DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on May 18, 2026.
Claim 1 has been amended and is hereby entered.
Claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Claims 5, 6, 8 – 13 and 17 – 20 have been canceled previously.
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 14 – 16, 21 and 22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 18, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 4, 7 and 14 – 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mun as set forth in the office action filed March 19, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 4, 7, 14 – 16, 21 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 10 of copending Application No. 17/925619 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the group of Formula 2-3 in claim 4 of the instant application is the same as Formula 2-3 in claim 3 of the ‘619 application. The dopant of claim 1 in the instant application is the same formula as the formulas in claim 9 of the ‘619 application. The anthracene host required in the instant application is the same as the anthracene host in claim 10 of the ‘619 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 14 – 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (KR20190003329A, using the provided machine translation) in view of Suh (WO2019164331A1, using US20210184121A1 as the official English language translation).
As per claims 1 – 4 and 21, Ham teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0110]: “The organic light-emitting device can be stacked in the following order from the bottom: anode (hole injection electrode (1000))/hole injection layer (200)/hole transport layer (300)/light-emitting layer (400)/electron transport layer (500)/electron injection layer (600)/cathode (electron injection electrode (2000)).” The claimed first and second hole transport layers are interpreted as two sublayers of the hole transport layer taught by Ham.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(Ham teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0007]). A particular compound taught by Ham is compound 4
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A represents a group represented by general formula 2-1
wherein n is an integer of 0 so that R1 does not exist; L1 is a divalent group which is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m is an integer of 1, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted aromatic group; B and C represent a substituted aromatic group and an unsubstituted aromatic group, respectively. This compound is represented by general formula 2-2 as required by claim 2, and general formulae 2-3 and 2-4 in claims 3 and 4 wherein p represents 0. The compound contains
as required by claim 21. & [0019]: “The compound of the present invention can increase hole injection and transport characteristics when used as a hole transport layer (HTL)”)
In the Examples Ham teaches the emission layer contains a blue light-emitting dopant
. Ham does not teach:
Wherein the blue light-emitting dopant is a compound represented by general formula (3-1)
Suh teaches OLED devices with similar blue light emission anthracene based host materials,
, and similar triarylamine hole transport layer materials
([0178]). Suh teaches that the devices contain dopants such as
, which reads on Formula 3-1 wherein Q1 and Q3 are unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbons and Q2 is a substituted aromatic heterocyclic ring; X2 represents B; Y1 represents O, and Y2 and Y3 represent N-R7 wherein R7 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the blue dopant of Ham with the blue dopant of Suh, which reads on the claimed formula because both compounds are taught to be functionally equivalent blue light dopants for use with anthracene based host materials and triarylamine hole transport layers.
As per claims 7 and 14 – 16, Ham teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone (In the Example devices, as described in [0222], BH01 was used as the host material in the light emitting layer
.)
As per claim 22, the only difference between Compound 4 of Ham and claimed compound
is the biphenylene linker group and the phenyl substituents off of the fluorenyl group. However, in Formula 1 of Ham, L is defined to include biphenylene ([0043]) and R is defined to include phenyl ([0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the L and R groups of Compound 4 of Ham to include a biphenylene and a phenyl group as allowed by the claims and arrive at the claimed compound.
Ham includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ham being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of high efficiency ([0019]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Claims 1 – 4, 7, 14 – 16, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uehara (US20210210693A1) in view of Suh (WO2019164331A1, using US20210184121A1 as the official English language translation).
As per claims 1 – 4, 21 and 22, Uehara teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0075]: “The organic EL device of the present invention may have a structure in which an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode are sequentially formed on a substrate.” The claimed first hole transport layer is interpreted as the hole injection layer and the claimed second hole transport layer is interpreted as the hole transport layer.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(Uehara teaches compounds of Formula A-1
([0027]). A particular compound taught by Uehara is Compound 4
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein A is a group of general formula (2-1), B and C are substituted aromatic hydrocarbon groups. This compound is represented by general formula 2-2 as required by claim 2, and general formulae 2-3 and 2-4 in claims 3 and 4 wherein p represents 0. The compound contains
as required by claim 21. This compound is the same as
in claim 22. & [0066]: “The compound having a triarylamine structure and being represented by the structural formula (A-1) and being suitable for use in an organic EL device of the present invention can be used as the materials of… a hole transport layer… of the organic EL device.”)
Uehara teaches blue dopant materials in the emission layer of the device, such as
used with anthracene based host materials, such as
. Uehara does not teach:
Wherein the blue light-emitting dopant is a compound represented by general formula (3-1)
Suh teaches OLED devices with similar blue light emission anthracene based host materials,
, and similar triarylamine hole transport layer materials
([0178]). Suh teaches that the devices contain dopants such as
, which reads on Formula 3-1 wherein Q1 and Q3 are unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbons and Q2 is a substituted aromatic heterocyclic ring; X2 represents B; Y1 represents O, and Y2 and Y3 represent N-R7 wherein R7 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the blue dopant of Uehara with the blue dopant of Suh, which reads on the claimed formula because both compounds are taught to be functionally equivalent blue light dopants for use with anthracene based host materials and triarylamine hole transport layers.
As per claims 7 and 14 – 16, Uehara teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone (In the Example devices, as described in [0150], EMH-1 was used as the host material in the light emitting layer
.)
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US20220320455A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, Qiu teaches:
An organic electroluminescence device, between an anode and a cathode comprising, at least a first hole transport layer, a second hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer in this order from the anode side ([0084]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the OLED includes an anode 10, a cathode 90, and an organic emitting layer disposed between the anode 10 and the cathode 90. In an exemplary embodiment, the organic light emitting layer may include a hole transport layer 30, an electron block layer 40, an emitting layer 50, and a hole block layer 60 which are stacked, the hole transport layer 30 and the electron block layer 40 are disposed between the anode 10 and the emitting layer 50, and the hole block layer 60 is disposed between the emitting layer 50 and the cathode 90.” The claimed first hole transport layer is interpreted as the hole transport layer and the claimed second hole transport layer is interpreted as the electron block layer.)
Wherein the second hole transport layer contains a triarylamine compound represented by general formula (1)
(In [0135], Qiu teaches that the electron block layer can include a compound of Formula 4-1-3
which reads on the claimed Formula wherein C is a monovalent group of the general formula (2-1), wherein L is a divalent unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon, m is 1; Ar1, Ar2 and Rn are all an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon and n is 3; B is an unsubstituted aromatic heterocyclic group and C is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group. The compound is represented by general formula (2-2) in claim 2 and general formula (2-3) in claim 3 where p is 0.)
Wherein the blue light-emitting dopant is a compound represented by general formula (3-1)
(In the Examples, as described in [0170], compound 2-4 was used as the blue light dopant
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Q1 and Q2 represent an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon; Q3 represents a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon; X is B; Y1 is S; Y2 and Y3 are N-R4 wherein R4 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group.)
Qiu teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer with a condensed polycyclic heteroaromatic blue dopant as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Qiu as Qiu demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 7, 14 and 15, Qiu teaches:
Wherein the light-emitting layer contains an anthracene derivative having an anthracene backbone (In the Example devices, as described in [0169], the following compound was used as the host material in the light emitting layer
.)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789