DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-18, 20-21, 23-24 and 72 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-13, 24 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 2022/0393809 A1), hereinafter “GAO”.
Regarding claim 1, GAO teaches, ‘A method for transmitting signals, performed by a terminal, and the method comprising:‘ (Paragraph [0004], method for use in a wireless terminal. The wireless communication method comprises: transmitting an uplink signal):
‘receiving multiple first downlink signals transmitted by a network device;’ (Paragraph [0135], In FIG. 1, several TRPs/RRHs (e.g. RRHs RRH0, RRH1, RRH2 and RRH3) simultaneously (corresponds to multiple) transmit a downlink (DL) signal to a UE in the SFN);
‘determining a downlink receiving frequency corresponding to each of the multiple first downlink signals,’ (FIG. 4 and Paragraph [0136], there are different Doppler shifts between each of different TRPs/RRHs and a UE. Moreover, when the TRPs/RRHs have the same center frequency, the center frequency of the DL signal respectively from each of the TRPs/RRHs can be different from the UE perspective),
‘and determining a transmitting frequency of an uplink signal associated with each of the first downlink signals based on the downlink receiving frequency corresponding to the each of the first downlink signals in combination with a frequency shift between an uplink and a downlink,’ (Paragraph [0173], a UL signal may be associated with a DL RS with regard to a carrier frequency or a Doppler
shift. In other words, the UL signal is associated with the DL RS for measuring the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift (e.g. for subsequent UL/DL communications). In this embodiment, the UL signal is modulated according to a carrier frequency of the DL RS. For example, a carrier frequency of the UL signal may be modulated according to the carrier frequency of the DL RS),
‘wherein the frequency shift between the uplink and the downlink is defined in a protocol, or configured through a signaling, or determined based on frequency indication information;’ (Paragraph [0162], Note that, in this disclosure, "frequency offset" can be Doppler shift offset or Doppler offset. Paragraph [0179], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is a reference RS in the parameter state applied to the UL signal, where the reference RS is related to at least one of the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift. Paragraph [0180], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or activated by a media access control control element (MAC-CE) command);
‘and transmitting the uplink signal to the network device based on the transmitting frequency of the uplink signal,’ (FIG. 6 and Paragraph [0108], transmit an uplink, UL, signal, wherein, based on an event associated with a first downlink, DL, reference signal, RS, the UL signal is modulated according to a specific carrier frequency. Paragraph [0191], UE transmits a UL signal ULS0 (e.g. PUSCH or SRS) to both the TRPs T0 and T1. Note that, the UL signal ULS0 is modulated with the carrier frequency of the DL RS RS0),
‘wherein a frequency shift determined based on the uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal is used to determine a transmitting frequency of a second downlink signal.’ (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0165], each of the TRPs/RRHs may pre-compensate the central carrier frequency point (carrier frequency) of its DL signal based on the respective Doppler shifts, and, from UE perspective, the carrier frequencies of the DL signals from different TRPs/RRHs may be the same or aligned after affected by the Doppler shifts in reality. Paragraph [0197], According to the estimated frequency offsets DL communication (e.g. DL signal DLS) from the-TRPs T0 and Tl is able to be pre-compensated. Via the pre-compensations, the DL transmission from the TRPs T0 and T1 is aligned with the local carrier frequency of the UE (i.e. the carrier frequency fc) (corresponds to second downlink signal)).
Regarding claim 12, GAO teaches, ‘A method for transmitting signals, performed by a network device, and the method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0034], method for use in a wireless network node. The wireless communication method comprises: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a first downlink, DL, reference signal):
‘transmitting a first downlink signal to a terminal for indicating the terminal to determine a transmitting frequency of an uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal based on a downlink receiving frequency corresponding to the first downlink signal in combination with a frequency shift between an uplink and a downlink,’ (Paragraph [0173], a UL signal may be associated with a DL RS with regard to a carrier frequency or a Doppler shift. In other words, the UL signal is associated with the DL RS for measuring the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift (e.g. for subsequent UL/DL communications). In this embodiment, the UL signal is modulated according to a carrier frequency of the DL RS. For example, a carrier frequency of the UL signal may be modulated according to the carrier frequency of the DL RS),
‘wherein the frequency shift between the uplink and the downlink is defined in a protocol, or configured through a signaling, or determined based on frequency indication information;’ (Paragraph [0162], Note that, in this disclosure, "frequency offset" can be Doppler shift offset or Doppler offset. Paragraph [0179], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is a reference RS in the parameter state applied to the UL signal, where the reference RS is related to at least one of the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift. Paragraph [0180], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or activated by a media access control control element (MAC-CE) command);
‘receiving the uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal transmitted by the terminal based on the transmitting frequency;’ (FIG. 6 and Paragraph [0108], transmit an uplink, UL, signal, wherein, based on an event associated with a first downlink, DL, reference signal, RS, the UL signal is modulated according to a specific carrier frequency. Paragraph [0191], UE transmits a UL signal ULS0 (e.g. PUSCH or SRS) to both the TRPs T0 and T1. Note that, the UL signal ULS0 is modulated with the carrier frequency of the DL RS RS0);
‘and determining a transmitting frequency of a second downlink signal based on a frequency shift determined from the uplink signal.’ (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0165], each of the TRPs/RRHs may pre-compensate the central carrier frequency point (carrier frequency) of its DL signal based on the respective Doppler shifts, and, from UE perspective, the carrier frequencies of the DL signals from different TRPs/RRHs may be the same or aligned after affected by the Doppler shifts in reality. Paragraph [0197], According to the estimated frequency offsets DL communication (e.g. DL signal DLS) from the-TRPs T0 and Tl is able to be pre-compensated. Via the pre-compensations, the DL transmission from the TRPs T0 and T1 is aligned with the local carrier frequency of the UE (i.e. the carrier frequency fc) (corresponds to second downlink signal)).
Regarding claim 13, GAO teaches, the method of claim 12, ‘wherein the determining a transmitting frequency of a second downlink signal based on the frequency shift determined from the uplink signal comprises:’ (Paragraph [0172], when the TRP receives this UL signal, the carrier frequency offset between the UE and the TRP center frequency is withdrawn and the Doppler shift between the UE and TRP is doubled in the UL signal. The TRP therefore can estimate the Doppler shift between the UE and the TRP according to the carrier frequency offset between the carrier frequencies of the received UL signal and local carrier frequency (e.g., doubled Doppler shift). Paragraph [0197], According to the estimated frequency offsets, a DL communication (e.g. DL signal DLS) from the-TRPs T0 and T1 is able to be pre-compensated):
‘determining a frequency adjustment value of the second downlink signal based on the frequency shift;’ (Paragraph [0174], Paragraph [0128], FIG. 5 shows an example of pre-compensating the carrier frequencies of the DL signals from different TRPs/RRHs. Paragraph [0165], each of the TRPs/RRHs may pre-compensate the central carrier frequency point (carrier frequency) of its DL signal (corresponds to second DL signal) based on the respective Doppler shifts);
‘and determining a transmitting frequency of the second downlink signal using the frequency adjustment value.’ (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0165], each of the TRPs/RRHs may pre-compensate the central carrier frequency point (carrier frequency) of its DL signal based on the respective Doppler shifts, and, from UE perspective, the carrier frequencies of the DL signals from different TRPs/RRHs may be the same or aligned after affected by the Doppler shifts in reality. Paragraph [0197], According to the estimated frequency offsets DL communication (e.g. DL signal DLS) from the-TRPs T0 and Tl is able to be pre-compensated. Via the pre-compensations, the DL transmission from the TRPs T0 and T1 is aligned with the local carrier frequency of the UE (i.e. the carrier frequency fc) (corresponds to second downlink signal)).
Regarding claim 24, GAO teaches, ‘A terminal, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0137], a wireless terminal 20 may include):
‘a processor and a memory storing a program that is executable on the processor, the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform the following steps:’ (Paragraph [0137], a processor 200, a storage unit 210 may be any data storage device that stores a program code 212, which is accessed and executed by the processor 200):
‘receiving multiple first downlink signals transmitted by a network device;’ (Paragraph [0135], In FIG. 1, several TRPs/RRHs (e.g. RRHs RRH0, RRH1, RRH2 and RRH3) simultaneously (corresponds to multiple) transmit a downlink (DL) signal to a UE in the SFN);
‘determining a downlink receiving frequency corresponding to each of the multiple first downlink signals,’ (FIG. 4 and Paragraph [0136], there are different Doppler shifts between each of different TRPs/RRHs and a UE. Moreover, when the TRPs/RRHs have the same center frequency, the center frequency of the DL signal respectively from each of the TRPs/RRHs can be different from the UE perspective),
‘and determining a transmitting frequency of an uplink signal associated with each of the first downlink signal based on the downlink receiving frequency corresponding to the each of the first downlink signals in combination with a frequency shift between an uplink and a downlink,’ (Paragraph [0173], a UL signal may be associated with a DL RS with regard to a carrier frequency or a Doppler
shift. In other words, the UL signal is associated with the DL RS for measuring the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift (e.g. for subsequent UL/DL communications). In this embodiment, the UL signal is modulated according to a carrier frequency of the DL RS. For example, a carrier frequency of the UL signal may be modulated according to the carrier frequency of the DL RS),
‘wherein the frequency shift between the uplink and the downlink is defined in a protocol, or configured through a signaling, or determined based on frequency indication information;’ (Paragraph [0162], Note that, in this disclosure, "frequency offset" can be Doppler shift offset or Doppler offset. Paragraph [0179], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is a reference RS in the parameter state applied to the UL signal, where the reference RS is related to at least one of the carrier frequency or the Doppler shift. Paragraph [0180], the DL RS associated with the UL signal is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or activated by a media access control control element (MAC-CE) command);
‘and transmitting the uplink signal to the network device based on the transmitting frequency of the uplink signal,’ (FIG. 6 and Paragraph [0108], transmit an uplink, UL, signal, wherein, based on an event associated with a first downlink, DL, reference signal, RS, the UL signal is modulated according to a specific carrier frequency. Paragraph [0191], UE transmits a UL signal ULS0 (e.g. PUSCH or SRS) to both the TRPs T0 and T1. Note that, the UL signal ULS0 is modulated with the carrier frequency of the DL RS RS0),
‘wherein a frequency shift determined based on the uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal is used to determine a transmitting frequency of a second downlink signal.’ (FIG. 5 and Paragraph [0165], each of the TRPs/RRHs may pre-compensate the central carrier frequency point (carrier frequency) of its DL signal based on the respective Doppler shifts, and, from UE perspective, the carrier frequencies of the DL signals from different TRPs/RRHs may be the same or aligned after affected by the Doppler shifts in reality. Paragraph [0197], According to the estimated frequency offsets DL communication (e.g. DL signal DLS) from the-TRPs T0 and Tl is able to be pre-compensated. Via the pre-compensations, the DL transmission from the TRPs T0 and T1 is aligned with the local carrier frequency of the UE (i.e. the carrier frequency fc) (corresponds to second downlink signal)).
Regarding claim 72, GAO teaches, ‘A network device, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0141], a wireless network node 30 may include):
‘a processor;’ (Paragraph [0141], a processor 300);
‘and a memory storing a program that is executable on the processor, the program, when executed by the processor, causes the network device to perform steps of claim 12.’ (Paragraph [0141], a storage unit 310 may be any data storage device that stores a program code 312, which is accessed and executed by the processor 300. A communication unit 320 may be a transceiver and is used to transmit and receive signals (e.g. messages or packets) according to processing results of the processor 300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of Shattil (US 2020/0036414 A1), hereinafter “SHATTIL”.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, GAO teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘wherein the association between the first downlink signal and the uplink signal comprises one or more of the following:’ (Paragraph [0173], a UL signal may be associated with a DL RS with regard to a carrier frequency or a Doppler shift):
GAO does not explicitly teach but SHATTIL teaches, ‘one or more channel properties and/or spatial transmitter (Tx) parameters of the uplink signal are inferred from one or more channel properties and/or spatial transmitter (Tx) parameters of the first downlink signal, and a receiving terminal of the uplink signal and a transmitting terminal of the first downlink signal are the same network device.’ (SHATTIL - Paragraph [0133], to jointly process downlink signals transmitted from the multiple antennas, in particular, the central processor is provided with information characterizing the associated downlink channel responses. If the system employs FDD, the served UEs measure these downlink channel responses and feed them back to the central processor. If the system instead employs TDD, the downlink channel responses can advantageously be estimated from uplink signals received at the multiple antennas based on the assumption that for TDD, the downlink channel can be inferred from the uplink channel (e.g., the uplink and downlink channels can be reciprocal)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of SHATTIL with GAO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of SHATTIL into GAO is that SHATTIL enables cooperative MIMO processing which comprise MIMO processing wherein the multiple input (MI) comprises downlink transmissions from multiple base transceiver stations and the multiple output (MO) comprises uplink transmissions to multiple base transceiver stations. Since subspace antenna array transmissions can produce constructive and destructive interference zones (i.e., amplified-signal and cancelled-signal zones) in a rich scattering environment, provisioning of radio resources in accordance with networks and methods herein can benefit from types of spatial reuse that far outperform cellular-based (e.g., honeycomb) spatial reuse schemes that rely on signal attenuation via path loss. (See paragraphs [0013-0014], SHATTIL)
Regarding claims 3 and 15, GAO and SHATTIL teach, the method of claim 2, GAO further teaches, ‘wherein the association is quasi co-located (QCL), and a type of the association comprises one or more of:’ (Paragraph [0015], the first DL RS is associated with a QCL type parameter comprising at least one of a carrier frequency or a Doppler shift. Paragraph [0152], "QCL state" is comprised of one or more reference RSs and their corresponding QCL type parameters, where QCL type parameters include at least one of the following aspect or combination):
‘Type 1: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}; Type 2: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}; Type 3: {Doppler shift, average delay}; Type 4: {Spatial receiver (Rx) parameter} or {Spatial Relation Info}; Type 5: {Doppler shift}; or Type 6: Frequency relation information.’ (Paragraphs [0153]-[0156], QCL-TypeA: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}; QCL-TypeB: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}; QCL-TypeC: {Doppler shift, average delay}; QCL-TypeD: {Spatial Rx parameter}).
Claims 4-5, 8, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of SHATTIL in view of Guan et al. (US 2020/0178280 A1), hereinafter “GUAN”.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, GAO and SHATTIL teach, the method of claim 2, GAO and SHATTIL do not explicitly teach but GUAN teaches, ‘wherein the association is indicated by configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal; or the association is indicated by configuration information for the first downlink signal or trigger information for the first downlink signal.’ (GUAN - Paragraph [0258], after the UE completes channel measurement, the base station sends information about a downlink control channel to the UE (step 104) and information about a downlink data channel to the UE (step 105), to implement sending of downlink control information and data information. Correspondingly, the UE sends an uplink signal, an uplink data channel, or an uplink control channel to the base station in step 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GUAN with GAO and SHATTIL because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GUAN into GAO and SHATTIL is that GUAN provides a quasi-co-location relationship being used to indicate that a plurality of resources have one or more same or similar communication characteristics. A plurality of resources in a quasi-co-location relationship with each other may use same or similar communication configurations. A quasi-co-location relationship is with respect to a path loss and that is between a group of CSI-RS resources and a group of SRS resources. The base station may estimate a path loss between the base station and the UE by jointly using a measured average gain of the SRS and an average gain of the CSI-RS that is fed back by the UE. (See paragraphs [0212] and [0332-0333], GUAN)
Regarding claims 5 and 17, GAO, SHATTIL and GUAN teach, the method of claim 4, GAO and SHATTIL do not explicitly teach but GUAN teaches, ‘wherein in case that the association is indicated by configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal, the configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal comprises multiple pieces of information of the first downlink signal associated with the uplink signal, the method further comprises: determining the first downlink signal associated with the uplink signal based on an activation signal transmitted by a network device, or the configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal comprises multiple pieces of information of the first downlink signal associated with the uplink signal, the method further comprises: determining the association based on a trigger state when the uplink signal is triggered, wherein each association is associated with one trigger state, or the configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal further comprises identifier information, and the identifier information is used for indicating a position of a resource corresponding to the first downlink signal in a resource set in which the resource corresponding to the first downlink signal is present, the first downlink signal being associated with the uplink signal.’ (GUAN - Paragraph [0048], when the configuration information is received by using signaling that controls downlink transmission, obtaining, based on a pre-established correspondence between a beam identifier and an uplink signal identifier, an uplink signal identifier corresponding to a received beam identifier; and determining, based on the information about the spatial quasi-co-location relationship between an uplink signal identified by an uplink beam identifier and a downlink signal represented by a downlink beam identifier, that a beam corresponding to a downlink signal identifier that is in a correspondence with the obtained uplink signal identifier is the beam for receiving the first signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GUAN with GAO and SHATTIL because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GUAN into GAO and SHATTIL is that GUAN provides a quasi-co-location relationship being used to indicate that a plurality of resources have one or more same or similar communication characteristics. A plurality of resources in a quasi-co-location relationship with each other may use same or similar communication configurations. A quasi-co-location relationship is with respect to a path loss and that is between a group of CSI-RS resources and a group of SRS resources. The base station may estimate a path loss between the base station and the UE by jointly using a measured average gain of the SRS and an average gain of the CSI-RS that is fed back by the UE. (See paragraphs [0212] and [0332-0333], GUAN)
Regarding claims 8 and 20, GAO, SHATTIL and GUAN teach, the method of claim 4, GAO and SHATTIL do not explicitly teach but GUAN teaches, ‘wherein in case that the association is indicated by configuration information for the first downlink signal or trigger information for the first downlink signal,’ (GUAN - Paragraph [0095], when the configuration information is received by using signaling that controls downlink transmission),
‘the configuration information for the first downlink signal comprises multiple pieces of information of an uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal; the method further comprises: determining the uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal based on an activation signal transmitted by a network device, or the configuration information for the first downlink signal comprises multiple pieces of information of an uplink signal associated with the first downlink signal; the method further comprises: determining the association based on a trigger state when the first downlink signal is triggered, wherein each association is associated with one trigger state, or the configuration information for the first downlink signal or trigger information for the first downlink signal further comprises identifier information, and the identifier information is used for indicating a position of a resource corresponding to the uplink signal in a resource set in which the resource corresponding to the uplink signal is present, the first downlink signal being associated with the uplink signal.’ (GUAN – Paragraph [0095], obtain, based on a preestablished correspondence between a beam identifier and an uplink signal identifier, an uplink signal identifier corresponding to a received beam identifier; and determine, based on the information about the spatial quasi-co-location relationship between an uplink signal identified by an uplink beam identifier and a downlink signal represented by a downlink beam identifier, that a beam corresponding to a downlink signal identifier that is in a correspondence with the obtained uplink signal identifier is the beam for receiving the first signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GUAN with GAO and SHATTIL because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GUAN into GAO and SHATTIL is that GUAN provides a quasi-co-location relationship being used to indicate that a plurality of resources have one or more same or similar communication characteristics. A plurality of resources in a quasi-co-location relationship with each other may use same or similar communication configurations. A quasi-co-location relationship is with respect to a path loss and that is between a group of CSI-RS resources and a group of SRS resources. The base station may estimate a path loss between the base station and the UE by jointly using a measured average gain of the SRS and an average gain of the CSI-RS that is fed back by the UE. (See paragraphs [0212] and [0332-0333], GUAN)
Claims 6 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of GUAN.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, GAO teaches, the method of claim 1, GAO does not explicitly teach but GUAN teaches, ‘wherein configuration information for the uplink signal or trigger information for the uplink signal and configuration information for the first downlink signal or trigger information for the first downlink signal comprises identifier information for indicating the association between the first downlink signal and the uplink signal, or the configuration information for the first downlink signal or the trigger information for the first downlink signal comprises identifier information, all uplink signals correspond to a same resource set, and the uplink signal corresponding to the resource set is in one-to-one correspondence with the identifier information, or the first downlink signal and the uplink signal respectively correspond to different resource sets, and one-to-one correspondences are predefined between an uplink resource and a first downlink resource comprised in different resource sets.’ (GUAN - Paragraph [0094], the beam information of the first signal is information represented by a beam identifier, and the beam information of the first signal further includes information about a spatial quasi-co-location relationship between an uplink signal represented by an uplink beam identifier and a downlink signal represented by a downlink beam identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GUAN with GAO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GUAN into GAO is that GUAN provides a quasi-co-location relationship being used to indicate that a plurality of resources have one or more same or similar communication characteristics. A plurality of resources in a quasi-co-location relationship with each other may use same or similar communication configurations. A quasi-co-location relationship is with respect to a path loss and that is between a group of CSI-RS resources and a group of SRS resources. The base station may estimate a path loss between the base station and the UE by jointly using a measured average gain of the SRS and an average gain of the CSI-RS that is fed back by the UE. (See paragraphs [0212] and [0332-0333], GUAN)
Claims 9, 11, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0139030 A1), hereinafter “KIM”.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, GAO teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘wherein the transmitting the uplink signal to the network device based on the transmitting frequency of the uplink signal comprises one or more of the following:’ (Paragraph [0191], UE transmits a UL signal ULS0 (e.g. PUSCH or SRS) to both the TRPs T0 and T1. Note that, the UL signal ULS0 is modulated with the carrier frequency of the DL RS RS0):
GAO does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘ uplink signals are allocated on different time domain resources; ‘the uplink signals are allocated on different frequency domain resources, and a guard interval exists between different uplink signals; or the uplink signals are not transmitted simultaneously with an uplink signal for other purposes.’ (Paragraph [0688], FIG. 7B, according to the scheduling of the base station, the UE 3 7b-75, the UE 4 7b-77, and the UE 5 7b-79 use the beam #7 in common for communication during a period 7b-11, the UE 1 7b-71 uses the beam #1 for communication during a period 7b-13, and the UE 2 7b-73 uses the beam #5 for communication during a period 7b-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with GAO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into GAO is that KIM enables providing for activating/deactivating cells with scalable transmission time intervals (TTIs), configuring per-frequency measurement time periods, an enhanced scheduling request method capable of reducing transmission latency, a new radio link monitoring (RLM) operation for
use in a next generation mobile communication system and a method for performing measurement on a synchronization signal instead of a reference signal which is used for RLM in the legacy LTE. (See paragraphs [0008-0013], KIM)
Regarding claims 11 and 23, GAO teaches, the method of claim 1, GAO does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein the first downlink signal is determined based on one or more of the following information:’ (KIM - Paragraph [0700], the UE performs the first operation to determine):
‘indication information at the network side; configuration information on the downlink signal; or the type of the downlink signal.’ (KIM - Paragraph [0700], whether to maintain the connection through the current serving cell/serving beam based on the result of reception of the M ISS subframes. Here, M denotes a value indicated by a resource allocation message or preconfigured by the gNB. That is, the PHY layer reports the first downlink signal strength measurement result to the higher layer 7g-05 periodically. If a serving beam or a serving beam group fulfils a first condition (if the first downlink signal strength is greater than the threshold Qout), the UE maintains the connection through the current serving cell/serving beam. Otherwise, if a serving beam or a serving beam group fulfils a second condition (if the first downlink signal strength is equal to or less than the threshold Qout) the UE compares the representative value of the downlink signals in the beam group with the threshold value. If the updated first downlink signal strength fulfils the first condition, the UE performs a first procedure to report a radio link recovery indicator to the higher layer 7g-05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with GAO because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into GAO is that KIM enables providing for activating/deactivating cells with scalable transmission time intervals (TTIs), configuring per-frequency measurement time periods, an enhanced scheduling request method capable of reducing transmission latency, a new radio link monitoring (RLM) operation for
use in a next generation mobile communication system and a method for performing measurement on a synchronization signal instead of a reference signal which is used for RLM in the legacy LTE. (See paragraphs [0008-0013], KIM)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479