DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6-14, and 21-23 as amended are presently under consideration. Claims 15, and 17-19 remain withdrawn from consideration, and claims 2-3, 5, 16 and 20 remain cancelled as set forth in applicant’s response dated 29 September 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the indefiniteness rejection of claim 21 which is thus withdrawn.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and a new grounds of rejection is set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 12-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904), and in further view of Limodio et al (Front and rear contact Si solar cells combining high and low thermal budget Si passivating contacts, Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells 194 (2019) 28–35) and further in view of JI et al (US 2016/0126400) and in further view of Chang et al (US 2014/0299187).
Regarding claim 1 Mailoa discloses a solar cell, comprising:
a photovoltaic part including:
a first photovoltaic part that includes a photovoltaic layer composed of a perovskite compound ([0050], [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: solar cell having metal halide semiconductor stack 210/210’ perovskite layer) and
a second photovoltaic part that includes:
a semiconductor substrate ([0050], [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: p-type or n-type Si stack 202/202’);
a first semiconductor layer that is formed separately from the semiconductor substrate on a first side of the semiconductor substrate ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si emitter 104 on one side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed separately of amorphous silicon or polysilicon to form a HIT cell contact or a TOPCon cell contact); and
a second semiconductor layer that is formed separately from the semiconductor substrate on a second side of the semiconductor substrate opposite the first side of the semiconductor substrate ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si BSF 314 on the opposite side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed separately of amorphous silicon or polysilicon to form a HIT cell contact or a TOPCon cell contact), wherein in the second photovoltaic part, the first semiconductor layer, positioned adjacent to the first photovoltaic part, includes an amorphous portion ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si emitter 104 on one side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed of amorphous silicon);
a first electrode electrically connected to the photovoltaic part on one side of the photovoltaic part opposite the photovoltaic part from the one side of the photovoltaic part ([0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: top electrical contact 211/211’);
a second electrode electrically connected to the photovoltaic part on the other side of the photovoltaic part opposite the one side of the photovoltaic part ([0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: bottom electrical contact 201/201’);
a first intermediate film positioned between the semiconductor substrate and the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first intermediate film includes a hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si emitter 104 on one side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed of amorphous silicon and is a heterojunction-intrinsic-thin (HIT) and thus includes an intermediate thin film of hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon); and
the first side of the semiconductor substrate is a flat surface, and the second side of the semiconductor substrate has an uneven structure ([0086], [0088], see: front light receiving first surface side of the silicon wafer is left planar and rear second surface is textured).
Mailoa further teaches where the second semiconductor layer is formed as a tunnel-oxide-passivated contact (TOPCon) and includes a second intermediate film positioned between the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor layer, and formed on a surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the second intermediate film includes an insulating material ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si BSF 314 on the opposite side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed separately of polysilicon with an intermediate tunnel oxide passivation layer to form a TOPCon cell contact)
wherein in the second photovoltaic part, the second semiconductor layer includes a polycrystalline portion ([0102], Fig. 6E see: the Si BSF 314 on the opposite side of the silicon wafer 630 can be formed separately of polysilicon), but Mailoa does not explicitly disclose an embodiment having said second intermediate film positioned between the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor layer including a polycrystalline portion, and formed on an entire surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the second intermediate film includes an insulating material and wherein the first semiconductor layer is hydrogenated in the same embodiment as the first intermediate film including a hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer.
Limodio discloses a silicon solar cell having a silicon substrate with a B-doped poly-Si/SiOx hole collector and an i/n hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) stack acting as electron collector placed on the rear and front side, respectively where the B-doped poly-Si/SiOx hole collector formed on an entire surface of the semiconductor substrate as in Fig. 2(d) (see Abstract and Fig. 2(d)). Limodio teaches locating such a poly-Si/SiO2 stack at the rear with an amorphous contact structure at the front mitigates parasitic absorption losses compared to locating a thicker poly-Si layer at the front surface (see middle of left hand column on page 29 before section “2. Experimental details”).
Limodio and Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of silicon solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Limodio such that the silicon solar cell of Mailoa (second photovoltaic part) comprises a B-doped poly-Si/SiOx stack as the second semiconductor layer and second intermediate layer as in Limodio and an i/n hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) stack as the first semiconductor layer and first intermediate layer as in Limodio where the B-doped poly-Si/SiOx hole collector formed on an entire surface of the semiconductor substrate as in Fig. 2(d) of Limodio (see Abstract and Fig. 2(d)) as Mailoa teaches the Si emitter and Si BSF contacts on either side of the silicon wafer substrate can be either amorphous silicon or polysilicon to form a HIT cell contact or a TOPCon cell contact (Mailoa, para [0102], Fig. 6E) and that the emitter can be located at the rear of the silicon solar cell (Mailoa, para [0070]) and Limodio teaches locating such a poly-Si/SiO2 stack at the rear with an amorphous contact structure at the front mitigates parasitic absorption losses compared to locating a thicker poly-Si layer at the front surface (see middle of left hand column on page 29 before section “2. Experimental details”).
Furthermore, by the modification of Limodio, the first semiconductor layer is formed on a light receiving side of the solar cell and the second semiconductor layer is formed on a back side of the solar cell (Limodio, Abstract, Fig. 2 see: i/n hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) stack as the first semiconductor layer on a light receiving surface and second photovoltaic part comprises a B-doped poly-Si/SiOx stack on a back side of the solar cell).
Alternatively where it’s unclear that Limodio teaches said second intermediate film formed on an entire surface of the semiconductor substrate, JI teaches for such a silicon solar cell, the tunnel layer (second intermediate film) is formed on the entire back surface of the semiconductor substrate (JI, [0115], Fig, 6A see: tunnel layer 160 formed on the entire back surface of semiconductor substrate 110).
JI and modified Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of silicon solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of JI such that the second intermediate film of modified Mailoa is formed on the entire back surface of the semiconductor substrate as in JI (JI, [0115], Fig, 6A see: tunnel layer 160 formed on the entire back surface of semiconductor substrate 110) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known intermediate film for its intended purpose as a tunneling layer to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing tunneling to a polysilicon contact and reducing recombination at the contact interface.
Furthermore, Chang is cited to teach it was also known to provide a silicon solar cell with a rear textured surface over which a silicon oxide tunneling layer and polysilicon layer are formed (Chang, [0044], [0058], [0061], Fig. 1 see: second tunneling layer 44 of silicon oxide and first portion 30a of polycrystalline silicon formed on textured back surface of substrate) Chang further teaches the front surface of such a solar cell can also be textured or left not textured (Chang, [0044]).
As such, given Mailoa already teaches that the back surface of the silicon substrate is textured (paras [0086], [0088]) and can include a poly-Si/SiOx stack (para [0102]) the combination of these features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention in view of Chang which teaches such a combination ([0044], [0058], [0061], Fig. 1 see: second tunneling layer 44 of silicon oxide and first portion 30a of polycrystalline silicon formed on textured back surface of substrate) and also teaches it was known to configure the front surface of such a solar cell as textured or left not textured (Chang, [0044]) such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known silicon substrate surface configuration for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 4 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, and Limodio teaches a thickness of the second semiconductor layer (Page 29 right hand column see: a 250-nm thick a-Si layer is crystallized to form the rear B-doped poly-Si layer) is greater than that of the first semiconductor layer (Page 29 left hand column section 2. Experimental details see: n a-Si:H layer deposited 6 nm thick on front side) in the solar cell of modified Mailoa.
Regarding claim 6 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, and Limodio further teaches wherein materials or thicknesses of the first intermediate film and the second intermediate film are different from each other (Limodio, Fig. 2 and Abstract see: intrinsic a-Si:H layer and SiO2 layer having different materials and thicknesses).
Regarding claim 7 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 6, and Limodio teaches wherein the semiconductor substrate and the first semiconductor layer have a hetero-junction structure having different crystal structures with the first intermediate film composed of a semiconductor material therebetween, and the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor layer have an insulating junction structure or a tunnel-junction structure in which the semiconductor substrate and the second semiconductor layer are bonded to each other with the second intermediate film composed of an insulating material therebetween (Limodio, Abstract and Fig. 2 see: silicon substrate with a B-doped poly-Si/SiOx hole collector and an i/n hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) stack acting as electron collector placed on the planar rear and textured front side).
Regarding claim 8 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 6, and Limodio further teaches wherein
the first intermediate film includes a semiconductor material (Limodio, Abstract and Fig. 2 see: intrinsic a-Si:H layer), and
the second intermediate film contains an insulating material (Limodio, Abstract and Fig. 2 see: SiO2 layer).
Regarding claim 9 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 8, and Limodio teaches wherein the second intermediate film contains silicon oxide (Limodio, Abstract and Fig. 2 see: SiO2 layer).
Regarding claim 10 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 8, and regarding the claim 10 recitation “wherein a thickness of the second intermediate film is smaller than that of the first intermediate film” Limodio teaches at right hand column of page 29 section “2. Experimental details” that the intrinsic amorphous intermediate layer has a thickness of 4.5 nm and the SiO2 tunnel oxide layer has a thickness of about 1.5 nm, and thus teaches where the thickness of the second intermediate film is smaller than that of the first intermediate film.
Regarding claim 12 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, wherein the first photovoltaic part is positioned on one side of the second photovoltaic part (See Figs. 2A and 2B of Mailoa),
the first electrode is positioned on the first photovoltaic part (Mailoa, [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: top electrical contact 211/211’),
the second electrode is positioned on the second semiconductor layer of the second photovoltaic part (Mailoa, [0052]-[0053], Figs. 2A-2B see: bottom electrical contact 201/201’), and
a stacked structure of the first electrode and the second electrode are different from each other (Mailoa, [0084], [0074] Fig. 6e see: top electrical contact or electrode 211 is formed from a transparent electrode such as silver nanowires or a transparent conductive oxide and with a further stacked metal layer such as silver, and back electrode 201 is formed from a metal stack such as Ti/Pd/Ag).
Regarding claim 13 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 12, wherein the first electrode includes a first electrode layer that is formed on the first photovoltaic part and contains a transparent conductive material, and a second electrode layer that is formed on the first electrode layer and contains a metal (Mailoa, [0084], Fig. 6e see: top electrical contact or electrode 211 is formed from a transparent electrode such as silver nanowires or a transparent conductive oxide and with a further stacked metal layer such as silver), and
the second electrode layer includes a metal electrode layer that is formed on the second electrode layer and contains a metal (Mailoa, [0074] Fig. 6e see: back electrode 201 is formed from a metal stack such as Ti/Pd/Ag).
Regarding claim 14 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 13, further comprising: at least one of an anti-reflection film formed on the first electrode layer and an optical film formed on the second semiconductor layer (Mailoa, [0060] see: Solar cell 200 also includes a conventional anti-reflection coating (not depicted) over the top electrical contact to reduce surface reflection).
Regarding claim 21 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 13, further comprising:
a junction layer, the first photovoltaic part and the second photovoltaic part being positioned on opposite side of the junction layer (Mailoa, Figs. 2A-2B see: one of tunnel junction layers 208/208’ with the perovskite and silicon subcells positioned on opposite sides thereof);
wherein the junction layer has a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode layer ([0084], [0090] see: top electrical contact 211 formed from silver nanowires and 300 nm thick silver contact pad and tunnel junction formed from ~30nm thick n++ a-Si:H).
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904), in view of Limodio et al (Front and rear contact Si solar cells combining high and low thermal budget Si passivating contacts, Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells 194 (2019) 28–35) in view of JI et al (US 2016/0126400) in view of Chang et al (US 2014/0299187) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-10, 12-14, and 21 above, and in further view of Terakawa (US 2006/0065297) and further in view of Hidayat et al (Static Large-Area Hydrogenation of Polycrystalline Silicon Thin-Film Solar Cells on Glass Using a Linear Microwave Plasma Source, IEEE JOURNAL OF PHOTOVOLTAICS, VOL. 2, NO. 4, OCTOBER 2012).
Regarding claim 11 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein a hydrogen content of the first intermediate film is greater than a hydrogen content of the second intermediate film” and regarding claim 22 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein a hydrogen content of the first semiconductor layer is greater than that of the second semiconductor layer; and the hydrogen content of the second semiconductor layer is 8x1020 pieces/cm3 or less and 1x1019 pieces/cm3 or more.
However, Terakawa teaches an amorphous silicon first semiconductor layer of a solar cell on a light incident side that is hydrogenated at a concentration of between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3 that provides defect passivation and is structured to generate more electric current due to less light absorption loss ([0006], [0067], [0069]-[0070], Figs. 1 and 4 see: p-type a-Si layer 4 with a hydrogen concentration between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3).
Terakawa and modified Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of silicon solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Terakawa such that the first amorphous silicon semiconductor layer of Mailoa is hydrogenated at a concentration of between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3 as taught by Terakawa ([0006], [0067], [0069]-[0070], Figs. 1 and 4 see: p-type a-Si layer 4 with a hydrogen concentration between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3) to provide the well-known benefit of defect passivation and as Terakawa teaches this optimal composition of hydrogen concentration is structured to generate more electric current due to less light absorption loss (Terakawa, [0006], [0067], [0069]-[0070], Figs. 1 and 4 see: p-type a-Si layer 4 with a hydrogen concentration between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3).
Furthermore, Hidayat teaches forming a teaches a polycrystalline silicon thin film of a solar cell having a hydrogen concentration averaging about 6×1019 cm-3 (Abstract) where hydrogenation of Poly-Si is known for passivating defects within the film to improve Voc and thus photovoltaic conversion efficiency (see right hand column of Introduction on page 580).
Hidayat and modified Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of silicon solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Hidayat such that the polysilicon second semiconductor layer of modified Mailoa has a hydrogen content of 8x1020 pieces/cm3 or less and 1x1019 pieces/cm3 or more as taught by Hidayat (Abstract, see: polycrystalline silicon thin film of a solar cell having a hydrogen concentration averaging about 6×1019 cm-3 ) as Hidayat teaches the hydrogenation of Poly-Si is known for passivating defects within the film to improve Voc and thus photovoltaic conversion efficiency (see Abstract and the right hand column of Introduction on page 580). As the first semiconductor layer of modified Mailoa has a hydrogen concentration between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3 (Terakawa, [0006], [0067], [0069]-[0070], Figs. 1 and 4 see: p-type a-Si layer 4 with a hydrogen concentration between 1×1022 and ~5×1021 cm-3). By such a modification, the hydrogen content of the first semiconductor layer is greater than that of the second semiconductor layer in modified Mailoa.
Finally, regarding the claim 11 recitation “wherein a hydrogen content of the first intermediate film is greater than a hydrogen content of the second intermediate film” Terakawa teaches the first intermediate film (Figs. 1, 4 see: i-type a-Si layer 2) having a hydrogen concentration of about 5x1021cm-3 which is considered to be higher than the hydrogen content of the second intermediate film (silicon oxide layer) given that any hydrogen introduced into the second intermediate film will be imparted during the hydrogenation process formed on the polysilicon layer (second semiconductor layer) which is less than that of the first intermediate film. See MPEP 2112.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904), in view of Limodio et al (Front and rear contact Si solar cells combining high and low thermal budget Si passivating contacts, Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells 194 (2019) 28–35) in view of JI et al (US 2016/0126400) in view of Chang et al (US 2014/0299187) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-10, 12-14, and 21 above, and in further view of Mishima et al (US 2019/0081189).
Regarding claim 23 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, further comprising:
a junction layer, the first photovoltaic part and the second photovoltaic part being positioned on opposite side of the junction layer (Mailoa, Figs. 2A-2B see: one of tunnel junction layers 208/208’),
wherein the first photovoltaic part includes:
a first transport layer positioned between the photovoltaic layer and the first electrode; and a second transport layer positioned between the junction layer and the photovoltaic layer (Mailoa, [0052]-[0053], [0058], Figs. 2A, 2B and 4, see: forming hole transport layer 208’ or electron transport layer 208 followed by metal halide semiconductor stack 210’ or 210 which includes the perovskite photoactive layer (metal halide semiconductor 418) and a further transport layer that is either an electron transport layer or hole transport layer 420).
Mailoa does not explicitly disclose where one of the first transport layer and the second transport layer include PTAA or a metal compound but does teach where another of the first transport layer and the second transport layer includes fullerene (C60) or a derivative thereof (Mailoa, [0079], see: electron transport layer 208 ca be formed of a material other than titanium dioxide such as C60 or PCBM).
Mishima teaches a tandem perovskite and silicon solar cell where the perovskite solar cells comprises a hole transport layer formed from PTAA or a metal compound (Mishima, [0072], Fig. 1 see: hole transport layer 21 formed from a material such as poly(bis(4-phenyl)(2,4,6-trimethylphenyl)amine) (PTAA) and Inorganic oxides such as MoO3, WO3, NiO and CuO).
Mishima and modified Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem perovskite and silicon solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Mishima such that the hole transport layer of Mailoa formed from PTAA or a metal compound as taught by Mishima (Mishima, [0072], Fig. 1 see: hole transport layer 21 formed from a material such as poly(bis(4-phenyl)(2,4,6-trimethylphenyl)amine) (PTAA) and Inorganic oxides such as MoO3, WO3, NiO and CuO), as Mailoa teaches in para [0083] other materials known to those skilled in the art can be used to form the hole-transport layer rather than spiro-OMeTAD and the selection of PTAA or a metal compound as taught by Mishima would have amounted to the mere selection of a known hole transport material for it intended use in the known environment of a perovskite solar sub-cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the response that “Mailoa does not disclose the first and second intermediate films, as claimed in amended claim 1. Specifically, referring to FIG. 6E of Mailoa (reproduced below, with annotations), no other film layers are formed between the Si emitter 104 and the silicon wafer 630 and between the Si BSF 314 and the silicon wafer 630”.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not found persuasive. Mailoa teaches in para [0102] the emitter and BSF contacts can each be formed to include an intermediate passivating or tunneling layer of intrinsic amorphous silicon or silicon oxide.
Applicant further argues on pages 10-11 of the response that “Mailoa also fails to disclose that the silicon wafer 630 may have an uneven structure on its side…” and that “Limodio still fails to disclose the c-Si wafer may have an uneven structure on its side, on which the SiO2 layer is formed”.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not found persuasive. Mailoa teaches the first side of the semiconductor substrate is a flat surface, and the second side of the semiconductor substrate has an uneven structure ([0086], [0088], see: front light receiving first surface side of the silicon wafer is left planar and rear second surface is textured). Further Limodio is not relied upon to teach said limitation, and Chang is further cited to teach it was also known to provide a silicon solar cell with a rear textured surface over which a silicon oxide tunneling layer and polysilicon layer are formed (Chang, [0044], [0058], [0061], Fig. 1 see: second tunneling layer 44 of silicon oxide and first portion 30a of polycrystalline silicon formed on textured back surface of substrate) Chang further teaches the front surface of such a solar cell can also be textured or left not textured (Chang, [0044]).
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks are considered moot as they either depend from the arguments rebutted above or are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726