/20/2026.
Demco teaches a coaxial needle assembly for introduction into and through human tissue, comprising an anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco), a stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) and a coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco), wherein
the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is inserted in the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) and has a distal end (the needle 42 of Demco) that projects out from a distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet,
wherein the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) is inserted in the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) and has a distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet that projects out from a distal end (the distal tip 18’ of Demco) of the coaxial cannula, such that, during introduction into and through the human tissue, the coaxial needle assembly (the instrument 10 of Demco) acts and is manipulated as an integrated device, and
wherein the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) is fixedly but detachably connected to the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) and the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is fixedly but detachably connected to the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco).
Demco teaches or suggests that the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is released from the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) since the needle member 16 is released from the trocar 14 via the pins 44 and the channels 46 (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco). Racz teaches the use of Luer-Lock fittings in the same context (paragraph 0036 of Racz). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Luer-Lock fittings in place of the pins 44 and the channels 46 since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Demco teaches or suggests that the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) is released from the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) since the trocar 14 is released from the cannula 12 via the pins 32 and the channels 30 (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco). Racz teaches the use of Luer-Lock fittings in the same context (paragraphs 0040-0041 of Racz). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Luer-Lock fittings in place of the pins 32 and the channels 30 since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Demco teaches the release of the needle member 16 from the trocar 14 before the release of the trocar 14 from the cannula 12 since the trocar 14 and the cannula 12 are locked together when they are slowly advanced along needle member 16 to penetrate the patient's abdomen (col. 6, lines 10-60 of Demco). Lavelle teaches the use of an adhesive between male and female members of a first Luer-Lock connection to prevent easy breaking of the first Luer-Lock connection when a second Luer-Lock connection is to be released so as to make and break the second Luer-Lock connection easier (paragraph 0032-0033 of Lavelle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply an adhesive to the Luer-Lock connection between the trocar 14 and the cannula 12 so as to prevent the easy breaking of the connection between the trocar 14 and the cannula 12 when the Luer-Lock connection between the needle member 16 and the trocar 14 is released and to make and break the Luer-Lock connection between the needle member 16 and the trocar 14 easier.
Lavelle does not teach a particular strength of a Luer-Lock connection with an adhesive versus a Luer-Lock connection without an adhesive. However, the strength of the Luer-Lock connections would be subject to optimization depending upon the strength and preference of the user. Also, the amount of release torque can vary over a range of torques for a Luer-Lock connection. Takehiko teaches, for example, that the release torque for a Luer-Lock connection can range as much as 5 to 50 cN·m (paragraphs 0017 and 0027 of Takehiko). As such, the release torques of the Luer-Lock connections with and without adhesive are subject to change, would depend upon the strength and preference of the user, and are results-effective variables that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the strength and preference of the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the release torques of the Luer-Lock connections so as to obtain the desired user preferences based on their strength.
With respect to claim 1, the combination teaches or suggests a coaxial needle assembly for introduction into and through human tissue, comprising an anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco), a stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco), and a coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco), wherein the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is inserted in the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) and has a distal end (the needle 42 of Demco) that projects out from a distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet,
wherein the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) is inserted in the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) and has a distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet that projects out from a distal end (the distal tip 18’ of Demco) of the coaxial cannula, such that, during introduction into and through the human tissue, the coaxial needle assembly (the instrument 10 of Demco) acts and is manipulated as an integrated device,
wherein the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) is fixedly but detachably connected to the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) and the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is fixedly but detachably connected to the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco)(via the pair of Luer-Lock connections),
wherein a predetermined needle-stylet release torque is required to release the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) from the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco), and a predetermined stylet-cannula release torque is required to release the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) from the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco), and
wherein a value of the predetermined needle-stylet release torque is less than a value of the predetermined stylet-cannula release torque (the release torque of the Luer-Lock connection between the needle 16 and the trocar 14 is less than the release torque of the Luer-Lock connection with adhesive between the trocar 14 and the cannula 12 of Demco), wherein the value of the needle-stylet release torque is at least 20% lower than the value of the stylet-cannula release torque (see the above obvious reasoning based on the optimization rationale),
wherein the stylet-cannula connection pair (the Luer-Lock connection with adhesive between the trocar 14 and the cannula 12 of Demco) is provided with a breakable fixture (the adhesive of Lavelle), the breakable fixture being arranged to break at the predetermined stylet-cannula release torque and thereby forming a one-time locking arrangement, and
said breakable fixture is one of a glue or a local deformation caused by an indentation or melting within the stylet-cannula connection pair or one of a tape or plastic film provided on the outside of the stylet-cannula connection pair (the adhesive of Lavelle).
With respect to claim 2, the combination teaches or suggests that the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) at its proximal end is provided with a needle handle (the element A in the below annotated FIG. 1 of Demco with a Luer-Lock fitting at the distal end) and at a distal end of the needle handle of the anesthesia needle is a needle-stylet connector (the Luer-Lock fitting at the distal end) provided; the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) at its proximal end is provided with a stylet handle (the element B in the below annotated FIG. 1 of Demco with the Luer-Lock fitting at the proximal end and the Luer-Lock fitting at the distal end) and at a distal end of the stylet handle is a stylet-cannula connector (the Luer-Lock fitting at the distal end) provided, and at a proximal end of the stylet handle is a stylet-needle connector (the Luer-Lock fitting at the proximal end) provided; the coaxial cannula (the cannula 12 of Demco) at its proximal end is provided with a cannula handle (the handling portion 20 of Demco) and at a proximal end of the cannula handle (the handling portion 20 of Demco) is a cannula-stylet connector (the Luer-Lock fitting at the proximal end) provided; the needle-stylet connector of the anesthesia needle is engaged with the stylet-needle connector of the stylet, forming a needle-stylet connector pair (the Luer-Lock connection), and the stylet-cannula connector of the stylet is engaged with the cannula-stylet connector forming a stylet-cannula connector pair (the Luer-Lock connection); and the predetermined needle-stylet release torque is provided by the needle-stylet connector being engaged with the stylet-needle connector and the predetermined stylet-cannula release torque is provided by the stylet-cannula connector being engaged with the cannula-stylet connector (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco; see the above obvious reasoning).
Annotated FIG. 1 of Demco
With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that the stylet-cannula connector pair is arranged to have a first predetermined friction between the cannula-stylet connector and the stylet-cannula connector (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco; see the above obvious reasoning).
With respect to claim 4, the combination teaches or suggests that the needle-stylet connector pair is arranged to have a second predetermined friction between the needle-stylet connector and the stylet-needle connector, and said predetermined friction determines the needle-stylet release torque (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco; see the above obvious reasoning).
With respect to claim 12, see the above obvious reasoning based on the optimization rationale.
With respect to claim 13, the combination teaches or suggests that the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is slidably insertable within the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco)(col. 2, lines 35-50 of Demco; col. 6, lines 10-60 of Demco).
With respect to claim 14, the combination teaches or suggests that the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is inserted in the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco) and has a distal end (the needle 42 of Demco) that projects out from a distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet. Demco further teaches that the needle 42 may be of various gauges and lengths depending on the patient requirements (col. 5, lines 50-60 of Demco). Thus, Demco teaches that the length of the needle 42 is subject to change depending upon the patient requirements. As such, the length of the needle 42 is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on the patient requirements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the length of the needle 42 so as to obtain the desired patient requirement. Thus, the feature of “wherein the distal end (the needle 42 of Demco) of the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) projects 10-30 mm out from the distal end (the distal tip 33’ of Demco) of the stylet (the trocar 14 of Demco)” would have been obvious. Alternatively or additionally, it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to claim 16, the combination teaches or suggests that the needle-stylet connector pair is arranged to a have a second predetermined friction between the needle-stylet connector and the stylet-needle connector, and said second predetermined friction determines the needle-stylet release torque (col. 4, line 60 to col. 5, line 60 of Demco; see the above obvious reasoning).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,743,881 (Demco)(previously cited), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0065017 (Racz)(previously cited), and further in view of WO 2007/027830 (Lavelle), and further in view of JP 2004254789 A (Takehiko)(previous cited), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0049993 (Cosman)(previously cited).
Cosman teaches the use of echogenic markers on needles (including anesthetic needles) so as to enhance visibility when viewed with ultrasound imaging (paragraphs 0048 and 0051-0052 of Cosman). Such markers are provided along the shaft of the needle including the distal end portion (FIG. 1 of Cosman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide echogenic markings along the length of the anesthesia needle including the distal end portion of the anesthesia needle since it enhances visibility when viewed with ultrasound imaging so as to ensure proper position of the needle.
With respect to claim 15, the combination teaches or suggests that a distal end portion of the anesthesia needle (the needle member 16 of Demco) is provided with at least one echogenic marking (the echogenic markings of Cosman).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim objections
In view of the claim amendments submitted on 8/11/2026, the claim objections are withdrawn. However, there are new grounds of claim objections that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 8/11/2026.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
In view of the claim amendments submitted on 8/11/2026, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn.
However, there are new grounds of claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 8/11/2026.
Prior art rejection
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 and 12-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, there are new grounds of claim rejection that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 8/11/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791