DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 12, the limitation “the mounting substrate” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wimplinger (US 2015/0303082).
As to claims 1 and 11, Wimplinger discloses an element array manufacturing apparatus comprising the pressing device comprising an element array pressing device (fig 2a, 3a-3c) comprising a press plate 9 comprising a first surface 9o that is flat (fig 3a-3c); and a pressing part comprising a hard member 2 (para 41-45, fig 3a-c) that is plate-shaped and that has a second surface 1u’ that is flat and with a higher surface flatness than the first surface (para 12-13), wherein the pressing part is configured to apply pressure to an element array having a plurality of elements on a mounting substrate 12 (para 12-14, 25-35, 41-71).
As to claim 2, Wimplinger discloses the element array pressing wherein the hard member is on the first surface (fig 3a-3c)
As to claims 9-10, Wimplinger discloses a hard member clamped with a clamping member 8/8”/8’ clamped to the press plate in a detachable manner (para 31, 34, 35, 41-45, figs 3a-3c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wimplinger as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Matsumura (US 2009/0314437).
As to claim 3, Wimplinger discloses a resilient member 6’ that is plate shaped 6/6’. Wimplinger discloses the resilient member is placed on the surface opposite the second surface of the hard member (figs 3a-3b, para12-14, 25-35 41-71). Matsumura discloses the pressing part comprises a resilient member 32 in a plate shape, and the resilient member is provided on the second surface of the hard member (figs 4a-4c, para 78-87). When placing the resilient member, there are only a finite number of choices - the member either goes on the second surface or the surface opposite the second surface. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Wimplinger such that the resilient member is provided on the second surface of the hard member as taught by Matsumura above as such has a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 6, Matsumura discloses a first water repelling layer 32, on the second surface of the hard member (para 140 – rubber 32 can be silicone rubber).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wimplinger, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 2012/0247664).
As to claim 12, Wimplinger discloses a mounting table 10 on which the mounting substrate is placed (fig 3a-3c para 45-71), wherein the press plate applies pressure to the element array having the plurality of elements that are capable of being transferred to the mounting substrate with a transfer machine (fig 3a-3c para 45-71)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Wimplinger by providing a supply table on which a supply substrate having a plurality of elements can be placed, a transferring machine which is capable of moving to the supply table to pick up the plurality of elements from the supply substrate and also move to the mounting table to transfer the plurality of elements picked up from the supply substrate to the mounting substrate to be pressed as taught by Kobayashi above as such increases production efficiency (para 122).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/25 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746