DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 2/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-30 and 50 are cancelled.
Claims 31-49 and 51 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-34,36-39,41-44,46-49, and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20220022197) in view of Liu (US 20200154322).
Re claim 31:
Zhang discloses a dual Wi-Fi connection method, applied to a first electronic device, the method comprising (Para.[0035] a WI-FI communication apparatus is provided, where the apparatus communicates with a first device by using at least two configurable channel links):
establishing a connection with a first access point through a first Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0160] The STA sends, to the AP based on the link indication information, a first association request used to mark the first channel link as an uplink data link);
obtaining first Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) information from a DHCP server through the first Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0162] S605. The STA and the AP initiate a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) procedure on the first channel link, to obtain an Internet Protocol (IP) address (denoted as IP1) of the VSTA1);
obtaining second DHCP information from the DHCP server through the (Para.[0162] S606. The STA and the AP initiate a DHCP procedure on the second channel link, to obtain an IP address (denoted as IP2) of the VSTA2);
establishing a connection with a second access point through a second Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0161] S604. The STA sends, to the AP based on the link indication information, a second association request used to mark the second channel link as a downlink data link);
exchanging data with the second access point based on the second DHCP information (Para.[0163] The STA and the AP transmit data on the first channel link and the second channel link).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose obtaining second DHCP information through the first Wi-Fi connection.
Liu discloses obtaining second DHCP information through the first Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0060] the terminal equipment stores an IP address that is assigned by the first AP to the terminal equipment. Because the first AP and the second AP are corresponding to the same dual-band radio access device, the first AP and the second AP share a same Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (“DHCP” for short) server. Therefore, when the terminal equipment establishes the connection with the second AP, the terminal equipment does not need to apply for an IP address from the second AP, reducing time consumed by the handover process Examiner Note: As shown above, the IP address is obtained with a first Wi-Fi connection to a first AP. Liu shows the second AP doesn’t need to apply for an IP address because the IP address has already been attained. Thus the second DHCP information (IP address) has been obtained through the first Wi-Fi connection with the first AP).
Zhang and Liu are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include obtaining second DHCP information through a first Wi-Fi connection as taught by Liu in order to reduce a signaling duration and improve user experience (Liu Para.[0005]).
Re claim 32:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein the first DHCP information is subnet mask information or IP address information allocated by the DHCP server to a DHCP1 module of the first electronic device (Para.[0162] S605. The STA and the AP initiate a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) procedure on the first channel link, to obtain an Internet Protocol (IP) address (denoted as IP1) of the VSTA1).
Re claim 33:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein, before the first electronic device establishes the second Wi-Fi connection with the second access point, searching for network information of the second access point based on the network information of the first access point (Fig. 6 ref. S602 and S604 and Para.[0159] The AP sends a beacon frame or a probe response frame to the STA (where an example in which the AP1 sends the beacon frame or the probe response frame to the STA1 is used in FIG. 6). The beacon frame or the probe response frame includes link indication information, that is, the AP broadcasts an MFDD capability, an MFDD channel list, and the like by using the beacon frame or the probe response frame, so that the STA can obtain the beacon frame or the probe response frame through scanning, and parse the beacon frame or the probe response frame to obtain the link indication information);
establishing the second Wi-Fi connection between the first electronic device and the second access point includes, establishing the second Wi-Fi connection with the second access point based on the searched network information of the second access point (Para.[0162] S606. The STA and the AP initiate a DHCP procedure on the second channel link, to obtain an IP address (denoted as IP2) of the VSTA2).
Re claim 34:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 33, wherein the network information of the first access point or of the second access point comprises at least one of the following: basic service set identification BSSID information, service set identification SSID information, or channel information of a channel to which it belongs (Para.[0159] The AP sends a beacon frame or a probe response frame to the STA (where an example in which the AP1 sends the beacon frame or the probe response frame to the STA1 is used in FIG. 6). The beacon frame or the probe response frame includes link indication information, that is, the AP broadcasts an MFDD capability, an MFDD channel list, and the like by using the beacon frame or the probe response frame).
Re claim 36:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, characterized in that: running a first application (Para.0127] For example, the service requirement is determined based on the priority of the to-be-carried service. For example, it is identified, based on a protocol identification database (including but not limited to an application ID, an application name, and a service type) that a user is watching a 3D interactive movie by using a STA terminal. Both uplink and downlink data corresponding to the application ID have strict requirements on a transmission delay of a data service); and
performing transmission of data of the first application over the second Wi-Fi connection, or over the first Wi-Fi connection and the second Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0163] The STA and the AP transmit data on the first channel link and the second channel link).
As shown above, Zhang discloses running a first application (e.g. a user watching a movie). Zhang does not explicitly disclose all the steps involved in starting the application and thus does not explicitly disclose that the application is in response to a received second operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a user application is run in response to a received second operation, such as starting receiving a user request to start a streaming service. Gordon (US 20190007719) is further evidence relied upon to show a application being run in response to a received second operation (Para.[0256] Because the game shown is a multiplayer game, the user may decide to join the game at some point…If the user is permitted to play, then app/game server 1521-1525 that had been providing the Game Finder user interface for the user will request that the hosting service control server 401 initiate (i.e., locate and start up) an app/game server 1521-1525 that is suitably configured for playing the particular game).
Re claim 37:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein establishing the connection with the second access point through the second Wi-Fi connection is performed according to an association relationship between the first access point and the second access point when an access condition is met, wherein the access condition comprises at least one of the following: in a case that a third operation is received, the third operation is used for instructing to establish the second Wi-Fi connection while maintaining the first Wi-Fi connection; a communication quality parameter of the first Wi-Fi connection is lower than a threshold; and the first electronic device runs a specified application (Para.[0174] S607 is a service process, and the steps of marking the first channel link as the uplink data link and marking the second channel link as the downlink data link are performed in the association process and Para.0127] For example, the service requirement is determined based on the priority of the to-be-carried service. For example, it is identified, based on a protocol identification database (including but not limited to an application ID, an application name, and a service type) that a user is watching a 3D interactive movie by using a STA terminal. Both uplink and downlink data corresponding to the application ID have strict requirements on a transmission delay of a data service - Examiner Note: the first access point and the second access point connections are used as uplink and downlink, respectively as shown by the application requirements for uplink and downlink data).
Re claim 38:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein the first Wi-Fi connection is established on a first channel in a first frequency band, and the second Wi-Fi connection is established on a second channel in a second frequency band, wherein the first frequency band is the same as or different from the second frequency band (Para.[0014] In a possible implementation of the first aspect, the at least two channel links are different channel links in a same frequency band, or the at least two channel links are channel links in different frequency bands).
Re claim 39:
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein the first access point and the second access point are a same device, and the device is a dual-band integrated router (Fig.6 ref. AP VAP2 and VAP1 are a same device and Para.[0014] In a possible implementation of the first aspect, the at least two channel links are different channel links in a same frequency band, or the at least two channel links are channel links in different frequency bands).
Re claim 41: Claim 41 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 31. Zhang further discloses a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is coupled to the processor, the memory stores program instructions, and when executed by the processor, the program instructions cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising (Fig. 13).
Re claim 42: Claim 42 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 32.
Re claim 43: Claim 43 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 33.
Re claim 44: Claim 44 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 34.
Re claim 46: Claim 46 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 36.
Re claim 47: Claim 47 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 37.
Re claim 48: Claim 48 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 38.
Re claim 49: Claim 49 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 39.
Re claim 51: Claim 51 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 31.
Claim(s) 35 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu as applied to claims 31 and 41 above, and further in view of Zhang2 (WO 2022083386 – using EP 4213512 as a translation and for citations).
Re claim 35:
As discussed above, Zhang in view of Liu meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Zhang discloses the method according to claim 31, further comprising: establishing a third Wi-Fi connection with a second electronic device in response to a received first operation (Fig.9 ref. VAP1-3 and ref. S905 Initiate an association procedure on a third channel link), and
Zhang does not explicitly disclose performing a screen mirroring service with the second electronic device through the third Wi-Fi connection; and disconnecting the second Wi-Fi connection.
Zhang2 discloses performing a screen mirroring service with the second electronic device through the third Wi-Fi connection; and disconnecting the second Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0236] In this scenario, if the mobile phone performs screen projection to the large screen, the mobile phone needs to disconnect from the Wi-Fi connecting to the AP. In an example, the two Wi-Fi connections between the mobile phone and the AP may include a primary connection path (for example, the 2.4 GHz connection is the primary connection path) and a secondary connection path (for example, the 5 GHz connection is the secondary connection path). After the mobile phone performs screen projection to the large screen, the secondary connection path is disconnected).
Zhang and Zhang2 are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to screen mirroring and disconnecting a second connection as taught by Zhang2 in order to improve reliability and stability of data transmission in a screen projection process (Zhang2 Para.[0006]).
Re claim 45: Claim 45 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 35.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Hareuveni (US 20210204340).
Re claim 40:
As discussed above, Zhang in view of Liu meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method according to claim 31, wherein the first access point and the second access point are different devices.
Hareuveni discloses the method according to claim 31, wherein the first access point and the second access point are different devices (Fig.9 ref. 908 different AP with same SSID on Band B).
Zhang and Hareuveni are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include a different AP as taught by Hareuveni in order to improve user QoS (Hareuveni Para.[0092]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant contends the combination of Zhang in view of Liu does not disclose obtaining second DHCP information from the DHCP service through the first Wi-Fi connection. Applicant’s rationale is Liu avoids obtaining new DHCP information and thus does not disclose obtaining second DHCP information through the first Wi-Fi connection.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu discloses obtaining second DHCP information through the first Wi-Fi connection (Para.[0060] the terminal equipment stores an IP address that is assigned by the first AP to the terminal equipment. Because the first AP and the second AP are corresponding to the same dual-band radio access device, the first AP and the second AP share a same Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (“DHCP” for short) server. Therefore, when the terminal equipment establishes the connection with the second AP, the terminal equipment does not need to apply for an IP address from the second AP, reducing time consumed by the handover process Examiner Note: As shown above, the IP address is obtained with a first Wi-Fi connection to a first AP. Liu shows the second AP doesn’t need to apply for an IP address because the IP address has already been attained. Thus the second DHCP information (IP address) has been obtained through the first Wi-Fi connection with the first AP).
As shown above, Liu discloses obtaining DHCP information through a first Wi-Fi connection. Liu further states the first and second DHCP information are the same. Thus when the terminal equipment obtains first DHCP information, the second DHCP information is also obtained. The claim does not define the “obtaining second DHCP information” step as being different from “obtaining first DHCP information”. Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, the disclosure of Liu reads on the limitation of obtaining second DHCP information through the first Wi-Fi connection.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., new DHCP information) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim does not define the second DHCP information as being new or different from the first DHCP information.
The Examiner recommends further defining the second DHCP information as being different or new relative to the first DHCP information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471