DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 21, 24, 25, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 8: “flux module is is positioned” should read --flux module is [[is]] positioned--.
In claim 21, line 9: “flux module is is positioned” should read --flux module is [[is]] positioned--.
In claim 24, line 1: “delivering plurality of pulse cycles” should apparently read --delivering a plurality of pulse cycles--.
In claim 25, line 4: “pennanent” should apparently read --permanent--.
In claim 31, sections b-o: “the ailment is” should apparently be deleted, as this is already recited in the preamble of the claim.
In claim 31, section c: “periearditis” should apparently read --pericarditis--.
In claim 31, section g: “related to” should apparently read --related to--.
In claim 31, section h: “neruodermatitis” should apparently read --neurodermatitis--.
In claim 31, section k: “eraniofacial stmctures” should apparently read –craniofacial structures--.
In claim 31, section k: “pcriodontitis” should apparently read --periodontitis--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the magnetic field” in line 13. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the fluctuating electromagnetic field recited in lines 1-2, the permanent magnetic field recited in line 9, or to a separate magnetic field.
Claim 2 recites that the permanent magnet assembly comprises a plurality of parallel cylindrical magnets. It is unclear if the first permanent magnet recited in claim 1 is intended to be one of these parallel cylindrical magnets or if the permanent magnet assembly is intended to include both the first permanent magnet and a separate plurality of parallel cylindrical magnets.
Claim 3 was canceled in the claim set filed 03 September 2022. However, claim 3 appears with limitations in the claim set filed 30 May 2023. It is not clear if claim 3 is intended to be examined. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number. Accordingly, this claim cannot be examined for patentability herein.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first permanent axis" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should read --the first permanent magnet axis--
Claim 5 recites the limitation “each cylindrical permanent magnet” in line 1. While claim 2 recites cylindrical magnets that are part of the permanent magnet assembly, it does not specifically recite that the cylindrical magnets are permanent magnets.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the voltage multiplier" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This claim should apparently depend upon claim 13 instead of claim 11 and will be taken herein to do so.
Claims 2-19 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon at least one rejected base claim.
Claim 20 recites that it is omitted. It is not clear what is meant for this claim; “omitted” is not a typical allocation for a claim. This claim should apparently be canceled (not omitted).
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the flux module” in line 9. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the “first flux module” or to a separate module.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation “a subject organism” in line 9. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the subject organism recited in line 1 or to a separate subject.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation “the magnetic field” in line 14. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the magnetic field flux recited in line 1, the permanent magnetic field recited in line 10, or to a separate magnetic field.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation “a subject” in line 19. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the subject organism recited in line 1, the subject organism recited in line 9, or to a separate subject.
Claim 21 also recites the limitation “a magnetic field flux” in the last line. It is not clear if this is intended to refer to the magnetic field flux recited in line 1 or to a separate magnetic field flux.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the flux module” in lines 1-2. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the “first flux module” or to a separate module.
Claims 23, 24, and 26-29 were canceled in the claim set filed 03 September 2022. However, these claims appear with limitations in the claim set filed 30 May 2023. It is not clear if the claims are intended to be examined. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number. Accordingly, these claims cannot be examined for patentability herein.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “a subject organism” in line 2. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the subject organism recited in claim 21 or to a separate subject.
Claim 25 also recites the limitation “a permanent magnet assembly” in the last two lines. It is not clear if this is meant to refer to the second permanent magnet assembly recited previously in the claim or to a separate permanent magnet assembly.
Claim 30 recites that it depends upon claim 1. However, it recites method steps (not structural device features). Claim 30 should apparently depend upon claim 21 and will be taken herein to do so.
Claim 31 recites “a dccubitus ulcer” in line 6. It is not clear what is intended to be recited in this limitation.
Claim 31 recites in section f “dcmyclinating disease.” It is not clear what is intended to be recited in this limitation.
Claim 31 recites in section g “Miliaria mbra.” It is not clear what is intended to be recited in this limitation (perhaps Miliaria rubra?).
Claim 31 recites in section h “atopic demrntitis.” It is not clear what is intended to be recited in this limitation.
Claim 31 also recites the limitation "the plurality of magnetic trapezoidal-wave pulses" in section o. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 22-31 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 15, 21, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson (U.S. No. 6,235,251 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Davidson discloses a pulsed electromagnetic field device configured to apply a fluctuating electromagnetic field to a subject organism (Abstract; Figs. 1, 2; col. 2, lines 5-18), the pulsed electromagnetic field device comprising a flux module comprising a permanent magnet assembly comprising a first permanent magnet 1 having a North polarity region, and a South polarity region, such that the North polarity region and the South polarity region are spaced apart along a first permanent magnet axis, the first permanent magnet being oriented such that when the flux module is is positioned in proximity to a subject organism, the first permanent magnet projects a permanent magnetic field into the subject organism (col. 4, lines 1-24), and a coil assembly configured in proximity to the permanent magnet assembly, the coil assembly comprising a first coil 4 wound about the permanent magnet assembly (col. 4, lines 25-40); a power supply and a first coil controller configured to ripple the magnetic field by intermittently applying current from the power supply to the first coil, such that when no current is applied to the first coil, the permanent magnetic field is not altered, and when current is applied to the first coil, the first coil generates a secondary magnetic field that alters the permanent magnetic field (col. 2, lines 30-52; col. 5, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 2, Davidson discloses that the permanent magnet assembly comprises a plurality of parallel cylindrical magnets, each magnet having a first end with North polarity and a second end with South polarity, and a longitudinal axis between the first end and the second end; and the first coil is wound around the permanent magnet assembly with respect to the first permanent magnet axis, and configured perpendicular to the longitudinal axes of the cylindrical magnets (Figs. 1, 2; col. 4, lines 3-28).
Regarding claim 4, Davidson discloses that the permanent magnet assembly further comprises a second permanent magnet having a North polarity region and a South polarity region spaced apart along a second permanent magnet axis that is the same as, or parallel to, the first permanent axis (Figs. 1, 2; col. 4, lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 6, Davidson discloses a permanent magnet housing 3, such that the first coil is wound around the permanent magnet housing (col. 4, lines 23-24; col. 5, lines 46-50).
Regarding claim 7, Davidson discloses that the first coil has between 100 and 500 turns (col. 2, lines 10-15).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Davidson discloses that the power supply comprises line voltage, at least one battery, or at least one capacitor, and further comprising a transformer configured to convert AC line voltage to 12 volt DC (col. 2, lines 30-34; col. 5, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Davidson discloses that the coil assembly further comprises a second coil wound about the permanent magnet assembly (col. 4, lines 37-40), and a second coil controller (col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 34; e.g., the control circuit is a controller of both coils).
Regarding claim 21, Davidson discloses a method of creating a magnetic field flux within a subject organism (Abstract; Figs. 1, 2; col. 2, lines 5-18), the method comprising providing a first pulsed electromagnetic field device comprising a first flux module comprising a permanent magnet assembly comprising a first permanent magnet 1 having a North polarity region, and a South polarity region, such that the North polarity region and the South polarity region are spaced apart along a first permanent magnet axis, the first permanent magnet being oriented such that when the flux module is is positioned in proximity to a subject organism, the first permanent magnet projects a permanent magnetic field into the subject organism (col. 4, lines 1-24), and a coil assembly configured in proximity to the permanent magnet assembly, the coil assembly comprising a first coil 4 wound about the permanent magnet assembly (col. 4, lines 25-40); a power supply and a first coil controller configured to ripple the magnetic field by intermittently applying current from the power supply to the first coil, such that when no current is applied to the first coil, the permanent magnetic field is not altered, and when current is applied to the first coil, the first coil generates a secondary magnetic field that alters the permanent magnetic field (col. 2, lines 30-52; col. 5, lines 1-15); positioning the first flux module in proximity to a subject (col. 6, lines 64-67); and delivering a plurality of current pulses from the first coil controller to the first coil, thereby rippling the permanent magnetic field in order to create a magnetic field flux within the subject organism (col. 2, lines 48-65; col. 6, lines 2-55).
Regarding claim 31, Davidson discloses that the subject organism is a human with an ailment selected from the group consisting of: a. a cellular dysfunction, an extracellular matrix disruption, focal or general sarcoidosis, an allergy or hypersensitivity of skin, an allergy or hypersensitivity of mucous membranes, an allergy or hypersensitivity of a pulmonary system, a chronic open wound, an ulceration of skin, a pressure ulcer, a dccubitus ulcer, a damaging effect of ionizing radiation, a damaging effect of chemotherapy, urinary or fecal incontinence related to damaged nerves and/or muscles of a urogenital system, a presence of bacteria, a presence of a virus, a presence of prions, pain, acute or chronic inflammation, acute or chronic swelling, edema, an inflammatory response, acute inflammation following injury or trauma, a chronic or acute condition related to inflammation or edema, fibrosis, necrosis, inflammation and associated tissue disruption arising from autoimmune reactions or autoimmune hyperactivity, a presence of pathogens or foreign bodies, inflammation of joints, articulations of a spinal column, articulations in a spinal system, swelling of a spinal cord resulting from injuries, swelling of the spinal cord resulting from destructive plaques, inflammation around nerves, and combinations thereof; b. the ailment is a degenerative condition associated with aging and inflammation selected from the group consisting of: degenerative joint disease, arthritis, inflammatory arthritis, palindromic rheumatism, non-infectious arthritis, infectious arthritis, joint damage, vasculitis, phlebitis, arteritis, lymphangitis, rheumatism, fibromyalgia syndrome, non-articular rheumatism, regional pain syndrome, sarcopenia, chronic low-grade inflammation, calcium deposits, and combinations thereof; c. the ailment is an acute or chronic inflammatory response and/or a subsequent disease state of a cardiovascular system selected from the group consisting of: vascularitis, endocarditis, atherosclerosis, coronary heart disease, stroke, peripheral artery occlusive disease, periearditis, and combinations thereof; d. the ailment is an inflammatory bowel disease selected from the group consisting of: Crohn's disease, chronic prostatitis, inflammation due to hypersensitivities, inflammatory bowel disease, endometriosis, chronic pelvic pain, cysts, abscesses, arthritis, calcium deposits, hernias, and combinations thereof; e. the ailment is a disease secondary to a pathological acute or chronic inflammatory response selected from the group consisting of: a neurodegenerative disease of a central nervous system, Alzheimer's, dementia, a neurodegenerative disease of a peripheral nervous system, transverse myelitis, a neuroinflammatory condition, and combinations thereof, wherein the neuroinflammatory condition is phantom limb pain, neuropathic pain, nociceptive pain, chronic pain, or chronic idiopathic pain; f. the ailment is an idiopathic inflammatory dcmyclinating disease selected from the group consisting of: a neuropathy resulting from Guillain-Barre syndrome, lupoid hepatitis, mixed connective tissue disease, mixed connective tissue disease, Sharp's syndrome, Meniere's disease, multiple sclerosis, myasthenia gravis, myositis, myalgia, and combinations thereof; g. the ailment is acute inflammation caused by or relate to a member of the group consisting of: frostbite, chilblains, pernio, acral ulcers, acrocyanosis, psoriasis, trench foot, a reactive neutrophilic cutaneous condition, recalcitrant palmoplantar emptions, heat edema, heat rash, Miliaria mbra, sunburn, jogger's nipple, edema, cutaneous edema, contact edema, lymphedema, derangement of control of a volume of interstitial fluid, compartment syndrome, mechanical or chemical trauma to the tissue, ulcerative inflammation, regrowth of hair erectile dysfunction, and combinations thereof; h. the ailment is an underlying chronic inflammatory response mechanism or a lingering symptom associated with an inflammatory disorder selected from the group consisting of: edema, cutaneous edema, contact edema, lymphedema, derangement of control of the volume of interstitial fluid, compartment syndrome, hand-arm vibration syndrome, vibration white finger, temporomandibular joint disorder, conditions of subcutaneous fat involving edema or inflammation, bowel disease, arthritis, myopathy, heart disease, cancer, acute or chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, systemic inflammatory response syndrome, idiopathic inflammatory demyelinating disease, multiple sclerosis, progressive inflammatory neuropathy, immune-mediated inflammatory disease, idiopathic inflammatory myopathies, inflammatory vascular disease, acute inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, Guillain Barre syndrome, prostatitis, allergies, systemic inflammation related to obesity or metabolic syndrome, auto-immune mediated inflammation, diabetes mellitus type 1, autoimmune peripheral neuropathy, atopic demrntitis, Becets Disease, systemic vascular inflammation, chronic recurrent multifocal osteomyelitis, inflammation related to tissue injury subsequent to cancer treatment, osteomyelitis, coeliac disease, dermatomyositis, eczema, neruodermatitis, gastritis, glomerulonephritis, and combinations thereof; the ailment is a post-surgical outcome caused by a member of the group consisting of: tissue or organ transplant rejection, a xenograft, failure of implanted synthetic materials, an inflammatory rejection response, abdominal fistula, abdominal herniation, tendon repair, ligament repair, cartilage repair, meniscus repair, joint repair or replacement, repair of tissue-to-tissue interfaces, herniation of skin or abdominal wall, implantation of artificial dentures or teeth, pain, swelling, and combinations thereof; j. the ailment is an inflammatory condition of skin selected from the group consisting of: dermatitis, atopic dermatitis, contact dermatitis, pain and swelling caused by treatment for infections of the skin, scabies, eczema, cellulitis, allergic reactions and inflammation caused by poisonous plants, an inflammatory response to allergens, an inflammatory reaction to insect stings and bites, vasospasm, a urticaria-class condition, an angioedema-class condition, Raynaud's phenomenon, an auto inflammatory syndrome, chronic blistering, inflammation or edema of mucous membranes, a pruritic skin condition, striae distensae, gravidarum, lichen planus, mucinoses, psoriasis, and combinations thereof; k. the ailment is an inflammatory condition, pain, or edema of a musculoskeletal system or eraniofacial stmctures selected from the group consisting of: fasciitis, plantar fasciitis, fibromyalgia, myasthenia gravis, a non-immunosuppressive responsive myasthenic syndrome, pcriodontitis, and combinations thereof; l. the ailment is a musculoskeletal condition selected from the group consisting of: low bone density, damage from bone scaffolding, calcium buildup in arthritic areas due to injuries, treatment of a degenerative disease of a musculoskeletal system, and combinations thereof, wherein the degenerative disease of the musculoskeletal system is juvenile idiopathic and rheumatic arthritis, adult rheumatic arthritis and osteoarthritis, polymyositis, chondromalacia, relapsing polychondritis, rheumatoid arthritis, hiatal hernia, a systemic inflammatory disorder, synovitis, or scleritis; m. the ailment is selected from the group consisting of: tinnitus, hearing loss related to inflammation around or damage to auditory nerves, damaged optic nerve or retina, damaged cranial or facial nerves, facial paralysis, pars planitis, intermediate uveitis, vitritis, macular edema, cystoid macular edema, neuromyelitis optics, Wegener's granulomatosis, and combinations thereof; n. the ailment is selected from the group consisting of: hamstrings, sprains, pulled muscles, strains, bruises, and other sports related and occupation physical injuries; o. the ailment is cancer, wherein the plurality of magnetic trapezoidal-wave pulses are configured to disrupt cancer cells, reduce a patency or growth rate of cancer cells, and reduce neoplastic tissue genesis; or p. combinations thereof (col. 1, lines 18-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Stanley et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0200386 A1; hereinafter known as “Stanley”). Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose that each cylindrical permanent magnet has a magnetic field strength equivalent to at least an N52 NIB magnet. Stanley discloses a similar system (Abstract) that uses permanent magnets that are N52 NIB magnets in order to provide a high flux ([0141]; [0162]; [0188]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson by using N52 NIB magnets, as taught by Stanley, in order to provide a high flux.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0023380 A1; cited in the IDS filed 03 September 2022; hereinafter known as “Zheng”). Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose that the first coil controller is further configured to provide pulse width modulation. Zheng discloses a similar system (Abstract) comprising a coil controller that is configured to provide PWM in order to output a current with a designed waveform ([0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson so the coil controller is configured to provide PWM, as taught by Zheng, in order to output a current with a designed waveform.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Tran et al. (U.S. No. 5,368,544; hereinafter known as “Tran”). Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose that the first coil controller is configured to deliver a sequence of current pulses in the range of 1 to 1000 pulses per second or that the second coil controller is configured to deliver at least 1000 current pulses per second. Tran discloses a similar system (Abstract) comprising a permanent magnet and coils, wherein a coil controller is configured to deliver current pulses at 1000 per second (col. 4, lines 36-41; claim 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson by delivering current pulses to the coils at 1000 current pulses per second, as taught by Tran, as this is a known effective rate for such a system.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mohamed et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0331990 A1; hereinafter known as “Mohamed”). Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose a focus element positioned around at least a portion of the coil assembly. Mohamed discloses a similar system (Abstract) comprising a focus element 26 positioned around at least a portion of the housing in order to concentrate or collimate the magnetic field ([0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson with a focus element, as taught by Mohamed, in order to concentrate or collimate the magnetic field.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Jalinous (U.S. No. 5,718,662). Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly remotely supervising the positioning the flux module and the delivery of the plurality of current pulses. Jalinous discloses a similar system and method (Abstract) comprising remote supervision of the various units by means of a remote controller (col. 1, lines 21-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson by remotely supervising the positioning the flux module and the delivery of the plurality of current pulses, as taught by Jalinous, in order to allow for remote control of the system.
Claims 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Simpson (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0012348 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose positioning the first pulsed electromagnetic field device near a subject organism with the North polarity region of the first permanent magnet oriented toward the subject organism; and positioning a second permanent magnet assembly near the subject organism, spaced apart from the first pulsed electromagnetic field device, with a South polarity region or a North polarity region of a permanent magnet assembly oriented toward the subject organism. Simpson discloses a similar system and method (Abstract) comprising positioning a first device near a subject organism with the North polarity region of a first permanent magnet oriented toward the subject organism and positioning a second permanent magnet assembly near the subject organism, spaced apart from the first pulsed electromagnetic field device, with a South polarity region or a North polarity region of a permanent magnet assembly oriented toward the subject organism in order to alleviate pain at multiple locations on the body (Figs. 3, 4; [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson with the recited positioning steps, as taught by Simpson, in order to alleviate pain at multiple locations on the body.
Regarding claim 30, Davidson discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to expressly disclose supporting the first flux module with a helmet, headband, vest, belt, wrap, or sling. Simpson discloses a similar system and method (Abstract) comprising supporting different modules with a belt, wrap, or sling in order to alleviate pain at multiple locations on the body (Figs. 3, 4; [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Davidson with the recited supporting steps, as taught by Simpson, in order to alleviate pain at multiple locations on the body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13, 14, 18, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 11, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a first coil controller that is configured to provide the recited sequence with the recited input voltage and recited rise time, in combination with such a pulsed electromagnetic field device. Regarding claims 13 and 14, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a first coil controller that further comprises a voltage multiplier, in combination with such a pulsed electromagnetic field device. Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests a focus element comprising a parabolic antenna, in combination with such a pulsed electromagnetic field device. Regarding claim 19, none of the prior art of record teaches or reasonably suggests all of the recited parameters, in combination with such a pulsed electromagnetic field device.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791