DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 02 JULY 2026 have been entered. Claims 1 – 6 are pending. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome each and every rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 applied to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has not made an amendment regarding the 112(f) Claim Interpretations applied in the Office Action dated 03 APRIL 2026. Applicant has not provided any reason to withdraw the 112(f) claim interpretation, so the interpretation detailed in the Office Action dated 03 APRIL 2026 is maintained for the terms “a measurement module” in Claim 1 and “a load unit” in Claims 1 – 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR20160132750A), in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, et. al., (US 2019/0227022 A1), further in view of Alcidi, (US Patent 4,009,721).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh discloses An apparatus ([Page 1, Line 14] “an electrochemical biosensor”) for measuring biometric information ([Page 1, Lines 17 - 21] including “Biosensors are analytical sensors that calculate the concentration or presence of a biological analyte”), the apparatus ([Page 1, Line 14] “an electrochemical biosensor”) comprising:
a sensor ([Page 1, Line 14] “an electrochemical biosensor”) including a bioelectrode configured to be insertable into skin ([Page 5, Lines 51 – 54] including “…the invasive electrode may include a needle shape to invade the inside of the object 10.”);
a measurement module (Figure 1, including Block Diagram boxes 132 and 142: “first magnetic pole” 132 and “1st detection unit” 142; [Page 6, Lines 9 and 22 - 23] “the first magnetic pole unit 132 may be implemented as a voltage source”, “When the first electrical stimulus is a voltage, the first detector 142 may be an ammeter that detects a current”); configured to apply a measurement power to the bioelectrode ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 46] “if the input impedance of a voltage source 45 applying a voltage to an impedance electrode…”) and measure the biometric information based on a response signal received from the bioelectrode ([Page 5, Lines 19 - 24] including “a composite electrode 20 capable of applying a first electrical stimulus to the subject 10 through one impedance electrode and receiving an electrical response from the subject 10,”; [Page 9, Lines 28 – 30] “…the more target material, the greater the change in electrical response. Thus, the biosensor 100 may obtain information about the target material as the amount of change in bioimpedance.”); and
a load unit ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “…an ammeter…”) configured to add an additional impedance ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “…and the output impedance of an ammeter…”) to a sensor impedance of the sensor to reduce a level of noise applied to the response signal by physical deformation of the sensor ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “if the input impedance of a voltage source 45 applying a voltage to an impedance electrode and the output impedance of an ammeter detecting a current of the impedance electrode are considerably larger than the contact impedance, the influence of the impedance and the contact impedance of the impedance electrode itself is minimized”)(Examiner notes that “contact impedance” is impedance and noise that is associated with the interface of the connection between an electrode and a person’s skin/body. The person’s movement and resultant sensor movement is part of this “contact impedance”.)
wherein a level of the additional impedance ([Page 5, Lines 46 - 47] “…and the output impedance of an ammeter…”) is greater than a level of the sensor impedance ([Page 5, Lines 46 – 47] “…and the output impedance of an ammeter detecting a current of the impedance electrode are considerable larger than the contact impedance…”)(Examiner notes that the “contact impedance” associated with an electrode and is the sensor impedance.).
and response signal considering the additional impedance of the load unit ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “if the input impedance of a voltage source 45 applying a voltage to an impedance electrode and the output impedance of an ammeter detecting a current of the impedance electrode”)
Oh does not disclose comprises a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the load unit, and the biometric information is measured from the response signal that is changed according to the temperature measured by the temperature sensor and wherein the load unit is a resistor of 10 KΩ to 10 GΩ.
Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches systems and methods to compensate for the effects of temperature on sensors, such as an analyte sensor [Abstract]. Specifically for Claim 1, Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches the measurement module comprises a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the load unit ([0411] “measuring a temperature parameter of a component of a wearable glucose sensor…”; Fig 10, [0523] “a potentially overheating or excessively cold sensor or sensor electronics may be detected. In some examples, a potentially faulty temperature sensor may be identified based upon a temperature sensor signal satisfying a condition (e.g., when the temperature sensor indicates a temperature in an unlikely range.)”; [0512] “the sensor may be built in to sensor electronics for other reasons (e.g., to detect overheating)“; [00542])(Examiner notes that measuring a component of the wearable glucose sensor could broadly include a load unit.)
the biometric information is measured from the response that is changed according to the temperature measured by the temperature sensor ([0386] “ A signal generated by the thermocouple may be communicated to sensor electronics for processing (i.e., for use in compensating glucose sensor values for temperature.”; [0356] “the processor module 214 may transform sensor data into one or more of the following: temperature-compensated data,“; [0288] “compensate for the effects of temperature on glucose sensors…”; [0338] “accuracy and precision of estimated glucose concentration levels can be improved by compensating for temperature fluctuations…in the sensor…”; [0391])
The temperature sensing of a component of the analyte sensor taught by Harley-Trochimeczyk would perform the same function to modify the measurement signal to compensate for temperature effects on the sensing components if combined with the “electrochemical biosensor” system with the electronic support components in Figure 1 of Oh. Therefore, it would have been predictable to use the temperature sensing of a component of the analyte sensor to compensate the analyte measurement taught by Harley-Trochimeczyk in any similar invasive bioelectrode system as it would continue to operate with the function of measuring biosignals in the body. Further, Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches a motivation to combine with Oh at [0338] with “…temperature variations can cause inaccuracies in estimation of glucose concentration levels. The accuracy and precision of estimated glucose concentration levels can be improved by compensating for temperature fluctuations at the sensing site or in the sensor when the sensor is worn by a host. “ A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that accounting for temperature change in the sensor readings would yield more accurate analyte results from the measurement device, particularly since unaccounted temperature variations can cause inaccuracies in glucose concentration level estimation by a sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the “electrochemical biosensor” system with the electronic support components in Figure 1 disclosed in Oh and the analyte sensor component temperature measurement and resultant analyte measurement compensation taught by Harley-Trochimeczyk, creating a single apparatus to measure biosignals in the body while accounting for temperature effects on the sensing components.
Harley-Trochimeczyk does not teach wherein the load unit is a resistor of 10 KΩ to 10 GΩ. Oh broadly discloses that the output impedance of the ammeter is “considerably larger than the contact impedance” without specifying a particular number of Ohms (or GOhms) for that larger impedance.
Alcidi teaches wherein the load unit ([Col 3, Lines 13 - 16] “active impedance adapter 2.”) is a resistor of 1OKΩ to 1OGΩ ([Col 3, Lines 13 – 16] “The electrical circuit of the indicating-reading electrode and the reference electrode is completed by a high impedance, of the order of several GOhms, of the active impedance adapter 2.”; [Col 3, Lines 61 – 64] “The electric circuit of the indicating-reading electrode includes, in series, a high impedance, of the order of about 1012 Ohms, of the active impedance adapter 12.”).
Oh provides a motivation to combine with Alcidi’s teaching, disclosing that the presence of the ammeter with “considerably larger than the contact impedance” makes it so that the “influence of the impedance and the contact impedance of the impedance electrode itself is minimized.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that connecting the “high impedance” component with specifically “on the order of several GOhms” with the measurement electrode, as taught by Alcidi, would directly beneficially influence and “minimize” the impedance of the measurement electrode in the circuit.
The technique of connecting the high impedance “active impedance adapter 12” with the “indicating-reading electrode” taught by Alcidi can be combined with the “considerably larger output impedance ammeter” and “impedance electrode” disclosed by Oh. An ammeter in circuit with an impedance electrode as disclosed in Oh could be specified for impedance “on the order of several GOhms” in the same way that “active impedance adapter 12” is with the “indicating-reading electrode” in Alcidi. The improvement to connect a high impedance component into the circuit to advantageously affect a specific electrode – specifically an impedance on the order of several GOhms -- thus directly affecting the overall impedance effects from the critical “Indicating-reading electrode”, would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the same improvement for Oh’s “ammeter” and “contact impedance of the impedance electrode”. It would be recognized to yield predictable results and result in an improved system, namely, a system that would allow control of the impedance effects associated with the contact impedance on a particular electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known technique of connecting a high impedance component of several GOhms with a particular electrode of Alcidi with the “considerably larger output impedance ammeter” and “impedance electrode” of Oh in order to create a biosensing system with lessened impedance effects on the measurement from an electrode. The applicant would be motivated to combine the teachings of Oh and Alcidi in order to create a single apparatus to more accurately measure bio-signals with reduced contact impedance noise. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. And it would have been obvious since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.05 (II-B), a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that Alcidi teaching “several GOhms” could be within the 10KOhms – 10GOhms range.
Regarding Claim 2, Oh in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, further in view of Alcidi discloses as described above, The apparatus for measuring biometric information according to claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 2, Oh discloses the bioelectrode comprises a working electrode ([Page 5, Line 46] “impedance electrode”) and a reference electrode ([Page 5, Line 11] “reference electrode”), and
Oh does not specifically disclose the load unit is connected in series with the working electrode, or is connected in series with the reference electrode, or is connected in series with the working electrode and the reference electrode, respectively. Oh does broadly disclose that “the output impedance of an ammeter detecting a current of the impedance electrode” is “considerably larger than the contact impedance”, indicating that these components are connected in a circuit, without specifying that they are or are not in series.
Alcidi teaches an implantable electrode system for a pacemaker that incorporates an impedance adapter that provides a large impedance in series with the measuring electrode. Specifically regarding Claim 2, Alcidi teaches the load unit ([Col 3, Lines 61 – 64] “the active impedance adapter 12”) is connected in series with the working electrode ([Col 3, Lines 61 – 64] “The electric circuit of the indicating-reading electrode includes, in series, a high impedance, of the order of about 1012 Ohms, of the active impedance adapter 12.”) or is connected in series with the reference electrode, or is connected in series with the working electrode and the reference electrode, respectively.
Oh provides a motivation to combine with Alcidi’s teaching, disclosing that the presence of the ammeter with “considerably larger than the contact impedance” makes it so that the “influence of the impedance and the contact impedance of the impedance electrode itself is minimized.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that connecting the large impedance component (“active impedance adapter 12”) in series with the measurement electrode, as taught by Alcidi, would directly beneficially influence and “minimize” the impedance of the measurement electrode in the circuit.
The technique of connecting the high impedance “active impedance adapter 12” in series with the “indicating-reading electrode” taught by Alcidi can be combined with the “considerably larger output impedance ammeter” and “impedance electrode” disclosed by Oh. An ammeter in circuit with an impedance electrode as disclosed in Oh could be specifically connected in series with each other in the same way that “active impedance adapter 12” is in series with the “indicating-reading electrode” in Alcidi. The improvement to directly tie the high impedance component into the circuit to advantageously affect a specific electrode – specifically connecting the high impedance “active impedance adapter 12” in series with the “indicating-reading electrode” -- thus directly affecting the overall impedance effects from the critical “Indicating-reading electrode”-- would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the same improvement for Oh’s “ammeter” and “contact impedance of the impedance electrode”. It would be recognized to yield predictable results and result in an improved system, namely, a system that would allow control of the impedance effects associated with the contact impedance on a particular electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known technique of connecting a high impedance component in series with a particular electrode of Alcidi with the “considerably larger output impedance ammeter” and “impedance electrode” of Oh in order to create a biosensing system with lessened impedance effects on the measurement from an electrode. The applicant would be motivated to combine the teachings of Oh and Alcidi in order to create a single apparatus to more accurately measure bio-signals with reduced contact impedance noise. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious.
Regarding Claim 3, Oh in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, further in view of Alcidi discloses as described above, The apparatus for measuring biometric information according to claim 2, wherein the load unit is arranged in series with the bioelectrode.
For the remainder of Claim 3, Oh does not disclose inside a housing of the measurement module. Oh does not specifically disclose the presence or absence of a housing structure for its biosensing device.
Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches an invasive biosensor for detecting an analyte concentration in the blood. Specifically for Claim 3, Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches inside a housing of the measurement module ([0381] “housing 266…housing may contain some of all of the components shown in Fig. 2A or the sensor electronics 12 shown in Fig. 2B”; Fig 2A, Fig 2b)
Harley-Trochimeczyk provides a motivation to combine at [0382] with “the housing may include a heat shield 272 on a top surface…to reflect heat from the housing, which may, for example, reduce the impact of sunlight on the sensor 10.“ A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that by enclosing the electronic circuitry in a chassis, or housing, the electronics may be protected from heat from sunlight or short circuiting from the fluids in its operating environment, yielding a more reliable bio-measurement device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invasive bioelectrode system device high impedance component, associated measurement electronics, and electrode disclosed in Oh and the enclosing electronics in a housing taught by Harley-Trochimeczyk, creating a single, protected apparatus capable of more-reliably operating in the liquids and heat hazards of the biological environment via protective housing. The combination of Oh in view of Alcidi for the components to be in series does not alter Phan’s teaching of a housing to enclose the electrical components. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR20160132750A), hereinafter Oh, in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk (US 2019/0227022 A1), and Alcidi, (US Patent 4,009,721), further in view of Riddle et. al., (US Patent US 6,842,640 B2).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, further in view of Alcidi discloses, as described above, The apparatus for measuring biometric information according to claim 2. For the remainder of Claim 4, Oh discloses wherein the load unit ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “…an ammeter…”)
Oh does not disclose is formed at a body of the sensor and is formed as a electrically connecting the bioelectrode and the measurement module.
Riddle teaches a patch device for delivering therapeutic agents in an bioelectrode-based system. Specifically regarding Claim 4, Riddle teaches wherein the load unit is formed at a body of the sensor (Fig 2, “integrated circuit 19” within the sensor body housing) and is formed as a tracer (“conductive traces”) electrically connecting the bioelectrode and the measurement module (“The controller 216 is an integrated circuit having internal components connected by conductive traces formed during the integrated circuit manufacturing process.”)
The “integrated circuit 19” within the sensor body housing of Riddle can be combined with the “ammeter” connection electronics and “electrochemical biosensor” system of Oh. Oh is open to combine with Riddle’s integrated “controller” circuit, since the load unit “ammeter” in Oh is a “detection unit” of Oh’s Figure 1. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that the electrical connections that are the link between the electrodes and the control unit would benefit from being connected on an integrated circuit, simplifying the connection points for use with a patient. Integrated circuits are a common design choice in the art for a finished, user-friendly medical device. The improvement to integrate Riddle’s electronics into an all-in-one circuit within the sensor body housing, thus making it more compact with consistent wiring hookups for use with a patient, would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the same improvement for Oh’s “ammeter” connection electronics and “electrochemical biosensor” system . It would be recognized to yield predictable results and result in an improved system, namely, a system that would allow for a consistently-wired wearable bioelectrode device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known technique of incorporating electronics into an integrated circuit of Riddle with the “electrochemical biosensor” system of Oh in order to create a system with consistent wiring connections for use in measuring patients’ biosignals. The applicant would be motivated to combine the teachings of Oh and Riddle in order to create a biosensor system that can be worn by a user for consistent measurement results due to consistent component connection. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR20160132750A), hereinafter Oh, in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk (US 2019/0227022 A1), and Alcidi, (US Patent 4,009,721), further in view of Lee (KR20150044181A).
Regarding Claim 5, Oh in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, further in view of Alcidi discloses, as described above, The apparatus for measuring biometric information according to claim 2.
For the remainder of Claim 5, Oh does not disclose the sensor and the measurement module are coupled separably to each other, and the load unit is formed as a connection terminal electrically connecting the sensor and the measurement module to each other when the sensor and the measurement module are coupled. However, Oh is open to combine with Lee’s connection terminal because it broadly discloses that the ammeter is connected to the electron to “detect a current”, but Oh does not specify how it is connected, whether separably or not.
Lee teaches wherein: the sensor ([0030] “measuring electrode” 100) and the measurement module are coupled separably to each other ([All of 0046 and 0047] including “the ECG controller 300 may be detachably mounted to the electrode mounting hole 200, and the electrode mounting hole 200 may be detachably mounted on the electrode mounting hole 200.” And “the electrode mounting hole 200 is provided with a signal line 400 for electrically connecting the electrode terminal 110 and the ECG controller 300”), and
the load unit is formed as a connection terminal ([0030] “electrode terminal 110”) electrically connecting the sensor and the measurement module to each other when the sensor and the measurement module are coupled ([0030] “the electrode terminal 110 includes an electrocardiogram signal, for example, an active current”; [0046] “In addition, the electrode mounting hole 200 is provided with a signal line 400 for electrically connecting the electrode terminal 110 and the ECG controller 300, so that the ECG signal input through the electrode 100 is controlled by the controller (300).”)
The “electrode terminal” for “detachably mounting” electronic circuitry with a bioelectrode of Lee can be combined with the “ammeter” connection electronics and “electrochemical biosensor” system of Oh. Oh is open to combine with Lee’s “electrode terminal” and “detachably mounting” electronic circuitry with a bioelectrode as it does not specify how its electrodes are connected ammeter, or “detection unit” and “controller”, merely that they are connected (as shown in the block diagram, Drawing 1). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that the electrical connections that link between the electrodes and the high impedance load unit (Oh’s “ammeter”) would benefit from being connected with a separably coupled connection terminal, allowing for quick connect and disconnect for patients during use (much in the way that the well-known ECG electrodes connect and disconnect in hospitals and clinics). Separably-connecting electrode interfaces are a common design choice in the art for a flexible, user-friendly medical device. The improvement to integrate Lee’s connection terminal on the electrode for connecting to the electronic components that support the electrode, thus making the components separably connectable for use with a patient, would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the same improvement for Oh’s “ammeter” connection electronics and “electrochemical biosensor” system. It would be recognized to yield predictable results and result in an improved system, namely, a system that would allow for a wearable bioelectrode device that can be disconnected and reconnected from controller equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the known technique of an “electrode terminal 110” for “detachably mounting” electronic circuitry with a bioelectrode with the “ammeter” connection electronics and “electrochemical biosensor” system of Oh in order to create a system with removable wiring connections for maneuverability with human patient use. The applicant would be motivated to combine the teachings of Oh and Lee in order to create a biosensor system that can be worn by a user and disconnected for comfort between measurements or maneuverability. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (KR20160132750A), hereinafter Oh, in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk (US 2019/0227022 A1), and Alcidi, (US Patent 4,009,721), further in view of Phan (US 2008/0249385 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Oh in view of Harley-Trochimeczyk, further in view of Alcidi discloses, as described above, The apparatus for measuring biometric information according to claim 3, wherein the measurement module. For the remainder of Claim 6, Oh discloses and of which the level of the noise is reduced by the load unit ([Page 5, Lines 45 - 48] “if the input impedance of a voltage source 45 applying a voltage to an impedance electrode and the output impedance of an ammeter detecting a current of the impedance electrode are considerably larger than the contact impedance, the influence of the impedance and the contact impedance of the impedance electrode itself is minimized”)(Examiner notes that “contact impedance” is impedance and noise that is associated with the interface of the connection between an electrode and a person’s skin/body. The person’s movement and resultant sensor movement is part of this “contact impedance”.).
For the remainder of Claim 6, Oh does not disclose wherein the measurement module further comprises a low frequency band pass filter configured to filter a high frequency component of the noise from the response signal.
Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches an invasive biosensor for detecting an analyte concentration in the blood. Specifically for claim 6, Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches further comprise a low frequency band pass filter ([0037], “low-pass filter 39”) configured to filter a high frequency component of the noise from the response signal ([All of 0037] including“…After the low-pass filter 39 filters out high-frequency noise, it may pass signals CE_REF, WE1 and WE2”)
The low-pass filter 39 of Phan would perform the same function of filtering high frequency components from noise from bioelectrode signals if combined with the measured “electrical response” signals and circuitry of Oh. Therefore, it would have been predictable to use the low-pass filter 39 of Phan in any similar implantable bioelectrode circuit, as it would continue to operate with the function of smoothing the measured signal, removing high frequency noise. Further, Phan discloses a motivation to combine Oh with a low-pass filter, since it can be used to “filter out high-frequency noise”. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that using a incorporating a low-pass filter would reduce the high-frequency noise in the measured signal, yielding more reliable, easier-to-analyze data from the bio-measurement device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the measured “electrical response” signals and circuitry disclosed in Oh and the low-pass filter 39 taught by Phan, creating a single apparatus to more accurately measure bio-signals with reduced high-frequency noise. All claimed elements are known in prior art and could have been combined with no change to their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for Claims 1 – 6.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
Applicant argues at [Page 4, “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103” Section] – [Page 5, Paragraph 3] that the combination of Oh, Harley-Trochimeczyk, and Alcidi fails to disclose or suggest “the load unit is a resistor of 10 KΩ – 10 GΩ” because an ammeter is designed to have low internal resistance and is not a high-resistance physical resistor. Applicant argues that as such, the claimed “load unit” has a different purpose and hardware structure than an ammeter structure taught by Oh. Looking to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, the load unit being an external physical element of 10 KΩ – 10 GΩ is not described to be taught by Oh. Rather, the combination uses Alcidi to teach the idea of connecting an external element in series with the electrode that contributes to more stable readings. An ammeter in circuit with an impedance electrode as disclosed in Oh could be specifically connected in series with each other in the same way that “active impedance adapter 12” is in series with the “indicating-reading electrode” in Alcidi. There is motivation to combine, as Oh already suggests (as cited above) that including substantial additional impedance in the circuit with the measurement electrode can serve to minimize the “influence of the impedance and the contact impedance of the impedance electrode itself.” Further, Alcidi teaches that its taught circuit has a “greater stability in time and an insensitivity to slow variation of the signals…” [Col 3, Lines 35 – 41]. Alcidi accomplishes the similar purpose of increasing measurement stability by including the external “active impedance adapter 12” unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series with the “indicating-reading electrode”. The combination is not to change the Oh ammeter into a 10 KΩ – 10 GΩ resistor, but rather to include the Alcidi external “active impedance adapter 12” unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit as the load unit to increase the stability of the measurement, as with the claimed “load unit is a resistor of 10 KΩ – 10 GΩ” The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 5, Paragraph 4] that the ammeter of Oh is inherently embedded as an internal, dependent component within the sensor, and the claimed “load unit” is a distinct hardware component located external to and connected separately from the sensor to optimize noise cancellation. Based on the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and discussion above, the addition of Alcidi to the combination teaches the element of the external “active impedance adapter 12” hardware element unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit with the electrode for Claim 1. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 5, Paragraph 5] and that Oh does not disclose the claimed “load unit,” and Harley-Trochimeczyk and Alcidi do not cure the deficiency. Based on the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and discussion above, the addition of Alcidi to the combination teaches the element of the external “active impedance adapter 12” hardware element unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit with the electrode for Claim 1. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 5, Paragraph 6] that modifying Oh’s internal low-resistance ammeter into the claimed specific external high-resistance network can only be derived using Applicant’s specification as a guide, and no such teaching can be derived from the combination of Oh, Harley-Trochimeczyk, and Alcidi. Based on the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and discussion above, the addition of Alcidi to the combination teaches the element of the external “active impedance adapter 12” hardware element unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit with the electrode for Claim 1. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 6, Paragraph 1] that no combination of Oh and Harley-Trochimeczyk can measure the temperature of an external, high-resistance load unit because Oh does not teach an external load unit. Based on the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and discussion above, the addition of Alcidi to the combination teaches the element of the external “active impedance adapter 12” hardware element unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit with the electrode for Claim 1. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 6, Paragraph 1] that Harley-Trochimeczyk does not disclose or suggest determining biometric signal compensation based on dynamically altered additional impedance because the combination of Oh, Harley-Trochimeczyk, and Alcidi does not include a separate high-value resistor load unit. Based on the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and discussion above, the addition of Alcidi to the combination teaches the element of the external “active impedance adapter 12” hardware element unit of “on the order of several GOHms” in series in the circuit with the electrode for Claim 1. Given that there is an external load unit, as taught by Alcidi in Oh in view of Alcidi, then Harley-Trochimeczyk teaches to [0411] “measuring a temperature parameter of a component of a wearable glucose sensor…” and to use the measurement of a component of a sensor to [0356] “the processor module 214 may transform sensor data into one or more of the following: temperature-compensated data,“; [0288] “compensate for the effects of temperature on glucose sensors…” to increase the accuracy of the sensor. A component of the overall sensor unit would include the external load unit as disclosed the combination of Oh, Harley-Trochimeczyk, and Alcidi. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant summarily argues at [Page 6, Paragraphs 2 – 4] that Independent Claim 1 is patentable over Oh, Harley-Trochimeczyk, and Alcidi, and Claims 2 – 6 are patentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 due to their dependence on Claim 1. Based on the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections and the discussion above, Claim 1 is not patent eligible. The argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jenkins et. al., teaches a flexible skin-mounted electrode system with 3-d printed integrated elements to allow for control of the working electrode temperature, with a thermocouple to measure the temperature of the electrode to allow for feedback control to compensate for temperature effects on the measurement.
Veen, et. al. (US 2012/0116198 A1), teaches inclusion circuit electronics in an electrode system to minimize motion-induced signals, including a bias resistor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA JO MONTGOMERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791