Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-5 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Despite applicants’ remarks, the examiner has not found support for the amendment to claims 1, 11, and 12 specifying the total 100 parts by mass basis as it pertains to the claimed catalyst amount. Though applicants have stated that original claim 7 provides support for the amendment, it has not been established that the basis therein is equivalent to the amended bases of the rejected claims.
Prior Art Rejection
5. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over . Kamura et al. (US2014/0357835 A1) in view of Tsukada et al. (US 2017/0015777 A1).
Kamura et al. disclose an optical resin composition and lens produced by cast molding the composition, wherein the composition comprises multiple reactants including an episulfide and a thiol, and further comprises an organometallic catalyst in an amount that is considered to meet that claimed. The reactants are reacted to form a prepolymer, which is subsequently cured. See abstract and paragraphs [0020], [0023], [0025], [0035], [0036], [0040], and [0048]. Regarding claims 1-5 and 10-17, though it is noted that within paragraphs [0036] and [0044], different processes and mixing sequences are disclosed, the position is taken that applicants’ methods of combining reactants would have been obvious in view of these disclosures. The curable compositions possess viscosities that correspond to those claimed, and it is noted that the viscosities are measured in the same manner as relied upon by applicants. See paragraph [0050] and Table 1 for the viscosity values. Regarding claim 17, it is noted that the reference discloses that the produced lens has substantially no striae, and the position is further taken that controlling the nitrogen content would have been within the abilities of the skilled artisan since the reference provides great latitude with respect to component selection.
6. Though Kamura et al. fail to disclose applicants’ specifically claimed polythiol compounds, the position is taken that these compounds were well known reactants to be used within optical resins also employing episulfide reactants. This position is supported by the teachings of Tsukada et al. within paragraphs [0046], [0168], [0171], and [0172]. It is further noted that within paragraph [0171], Tsukada et al. disclose applicants’ claimed compounds with such compounds as pentaerythritol tetrakis(mercaptoacetate) and pentaerythritol tetrakis(mercaptopropionate), thereby establishing the equivalency of the instantly claimed compounds with these pentaerythritol-based polythiols, which are also disclosed within paragraph [0029] of the primary reference. Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to utilize these known equivalent polythiol reactants within the optical compositions of the primary reference, so as to arrive at the instant invention. It has been held that it is prima facie obvious to use a known compound for its known function.
7. The examiner has considered applicants’ remarks concerning their amendment; however, given that the primary reference discloses the use of higher functional polythiol compounds that are equivalent to those claimed, the examiner cannot agree that the reference serves to teach away from the use of such reactants. Furthermore, one understanding from the disclosure of the primary reference that viscosity elevation can be a problem would have understood how to employ these higher functional polythiols, while controlling viscosity elevation through such means as also employing lower functionality thiols.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RABON A SERGENT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765
.