Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 7-10, the applicant asserts that “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections. Claim 12 recites, in part, "wherein the conditions comprise: the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List, there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI), and the first PUCCH resource overlaps with a symbol indicated as DL by the TDD UL-DL configuration" Claims 18, 19, and 30, though different in scope from claim 12, recite similar features… Accordingly, for at least these reasons, Applicant requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections and submits that all claims are in condition for allowance.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
“During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." MPEP § 2111.01 (I) (citing to In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." MPEP 2111.01 (11) citing to Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “HARQ-ACK deferral for a SPS HARQ-ACK of a first slot is allowed when there is no HARQ-ACK PUCCH dynamically scheduled in the first slot”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As indicated by the claim, “there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI)”, which as indicated by par. 164 of GAO, “if DCI format 2-0 indicates that the flexible symbol is unavailable, the above-mentioned flexible symbol is included in the symbol set included in the PUCCH resource 1…then the HARQ-ACK feedback of the SPS PDSCH in the slot n is deferred”, which would indicating the flexible symbol in the PUCCH resource for carrying the HARQ-ACK feedback is not available in the slot n as indicated by the DCI and thus there is no transmission PUCCH for the HARQ-ACK scheduled in the slot n and would read on “there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI)” . Also as further indicated by GAO in par. 176, “if a HARQ-ACK of a PDSCH with corresponding PDCCH (referred to as dynamic HARQ-ACK) overlaps with PUCCH resource 1, the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH in slot n is multiplexed with the dynamic HARQ-ACK and transmitted… If there is no dynamic HARQ-ACK or there is no dynamic HARQ-ACK transmission overlapping with PUCCH resource 1, the HARQ-ACK of the SPS PDSCH in slot n is transmitted through PUCCH resource 1”, the HARQ-ACK being scheduled dynamically. Therefore, the combination of the prior would teach the claims.
The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15, 18, 19, 21-24, 26-29, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1912037 (“Other issues for URLLC and UE features”, VIVO) in view of R1-1912541 (“Discussion on DL SPS enhancements”, CMCC) and GAO et al. (US 20220399978 with foreign priority CN 201911089886.0 filed on 11/08/2019 and foreign priority CN 201911136319.6 filed on 11/19/2019).
Regarding claim 12, R1-1912037 teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (section 4.2, UE), the method comprising:
receiving a time division duplex (TDD) uplink (UL)-downlink (DL) configuration and a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, reception of SPS and DL/UL TDD configuration);
performing a SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception based on the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS);
determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for multiplexing uplink control information (UCI) in a first slot, wherein the UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS PDSCH reception (fig. 7, section 4.2, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS…UE cancels the PUCCH transmission carrying the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH received in slot n (expect the PUCCH corresponding to the 1st PDSCH granted by the activation DCI, for which such conflict is considered as an error case)… If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n…UE needs to multiplex multiple HARQ-ACKs for the SPS PDSCHs in multiple PDSCH occasions. Therefore, a HARQ-ACK codebook is constructed in the available UL slot derived to contain the multiple HARQ-ACK where the available UL slot is indicated by semi-static TDD configuration); and
transmitting the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception (fig. 7, section 4.2, determination of slot n for HARQ ACK),
wherein, based on the first PUCCH resource satisfying conditions in the first slot, the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception is transmitted on a second PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If there is no available UL resource in slot n+K due to conflict TDD configuration…If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n), and
wherein the conditions comprise:
the first PUCCH resource overlaps with a symbol indicated as DL by the TDD UL-DL configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
However, R1-1912037 does not teach the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List.
But, R1-1912541 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List (section 2, The PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK is configured via SPS-Config with n1PUCCH-AN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1912541 in the system of R1-1912037 to signal PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to standardize to reduce the complexity of processing the SPS configuration.
However, R1-1912037 does not teach there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI).
But, GAO et al. (US 20220399978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI) (par. 164, supported by page 24 lines 1-6 of 201911136319.6), if DCI format 2-0 indicates that the flexible symbol is unavailable, the above-mentioned flexible symbol is included in the symbol set included in the PUCCH resource 1…then the HARQ-ACK feedback of the SPS PDSCH in the slot n is deferred).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GAO in the system of R1-1912037 and R1-1912541 to indicate the available of PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to provide preempt collision.
Regarding claim 13, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 14, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to SPS configurations for which corresponding HARQ-ACK information is transmitted on the first PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 15, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to a plurality of SPS configurations provided to the UE (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n; section 1, HARQ-ACK feedback for SPS PDSCHs without associated DL assignment shall be reported (i.e. no dynamic PDSCH HARQ-ACK), PUCCH resource i is selected if HARQ-ACK payload size (not including CRC) is in the range of {Ni,min, …, Ni,max} bits, where the number of PUCCH resources in the selection is from 0 up to 3).
Regarding claim 18, R1-1912037 teaches a user equipment (UE) (section 4.2, UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver (section 4.2, UE);
at least one processor (section 4.2, UE); and
at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (section 4.2, UE) comprising:
receiving a time division duplex (TDD) uplink (UL)-downlink (DL) configuration and a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, reception of SPS and DL/UL TDD configuration);
performing SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception based on the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS);
determining, in a first slot, a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for multiplexing uplink control information (UCI) in a first slot, wherein the UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS PDSCH reception (fig. 7, section 4.2, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS…UE cancels the PUCCH transmission carrying the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH received in slot n (expect the PUCCH corresponding to the 1st PDSCH granted by the activation DCI, for which such conflict is considered as an error case)… If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n…UE needs to multiplex multiple HARQ-ACKs for the SPS PDSCHs in multiple PDSCH occasions. Therefore, a HARQ-ACK codebook is constructed in the available UL slot derived to contain the multiple HARQ-ACK where the available UL slot is indicated by semi-static TDD configuration); and
wherein, based on the first PUCCH resource satisfying conditions in the first slot, the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception is transmitted on a second PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If there is no available UL resource in slot n+K due to conflict TDD configuration…If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n), and
wherein the conditions comprise:
the first PUCCH resource overlaps with a symbol indicated as DL by the TDD UL-DL configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
However, R1-1912037 does not teach the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List.
But, R1-1912541 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List (section 2, The PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK is configured via SPS-Config with n1PUCCH-AN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1912541 in the system of R1-1912037 to signal PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to standardize to reduce the complexity of processing the SPS configuration.
However, R1-1912037 does not teach there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI).
But, GAO et al. (US 20220399978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches there being no PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI) (par. 164, supported by page 24 lines 1-6 of 201911136319.6), if DCI format 2-0 indicates that the flexible symbol is unavailable, the above-mentioned flexible symbol is included in the symbol set included in the PUCCH resource 1…then the HARQ-ACK feedback of the SPS PDSCH in the slot n is deferred).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GAO in the system of R1-1912037 and R1-1912541 to indicate the available of PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to provide preempt collision.
Regarding claim 19, R1-1912037 teaches performed by a base station (BS) (section 4.2, communication between cell and UE), the method comprising:
transmitting a time division duplex (TDD) uplink (UL)-downlink (DL) configuration and a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration to a user equipment (UE) (fig. 7, section 4.2, reception of SPS and DL/UL TDD configuration);
performing a SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission based on the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS);
determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a reception of uplink control information (UCI) in a first slot, wherein the UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat _request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS PDSCH transmission (fig. 7, section 4.2, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS…UE cancels the PUCCH transmission carrying the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH received in slot n (expect the PUCCH corresponding to the 1st PDSCH granted by the activation DCI, for which such conflict is considered as an error case)… If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n…UE needs to multiplex multiple HARQ-ACKs for the SPS PDSCHs in multiple PDSCH occasions. Therefore, a HARQ-ACK codebook is constructed in the available UL slot derived to contain the multiple HARQ-ACK where the available UL slot is indicated by semi-static TDD configuration); and
receiving the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH transmission (fig. 7, section 4.2, determination of slot n for HARQ ACK),
wherein, based on the first PUCCH resource satisfying conditions in the first slot, the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH transmission is received on a second PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If there is no available UL resource in slot n+K due to conflict TDD configuration…If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n), and
wherein the conditions comprise:
the first PUCCH resource overlaps with a symbol indicated as DL by the TDD UL-DL configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
However, R1-1912037 does not teach the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List.
But, R1-1912541 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches the first PUCCH resource is provided by a parameter n1PUCCH-AN or by a parameter SPS-PUCCH-AN-List (section 2, The PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK is configured via SPS-Config with n1PUCCH-AN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1912541 in the system of R1-1912037 to signal PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to standardize to reduce the complexity of processing the SPS configuration.
However, R1-1912037 does not teach there being no PUCCH reception for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI).
But, GAO et al. (US 20220399978) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches there being no PUCCH reception for HARQ-ACK scheduled to be performed in the first slot by downlink control information (DCI) (par. 164, supported by page 24 lines 1-6 of 201911136319.6), if DCI format 2-0 indicates that the flexible symbol is unavailable, the above-mentioned flexible symbol is included in the symbol set included in the PUCCH resource 1…then the HARQ-ACK feedback of the SPS PDSCH in the slot n is deferred).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by GAO in the system of R1-1912037 and R1-1912541 to indicate the available of PUCCH resource.
The motivation would have been to provide preempt collision.
Regarding claim 21, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the conditions comprise: HARQ-ACK information included in the UCI in the first slot is related only to one or more SPS PDSCH receptions (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS).
Regarding claim 22, R1-1912037 teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, When UE is configured with a DL SPS configuration with short periodicity, since a single timing value is indicated in the DL SPS activation DCI…If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 23, R1-1912037 teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to SPS configurations for which corresponding HARQ-ACK information is transmitted on the first PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 24, R1-1912037 teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to a plurality of SPS configurations provided to the UE (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n; section 1, HARQ-ACK feedback for SPS PDSCHs without associated DL assignment shall be reported (i.e. no dynamic PDSCH HARQ-ACK), PUCCH resource i is selected if HARQ-ACK payload size (not including CRC) is in the range of {Ni,min, …, Ni,max} bits, where the number of PUCCH resources in the selection is from 0 up to 3).
Regarding claim 26, R1-1912037 teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the conditions comprise: HARQ-ACK information included in the UCI in the first slot is related only to one or more SPS PDSCH receptions (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS).
Regarding claim 27, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to the SPS configuration (fig. 7, section 4.2, When UE is configured with a DL SPS configuration with short periodicity, since a single timing value is indicated in the DL SPS activation DCI…If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 28, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to SPS configurations for which corresponding HARQ-ACK information is received on the first PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
Regarding claim 29, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the second PUCCH resource is an earliest next available PUCCH resource among PUCCH resources related to a plurality of SPS configurations provided to the UE (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n; section 1, HARQ-ACK feedback for SPS PDSCHs without associated DL assignment shall be reported (i.e. no dynamic PDSCH HARQ-ACK), PUCCH resource i is selected if HARQ-ACK payload size (not including CRC) is in the range of {Ni,min, …, Ni,max} bits, where the number of PUCCH resources in the selection is from 0 up to 3).
Regarding claim 32, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the conditions comprise: HARQ-ACK information included in the UCI in the first slot is related only to one or more SPS PDSCH transmissions (fig. 7, section 4.2, when UE is configured with DL SPS, for a SPS PDSCH received in slot n, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in slot n+K where K is indicated by the activation DCI for SPS).
Claim(s) 20, 25, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1912037 (“Other issues for URLLC and UE features”, VIVO), R1-1912541 (“Discussion on DL SPS enhancements”, CMCC), and GAO et al. (US 20220399978 with foreign priority CN 201911089886.0 filed on 11/08/2019 and foreign priority CN 201911136319.6 filed on 11/19/2019) as applied to claims 12, 18, 19 above, and further in view of R1-1910620 (“UCI enhancements for URLLC”, OPPO).
Regarding claim 20, R1-1912037 does not teach the method of claim 12, wherein, based on the UE having multiple PUCCH transmissions that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH transmissions.
But, R1-1910620 (“UCI enhancements for URLLC”, OPPO) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein, based on the UE having multiple PUCCH transmissions that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH transmissions (fig. 2, section 2.3, 3) How to handle the collision between more than two PUCCH/PUSCHs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1910620 in the system of R1-1912541, R1-1912037, and GAO to handle multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
The motivation would have been to optimize the PUCCH transmission with multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
Regarding claim 25, R1-1912037 does not teach the UE of claim 18, wherein, based on the UE having multiple PUCCH transmissions that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH transmissions.
But, R1-1910620 (“UCI enhancements for URLLC”, OPPO) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein, based on the UE having multiple PUCCH transmissions that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH transmissions (fig. 2, section 2.3, 3) How to handle the collision between more than two PUCCH/PUSCHs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1910620 in the system of R1-1912541, R1-1912037, and GAO to handle multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
The motivation would have been to optimize the PUCCH transmission with multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
Regarding claim 31, R1-1912037 does not teach the method of claim 19, wherein, based on the BS having multiple PUCCH receptions from the UE that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH receptions.
But, R1-1910620 (“UCI enhancements for URLLC”, OPPO) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein, based on the UE having multiple PUCCH transmissions that overlap in time in the first slot, the UCI in the first slot is related to the multiple PUCCH transmissions (fig. 2, section 2.3, 3) How to handle the collision between more than two PUCCH/PUSCHs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by R1-1910620 in the system of R1-1912541, R1-1912037, and GAO to handle multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
The motivation would have been to optimize the PUCCH transmission with multiple PUCCHs in a slot.
Claim(s) 17, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-1912037 (“Other issues for URLLC and UE features”, VIVO), R1-1912541 (“Discussion on DL SPS enhancements”, CMCC), and GAO et al. (US 20220399978 with foreign priority CN 201911089886.0 filed on 11/08/2019 and foreign priority CN 201911136319.6 filed on 11/19/2019) as applied to claims 12, 19 above, and further in view of LI et al. (US 20210111837).
Regarding claim 17, R1-1912037 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein, based on i) the first PUCCH resource satisfying the conditions in the first slot (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n) and ii) the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception is transmitted on the second PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
However, R1-1912037 does not teach ii) the UCI in the first slot including scheduling request, the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception is transmitted without the scheduling request on the second PUCCH resource.
But, LI et al. (US 20210111837) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein, based on i) the first PUCCH resource satisfying the conditions in the first slot (par. 40, SR and HARQ-ACK overlapping) and ii) the UCI in the first slot including scheduling request (par. 40, SR and HARQ-ACK overlapping, dropping ACK PUCCH and transmitting the SR), the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH reception is transmitted without the scheduling request on the second PUCCH resource (par. 22, 40, although cancelling or removing the whole or part of the related transmission in the originally configured PUCCH resource, reconfiguring and/or transmitting the cancelled/removed part in other transmission; transmitting the HARQ-ACK in other transmission or second PUCCH without the transmitted SR).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LI in the system of R1-1912037, R1-1912541, and GAO to handle overlapping between HARQ-ACK and SR.
The motivation would have been to complement and improve technical solutions on the overlapping between the PUCCH resources carrying HARQ-ACK and SR.
Regarding claim 30, R1-1912037 teaches the method of 19, wherein, based on i) the first PUCCH resource satisfying the conditions in the first slot (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n) and ii) the HARQ- ACK for the SPS PDSCH transmission is received on the second PUCCH resource (fig. 7, section 4.2, If a slot n indicated by the activation DCI for HARQ-ACK transmission for a SPS PDSCH in slot (n-k) is colliding with DL symbols given by semi-static TDD configuration, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK for the SPS PDSCH in the next available UL slot/symbol after slot n).
However, R1-1912037 does not teach ii) the UCI in the first slot including scheduling request, the HARQ- ACK for the SPS PDSCH transmission is received on the second PUCCH resource without the scheduling request;
But, LI et al. (US 20210111837) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein, based on i) the first PUCCH resource satisfying the conditions in the first slot (par. 40, SR and HARQ-ACK overlapping) and ii) the UCI in the first slot including scheduling request (par. 40, SR and HARQ-ACK overlapping, dropping ACK PUCCH and transmitting the SR), the HARQ- ACK for the SPS PDSCH transmission is received on the second PUCCH resource without the scheduling request (par. 22, 40, although cancelling or removing the whole or part of the related transmission in the originally configured PUCCH resource, reconfiguring and/or transmitting the cancelled/removed part in other transmission; transmitting the HARQ-ACK in other transmission or second PUCCH without the transmitted SR).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LI in the system of R1-1912037, R1-1912541, and GAO to handle overlapping between HARQ-ACK and SR.
The motivation would have been to complement and improve technical solutions on the overlapping between the PUCCH resources carrying HARQ-ACK and SR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ERICSSON (“UCI Enhancements for NR URLLC”, R1-1910546) teaches Illustrations of Step1 and Step 2 collision handling procedures for mixed of traffic (fig. 2).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 07/31/2026