DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 12 has been amended and claim 18 has been cancelled
Claims 12-17 and 19-20 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant’s added limitation includes the powder inside the tank. The powder was not previously positively claimed but is relied upon to perform the action of discharging from the tank, therefore the claim is indefinite. Because the tank is configured to move granular products into and out of the container with the aid of gravitational force, it is the Examiner’s position the tank needs on the ability to perform the operation, therefore meeting the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holden et al. (US 2019/0106162) in view of Takayuki (JP 2004263803).
Claim 12. Holden discloses a tank container 2, comprising:
a tank main body portion 12 formed into a cylindrical shape [0044], which is configured to accommodate powder therein (granular material), and which is closed at both ends along a longitudinal direction (fig. 2);
a container frame portion 14 having the tank main body portion fixed thereto [0043];
a plurality of accommodation and discharge portions 34, which are arranged so as to be adjacent to each other along the longitudinal direction in a lower portion of the tank main body portion (fig. 1), which have upper end portions each airtightly joined to an inner wall 2 of the tank main body portion and to an adjacent portion, and which have lower end portions @78 each formed into a downward tapered shape so as to protrude outward respectively from a plurality of openings 78 formed on an outer peripheral surface of the tank main body portion ([0048]; fig. 2);
wherein an inner peripheral surface of the tank main body portion is reinforced with a reinforcing member 30 having an annular shape [0046];
wherein a width of each of the accommodation and discharge portions along a direction intersecting the longitudinal direction of the tank main body portion is set to a value equal to an inner diameter of a cylindrical portion of the tank main body portion (fig. 2, 4, 13);
wherein the powder accommodated inside the tank main body portion is discharged by falling downward with gravity from the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions ([0044]; fig. 2).
Holden fails to disclose heat insulating portions formed on the outer surface. Takayuki teaches a plurality of accommodation and discharge portions 6a-d, which are arranged so as to be adjacent to each other along the longitudinal direction in a lower portion of the tank main body portion, which have upper end portions each airtightly joined to an inner wall 2 of the tank main body portion and to an adjacent portion ([0019-0020]; fig. 3);
a heat insulating portion 3 formed on the outer peripheral surface of the tank main body portion (fig. 4-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the storage vessel of Takashi to include the accommodation and discharge portions of Takayuki to assist in a controlled release and storage of the stored products.
Claim 13. Holden -Takayuki discloses the tank container according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions each have an inclination angle set to be equal to or larger than an angle of repose of the powder (Takayuki; [0020-0021]).
Claim 14. Holden-Takayuki discloses the tank container according to claim 12, wherein one or more introduction ports each configured to introduce pressurized gas into the tank main body portion are formed along the longitudinal direction in an upper end portion of the tank main body portion (Takayuki; [0008-0009]).
Claim 15. Holden-Takayuki discloses the tank container according to claim 12, wherein supply ports each configured to supply the powder into the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions are formed so as to correspond respectively to the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions in an upper end portion of the tank main body portion (Takayuki; [0020-0021], fig. 1).
Claim 16. Holden-Takayuki discloses the tank container according to claim 12, wherein injection ports each configured to inject pressurized gas onto the powder accommodated in the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions are formed respectively in the lower end portions of the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions (Takayuki; [0007-0009]).
Claim 17. Holden-Takayuki discloses the tank container according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of accommodation and discharge portions are each formed into a downward conical shape, and a discharge port configured to discharge the powder is opened in each of the lower end portions and is opened and closed by a discharge valve formed of a ball valve (Takayuki; fig. 3).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holden et al. (US 2019/0106162) in view of Takayuki (JP 2004263803) in view of Meints et al. (US 2017/0350532).
Claim 19. Holden-Takayuki disclose the tank container according to claim 12, but fails to disclose mounting members. Meints teaches wherein the tank main body portion has mounting members each formed into an annular shape fixed respectively to both end portions along the longitudinal direction, and
wherein the tank main body portion is fixed to the container frame portion through intermediation of the mounting members (Meints; fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the frame members of Holden-Takayuki to protect the container during transport and storage.
Claim 20. Holden-Takayuki the tank container according to claim 12, where Takashi teaches an opening in the upper end portion of the main body but fails to disclose a spill box. Meints teaches wherein, in an upper end portion of the tank main body portion, a spill box portion 22 formed into a rectangular frame shape in plan view is formed so as to surround an outer periphery of an opening formed in the upper end portion of the tank main body portion, and
wherein an outer surface of the spill box portion is covered with a heat insulating material (Meints; [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the upper opening of Holden-Takayuki to protect the opening for dispensing or removing products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735