DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-15 are pending in the present application. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, and 12 were amended in the response filed 02 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The disclosure does not appear to clearly describe “calculating gestational age (GA) of said infant”, the disclosure does describe a gestational age of said infant; however does not appear to use the term “calculating”. Clarification is requested...
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonnsen et al. Heart Rate-Defined Sustained Attention in Infants at Risk for Autism in view of Martien et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0209097.
Regarding claim 1, Tonnsen et al. teaches the following:
A system for predicting risk of diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) for an infant , of a predetermined postmenstrual age (PMA), based on neonatal analytics sourced from one or more Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) records for said infant, [note: Abstract, autism and heart rate in infants, figures 1 and 2] comprising:
a processor [note: page 6, Autism diagnostic symptoms through analytic plan; figure 2 ];
a processor-readable memory including processor-executable instructions for:
calculating gestational age (GA) of said infant:
receiving and storing heart rate (HR) pattern data corresponding to said infant of said (PMA) for a predetermined time period, evaluating one or more parameters derived from said HR pattern data to assess a behavior of said one or more parameters within said predetermined time period [note: page 3, heart rate “infants at risk for ASD”, pilot study of 9- to 18-months; page 5, increasing faster heart rate predicts ASD risk];
determining whether the behavior of any of said one or more parameters increases or decreases in magnitude, relative to a datum, during one or more portions of time of said predetermined time period that follow a conclusion of said calculating of said GA of said infant according to said NICA records [[note: page 3, heart rate “infants at risk for ASD”, pilot study of 9- to 18-months; page 5, increasing faster heart rate predicts ASD risk].; and
in response to a determination of increasing behavior, determining that said risk is positive [note: page 3, heart rate “infants at risk for ASD”, pilot study of 9- to 18-months; page 5, increasing faster heart rate predicts ASD risk]..
Although Tonnsen et al. teach the invention substantially as cited above, they do not excpicity teach calculating a gestational age of said infant. They do discuss gestational age of infants. However Martin et al. teaches calculation of a gestational age of an infant [note: paragraph 0190, “Gestational age was calculated based on the last menstrual period in rounded weeks”, also se paragraph 0162 autism risk]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited references since they are both directed toward detecting autism in infants.
Claim 2: The system according to claim 1, wherein: said predetermined time period comprises said one or more portions of time within a PMA of 34-42 weeks of said infant [note: page 3, infants; figures 2 through 3 ].
Claim 3: The system according to claim 2, wherein: said one or more parameters comprise a measured HR standard deviation and a measured HR skewness (HRskw) each calculated for about ten (10) minute segments of HR pattern data and averaged on at least an hourly basis for each of said one or more portions of time within said PMA of 34-42 weeks of said infant [note: page 3, infants; figures 2 through 3 ].
Claim 4: The system according to claim 3, wherein: said datum corresponds to any one of (a) a predetermined, respective HR standard deviation or HRskw value and (b) a respective HR standard deviation or HRskw value for a preceding one of said one or more portions of time, within said PMA of 34-42 weeks, of equal duration [note figures 1-3 ].
Claim 5: The system according to claim 4, wherein: an increase in the measured HRskw value is based on one or more accelerations in said HR pattern data [note: page 5, increase in heart rate predicts ASD in infants ].
The limitations of claims 6-15 parallel claims 1-5, therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
ARGUMENT: The prior art does not teach the amended feature of calculating gestational age (GA) of said infant.
RESPONSE: Note newly cited reference Martin et al.combined with Tonnson et al. teaches the amended feature of calculating gestational age of an infant.See Martin et al. oaragraph 0190. Tonnsen et al. is concerned with detecting risk for autism in infants which include a variety of ages [see: page 1 and 3, figures 1-3]..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note attached form PTO-892.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sherief Badawi can be reached at 571-272-9782. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GRETA L ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163