DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/8/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 25 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/8/2025. Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 10/8/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are linked by a single general inventive concept and they define a contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive as per the rejection below and that the listed species comprise distinct and incompatible structural features. Claims 16-17 and 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species embodiments, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/8/2025. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dienno et al. (WO 2016/100913 A1; hereinafter “Dienno”).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 1: a prosthetic valve comprising: a leaflet frame (e.g., 600, 700) (Figs. 11A-12C, 16A-19, 22-23) configured to be transitioned from a collapsed state having a first diameter to an expanded state having a second diameter that is larger than the first diameter (para. 00122), the leaflet frame having an inlet end and an outlet end (para. 0076) and defining a longitudinal axis (central axis through elements 600, 700), the leaflet frame including, a plurality of frame members (struts; e.g., 223, 225) that form a framework (e.g., Fig. 11A) defining plurality of cells (e.g., 222) each having an interior cell space (inner open space of element 222), the plurality of cells including at least one attachment cell (cells comprising elements 260), the plurality of frame members including a plurality of sub-cell attachment members (e.g., 260) extending into the interior cell space of the at least one attachment cell (e.g., Figs. 11A-11D), the sub-cell attachment members defining respective attachment locations (areas where the leaflets are attached to elements 260) (e.g., Fig. 18A) along a sub-cell attachment line (line formed along the sub-cell attachment members) (Figure A) that is defined within a plane (transverse plane through the sub-cell attachment members that extends through the longitudinal axis) that intersects with the longitudinal axis (e.g., Fig. 11A) such that the sub-cell attachment line extends through the interior cell space of the at least one attachment cell (e.g., Fig. 11A); and a leaflet construct (e.g., Figs. 16A-17) including a leaflet (e.g., 310) attached to the attachment locations along the sub- cell attachment line (Figs. 16B, 18A; para. 00102).
Figure A.
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 2: the prosthetic valve of claim 1, wherein the leaflet has a base attachment region (330), wherein the base attachment region of the leaflet is attached to the attachment locations along the sub-cell attachment line (e.g., Figs. 16B, 18A; para. 00102).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 3: the prosthetic valve of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sub-cell attachment members includes a projection base portion (lower portions of sub-cell attachment members that are directly connected to the frame) extending into the interior cell space (Figs. 11A-11B) and a projection head portion (e.g., 264) opposite the projection base portion (Figs. 11A-11B), each of the projection head portions of the plurality of sub-cell attachment members being positioned along the sub-cell attachment line (Figs. 11A-11B).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 4: the prosthetic valve of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub- cell attachment members includes a first sub-cell attachment member (please see annotated Figure B, below) and a second sub-cell attachment member (Figure B), and further wherein the at least one attachment cell has a top cell portion (upper half of cell) (Fig. 11A; Figure B) defined by the framework (Fig. 11A; Figure B) and a bottom cell portion (lower half of cell) (Fig. 11A; Figure B) defined by the framework (Fig. 11A; Figure B), the first sub-cell attachment member extending from the top cell portion (Figure B) and the second sub-cell attachment member extending from the bottom cell portion (Figure B).
Figure B.
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 5: the prosthetic valve of claim 4, wherein the first and second sub-cell attachment members are substantially parallel to each other when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (Fig. 11A; Figure B).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 8: the prosthetic valve of claim 4, wherein the first sub-cell attachment member and the framework together define a shape resembling a parallelogram when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (Fig. 11A, where the general diamond shape formed by the first sub-cell attachment member and the framework resembles a parallelogram), and wherein the second sub-cell attachment member and the framework combine to define a shape resembling a parallelogram when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state Fig. 11A, where the general diamond shape formed by the second sub-cell attachment member and the framework resembles a parallelogram).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 11: the prosthetic valve of claim 1, wherein the plurality of frame members include a plurality of leaflet attachment members (e.g., 670) configured to be coupled to first and second sides of one or more leaflets of a leaflet construct (Figs. 18A-18B; paras. 00119-00120, 00174), each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members having a first end portion (upper end portion) at which each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members intersects with another one of the plurality of frame members (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B), a second end portion (671) at which each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members intersects with another one of the plurality of frame members (672 and lower struts) (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B), and an intermediate portion (central portion of element 670) between the first and second end portions (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B), the intermediate portion of each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members having a first curvature when the leaflet frame is in the collapsed state (un-assembled state) (Fig. 11D) and a second curvature when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (fully assembled expanded state) (Figs. 18A-18B), the first curvature being greater than the second curvature (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 15: the prosthetic valve of claim 11, wherein the intermediate portions of at least two of the leaflet attachment members are linearly aligned with one another in a direction that is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the leaflet frame when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (via a perpendicular, transverse plane extending through the leaflet attachment members and the longitudinal axis) (Figs. 11B, 18A-18B).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 18: a prosthetic valve comprising: a leaflet frame (e.g., 600, 700) (Figs. 11A-12C, 16A-19, 22-23) configured to be transitioned from a collapsed state having a first diameter to an expanded state having a second diameter that is larger than the first diameter (para. 00122), the leaflet frame having an inlet end and an outlet end (para. 0076) and defining a longitudinal axis (central axis through elements 600, 700), the leaflet frame including, a plurality of frame members (struts, e.g., 223, 225) defining a framework (e.g., Fig. 11A) forming a pattern of cells (e.g., 222), the plurality of frame members including a plurality of leaflet attachment members (670), each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members having a first end portion (upper end portion) at which each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members intersects with another one of the plurality of frame members (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B), a second end portion (671) at which each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members intersects with another one of the plurality of frame members (672, lower struts), and an intermediate portion (central portion) between the first and second end portions (Figs. 11B, 11D), the intermediate portion of each of the plurality of leaflet attachment members having a first curvature when the leaflet frame is in the collapsed state (un-assembled state) (Fig. 11D) and a second curvature when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (fully assembled expanded state) (Figs. 18A-18B), the first curvature being greater than the second curvature (Figs. 11B, 11D, 18A-18B); and a leaflet construct (e.g., Figs. 16A-17, 18A-18B) comprising a leaflet attached to the leaflet attachment members (Figs. 18A-18B; paras. 00119-00120).
Dienno discloses the following regarding claim 22: the prosthetic valve of claim 18, wherein the intermediate portions of at least two of the leaflet attachment members are linearly aligned with one another in a direction that is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the leaflet frame when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (via a perpendicular, transverse plane extending through the leaflet attachment members and the longitudinal axis) (Figs. 11B, 18A-18B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dienno in view of Morin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0055631 A1; hereinafter “Morin”).
Dienno discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. However, it does not recite the prosthetic valve comprising first, second, third, and fourth legs. Morin teaches that it is well known in the art that a top cell portion of the frame is defined by a first, upper left-side strut frame member and a second, upper right-side strut frame member (Figs. 4A, 5A-5M); a first leg extends (e.g., 461j) from the first frame member and a second leg (e.g., 460j) extends from second frame member; the first and second legs intersecting to form a first sub-cell attachment joint (e.g., Fig. 5J); and the first sub-cell attachment joint is positioned adjacent or intersecting with the sub-cell attachment line when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (Figs. 4A, 5A-5M; paras. 0058-0072). Morin further teaches that it is well known in the art that a bottom cell portion of the frame is defined by a third, lower left-side strut frame member and a fourth, lower right-side strut frame member (Figs. 4A, 5A-5M); a third leg extends (e.g., 461i) from the third frame member and a fourth leg (e.g., 463i) extending from fourth frame member, the third and fourth legs intersecting to form a second sub-cell attachment joint (e.g., Fig. 5I), the second sub-cell attachment joint being positioned adjacent the sub-cell attachment line when the leaflet frame is in the expanded state (Figs. 4A, 5A-5M; paras. 0058-0072). The legs taught by Morin provide additional structural support and attachment points for cuffs, leaflets, etc. to the prosthetic valve. Morin further teaches that the first leg of the first sub-cell attachment member is shorter than the second leg of the first sub-cell attachment member (e.g., Fig. 5G); the third leg of the second sub-cell attachment member has substantially a same length and width as the first leg of the first sub-cell attachment member (e.g., Fig. 5L); and that the widths of the legs can be modified to have the desired dimensions, as needed, to provide the valve with the desired dimensions and to enhance collapsibility (paras. 0080, 0087). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Dienno to comprise the legs of Morin, in order to provide the valve with the desired structural support, attachment points, and to enhance collapsibility. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
In addition, regarding the width and length dimensions, the optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal valve dimensions needed to achieve the desired results and ensure that the valve will properly fit its implantation site. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the valve components’ dimensions, would have been obvious at the time of applicant's invention in view of the teachings of Dienno and Morin. It is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 USPQ 33; In re Russell, 169 USPQ 426.
Claim(s) 12-14 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dienno.
Dienno discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. However, it does not explicitly recite the values of the maximum transverse deviations and the first and second curvatures. The optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal values of the transverse deviations and the first and second curvatures needed to achieve the desired results and provide the valve with the desired shape and mechanical strength. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of the transverse deviations and the first and second curvatures, would have been obvious at the time of applicant's invention in view of the teachings of Dienno. It is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 USPQ 33; In re Russell, 169 USPQ 426.
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774