DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4, Paragraph 7 - Page 10, Paragraph 1 of Remarks, filed November 25th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, due to amendments to claim 1 which give rise to Difference [3] cited by Applicant in Page 5, Paragraph 3 of Remarks, the rejection has been withdrawn. It is additionally noted that Differences [1] and [2] cited by Applicant in Page 5, Paragraphs 1-2 of Remarks do not distinguish the claim from Zhao. The claim does not require that the lithium sulfate solution is not treated with pH-adjusting agents before reacting with calcium hydroxide, but only that the lithium sulfate solution has a pH of 6 or less when obtained from the lithium-containing waste liquid (Difference [1]). Further, the claim does not recite removing calcium sulfate (Difference [2]). Nonetheless, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the prior art in light of amendments to claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4, lines 9-17 of Remarks, filed November 25th, 2025, with respect to claim 3 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Due to the amendment to claim 3, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)/4th Paragraph of August 27th, 2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘144 (CN 102659144 A) (the machine translation of record is referenced below) in view of ‘012 (KR 2017-0052012 A) (the attached machine translation is referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, ‘144 teaches a method for producing lithium hydroxide (‘144, [0046]-[0055]), the method comprising:
obtaining aqueous lithium sulfate solution from a lithium-containing waste liquid (‘144, [0046], Li2SO4 leaching solution); and
obtaining lithium hydroxide by reacting the aqueous lithium sulfate solution with calcium hydroxide (‘144, [0046], Ca(OH)2),
wherein the method does not include the step of adding barium hydroxide (‘144, [0046]-[0055], barium hydroxide is not added).
‘144 does not explicitly teach that the aqueous lithium sulfate solution obtained from the lithium-containing waste liquid has a pH of 6 or less. However, ‘012 teaches a lithium sulfate solution obtained from lithium-containing waste liquid having a pH of 0-4 (‘012, [0091]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the lithium-containing waste liquid of ‘012, which has a pH of approximately 0-4 (‘012, [0091]) as a leaching solution in the method of ‘144. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, as the aqueous lithium sulfate solution of ‘012 is a lithium sulfate leaching solution, it could be selected in the method of ‘144 as a suitable aqueous lithium sulfate solution from which to prepare lithium hydroxide (‘144, [0046]) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2-3, modified ‘144 renders the method of claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, wherein neither a solvent (claim 2) nor glycerin (claim 3) are added in the step of obtaining the lithium hydroxide (‘144, [0046]-[0055], no solvent is added).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘144 (CN 102659144 A) (the machine translation of record is referenced below) in view of ‘012 (KR 2017-0052012 A) (see the attached machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 10-0725589 B1) (the machine translation of record is referenced below).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified ‘144 renders the method of claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising obtaining lithium hydroxide solution under reduced pressure to induce crystallization (‘144, [0053]), which differs from the claimed obtaining lithium hydroxide powder by precipitating the obtaining lithium hydroxide using a precipitant (claim 4), and that the precipitant is an alcohol (claim 5). However, Kim teaches precipitating lithium hydroxide using alcohol precipitants (Kim, [0051], methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, 2-propanol). Figure 5 of Kim illustrates that lithium hydroxide powder is obtained by Kim’s method.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of ‘144 by incorporating an alcohol as a precipitant, as Kim teaches that organic solvents including alcohols acting as precipitants result in a high-purity lithium hydroxide monohydrate product (Kim, [0051]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a high-purity product as desirable and would therefore be motivated to incorporate precipitation using an alcohol.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6-7 are allowable for the same reasons detailed on Page 8, line 2 - Page 9, line 6 of the Office Action dated August 27th, 2025. In addition to those already cited, the newly cited reference ‘012 (KR 2017-0052012 A) (see the attached machine translation) also fails to teach separating a manganese, nickel and/or cobalt salt prior to obtaining a lithium sulfate solution having a pH of 6 or less, as required by claim 6 together with claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736